DETAILED ACTION
This is response to Application 18/431,154 filed on 02/02/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending in the office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velderman et al., (U.S. Pub. 2016/0242356) in view of Tennison et al., (U.S. Pub 20140272516) and further in view of Fry et al., (U.S. Pub. 20150171632).
As per claim 1: Velderman teaches a riding-type mower (‘356, fig. 1 and fig. 2, 100), comprising:
a body frame (‘356, fig. 1 and fig. 2);
a seat disposed on the body frame (‘356, fig. 1 and fig. 2);
a mowing unit comprising a mowing element and a first motor configured to drive the mowing element (‘356, fig. 1-3, cutting blade 111 and first motor 109);
a walking unit comprising a road wheel and a second motor configured to drive the road wheel (‘356, fig. 1-3, 108 and second motor 106);
a power supply device mounted on the body frame, wherein the power supply device comprises a plurality of battery packs configured to supply power to the riding-type mower (‘356, fig. 1 and fig. 2, 115), at least one of the plurality of battery packs is detachably mounted to the riding-type mower and further configured to supply power to a hand-held electric power tool (‘356, fig. 1, battery 115 and hand-held electric power tools, 122, 124, 100)
Velderman does not implicitly teach each of the plurality of battery packs is provided with at least one battery cell group, and each battery cell group comprises a plurality of battery cells.
However, Velderman teaches power tool battery packs 115 are described in Tennison, US Patent Publication No. 2014/0272516, which are hereby fully incorporated by reference (‘356, par. [0028]).
Tennison’s fig. 5 shown the battery pack 10 includes a plurality of battery cells 50 which are typically Li Ion chemistry cells but may be other chemistries (‘516, fig. 5, the battery pack 10 includes a plurality of battery cells 50, see par. [0099]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date of claimed invention recognizes that the Velderman’s battery packs 115 has multiple of battery cells same structure Tennison’s battery pack 10 and cells 50 without undue experiment.
Velderman and Tennison do not implicitly teach an auxiliary function module comprising an universal serial bus interface for charging an electronic device; and a power management module configured to output electric energy of the plurality of battery packs to the auxiliary function module.
Fry teaches a portable power source including power tool battery packs 86 and 90 are generally used to power a power tool, such as an electrical drill, an electric saw, and the like. Each battery pack 86, 90 includes a microcontroller (power management module) that monitors characteristics of the battery 86 and 90, such as control charging and/or discharging of the battery 86 and 90 to a power output panel 18 includes second DC output connector 198 may include two universal serial bus (USB) to provide power (e.g., 5V) to a peripheral device (‘632, par. [0037] [0039], microcontroller, see fig. 3 and fig. 12, power output panel 18, par. [0033] and par. [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine Fry and Velderman and Tennison modify Velderman and Tennison’s battery pack fitting in the Fry’s portable power supply to provide power to the peripheral device via power output panel 18. (see In reDulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961)).
As per claim 2: Velderman and Tennison and Fry teach the riding-type mower of claim 1, wherein the universal serial bus interface is configured to charge a mobile phone (‘632, par. [0032] [0057] [0065], USB power to smart phone).
As per claim 3: Velderman and Tennison and Fry teach the riding-type mower of claim 1, wherein the auxiliary function module comprises a power conversion module configured to convert electric energy from at least one of the plurality of battery packs into electric energy which is capable of being used by external devices (peripheral device)(‘632, par. [0032] [0051]-[0053], DC-DC converter and AC/DC converter or transformer and also see fig. 13 and fig. 17).
As per claim 4: Velderman and Tennison and Fry teach the riding-type mower of claim 3, wherein the power management module comprises an electric energy output port, and the power conversion module is connected to the electric energy output port and the universal serial bus interface respectively (‘632, fig. 13 and fig. 17, DC output (e.g., USB) 194 and 198 and AC output 202).
As per claim 5: Velderman and Tennison and Fry teach the riding-type mower of claim 3, wherein the electric energy output port is configured to supply the electric energy of the plurality of battery packs to the first motor of the mowing unit and to the second motor of the walking unit (‘356, fig. 3, first motor 109 and second motor 106 and battery 115).
