DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
Claims 1,14, 17 and 18 are amended.
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Response to arguments
Applicant’s amendments are entered. Applicant’s remarks are also entered into the record. A new search was made necessitated by the applicant’s amendments and remarks. A new reference was found. A new rejection is made herein. Applicant’s arguments are now moot in view of the new rejection of the claims. Applicant’s arguments filed on 10/17/2025 have been fully considered. Amendment claims overcome does not overcome 101 rejections. Examiner maintained 36 U.S.C. 101 rejection as bellow:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1- 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
STEP 1: Does claim 1 fall within one of the statutory categories?
Yes. Claim 1 directed to an apparatus, claim 17 is directed to method and claim 18 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. Therefore, claims 1, 17 and 18 are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea?
yes, the claim is directed to an abstract idea in the form of mental processes without significantly more. The claims recite collecting position information, performs data analysis and determining for means of transportation of the users.
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No, the claim recites additional elements that does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, the claim does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 1
A people-flow analysis apparatus that analyzes people-flow data using location information from mobile terminals, comprising: processing circuitry configured to:
read, along with time information, location information estimated based on communication performed by a plurality of mobile terminals with a positioning apparatus, from a database in which the location information is accumulated;
perform cleansing processing for thinning out, according to a predetermined rule, the location information received by the positioning apparatus;
generate, for the cleansed location information, trip data indicating travel paths of users carrying the mobile terminals;
and
determine, for the generated trip data, means of transportation of the users by matching traffic base points with reference to center coordinates of a mesh area corresponding to the trip data among mesh areas partitioned for each predetermined region with respect to the generated trip data; and
integrate two or more of the mesh areas after the mesh areas are partitioned for the predetermined region and provide a resulting integrated mesh data structure in which the two or more mesh areas are combined into a single integrated mesh.
Claim 1 (non-highlighted) does not recite any of the exemplary considerations that are indicative of an abstract idea having been integrated into a practical application. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Thus, since claim 1 is: (a) directed toward an abstract idea, (b) does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and (c) does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, it is clear that claim 1 is directed towards non-statutory subject matter. Dependent claims 2-16 further limit the abstract idea without integrating the abstract idea into practical application or adding significantly more.
With respect to claims 17 and 18, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 1 which is commensurate in scope to claim 17, with claim 1 being drawn to a device and claim 17 being drawn to a method and claim 18 being drawn to a computer. As such, claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 USC 101 as being drawn to an abstract idea without significantly more, and thus are ineligible.
35 U.S.C. 101 rejection can be overcome according to MPEP 2106/05(a)) if the claim recites the improvement/reducing the load of processing required for searching traffic base points as mentioned in specification para[0060]. Neither independent nor dependent claim recite the subject matter that the invention captures the improvement of processing required for searching traffic base points.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Amendment claim 1 recites “ traffic base points with reference..”. The limitation is unclear what is traffic base points with reference?
Amendment claim 1 recites “each predetermined region”. The limitation is unclear how to define predetermined region?
Claim 14 recites “predetermined size” The limitation is unclear what is predetermined size?
Amendment claim 1 recites “mesh areas”. The limitation is unclear what is mesh area, is it a normal area?
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 18 has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses a generic placeholder” module” coupled with functional language “configured to” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since claim 18 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim 18 has been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A revie of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
Claim 18 recites a module that is configured to read. In the specification, corresponding structure found in para [0065] After step S10, the information processing server 20 reads location information…. Therefore, this is merely a server computer.
Claim 18 recites a module that is configured to perform. In the specification, corresponding structure found in para [0066] After step S20, the information processing server 20 performs the cleansing processing… Therefore, this is merely a server computer.
Claim 18 recites a module that is configured to generate. In the specification, corresponding structure found in para [0067] After step S21, the information processing server 20 generates trip data (step S22). Therefore, this is merely a server computer.
