DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
For claim 10, the claim recites “an RX AFE” (on line 2) and this acronym is not defined in claim 10 or the parent claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-9, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2021/0156916 A1; hereafter CHEN).
With respect to claim 1, CHEN discloses a transceiver (100 of FIG. 1) comprising:
a transmitter (110 of FIG. 1);
a first receiver pad (RX_1 of FIG. 1) configured to receive a first external voltage (DIN of FIG. 1);
a second receiver pad (RX_2 of FIG. 1) configured to receive a second external voltage (DIN of FIG. 1);
a receiver (140 of FIG. 1) configured to generate (paragraphs [0014], [0015], [0016], [0017], [0018], [0019] ) a test target signal (140, 130 of FIG. 1) based on the first external voltage and the second external voltage (DIN of FIG. 1); and
a digital logic (120 of FIG. 1) configured (paragraphs [0014], [0015], [0016], [0017], [0018], [0019] ) to perform a loopback test (DT of FIG. 1) on a reception path (DIN of FIG. 1) of a data signal by transmitting the data signal and receiving the test target signal (140, 130 of FIG. 1).
With respect to claim 7, CHEN further discloses the transceiver of claim 1, wherein the digital logic (120 of FIG. 1) is configured to determine that the loopback test has passed when the data signal and the test target signal are the same (paragraphs [0014], [0015], [0016], [0017], [0018], [0019] ).
With respect to claim 8, CHEN further discloses the transceiver of claim 1, wherein the first external voltage has a voltage corresponding to logical high; and the second external voltage has a voltage corresponding to logical low (paragraph [0028]).
With respect to claim 9, CHEN further discloses the transceiver of claim 1, wherein the first external voltage and the second external voltage are variable (paragraph [0028]).
With respect to claim 12, CHEN further discloses the transceiver of claim 1, further comprising:
at least one terminating resistor (TR1, TR2 of FIG. 2) connected to the first receiver pad or the second receiver pad, the at least one terminating resistor (TR1, TR2 of FIG. 2) being configured to change a terminating resistance value (paragraph [0028]).
With respect to claim 13, CHEN further discloses the transceiver of claim 12, further comprising:
at least one switch connected to the at least one terminating resistor (TR1, TR2 of FIG. 2), the terminating resistance value changing based on whether the at least one switch (EN, T3, T4 of FIG. 2) is on or off (paragraph [0028]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN in view of Stott et al. (US 2007/0257693 A1; hereafter STOTT).
With respect to claim 14, CHEN does not disclose the transceiver of claim 1, wherein the data signal is a random data signal.
STOTT discloses wherein the data signal is a random data signal (paragraphs [0016] and [0029]).
STOTT teaches the benefit or improved testing results by using pseudo-random data patterns (paragraphs [0003] and [0004]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the random data as taught by STOTT in the testing transceiver of CHEN to produce an expected result.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
Claims 2-6 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BRIAN T O CONNOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465 March 14, 2026