DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
2. Applicant’s amendments submitted on 3/2/26 have been received. Claim 69 has been amended. Claims 1-68 have been cancelled. Claim 84 is new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 69 and 70-84 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
5. Claim 69 recites the limitation "the cell" in lines 3-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "the electrochemical cell" as there is antecedent basis.
6. Claims 70-84 are rejected as depending from claim 69.
7. Claims 70-83 recite the limitation "the cell". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "the electrochemical cell" as there is antecedent basis.
8. Claims 70-75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 70-75 recite the limitation "at a first rate or current" in lines 2-3. It is not clear whether it is the same first rate or current as recited in claim 69 from which it depends. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as “at the first rate or current".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
11. Claim(s) 69, 70, 72, 74, and 76-83 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Salasoo et al. (US 2010/0019718) as cited in IDS dated 9/27/24.
Regarding claim 69, Salasoo discloses an electrochemical cell management system (Fig. 1, [0015]) comprising: an electrochemical cell comprising a metallic anode(battery 114, Fig. 1, [0023], [0056], [0063]); and at least one controller (energy management system 116, Fig. 1, [0019]) configured to control the electrochemical cell to induce a discharge of the electrochemical cell at a first rate or current(see discharging opportunity D2 in Fig. 3, [0036], [0038]), through at least a threshold capacity of the cell(SOCmin , Fig. 3, [0038], [0036]), before a beginning of a charging step of the electrochemical cell that charges the electrochemical cell slower than the first rate or current(see charging opportunity C2 in Fig. 3, [0038]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 70, Salasoo discloses the at least one controller is configured to control the electrochemical cell to induce a discharge of the electrochemical cell at the first rate or current, through at least 5% of a discharge capacity of the electrochemical cell, before a beginning of a charging step of the electrochemical cell that charges the electrochemical cell slower than the first rate or current(Fig. 3, [0038]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 72, Salasoo discloses the at least one controller is configured to control the electrochemical cell to induce a discharge of the electrochemical cell at the first rate or current, through at least 10% of a discharge capacity of the electrochemical cell, before a beginning of a charging step of the electrochemical cell that charges the electrochemical cell slower than the first rate or current(Fig. 3, [0038]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 74, Salasoo discloses the at least one controller is configured to control the electrochemical cell to induce a discharge of the electrochemical cell at the first rate or current, through at least 15% of a discharge capacity of the electrochemical cell, before a beginning of a charging step of the electrochemical cell that charges the electrochemical cell slower than the first rate or current(Fig. 3, [0038]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 76, Salasoo discloses the at least one controller is configured to control the electrochemical cell to induce the discharge at a rate that is higher than an average discharging rate of a previous discharge cycle(see discharging opportunity D2 with discharge profile 306 compared with discharging opportunity D1 with discharging profile 302 in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 77, Salasoo discloses the at least one controller is configured to control the electrochemical cell to induce the discharge at a rate that is higher than an average discharging rate of a latest previous discharge cycle(see discharging opportunity D2 with discharge profile 306 compared with discharging opportunity D1 with discharging profile 302 in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 78, Salasoo discloses the at least one controller is configured to control the electrochemical cell to induce the discharge at a current that is higher than an average discharging current of a previous discharge cycle(see discharging opportunity D2 compared with discharging opportunity D1 in Fig. 3, [0037]-[0038]).
Regarding claim 79, Salasoo discloses the at least one controller is configured to control the electrochemical cell to induce the discharge at a current that is higher than an average discharging current of a latest previous discharge cycle(see discharging opportunity D2 compared with discharging opportunity D1 in Fig. 3, [0037]-[0038]).
Regarding claim 80, Salasoo discloses the at least one controller is configured to control the electrochemical cell to induce the discharge at a rate that is higher than an average charging rate of a previous charge cycle(see discharging opportunity D2 compared with charging opportunity C1 in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 81, Salasoo discloses the at least one controller is configured to control the electrochemical cell to induce the discharge at a rate that is higher than an average charging rate of a latest previous charge cycle(see discharging opportunity D2 compared with charging opportunity C1 in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 82, Salasoo discloses the at least one controller is configured to control the electrochemical cell to induce the discharge at a current that is higher than an average charging current of a previous charge cycle (see discharging opportunity D2 compared with charging opportunity C1 in Fig. 3, [0037]-[0038]).
Regarding claim 83, Salasoo discloses the at least one controller is configured to control the electrochemical cell to induce the discharge at a current that is higher than an average charging current of a latest previous charge cycle(see discharging opportunity D2 compared with charging opportunity C1 in Fig. 3, [0037]-[0038]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claim(s) 71, 73, and 75 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salasoo et al. (US 2010/0019718) as cited in IDS dated 9/27/24.