Claim 18 recites a module that is configured to determine. In the specification, corresponding structure found in para [0068] After step S22, the information processing server 20 determines the means of transportation included in the trip data (step S23), see Figure 7. Therefore, this is merely a server computer.
Claim 18 recites a module that is configured to integrate. In the specification, corresponding structure found in para[0097] the information processing server 20 integrates the four results (step S2313). Therefore, this is merely a server computer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3-4,6,8,13, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US20190028852A1 to Yamada (herein after “Yamada”) in view of CN108737492A to Huo et al. (herein after “Huo”).
Regarding claim 1, Yamada teaches A people-flow analysis apparatus (see Yamada population estimating apparatus) that analyzes people-flow data using location information from mobile terminals (see Yamada communication terminal 110, para [0037] In the present embodiment, the population estimating system 100 estimates a population or population movement by using positional information of one or more communication terminals 110), comprising: processing circuitry configured to: read, along with time information (see Yamada para[0016] time information indicating the time at which each of the one or more pieces of positional information is acquired), location information estimated based on communication performed by a plurality of mobile terminals with a positioning apparatus, from a database in which the location information is accumulated (see Yamada para[0013] one or more pieces of positional information indicating respective positions of one or more wireless terminals are associated with time information indicating the time at which each of the one or more pieces of positional information is acquired );
However, Yamada does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach perform cleansing processing for thinning out, according to a predetermined rule, the location information received by the positioning apparatus, generate, for the cleansed location information, trip data indicating travel paths of users carrying the mobile terminals, determine, for the generated trip data means of transportation of the users by matching traffic base points with reference to center coordinates of a mesh area corresponding to the trip data among mesh areas partitioned for each predetermined region with respect to the generated trip data, integrate two or more of the mesh areas after the mesh areas are partitioned for the predetermined region and provide a resulting integrated mesh data structure in which the two or more mesh areas are combined into a single integrated mesh. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Huo teaches perform cleansing processing for thinning out, according to a predetermined rule, the location information received by the positioning apparatus (See Huo the step 4 includes: Duplicate removal processing is carried out to realize data cleansing to the initial data using data operation modules, obtains described first Data.)
generate, for the cleansed location information, trip data indicating travel paths of users carrying the mobile terminals (See Huo Step 6:Route graph model is built, the activity of user is stopped in point sequence and activity time input route graph model, and It is asked to realize route recommendation according to Client-initiated route inquiry. In one embodiment of the invention, user is applied by web or route inquiry demand is initiated in mobile terminal application.)
; and
determine, for the generated trip data means of transportation of the users by matching traffic base points with reference to center coordinates of a mesh area corresponding to the trip data among mesh areas partitioned for each predetermined region with respect to the generated trip data
(See Huo figure 7, makes the grid being newly added after merging Centered on grid its adjacent mesh of recursive calculation again, recurrence, terminates until being unsatisfactory for consolidation strategy as shown in Figure 7 and repeatedly.)
and
integrate two or more of the mesh areas after the mesh areas are partitioned for the predetermined region and provide a resulting integrated mesh data structure in which the two or more mesh areas are combined into a single integrated mesh.
(see Huo at least After shortest path between two continuous points, decile divides traveling time, and the time after dividing equally is added to the shifting of each edge On dynamic time table. If Number is supported in the connection that adjacent mesh is calculated>=Smallest connection supports number, merges, and makes the grid being newly added after merging Centered on grid its adjacent mesh of recursive calculation again, recurrence, terminates until being unsatisfactory for consolidation strategy.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Yamada’s population estimation apparatus with Huo’s filtering big data system and location based service in order to allow to greatly reduces the burden of real-time computing on the server terminal and The method adopted by the algorithm to reduce the amount of calculation and facilitate data modeling is map gridding (See Huo “Data processing process”).
Regarding claim 3, Yamada and Huo remain applied as claim 1. Yamada teaches wherein in reading the location information, the processing circuitry configured to set different reference time periods for date and time of obtainment of the location information and for date and time of evaluation of the location information (See Yamada para[0142] The population estimating process and the deriving process of the relation parameter may be executed at different time and date, or may be executed simultaneously or serially.).
