3Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-8, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (US 2021/0297959).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches a P-MPR reporting method, comprising: determining, by a terminal, at least one target power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) value (Paragraph [0306]….. The wireless device 2910 may determine a first value of a first P-MPR of the first panel 2915 based on the two requirements applying to the first panel 2915, for example, if the wireless device 2910 determines a transmission via the first panel 2915. The wireless device 2910 may determine a second value of a second P-MPR of the second panel 2920, for example, based on the two requirements applying to the second panel 2920, for example, if the wireless device 2910 determines a transmission via the second panel 2920); and
sending, by the terminal, a P-MPR report to a network device, wherein the P-MPR report carries the at least one target P-MPR value (Paragraphs [0307, 0310, 0313, 0343, 0357), especially Paragraph [0307]…… The wireless device may send/transmit the capability via one or more messages (e.g., RRC message(s)), for example, based on (e.g., after or in response to) receiving from the base station a capability enquiry/request (e.g., UECapabilityEnquiry IE). The threshold may indicate a P-MPR value), and a target P-MPR value corresponds to at least one target identification information, and target identification information comprises: at least one of beam identification information, antenna panel identification information, or group identification information of a beam group (Paragraph [0535]…..The panel power state report MAC CE 5850 may comprise at least one of: a first index identifying (e.g., indicating) a panel of a plurality of panels, a first P-MPR value for transmission via the panel, a first PHR value for transmission via the panel, a first maximum output power for transmission via the panel, and/or a first uplink beam indication (e.g., an UL TCI or an SRI indication).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein in a case that a value of N is greater than 1, one target P-MPR value corresponds to one or multiple pieces of beam identification information (Paragraph [0362]……The wireless device 3515 may trigger an uplink beam report (e.g., comprising an indication of proximity detection and/or an indication of uplink coverage loss) based on a first P-MPR and a first RSRP of the first panel and/or a second P-MPR and a second RSRP of the second panel (e.g., 3504A)…… The wireless device 3515 may trigger the uplink beam report based on a combined value of a first P-MPR and a first RSRP of the first panel being less than a threshold, and/or a combined value of a second P-MPR and a second RSRP of the second panel being greater than the threshold (e.g., 3504B)).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein the multiple pieces of beam identification information are any one of the following: multiple pieces of beam identification information corresponding to one beam group; and multiple pieces of beam identification information corresponding to one antenna panel (Paragraph [0278]….. wireless communication using multiple transmission reception points (TRPs) and/or multiple panels. As used herein, a TRP may refer to any transmitter/receiver device (e.g., at a base station and/or at any other computing device). As used herein, a panel and/or an antenna panel may refer to any transmitter/receiver device (e.g., at a wireless device and/or at any other computing device…..Paragraph [0287]…. The wireless device 2725 may comprise one or more panels (e.g., panel 12730 and panel 22735). The wireless device may determine/detect/sense that there may be a human body (or soft objects, living organism, etc.) 2740 in proximity to (e.g., within a threshold distance and/or in a path of a beam for transmission/reception) a first panel 2730 (e.g., panel 1) of the wireless device 2725. The wireless may determine/detect/sense that there is not a human body 2740 (and/or may not determine/detect/sense the presence of a human body) in proximity to (e.g., within a threshold distance and/or in a path of a beam for transmission/reception) a second panel 2735 (e.g., panel 2) of the wireless device 2725).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein the beam identification information is determined by the terminal (Paragraph [0178]…… A wireless device may determine/assess (e.g., measure) a channel quality of one or more beam pair links, for example, in a beam management procedure……. The wireless device may send/transmit a beam measurement report, for example, based on the assessment/determination. The beam measurement report may indicate one or more beam pair quality parameters comprising at least one of: one or more beam identifications).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein the determining, by a terminal, at least one target P-MPR value comprises: determining, by the terminal, a first P-MPR value corresponding to each first beam identification information corresponding to a first antenna panel of the terminal or a first beam group of the terminal (Paragraph [0306]….. The wireless device 2910 may determine a first value of a first P-MPR of the first panel 2915 based on the two requirements applying to the first panel 2915, for example, if the wireless device 2910 determines a transmission via the first panel 2915. The wireless device 2910 may determine a second value of a second P-MPR of the second panel 2920, for example, based on the two requirements applying to the second panel 2920, for example, if the wireless device 2910 determines a transmission via the second panel 2920);
determining, by the terminal, a first value corresponding to the first P-MPR value; and
determining, by the terminal, the first value as a first target P-MPR value, wherein the first target P-MPR value corresponds to at least one of identification information of the first antenna panel, group identification information of the first beam group, first beam identification information corresponding to the first antenna panel, or first beam identification information corresponding to the first beam group.