Regarding claim 71, Salasoo discloses the at least one controller is configured to control the electrochemical cell to induce a discharge of the electrochemical cell at the first rate or current, through at least 5% of a discharge capacity of the electrochemical cell(Fig. 3, [0038]), since the duration of D2 is small, it may be desirable to discharge the battery at the default (unadjusted) maximal discharging rate, as depicted by discharging profile 306([0038]). Salasoo discloses in the ensuing charging opportunity, C2, based on the longer duration of charging available, the power transfer rate and target SOC to be obtained at the end of C2 (SOCc2) may be appropriately calculated, to additionally take advantage of the beneficial effects of slow charging on battery life ([0038]) but does not explicitly disclose before and less than 10 minutes before a beginning of a charging step of the electrochemical cell that charges the electrochemical cell slower than the first rate or current.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrochemical cell management system of Salasoo with discharge of the electrochemical cell at a first rate or current, through at least 5% of a discharge capacity of the electrochemical cell, before and less than 10 minutes before a beginning of a charging step of the electrochemical cell that charges the electrochemical cell slower than the first rate or current in order to take advantage of the beneficial effects of slow charging on battery life, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP §2144.05 (II-A).
Regarding claim 73, Salasoo discloses the at least one controller is configured to control the electrochemical cell to induce a discharge of the electrochemical cell at the first rate or current, through at least 10% of a discharge capacity of the cell(Fig. 3, [0038]), since the duration of D2 is small, it may be desirable to discharge the battery at the default (unadjusted) maximal discharging rate, as depicted by discharging profile 306([0038]). Salasoo discloses in the ensuing charging opportunity, C2, based on the longer duration of charging available, the power transfer rate and target SOC to be obtained at the end of C2 (SOCc2) may be appropriately calculated, to additionally take advantage of the beneficial effects of slow charging on battery life ([0038]) but does not explicitly disclose before and less than 10 minutes before a beginning of a charging step of the electrochemical cell that charges the electrochemical cell slower than the first rate or current.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrochemical cell management system of Salasoo with discharge of the electrochemical cell at the first rate or current, through at least 10% of a discharge capacity of the electrochemical cell, before and less than 10 minutes before a beginning of a charging step of the electrochemical cell that charges the electrochemical cell slower than the first rate or current in order to take advantage of the beneficial effects of slow charging on battery life, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP §2144.05 (II-A).
Regarding claim 75, Salasoo discloses the at least one controller is configured to control the electrochemical cell to induce a discharge of the electrochemical cell at the first rate or current, through at least 15% of a discharge capacity of the electrochemical cell(Fig. 3, [0038]), since the duration of D2 is small, it may be desirable to discharge the battery at the default (unadjusted) maximal discharging rate, as depicted by discharging profile 306([0038]). Salasoo discloses in the ensuing charging opportunity, C2, based on the longer duration of charging available, the power transfer rate and target SOC to be obtained at the end of C2 (SOCc2) may be appropriately calculated, to additionally take advantage of the beneficial effects of slow charging on battery life ([0038]) but does not explicitly disclose before and less than 10 minutes before a beginning of a charging step of the electrochemical cell that charges the electrochemical cell slower than the first rate or current.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrochemical cell management system of Salasoo with discharge of the electrochemical cell at the first rate or current, through at least 15% of a discharge capacity of the electrochemical cell, before and less than 10 minutes before a beginning of a charging step of the electrochemical cell that charges the electrochemical cell slower than the first rate or current in order to take advantage of the beneficial effects of slow charging on battery life, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP §2144.05 (II-A).
Double Patenting
16. Claim 69 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9, and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,658,352.
Regarding claim 69, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 9, and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,658,352 teach the limitations recited in claim 69 of the instant application.
Allowable Subject Matter
17. Claim 84 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. And the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 set forth in this office action on claims 69-84 is overcome.
In particular, the allowable limitation is the electrochemical cell management system comprises the electrochemical cell as a first electrochemical cell and further comprises a second electrochemical cell; and the at least one controller is configured to control the first electrochemical cell to induce a discharge of the first electrochemical cell individually at the first rate or current and to charge the first electrochemical cell and the second electrochemical cell in parallel at a second rate or current slower than the first rate or current.
Salasoo discloses the electrochemical cell management system comprises the electrochemical cell as a first electrochemical cell and further comprises a second electrochemical cell([0067]); and the at least one controller is configured to control the first electrochemical cell to induce a discharge of the first electrochemical cell individually at the first rate or current (Fig. 3, [0038]) but does not disclose, teach or render obvious and to charge the first electrochemical cell and the second electrochemical cell in parallel at a second rate or current slower than the first rate or current.
Response to Arguments
18. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 69-83 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724