Regarding claim 4, Yamada and Huo remain applied as claim 1. Yamada teaches wherein in performing the cleansing processing, the processing circuitry configured to perform processing of eliminating a location information item indicating a location identical with a location of another location information item (see Yamada para[0053] In order to remove it, in the flow line vibration removal process, measurement points in a certain range of positions are cut out in time series, and when the same position occupies many measurement points in a predetermined short time (for example, 3 minutes) (the measurement) A point is referred to as a "base point"), and a measurement point that is temporarily considered to have moved a predetermined ratio or more with respect to a predetermined time from that point is regarded as noise and deleted. ).
Regarding claim 6, Yamada and Huo remain applied as claim 1. However, Yamada does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach to perform processing of eliminating a location information item indicating a length of stay in a predetermined area shorter than a predetermined threshold. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Huo teaches to perform processing of eliminating a location information item indicating a length of stay in a predetermined area shorter than a predetermined threshold. (See Huo From the first data, select a plurality of activity location stay points of the user within a fixed period, construct a sequence of activity stay points of the user, and record the user's activity time, see Abstract clustering, according to user analysis results, time, location Service recommendation, Therefore, the main advantage of grid merging is to reduce the scale of the roadmap model and reduce the time spent in the process of finding the shortest path without losing reliability.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Yamada’s population estimation apparatus with Huo’s the grid merging to reduce the scale of road map based on the shortest path which implies shortest time to travel in order to allow to greatly reduces the burden of real-time computing on the server terminal and The method adopted by the algorithm to reduce the amount of calculation and facilitate data modeling is map gridding (See Huo “Data processing process”).
Regarding claim 8, Yamada and Huo remain applied as claim 1. Yamada teaches wherein in generating the trip data (see Yamada movement history), the processing circuitry configured to calculate an amount of displacement of the location information over time and classifying a location information item as stay or travel (see Yamada para[0098] (b) a moving distance of the communication terminal 110 in the geographic range and time indicated by the input information;; para[0066] a population movement survey, population estimation, statics on the immigration control, an estimation survey on the numbers of tourists and nights of their stay, a survey on regional movement of passengers, or the like, which are published by an administrative agency.).
Regarding claim 13, Yamada and Huo remain applied as claim 1. Yamada teaches wherein the processing circuitry further configured to using master data that stores traffic base points and associated partitioned areas corresponding to predetermined regions, estimate a candidate for a used traffic base point by searching, based on the location information, the partitioned areas associated with the traffic base points. (See Yamada [0065], [0067], [0076] In this case, it is possible to more accurately estimate a population by deriving a relation parameter of a particular facility, using an entry/exit record, a visitor record, a guest record, POS data or the like of the particular facility for example., para[0120])
Regarding claim 17, Yamada teaches A people-flow analysis (see Yamada population estimating apparatus method that analyzes people-flow data using location information from mobile terminals, the method to be executed by a computer including a processing circuitry (see Yamada para[0018] A third aspect of the present invention provides a program for causing a computer to function as the population estimating apparatus described above. A non-volatile computer-readable recording medium having a program for causing a computer to function as the population estimating apparatus described above recorded thereon may also be provided.), the method causing the processing circuitry to perform to: read, along with time information, location information estimated based on communication performed by a plurality of mobile terminals with a positioning apparatus(see Yamada para[0016] time information indicating the time at which each of the one or more pieces of positional information is acquired);
However, Yamada does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach perform cleansing processing for thinning out, according to a predetermined rule, the location information received by the positioning apparatus; generate, for the cleansed location information, trip data indicating travel paths of users carrying the mobile terminals; and determine, for the generated trip data, means of transportation of the users by matching traffic base points with reference to center coordinates of a mesh area corresponding to the trip data among mesh areas partitioned for each predetermined region with respect to the generated trip data; and integrate two or more of the mesh areas after the mesh areas are partitioned for the predetermined region and provide a resulting integrated mesh data structure in which the two or more mesh areas are combined into a single integrated mesh. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Huo teaches perform cleansing processing for thinning out, according to a predetermined rule, the location information received by the positioning apparatus (See Huo the step 4 includes: Duplicate removal processing is carried out to realize data cleansing to the initial data using data operation modules, obtains described first Data.)