As per claim 6: Velderman and Tennison and Fry teach the riding-type mower of claim 3, wherein the power conversion module is integrated into the power management module (‘632, fig. 13, controller 234 and fig. 17, controller 1042).
As per claim 7: Velderman and Tennison and Fry teach the riding-type mower of claim 1, wherein the power management module is configured to determine whether the plurality of battery packs satisfy a discharge condition and control a battery pack satisfying the discharge condition to discharge (‘632, par. [0037]
Velderman teaches a sum of numbers of respective battery cell groups of all the plurality of battery packs connected in parallel is equal to 4 (‘365, fig. 2-3, battery packs 115).
Tennison teaches 5 cells in battery pack and these cells are parallel connected (516, fig. 5-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date of claimed invention with combination of Fry and Velderman and Tennison easily to modify plurality of battery packs connected in parallel from 4 packs to is greater than or equal to 5 similar Tennison’s 5 cells battery are connected parallel without undue experiment (In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) and In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976)).
As per claim 8: Velderman and Tennison and Fry teach wherein a value of discharge power of each of the plurality of battery packs ranges from 500W to 6500W (‘365, par. [0029], battery at least 500watts and preferably at 3.5 K watts (In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In reWoodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
As per claim 9: Velderman and Tennison and Fry teach the battery pack has different capacities from 1.5 ampere-hour to 60 ampere-hour and different voltages 4 volts – 40 volts (‘632, par. [0038]).
Velderman and Tennison and Fry do not implicitly teach wherein a capacity of each of the plurality of battery packs is greater than or equal to 130Wh and less than or equal to 1000Wh.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the effective filling date of claimed invention to calculate battery capacity in Wh battery capacity in Ah x battery voltage (Wh = Ah x V). In other words, Fyr’s battery pack capacities from 1.5 ampere-hour to 60 ampere-hour multiply the voltages 4 volts – 40 volts would fall within the range greater than or equal to 130Wh and less than or equal to 1000Wh without undue experiment (In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In reWoodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
As per claim 10: Velderman and Tennison and Fry teach the battery pack has different capacities from 1.5 ampere-hour to 60 ampere-hour and different voltages 4 volts – 40 volts (‘632, par. [0038]). Thus, the battery pack has a weight, however, Velderman and Tennison and Fry do not teach specify how much weight of each pack as the claimed that each of the plurality of battery packs is less than or equal to 4 kg.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the effective filling date of claimed invention recognizes that the battery pack is detached and attached for using different power tools, hence each of the plurality of battery packs should less than or equal to 4 kg that makes easily portable for a person be able detached and attached the battery pack from one power tool to other without helped. (In re Lindberg, 194 F.2d 732, 93 USPQ 23 (CCPA 1952)).
As per claim 11: Velderman and Tennison and Fry teaches the riding-type mower of claim 1, wherein the auxiliary function module further comprises at least one alternating current electrical output interface (‘632, fig. 3 and fig. 12-13, AC output 202/222, par. [0050]).
As per claim 12: Velderman and Tennison and Fry teach the riding-type mower of claim 1, wherein the auxiliary function module further comprises at least one direct current electrical output interface (‘632, fig. 3 and fig. 12-13, DC output 194/198, par. [0050]).
As per claim 13: Velderman and Tennison and Fry teach the riding-type mower of claim 12, wherein the at least one direct current electrical output interface is capable of outputting a 12V/25W direct current (‘632, fig. 13, 104, DC power at different levels (e.g., 5V, 12V, and the like, see par. [0051], ‘356, par. [0029]).
As per claim 14: Velderman and Tennison and Fry do not teach wherein the auxiliary function module further comprises a lighting device.
However, Fry teaches the battery pack also includes indicator LED light (‘632, par. [0035] – [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the effective filling date of claimed invention easily to modify Fry’s battery LED indicator light to include a lighting device as design choice without undue experiment (In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947)).
