DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato et al. (US 2020/0326579).
Regarding claim 1, Sato discloses a liquid crystal optical element (see figures 1 and 8, for instance) comprising: an optical waveguide (42, see fig. 8) comprising a first main surface (facing the light source 40) and a second main surface (facing element 10) opposed to the first main surface; a first alignment film (24B) disposed on the second main surface; a first liquid crystal layer (26B) which overlaps the first alignment film (24B), which comprises a first cholesteric liquid crystal ([0078]), and which reflects at least part of light incident through the optical waveguide (42) toward the optical waveguide; a second alignment film (24G) which overlaps the first liquid crystal layer (26B); and a second liquid crystal layer (26G) which overlaps the second alignment film (24G), which comprises a second cholesteric liquid crystal ([0078]), and which reflects at least part of light incident through the optical waveguide toward the optical waveguide (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 2, Sato discloses the liquid crystal optical element of claim 1, wherein the first alignment film (24B) and the second alignment film (24G) are optical alignment films of any one of a photodecomposition type, a photodimerization type, and a photoisomerization type (see [0108]-[0111]).
Regarding claim 3, Sato discloses the liquid crystal optical element of claim 1, wherein the first cholesteric liquid crystal (26B) and the second cholesteric liquid crystal (26G) have an equal helical pitch and turn in directions opposite to each other (see paragraphs [0250]-[0251] for instance).
Regarding claim 4, Sato discloses the liquid crystal optical element of claim 1, wherein the first cholesteric liquid crystal (26B) and the second cholesteric liquid crystal (26G) have different helical pitches (see paragraphs [0459]-[0468]).
Regarding claim 5, Sato discloses the liquid crystal optical element of claim 1, wherein the first cholesteric liquid crystal (26B) and the second cholesteric liquid crystal (26G) have an equal helical pitch and turn in the same direction (see [0130]-[0132]).
Regarding claim 7, Sato discloses a liquid crystal optical element (see figures 1 and 8, for instance) comprising: an optical waveguide (42, see fig. 8) comprising a first main surface (facing the light source 40) and a second main surface (facing element 10) opposed to the first main surface; a first alignment film (24B) disposed on the second main surface; a first liquid crystal layer (26B) which overlaps the first alignment film (24B), which comprises a first cholesteric liquid crystal ([0078]), and which reflects at least part of light incident through the optical waveguide (42) toward the optical waveguide; a protective layer (20) which overlaps the first liquid crystal layer (26B); a second alignment film (24G) which overlaps the protective layer (20); and a second liquid crystal layer (26G) which overlaps the second alignment film (24G), which comprises a second cholesteric liquid crystal ([0078]), and which reflects at least part of light incident through the optical waveguide (42) toward the optical waveguide.
Regarding claim 8, Sato discloses the liquid crystal optical element of claim 7, wherein the protective layer (20) is formed of polyvinyl alcohol ([0096]).
Regarding claim 9, Sato discloses the liquid crystal optical element of claim 7, wherein the first alignment film (24B) and the second alignment film (24G) are optical alignment films of any one of a photodecomposition type, a photodimerization type, and a photoisomerization type ([0108]-[0111]).
Regarding claim 10, Sato discloses the liquid crystal optical element of claim 7, wherein the first cholesteric liquid crystal (26B) and the second cholesteric liquid crystal (26G) have an equal helical pitch and turn in directions opposite to each other (see paragraphs [0250]-[0251] for instance).
Regarding claim 11, Sato discloses the liquid crystal optical element of claim 7, wherein the first cholesteric liquid crystal (26B) and the second cholesteric liquid crystal (26G) have different helical pitches (see paragraphs [0459]-[0468]).
Regarding claim 12, Sato discloses the liquid crystal optical element of claim 7, wherein the first cholesteric liquid crystal (26B) and the second cholesteric liquid crystal (26G) have an equal helical pitch and turn in the same direction (see [0130]-[0132]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato in view of Kashima (US 2004/0212766).
Regarding claim 6, Sato discloses the liquid crystal optical element of claim 1, further comprising: a third alignment film (24R) which overlaps the second liquid crystal layer (26G); a third liquid crystal layer (26R) which overlaps the third alignment film (24R), which comprises a third cholesteric liquid crystal ([0078]), and which reflects at least part of light incident through the optical waveguide (42) toward the optical waveguide. However, Sato does not expressly disclose a fourth alignment film which overlaps the third liquid crystal layer; and a fourth liquid crystal layer which overlaps the fourth alignment film, which comprises a fourth cholesteric liquid crystal, and which reflects at least part of light incident through the optical waveguide toward the optical waveguide, wherein the first cholesteric liquid crystal and the third cholesteric liquid crystal have an equal helical pitch and turn in directions opposite to each other, the second cholesteric liquid crystal and the fourth cholesteric liquid crystal have an equal helical pitch and turn in directions opposite to each other, and the first cholesteric liquid crystal and the second cholesteric liquid crystal have different helical pitches.