generate, for the cleansed location information, trip data indicating travel paths of users carrying the mobile terminals (See Huo Step 6:Route graph model is built, the activity of user is stopped in point sequence and activity time input route graph model, and It is asked to realize route recommendation according to Client-initiated route inquiry. In one embodiment of the invention, user is applied by web or route inquiry demand is initiated in mobile terminal application.)
; and
determine, for the generated trip data means of transportation of the users by matching traffic base points with reference to center coordinates of a mesh area corresponding to the trip data among mesh areas partitioned for each predetermined region with respect to the generated trip data
(See Huo figure 7, makees the grid being newly added after merging Centered on grid its adjacent mesh of recursive calculation again, recurrence, terminates until being unsatisfactory for consolidation strategy as shown in Figure 7 and repeatedly.)
and
integrate two or more of the mesh areas after the mesh areas are partitioned for the predetermined region and provide a resulting integrated mesh data structure in which the two or more mesh areas are combined into a single integrated mesh.
(see Huo at least After shortest path between two continuous points, decile divides traveling time, and the time after dividing equally is added to the shifting of each edge On dynamic time table. If Number is supported in the connection that adjacent mesh is calculated>=Smallest connection supports number, merges, and makes the grid being newly added after merging Centered on grid its adjacent mesh of recursive calculation again, recurrence, terminates until being unsatisfactory for consolidation strategy.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Yamada’s population estimation apparatus with Huo’s filtering big data system and location based service in order to allow to greatly reduces the burden of real-time computing on the server terminal and The method adopted by the algorithm to reduce the amount of calculation and facilitate data modeling is map gridding (See Huo “Data processing process”).
Regarding claim 18, Yamada teaches A people-flow analysis system that comprises a processor of a computer and analyzes people-flow data using location information from mobile terminals (see Yamada para[0018] A third aspect of the present invention provides a program for causing a computer to function as the population estimating apparatus described above. A non-volatile computer-readable recording medium having a program for causing a computer to function as the population estimating apparatus described above recorded thereon may also be provided.), the processor of the computer comprising: a module that reads, along with time information, location information estimated based on communication performed by a plurality of mobile terminals with a positioning apparatus(see Yamada para[0016] time information indicating the time at which each of the one or more pieces of positional information is acquired);
However, Yamada does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach a module that performs is configured to perform cleansing processing for thinning out, according to a predetermined rule, the location information received by the positioning apparatus; a module that is configured to generate, for the cleansed location information, trip data indicating travel paths of users carrying the mobile terminals; and a module that is configured to determine, for the generated trip data, means of transportation of the users by matching traffic base point with reference to center coordinates of a mesh area corresponding to the trip data among mesh areas partitioned for each predetermined region with respect to the generated trip data; and a module that is configured to integrate two or more of the mesh areas after the mesh areas are partitioned for the predetermined region and provide a resulting integrated mesh data structure in which the two or more mesh areas are combined into a single integrated mesh. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Huo teaches perform cleansing processing for thinning out, according to a predetermined rule, the location information received by the positioning apparatus (See Huo the step 4 includes: Duplicate removal processing is carried out to realize data cleansing to the initial data using data operation modules, obtains described first Data.)
a module that is configured to generate, for the cleansed location information, trip data indicating travel paths of users carrying the mobile terminals (See Huo Step 6:Route graph model is built, the activity of user is stopped in point sequence and activity time input route graph model, and It is asked to realize route recommendation according to Client-initiated route inquiry. In one embodiment of the invention, user is applied by web or route inquiry demand is initiated in mobile terminal application.)