As per claim 15: Velderman and Tennison and Fry teach the riding-type mower of claim 1, wherein the power management module comprises a charging port configured to be electrically connected to a charger so as to charge at least one of the plurality of battery packs electrically connected to the power management module (‘632, fig. 13, charging circuits 242/244, battery packs 86/90 and power management (controller) 234).
As per claim 16-17: Velderman teaches a riding-type mower (‘356, fig. 1 and fig. 2, 100), comprising:
a body frame (‘356, fig. 1 and fig. 2);
a seat disposed on the body frame (‘356, fig. 1 and fig. 2);
a mowing unit comprising a mowing element and a first motor configured to drive the mowing element (‘356, fig. 1-3, cutting blade 111 and first motor 109);
a walking unit comprising a road wheel and a second motor configured to drive the road wheel (‘356, fig. 1-3, 108 and second motor 106);
a power supply device mounted on the body frame, wherein the power supply device comprises a plurality of battery packs configured to supply power to the riding-type mower (‘356, fig. 1 and fig. 2, 115), at least one of the plurality of battery packs is detachably mounted to the riding-type mower and further configured to supply power to a hand-held electric power tool (‘356, fig. 1, battery 115 and hand-held electric power tools, 122, 124, 100)
Velderman does not implicitly teach each of the plurality of battery packs is provided with at least one battery cell group, and each battery cell group comprises a plurality of battery cells.
However, Velderman teaches power tool battery packs 115 are described in Tennison, US Patent Publication No. 2014/0272516, which are hereby fully incorporated by reference (‘356, par. [0028]).
Tennison’s fig. 5 shown the battery pack 10 includes a plurality of battery cells 50 which are typically Li Ion chemistry cells but may be other chemistries (‘516, fig. 5, the battery pack 10 includes a plurality of battery cells 50, see par. [0099]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date of claimed invention recognizes that the Velderman’s battery packs 115 has multiple of battery cells same structure Tennison’s battery pack 10 and cells 50 without undue experiment.
Velderman and Tennison do not implicitly teach an auxiliary function module comprising an universal serial bus interface for charging an electronic device; and a power management module configured to output electric energy of the plurality of battery packs to the auxiliary function module.
Fry teaches a portable power source including power tool battery packs 86 and 90 are generally used to power a power tool, such as an electrical drill, an electric saw, and the like. Each battery pack 86, 90 includes a microcontroller (power management module) that monitors characteristics of the battery 86 and 90, such as control charging and/or discharging of the battery 86 and 90 to a power output panel 18 includes second DC output connector 198 may include two universal serial bus (USB) to provide power (e.g., 5V) to a peripheral device (‘632, par. [0037] [0039], microcontroller, see fig. 3 and fig. 12, power output panel 18, par. [0033] and par. [0057]).
wherein electric energy output from the universal serial bus interface to the electronic device comes from the plurality of battery packs (‘632, fig. 13, DC output 194 and 198 are power to electronic device from batteries 86 and 90).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine Fry and Velderman and Tennison modify Velderman and Tennison’s battery pack fitting in the Fry’s portable power supply to provide power to the peripheral device via power output panel 18. (see In reDulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961)).
As per claim 18: Velderman and Tennison and Fry teach the riding-type mower of claim 17, wherein a number of the at least one of the plurality of battery packs detachably mounted to the riding-type mower is greater than or equal to 4 and less than or equal to 10 (‘356, fig. 2-5, has 4 battery pack 115).
As per claim 19: Velderman and Tennison and Fry teach the riding-type mower of claim 17, wherein the auxiliary function module further comprises at least one alternating current electrical output interface (‘632, fig. 13, AC outout 202).
As per claim 20: Velderman and Tennison and Fry teach the riding-type mower of claim 17, wherein the auxiliary function module further comprises at least one direct current electrical output interface, and the at least one direct current electrical output interface is capable of outputting a 12V/25W direct current (‘632, fig. 13, 104, DC power at different levels (e.g., 5V, 12V, and the like, see par. [0051], ‘356, par. [0029]).
Conclusion
NGHIA M. DOAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2851
/NGHIA M DOAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851