Regarding claim 8, Zhou teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein in a case that the first value meets a first reporting condition, the P-MPR report carries the first target P-MPR value (Paragraphs [0343, 0358]…The uplink beam report 3435 may comprise at least one of: a first index identifying/indicating a first panel (e.g., Panel 1), a second index identifying/indicating at least a second panel (e.g., Panel 2), a first P-MPR value for sending (e.g., transmission) via the first panel, a second P-MPR value for sending (e.g., transmission) via the second panel. Paragraph [0362]……The wireless device 3515 may trigger an uplink beam report (e.g., comprising an indication of proximity detection and/or an indication of uplink coverage loss) based on a first P-MPR and a first RSRP of the first panel and/or a second P-MPR and a second RSRP of the second panel (e.g., 3504A)…… The wireless device 3515 may trigger the uplink beam report based on a combined value of a first P-MPR and a first RSRP of the first panel being less than a threshold, and/or a combined value of a second P-MPR and a second RSRP of the second panel being greater than the threshold (e.g., 3504B)).
Regarding claim 16, Zhou teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein before the terminal sends the P-MPR report to the network device, the method further comprises: receiving, by the terminal, target configuration information sent by the network device, wherein the target configuration information is used to indicate that the target P-MPR value corresponds to at least one beam identification information, or at least one antenna panel identification information (Paragraph 0567……… The wireless device may receive at least one configuration parameter of the first cell. The at least one configuration parameter may indicate a plurality of transmission configuration information (TCI) states associated with the antenna panel…..Paragraph [0375]….. The wireless device 3615 may send (e.g., transmit) one or more periodic uplink beam reports 3630, 3640 based on the configuration parameters 3620 of the uplink beam report….. The wireless device 3615 may send (e.g., transmit) the one or more uplink beam reports 3630, 3640 with a transmission periodicity 3635 indicated in the configuration parameters 3620. The wireless device 3615 may send (e.g., transmit) the one or more uplink beam reports 3630, 3640 via a PUCCH resource indicated in the configuration parameters 3620. The one or more uplink beam reports 3630, 3640 may comprise at least one of: a first index indicating a first panel, a first P-MPR value associated with the first panel), or group identification information of at least one beam group.
Regarding claim 17, Zhou teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the sending, by the terminal, a P-MPR report to a network device comprises: in a case that a target condition is met, sending, by the terminal, the P-MPR report to the network device, wherein the target condition comprises at least one of the following that:
a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) event occurs (Paragraphs [0500, 0504, 0505, 0508, and 0510]);
an equivalent isotropically radiated power reaches or exceeds an MPE threshold;
an equivalent isotropically radiated power reaches or exceeds a first threshold;
a maximum equivalent isotropically radiated power reaches or exceeds an MPE threshold;
a maximum equivalent isotropically radiated power reaches or exceeds a second threshold;
a transmit power reaches or exceeds a third threshold;
a transmit power reaches or exceeds an MPE threshold;
a maximum transmit power reaches or exceeds a fourth threshold;
a maximum transmit power reaches or exceeds an MPE threshold;
a radio frequency device is close to a human body;
activating or starting or adding a panel;
a path loss measurement value or a change value of path loss of a current panel or beam reaches or exceeds a fifth threshold;
a power backoff value or a change value of power of a current panel or beam reaches or exceeds a sixth threshold;
a P-MPR value or a change value of P-MPR value of a current panel or beam reaches or exceeds a seventh threshold;
a link quality value or a change value of link quality of a current panel or beam is equal to or lower than an eighth threshold;
a difference between a path loss measurement value of a current panel or beam and a path loss measurement value of a first panel or a first beam reaches or exceeds a ninth threshold;
a difference between a power backoff value of a current panel or beam and a power backoff value of a first panel or a first beam reaches or exceeds a tenth threshold;
a difference between a P-MPR value of a current panel or beam and a P-MPR value of a first panel or a first beam reaches or exceeds an eleventh threshold; or
a difference between a link quality value of a current panel or beam and a link quality value of a first panel or a first beam is less than or equal to a twelfth threshold.