; and
a module that is configured to determine, for the generated trip data, means of transportation of the users by matching traffic base point with reference to center coordinates of a mesh area corresponding to the trip data among mesh areas partitioned for each predetermined region with respect to the generated trip data (See Huo figure 7, makees the grid being newly added after merging Centered on grid its adjacent mesh of recursive calculation again, recurrence, terminates until being unsatisfactory for consolidation strategy as shown in Figure 7 and repeatedly.)
and
a module that is configured to integrate two or more of the mesh areas after the mesh areas are partitioned for the predetermined region and provide a resulting integrated mesh data structure in which the two or more mesh areas are combined into a single integrated mesh (see Huo at least After shortest path between two continuous points, decile divides traveling time, and the time after dividing equally is added to the shifting of each edge On dynamic time table. If Number is supported in the connection that adjacent mesh is calculated>=Smallest connection supports number, merges, and makes the grid being newly added after merging Centered on grid its adjacent mesh of recursive calculation again, recurrence, terminates until being unsatisfactory for consolidation strategy.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Yamada’s population estimation apparatus with Huo’s filtering big data system and location based service in order to allow to greatly reduces the burden of real-time computing on the server terminal and The method adopted by the algorithm to reduce the amount of calculation and facilitate data modeling is map gridding (See Huo “Data processing process”).
Claims 2,14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US20190028852A1 to Yamada (herein after “Yamada”) in view of CN108737492A to Huo et al. (herein after “Huo”) and JP2010097348A to Sumiya et al. (herein after “Sumiya”).
Regarding claim 2, Yamada and Huo remain applied as claim 1. However, Yamada does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach the processing circuitry further configured to: calculate, for performing scale-up estimation from a number of samples of the location information to a population of an estimation area, a scale-up factor for scaling up a number of mobile terminals being used to the population of the estimation area. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Sumiya teaches the processing circuitry further configured to: calculate, for performing scale-up estimation from a number of samples of the location information to a population of an estimation area, a scale-up factor for scaling up a number of mobile terminals being used to the population of the estimation area (See Sumiya para[0021] the “situation transition model” is a model that defines the transition order of the user's situation depending on the life cycle information representing the daily life cycle of the user and the position information representing the place where the user is present).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Yamada’s population estimation apparatus with Sumiya’s system for displaying an action history, life cycle information is defined by setting various time for each user in order to allow to provide an action history display system and an action history display program capable of displaying a user's action history (See Sumiya para[0003]).
Regarding claim 14, Yamada and Huo remain applied as claim 1, Yamada, Huo and Sumiya remain applied as claim 2. Yamada teaches wherein in calculate a scale-up factor (see Yamada same as proportionality factor ) for each integrated area , the plurality of integrated areas (see Qiuuan’s merges, and makes the grid being newly added after merging Centered on grid its adjacent mesh ) including the integrated mesh data structure, wherein the two or more mesh areas to be integrated are selected to be integrated based on comparison(See Huo step 6.3 Through the similarity in time and space, some adjacent meshes are merged to form an independent local region set; next, we analyze the strategy of mesh merge) of the two or more mesh area to a predetermined size(See Yamada para[0037] a division made by subdividing an area by an unit region with a predetermined size and shape (which may be referred to as an area mesh or the like), etc,), wherein the scale up factor is calculated for each determined means of transportation (see Yamada para[0017] In the population estimating apparatus described above, the relation parameter deriving unit may have a proportionality factor deriving unit to derive a proportionality factor from the local area by dividing the population of the local area indicated by the local population information by the number of wireless terminals extracted by the second terminal extracting unit; same as ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Yamada’s population estimation apparatus with Huo’s filtering big data system by analyzing the two or more mesh in order to allow to reduce the scale of the roadmap model without reducing the reliability, and the time spent in finding the shortest path is also reduced (See Huo “Data processing process”).