Kashima discloses an optical element (see figures 1-4, for instance), including a fourth alignment film (52) which overlaps the third liquid crystal layer (12’); and a fourth liquid crystal layer (12) which overlaps the fourth alignment film (52), which comprises a fourth cholesteric liquid crystal ([0065]-[0066]), and which reflects at least part of light incident through the optical waveguide toward the optical waveguide, wherein the first cholesteric liquid crystal (22’) and the third cholesteric liquid crystal (12’) have an equal helical pitch and turn in directions opposite to each other (see fig. 3B), the second cholesteric liquid crystal (22) and the fourth cholesteric liquid crystal (12) have an equal helical pitch and turn in directions opposite to each other (see fig. 3B), and the first cholesteric liquid crystal and the second cholesteric liquid crystal have different helical pitches ([0088]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the fourth liquid crystal layer structure as Kashima in the device of Sato. The motivation for doing so would have been to decrease the amount of ultraviolet light in a wider wave range that enters a liquid crystal cell, as taught by Kashima ([0063]).
Regarding claim 13, Sato discloses a liquid crystal optical element (see figures 1 and 8, for instance) comprising: an optical waveguide (42, see fig. 8) comprising a first main surface (facing the light source 40) and a second main surface (facing element 10) opposed to the first main surface; a first alignment film (24B) disposed on the second main surface; a first liquid crystal layer (26B) which overlaps the first alignment film (24B), which comprises a first cholesteric liquid crystal ([0078]), and which reflects at least part of light incident through the optical waveguide (42) toward the optical waveguide; a first protective layer (20) which overlaps the first liquid crystal layer (26B); a second alignment film (24G) which overlaps the first protective layer (20); and a second liquid crystal layer (26G) which overlaps the second alignment film (24G), which comprises a second cholesteric liquid crystal ([0078]), and which reflects at least part of light incident through the optical waveguide (42) toward the optical waveguide; a second protective layer (20, beneath 24G) which overlaps the second liquid crystal layer (26G); a third alignment film (24R) which overlaps the second protective layer (20); a third liquid crystal layer (26R) which overlaps the third alignment film (24R), which comprises a third cholesteric liquid crystal ([0078]), and which reflects at least part of light incident through the optical waveguide (42) toward the optical waveguide; a third protective layer (20) which overlaps the third liquid crystal layer (26R). However, Sato does not expressly disclose a fourth alignment film which overlaps the third protective layer; and a fourth liquid crystal layer which overlaps the fourth alignment film, which comprises a fourth cholesteric liquid crystal, and which reflects at least part of light incident through the optical waveguide toward the optical waveguide.
Kashima discloses an optical element (see figures 1-4, for instance), including a fourth alignment film (52) which overlaps the third liquid crystal layer (12’); and a fourth liquid crystal layer (12) which overlaps the fourth alignment film (52), which comprises a fourth cholesteric liquid crystal ([0065]-[0066]), and which reflects at least part of light incident through the optical waveguide toward the optical waveguide.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the fourth liquid crystal layer structure as Kashima in the device of Sato. The motivation for doing so would have been to decrease the amount of ultraviolet light in a wider wave range that enters a liquid crystal cell, as taught by Kashima ([0063]).
Regarding claim 14, Sato in view of Kashima discloses the liquid crystal optical element of claim 13, wherein the first cholesteric liquid crystal (22’) and the third cholesteric liquid crystal (12’) have an equal helical pitch and turn in directions opposite to each other (see fig. 3B), the second cholesteric liquid crystal (22) and the fourth cholesteric liquid crystal (12) have an equal helical pitch and turn in directions opposite to each other (see fig. 3B), and the first cholesteric liquid crystal and the second cholesteric liquid crystal have different helical pitches ([0088]).
Regarding claim 15, Sato in view of Kashima discloses the liquid crystal optical element of claim 13, wherein the first protective layer (20, top), the second protective layer (20, middle), and the third protective layer (20, bottom) are formed of polyvinyl alcohol ([0096]).
Regarding claim 16, Sato in view of Kashima discloses the liquid crystal optical element of claim 13, wherein the first alignment film (24B), the second alignment film (24G), the third alignment film (24R), and the fourth alignment film (Kashima 52) are optical alignment films of any one of a photodecomposition type, a photodimerization type, and a photoisomerization type ([0108]-[0111]).
Conclusion
/NATHANAEL R BRIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871 11/4/2025