Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 11-16 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, none of the prior art of record disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “wherein in a case that the target information comprises the ending time of the CPS, the determining the candidate resource set based on target information comprises that: in a case of TB < 0 or TB = 0, a determination condition of a parameter T1 for determining a starting time of a resource selection window is: 0 ≤ T1 ≤ Tproc; in a case of TB > 0, the determination condition of the parameter T1 for determining the starting time of the resource selection window is: TB ≤ T1 ≤ TB + Tproc, 1, wherein Tproc, 1 denotes a resource selection time and a transmission preparation time; and TB denotes a parameter for determining an ending time of a CPS window” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 3, none of the prior art of record disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “wherein in a case that the target information comprises the ending time of the CPS, the determining the candidate resource set based on target information comprises that: in a case of TB < 0 or TB = 0, a determination condition of a parameter T1 for determining a starting time of a resource selection window is any one of following: 0 ≤ T1 ≤ Tproc, 0 + Tₚᵣₒᶜ, 1; and
Tproc, ≤ T1 ≤ Tproc, + Tproc,1, in a case of TB > 0, the determination condition of the parameter T1 for determining the starting time of the resource selection window is any one of following: TB ≤ T1 ≤ TB + Tproc,0 + Tproc, 1; and TB + Tproc, ≤ T1 ≤ TB + Tproc, + Tproc, 1, wherein Tproc, 0 denotes a sensing processing time; Tproc, 1 denotes a resource selection time and a transmission preparation time; and TB denotes a parameter for determining an ending time of a CPS window” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 7, none of the prior art of record disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “ wherein in a case in which the target information comprises the resource location corresponding to a sensing result acquired at a DRX active time, and/or the resource location with a corresponding PBPS result, the method further comprises: determining the candidate resource set based on the resource location corresponding to a sensing result acquired at a DRX active time, and/or the resource location with a corresponding PBPS result; and determining a time domain location, obtained by considering a processing time, of the first time domain candidate resource in the determined candidate resource set as a location of n+TB, wherein the considering a processing time comprises subtracting or not subtracting the processing time; and n+TB denotes an ending time of a CPS window” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 11, none of the prior art of record disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “ wherein the determining a target quantity of resource reservations based on a value of K which is a parameter in parameters for determining a sensing occasion and is used for determining a quantity of sensing execution times comprises: determining that the target quantity of resource reservations is N times a quantity of periodic reservations indicated by the SCI, wherein N is any one of following: the value of K; a maximum value in a set of values of K; a maximum value indicated in a bitmap of the value of K; a value corresponding to a current sensing occasion in a sensing occasion determined based on the value of K; a value corresponding to a current sensing occasion in a set of values of K; and a value corresponding to a current sensing occasion in a sensing occasion determined by using a bitmap of the value of K ” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 12, none of the prior art of record disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “when a resource reservation period indication value Prsvp_RX obtained by decoding the SCI is less than or equal to a first threshold Tscal, determining a quantity of periodic reservations indicated by the received SCI as Q times the target quantity of resource reservations, wherein the first threshold Tscal = T2 or Tscal = 100ms, T2 is a parameter for determining an ending time of a resource selection window, and Q = [Tscal/Prsvp_RX]” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 13, none of the prior art of record disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “when a resource reservation period indication value Prsvp_RX obtained by decoding the SCI is less than or equal to a first threshold Tscal, determining a quantity of periodic reservations indicated by the received SCI as Q times the target quantity of resource reservations, wherein the first threshold Tscal = T2 or Tscal = 100ms, T2 is a parameter for determining an ending time of a resource selection window, and Q = [Tscal/Prsvp_RX]” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 13, none of the prior art of record disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “when a resource reservation period indication value Prsvp_RX obtained by decoding the SCI is less than or equal to a first threshold Tscal, determining a quantity of periodic reservations indicated by the received SCI as Q times the target quantity of resource reservations, wherein the first threshold Tscal = T2 or Tscal = 100ms, T2 is a parameter for determining an ending time of a resource selection window, and Q = [Tscal/Prsvp_RX]” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 15, none of the prior art of record disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “in a case in which a resource reservation period indication value Prsvp_RX obtained by decoding the SCI is less than or equal to a first threshold Tscal and a first condition is met, determining a quantity of periodic reservations indicated by the received SCI as any one of the following: being determined as Q times; being determined as Q times when the target quantity of resource reservations is greater than or equal to Q; being determined as Q times the target quantity of resource reservations when the target quantity of resource reservations is greater than or equal to Q; and being determined as Q times when the target quantity of resource reservations is less than Q, wherein the first condition comprises: n' - m ≤ P'rsvp_RX; wherein the first threshold Tscal = T2 or Tscal = 100ms, T2 is a parameter for determining an ending time of a resource selection window, Q = [Tscal/Prsvp_RX], and n' denotes a logical slot corresponding to an arrival time of a packet or a logical slot of the closest first resource pool located after an arrival time of a packet; m denotes a slot for decoding the SCI; and P' rsvp_RX denotes a quantity of logical slots correspondingly converted in a resource pool according to a resource reservation period indication value Prsvp_RX obtained by decoding the SCI ” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 18, none of the prior art of record disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “in a case in which a second condition is met, skipping an operation of determining the target quantity of resource reservations, wherein the second condition is as follows: before a reference time and after i Prsvp RX corresponding to decoded SCI, any corresponding SCI is successfully decoded, and the successfully decoded SCI indicates that subsequently no resource is periodically reserved, wherein the reference time is a time obtained by subtracting or not subtracting a processing time from a time domain resource where the first candidate resource is located, and i is an integer greater than or equal to 1” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Claims 4-6, 14 and 16 are allowable because of their dependency on claims 2, 3 and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1, 8-10 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by)
Ko et al. (US 2022/0377733, hereinafter Ko).