Regarding claim 18, Zhou teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the sending, by the terminal, a P-MPR report to a network device comprises: sending, by the terminal, the P-MPR report to the network device through a first command, wherein the first command carries at least one of the following information: the at least one target P-MPR value (Paragraphs 0376, 0388, and 0394);
antenna panel identification information corresponding to at least one of target P-MPR values;
group identification information of the beam group corresponding to at least one of target P-MPR values;
beam identification information corresponding to at least one of target P-MPR values;
a maximum output power value corresponding to the antenna panel identification information or the group identification information of the beam group or the beam identification information;
a power headroom (PH) value corresponding to the antenna panel identification information or the group identification information of the beam group or the beam identification information;
a maximum output power value of the terminal;
at least one target power value, wherein the target power value is a maximum output power minus a target P-MPR value;
at least one target power value and antenna panel identification information corresponding to a target power value;
at least one target power value and group identification information of a beam group corresponding to a target power value; or
at least one target power value and beam identification information corresponding to a target power value.
Regarding claim 19, Yang Yu teaches a terminal, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or an instruction stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform: determining at least one target power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) value (Paragraph [0306]….. The wireless device 2910 may determine a first value of a first P-MPR of the first panel 2915 based on the two requirements applying to the first panel 2915, for example, if the wireless device 2910 determines a transmission via the first panel 2915. The wireless device 2910 may determine a second value of a second P-MPR of the second panel 2920, for example, based on the two requirements applying to the second panel 2920, for example, if the wireless device 2910 determines a transmission via the second panel 2920); and
sending a P-MPR report to a network device, wherein the P-MPR report carries the at least one target P-MPR value (Paragraphs [0307, 0310, 0313, 0343, 0357), especially Paragraph [0307]…… The wireless device may send/transmit the capability via one or more messages (e.g., RRC message(s)), for example, based on (e.g., after or in response to) receiving from the base station a capability enquiry/request (e.g., UECapabilityEnquiry IE). The threshold may indicate a P-MPR value), and a target P-MPR value corresponds to at least one target identification information, and target identification information comprises: at least one of beam identification information, antenna panel identification information, or group identification information of a beam group (Paragraph [0535]…..The panel power state report MAC CE 5850 may comprise at least one of: a first index identifying (e.g., indicating) a panel of a plurality of panels, a first P-MPR value for transmission via the panel, a first PHR value for transmission via the panel, a first maximum output power for transmission via the panel, and/or a first uplink beam indication (e.g., an UL TCI or an SRI indication).
Regarding claim 20, Yang Yu teaches a non-transitory readable storage medium, storing a program or an instruction, wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by a processor of a terminal, causes the terminal to perform: determining at least one target power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) value (Paragraph [0306]….. The wireless device 2910 may determine a first value of a first P-MPR of the first panel 2915 based on the two requirements applying to the first panel 2915, for example, if the wireless device 2910 determines a transmission via the first panel 2915. The wireless device 2910 may determine a second value of a second P-MPR of the second panel 2920, for example, based on the two requirements applying to the second panel 2920, for example, if the wireless device 2910 determines a transmission via the second panel 2920); and
sending a P-MPR report to a network device, wherein the P-MPR report carries the at least one target P-MPR value (Paragraphs [0307, 0310, 0313, 0343, 0357), especially Paragraph [0307]…… The wireless device may send/transmit the capability via one or more messages (e.g., RRC message(s)), for example, based on (e.g., after or in response to) receiving from the base station a capability enquiry/request (e.g., UECapabilityEnquiry IE). The threshold may indicate a P-MPR value), and a target P-MPR value corresponds to at least one target identification information, and target identification information comprises: at least one of beam identification information, antenna panel identification information, or group identification information of a beam group (Paragraph [0535]…..The panel power state report MAC CE 5850 may comprise at least one of: a first index identifying (e.g., indicating) a panel of a plurality of panels, a first P-MPR value for transmission via the panel, a first PHR value for transmission via the panel, a first maximum output power for transmission via the panel, and/or a first uplink beam indication (e.g., an UL TCI or an SRI indication).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2021/0297959, hereinafter Zhou*959) in view of Zhou et al. (US 2023/0041095, hereinafter Zhou*095)
Regarding claim 2, Zhou*959 fails to teach the method according to claim 1, wherein a maximum number N of target P-MPR values carried in the P-MPR report meets at least one of the following:
specified in a protocol;
configured by a network;
determined by the terminal;
less than or equal to a number of antenna panels of the terminal;
less than or equal to a number of beam groups supported by the terminal;
less than or equal to a number of beams supported by the terminal;
less than or equal to a number of beams on an antenna panel of the terminal; or
less than or equal to a number of beams in a beam group supported by the terminal.