Regarding claim 15, Yamada and Yonekawa remain applied as claim 1, Yamada, Huo and Sumiya remain applied as claim 2. Yamada teaches wherein in calculating the scale-up factor (see Yamada same as proportionality factor ), the processing circuitry calculate a corrected factor for each integrated partitioned area based on a number of traffic-facility users and a corrected number of users(see Yamada para[0017] the relation parameter deriving unit may have a correction unit to correct the proportionality factor based on the wide area population information and derive the relation parameter. ).
Regarding claim 16, Yamada and Yonekawa remain applied as claim 1, Yamada, Huo and Sumiya remain applied as claim 2. Yamada teaches wherein in calculating the scale-up factor (same as proportionality factor ), the processing circuitry set a screen line for each of municipal codes, expressway traffic sections, air routes, and railway facilities having ticket barriers to be passed through, the screen line indicating a boundary expected to be passed through by travel means(see Yamada para[0091] a log information interpolating unit 314 first generates one or more pieces of log information such that positions indicated by one or more pieces of log information generated by an interpolation process is arranged at a regular interval on the straight line connecting the positions indicated by the two pieces of log information described above; para[0041] an output apparatus such as a display apparatus ); and calculating, for each travel means, a screen line passing count that indicates a number of times the screen line is passed through (see Yamada para[0091] [0091] If at least one of the positions indicated by the positional information of the two pieces of log information is arranged on a road, on a rail, or on a route, the log information interpolating unit 314 may also generate one or more pieces of log information such that the position indicated by the log information generated by the interpolation is arranged on the road,).
Claims 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US20190028852A1 to Yamada (herein after “Yamada”) in view of CN108737492A to Huo et al. (herein after “Huo”) and JP2001101563A to Asakura et al. (herein after “Asakura ”).
Regarding claim 9, Yamada and Huo remain applied as claim 1. However, Yamada does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein in generating the trip data, the processing circuity configured to integrate the location data items into a single trip data item if sequential location data items are apart by a distance not longer than a threshold and are classified as stay. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Asakura teaches wherein in generating the trip data the processing circuity configured to integrate the location data items into a single trip data item if sequential location data items are apart by a distance not longer than a threshold and are classified as stay (see Asakura para [0018] FIG. 4 shows position data of the subject during movement, which is processed by the data processing device of this embodiment. FIG. 4 shows two movements (trips) of the subject (sequence numbers 1 to 23 show the first movement of the subject, and sequence numbers 24 to 42 show the second movement). The position data between the sequence numbers 23 and 24 while the subject is staying (when the subject is not moving) is thinned out by the above processing).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Yamada’s population estimation apparatus with Asakura’s position data between two sequence numbers classified as stay in order to allow to accurately acquire the traffic behavior of the subject in order to properly predict (see Asakura para[0002]).
Regarding claim 11, Yamada and Huo remain applied as claim 1. However, Yamada does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein in determining the means of transportation of the users, the processing circuitry configured to determine the means of transportation after adding traffic section information and traffic facility information to the location information. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Asakura teaches wherein in determining the means of transportation of the users, the processing circuitry configured to determine the means of transportation after adding traffic section information and traffic facility information to the location information (see Asakura para [0015] The facility database 23 is stored. In the geographic information database 21, transportation networks such as roads and railways are registered. In the ID attribute database 22, personal information such as the home or work address of each subject is registered.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Yamada’s population estimation apparatus with Asakura’s position data between two sequence numbers classified as stay in order to allow to accurately acquire the traffic behavior of the subject in order to properly predict (see Asakura para[0002]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US20190028852A1 to Yamada (herein after “Yamada”) in view of CN108737492A to Huo et al. (herein after “Huo”) and JP2014122841A to Ejima et al. (herein after “Ejima”).