Regarding claim 1, Ko discloses a resource selection method for sidelink (Para 0003; 0236; sidelink or D2D communication), applied to a user equipment (UE) (Para 0003; communication between UEs), comprising:
when the UE expects to perform resource selection (Para 0166; sensing for resource selection) or determines to perform resource selection (Para 0088; UE performs resource selection), performing following steps:
performing a target operation, wherein the target operation comprises determining a candidate resource set (para 0149;0158-0159; UE may select a set of candidate resources); performing resource exclusion (page 9; table 8 – The UE shall exclude any candidate single-slot resource from the set if it meets certain requirements); and performing resource selection (para 0129; 0149; UE performs resource selection); wherein the determining a candidate resource set (para 0149) comprises: determining the candidate resource set based on target information, wherein the target information comprises at least one of following:
an ending time of contiguous partial sensing (CPS) (para 0191-0192; the threshold value may be equal to a length of a contiguous partial sensing (CPS) window); a resource location corresponding to a sensing result acquired at a discontinuous reception (DRX) active time; and
a resource location with a corresponding periodic-based partial sensing (PBPS) result (para 0152-0153; 0166; 074-0178; PPS (or PBPS) means periodic-based partial sensing, and may mean an operation of performing sensing at a time point corresponding to an integer multiple (k) of each period based on periods of a specific configuration value number when sensing for resource selection is performed. For example, the periods may be a period of the transmission resource set in a transmission pool, a resource of an integer multiple (k value) of each period before the candidate resource time, which is a target for determining resource collision in time, may be sensed, the k value may be configured in a form of a bitmap. Hereinafter, CPS may mean continuous partial sensing, and may mean an operation of sensing all or a part of a time domain given as a specific configuration value. For example, CPS may include a short-term sensing (STS) operation in which sensing is performed for a relatively short period).
Regarding claim 8, Ko discloses wherein the target operation comprises at least one of determining a resource sensing mechanism (para 0021; 0088; 0151; 0153; 0155; sensing procedure), determining an existing resource sensing result, and determining a partial sensing occasion and performing partial sensing (para 0007; 0010; 0189).
Regarding claim 9, Ko discloses wherein before the performing resource exclusion, the method further comprises: in a case in which periodic reservation information obtained by decoding SCI indicates that resource reservation is performed in a next period (para 0089; 0106; 0117; decoding SCIs), determining a target quantity of resource reservations based on a value of K which is a parameter in parameters for determining a sensing occasion and is used for determining a quantity of sensing execution times (para 0151; 0166-0167; periodic-based partial sensing (PPS) may refer to an operation of performing sensing at a time point corresponding to an integer multiple (k) of each period, based on periods of the number corresponding to a specific configuration value, when performing sensing for resource selection. For example, the periods may be periods of transmission resources configured in a resource pool. For example, a resource at a time point that is earlier by an integer multiple k of each period may be sensed from a time point of a candidate resource that is a target for determining resource collision. For example, the k value may be configured in a form of a bitmap).
Regarding claim 10, Ko discloses wherein the value of K is configured or preconfigured for indication (para 0151 and 0166; value of K configured in a forma of a bitmap).
Regarding claim 19, Ko discloses a user equipment (100 of fig. 16), comprising a transceiver (106), a memory (104), a processor (102), and a computer program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor (para 0252; program stored in the memory), wherein when the processor executes the computer program, steps of the resource selection method for sidelink according to claim 1 are implemented (para 0009).
Regarding claim 20, Ko discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium on which a computer program is stored (para 0239; software code stored in the memory), wherein when the computer program is executed by a processor, steps of the resource selection method for sidelink according to claim 1 are implemented (para 0008 and 0079).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko in view of Rao et al. (US 2021/0045093, hereinafter Rao).
Regarding claim 17, Ko discloses CBR measurement value for resource selection (para 0164).
Ko does not explicitly disclose wherein the determining
a target quantity of resource reservations comprises: when the channel busy rate (CBR) measurement value is greater than or equal to a CBR threshold, determining the target quantity of resource reservations.
In an analogous art, Rao discoses wherein the determining a target quantity of resource reservations comprises: when the channel busy rate (CBR) measurement value is greater than or equal to a CBR threshold, determining the target quantity of resource reservations (para 0072; 0091 0109; 0135; 0212; channel busy ratio is functionally equivalent to channel busy rate - SL channel and SL load measurements thresholds (i.e. SL RSRP, CBR); set of RPs configured in a target cell (Tcell) and the corresponding rules/conditions to activate/deactivate the RP/carriers if the measurement thresholds are satisfied). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ko’ s method/system by having Rao’s disclosure in order to dynamically adjust the resource allocation of a communication system.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached on (571)272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SAMINA F CHOUDHRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462