However, in related art, Zhou*095 teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein a maximum number N of target P-MPR values carried in the P-MPR report (Paragraphs 0376 and 0382, especially paragraph [0376]….. a wireless device may determine the first panel, from the multiple active panels, having a highest P-MPR value based on measurements or detections on the multiple active panels. The wireless device transmitting the uplink beam/power report comprising the highest P-MPR value associated with the first panel may indicate that uplink coverage loss may occur on the first panel (e.g., due to a proximity detection on the first panel). In an example, the wireless device may transmit the uplink beam/power report comprising the one or more fields (e.g., the first field, the second field, the third field and the fourth field as shown in FIG. 34) indicating a first highest P-MPR associated with the first panel and a second highest P-MPR associated with the second panel. The uplink beam/power report comprising the one or more fields may indicate that uplink coverage loss may occur on the first panel and/or the second panel (e.g., due to a proximity detection on the first panel and/or the second panel). The uplink beam/power report comprising highest P-MPRs on the first panel and/or the second panel may indicate an uplink transmission restriction on the first panel and/or the second panel) meets at least one of the following:
specified in a protocol;
configured by a network;
determined by the terminal (Paragraphs 0376 and 0382);
less than or equal to a number of antenna panels of the terminal;
less than or equal to a number of beam groups supported by the terminal;
less than or equal to a number of beams supported by the terminal;
less than or equal to a number of beams on an antenna panel of the terminal; or
less than or equal to a number of beams in a beam group supported by the terminal. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Zhou*095’s teaching about wherein a maximum number N of target P-MPR values carried in the P-MPR report determined by the terminal with Zhou*959’s invention in order to provide a voice service while guaranteeing mobility of users.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Zhou*959 and Zhou*095 teach all the claimed elements in claim 2. In addition, Zhou*095 teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein when the terminal reports a terminal capability (Paragraphs 0047, 0281, 0296, and 0299), a maximum number M of target P-MPR values supported by the terminal is reported, wherein N is less than or equal to M (Paragraphs 0376 and 0382, especially paragraph [0376]….. a wireless device may determine the first panel, from the multiple active panels, having a highest P-MPR value based on measurements or detections on the multiple active panels. The wireless device transmitting the uplink beam/power report comprising the highest P-MPR value associated with the first panel may indicate that uplink coverage loss may occur on the first panel (e.g., due to a proximity detection on the first panel). In an example, the wireless device may transmit the uplink beam/power report comprising the one or more fields (e.g., the first field, the second field, the third field and the fourth field as shown in FIG. 34) indicating a first highest P-MPR associated with the first panel and a second highest P-MPR associated with the second panel. The uplink beam/power report comprising the one or more fields may indicate that uplink coverage loss may occur on the first panel and/or the second panel (e.g., due to a proximity detection on the first panel and/or the second panel). The uplink beam/power report comprising highest P-MPRs on the first panel and/or the second panel may indicate an uplink transmission restriction on the first panel and/or the second panel)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record fails to teach the method according to claim 7, wherein after determining, by the terminal, the first value as the first target P-MPR value, the method further comprises: determining, by the terminal, a second target P-MPR value, wherein the second target P-MPR value corresponds to at least one of identification information of a second antenna panel, group identification information of a second beam group, second beam identification information corresponding to the second antenna panel, or second beam identification information corresponding to the second beam group; wherein in a case that the first target P-MPR value and/or the second target P-MPR value meets a second reporting condition, the P-MPR report carries the first target P-MPR value and/or the second target P-MPR value.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art of record fails to teach themethod according to claim 4, wherein the determining, by a terminal, at least one target P-MPR value comprises: dividing, by the terminal, all third P-MPR values corresponding to all beam identification information corresponding to all antenna panels of the terminal or all beam groups of the terminal into multiple target groups; and determining, by the terminal, corresponding target P-MPR values in the multiple target groups.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhou et al. (US 2026/0005718), Zhang et al. (US 2024/0283585), Zhou et al. (US 2023/0041095), Jeon et al. (US Patent #11,419,066), Liu et al. (US 2022/0052807), Jeong et al. (US 2022/0053606), Zhou et al. (US 2021/0297959), Noh et al. (US 2020/0314764), Seo et al. (US 2018/0124709), Roji et al. (US 2017/0181107), Loehr et al. (US 2015/0195795), Haim et al. (US Patent #9,020,556), Kim et al. (US 2012/0207112), Grieco (US 2024/0063859), Khoshnevisan et al. (US 2023/0031429), Ng et al. (US 2022/0400446), Yuan et al. (US 2022/0377680), Yao et al. (US 2022/0116891), Raghavan et al. (US 2021/0234598), Gheorghiu et al. (US 2021/0144652), Marinier et al. (US 2020/0145079), Park et al. (US Patent #9,049,619), Coan et al. (US 2014/0092838), Hsu et al. (US 2012/0176923), and Cho et al. (US 2007/0121746).
/DOMINIC E REGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 Tel 571-272-8132