Regarding claim 10, Yamada and Huo remain applied as claim 1. However, Yamada does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein in determining the means of transportation of the users, the processing circuitry configured to determine the means of transportation after adding traffic section information and traffic facility information to the location information. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Ejima teaches wherein in determining the means of transportation of the users, the processing circuity configured to determine air travel based on the location information before determining other means of transportation (see Ejima para[0242] Determine that the user is traveling by plane. If the user is traveling by plane, it is safe for the HMD1 user to fall asleep except for special occupations such as a pilot. Therefore, when the vehicle detection unit 309 determines that the user is moving by an airplane (Step S613; Yes), the process proceeds to Step S614, and when it is determined that the user is not moving by an airplane (Step S613; No). ), Go to step S615).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Yamada’s population estimation apparatus with Ejima’s determine air travel based on the location information before determining other means of transportation in order to allow to guides the route from the departure point to the destination point according to the moving means of the user (see Ejima para[0002]).
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US20190028852A1 to Yamada (herein after “Yamada”) in view of CN108737492A to Huo et al. (herein after “Huo”) and US 20090093924 A to Aso(herein after “Aso”).
Regarding claim 5, Yamada and Huo remain applied as claim 1. However, Yamada does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach to perform processing of checking displacement angles of the location information over time on a map, and if a displacement angle smaller than a predetermined threshold is detected, eliminating a location information item corresponding to a vertex of the displacement angle. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Aso teaches to perform processing of checking displacement angles of the location information over time on a map, and if a displacement angle smaller than a predetermined threshold is detected, eliminating a location information item corresponding to a vertex of the displacement angle. (See Aso para [0031] The control unit 50 has the above-described Kalman filter 200 function and a function for steering the vehicle. Prediction calculation of state quantities representing the movement of the vehicle in the lateral direction (yaw rate, yaw angle, lateral displacement speed, and lateral position) is performed by the Kalman filter 200 function,).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Yamada’s population estimation apparatus with Aso’s filtering data based on displacement angle in order to allow to improve the accuracy of predicting the state quantities of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 7, Yamada and Huo remain applied as claim 1. However, Yamada does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach to calculate a travel speed from an amount of displacement of the location information over time, and excluding, from thinning-out processing, a location information item indicating displacement at a speed higher than a predetermined speed. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Aso teaches to calculate a travel speed from an amount of displacement of the location information over time, and excluding, from thinning-out processing, a location information item indicating displacement at a speed higher than a predetermined speed. (See Aso para [0031] The control unit 50 has the above-described Kalman filter 200 function and a function for steering the vehicle. Prediction calculation of state quantities representing the movement of the vehicle in the lateral direction (yaw rate, yaw angle, lateral displacement speed, and lateral position) is performed by the Kalman filter 200 function,).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Yamada’s population estimation apparatus with Aso’s filtering data based on displacement angle in order to allow to improve the accuracy of predicting the state quantities of the vehicle.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US20190028852A1 to Yamada (herein after “Yamada”) in view of CN108737492A to Huo et al. (herein after “Huo”) and CN 110720026 A to Rubin et al.(herein after “Rubin”).
Regarding claim 12, Yamada and Xidian remain applied as claim 1. However, Yamada does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein in determining the means of transportation of the users, the processing circuitry configured to: set, for each trip data item, a start and a goal for each of a plurality of travel means, identify a plurality of routes allowing travel from the start to the goal at a travel speed of the travel means. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Rubin teaches wherein in determining the means of transportation of the users, the processing circuitry configured to : set, for each trip data item, a start and a goal for each of a plurality of travel means (See Rubin the mapping application server provides an application programming interface (API) for accessing a map and navigation data to display a digital map, and providing to the navigation guidance of the destination position (direction). a digital map) , identify a plurality of routes allowing travel from the start to the goal at a travel speed of the travel means (See Rubin transportation traffic mode, bus service, recommendation, which may include multiple traffic modes based on shortest duration, distance, or the lowest cost to reach the destination position) to provide navigation or travel guidance);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Yamada’s population estimation apparatus with Rubin’s selecting trip data based on lowest-cost in order to allow to provide a digital map of a geographic area, where the digital map includes a user's pick-up location, destination location, navigation guidance to travel to the destination location, and the like (See Rubin’s second paragraph).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAZIA AFRIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666