DETAILED ACTION
This communication is response to claims filed on 02/02/24.
Claims 1-17 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement’s
4. The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 10/10/24 have being considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Priority
5. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Drawing
6. The drawings filed on 02/02/24 are accepted by the examiner.
Specification
7. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Examiner suggested to change the title to “PROVIDING A CARRIER CONFIGURATION TO MAXIMIZE A SPECTRUM RESOURCE”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1-2 & 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Feng et al. (hereinafter referred as Feng) U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2018/0192344 A1.
Regarding claims 1 & 12: Feng discloses an apparatus (See FIG. 8 & 0143; a terminal)/a method, comprising:
a processor (See FIG. 8 & 0143; a terminal includes Processor 810), and
a memory (See FIG. 8 & 0143; a terminal includes a memory 830) configured to store a computer program, wherein the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory (See Para. 0143; codes executed by the processor), wherein the computer program instructs the processor to:
access a first cell by using a control channel resource of a first carrier (See Para. 0067; the terminal executes an initial connection establishment process or starts a connection reestablishment process on the PCell, the terminal receives a common search space (CSS) of a PDCCH only on the PCell. Para. 0071; The terminal may obtain network information for cell selection network access according to the system information. Para. 0076; the terminal receives signaling sent by a base station on a carrier(s) of a first carrier subset, wherein the terminal currently keeps a connection on the carrier(s) of the first carrier subset, the signaling indicates the terminal to switch from the carrier(s) of the first carrier subset to a carrier(s) of a second carrier subset to keep the connection, the first carrier subset and the second carrier subset both belong to a preset carrier set);
receive first carrier configuration information (corresponding to signaling) in the first cell (See Para. 0076; the terminal receives signaling sent by a base station on a carrier(s) of a first carrier subset, wherein the terminal currently keeps a connection on the carrier(s) of the first carrier subset),
wherein the first carrier configuration information is used to change the apparatus from the first carrier to a second carrier in the first cell (See Para. 0076; the terminal receives signaling sent by a base station on a carrier(s) of a first carrier subset, wherein the terminal currently keeps a connection on the carrier(s) of the first carrier subset, the signaling indicates the terminal to switch from the carrier(s) of the first carrier subset to a carrier(s) of a second carrier subset to keep the connection); and
the first carrier and the second carrier share the control channel resource (See Para. 0071; all the carriers in the preset carrier set share the same set of system information. The system information further includes a System Information Block Type 1 (SIB1), and the SIB1 includes a cell identifier, cell barring information, cell receiving level information and the like. Note that the description (Para. 0028) of the application discloses SIB as an example of a control channel resource) , and comprise different spectrum resources (See Para. 0076; center frequencies and/or bandwidths of any two carriers in the preset carrier set are different. Para. 0070; Center frequencies and/or bandwidths of any two carriers S.sub.i and S.sub.j (i≠j) in the preset carrier set S are different).
Regarding claims 2 & 13: Feng discloses an apparatus, wherein the computer program further instructs the processor to change from the first carrier to the second carrier based on the first carrier configuration information (See Para. 0078; when receiving an instruction indicating carrier switching from the base station, the terminal in the connected state keeps the connection on a new carrier(s) belonging to the same carrier set with an old carrier(s)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 3, 5-8, 10, 14 & 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng, in view of Dinan et al. (hereinafter referred as Dinan) US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0010716 A1.
Regarding claim 7: Feng discloses a carrier configuration method, performed by a network device (See FIG. 12 & Para. 0181; a Base Station), comprising:
the first terminal device accesses the first cell by using a control channel resource of the first carrier (See Para. 0067; the terminal executes an initial connection establishment process or starts a connection reestablishment process on the PCell, the terminal receives a common search space (CSS) of a PDCCH only on the PCell. Para. 0071; The terminal may obtain network information for cell selection network access according to the system information. Para. 0076; the terminal receives signaling sent by a base station on a carrier(s) of a first carrier subset, wherein the terminal currently keeps a connection on the carrier(s) of the first carrier subset, the signaling indicates the terminal to switch from the carrier(s) of the first carrier subset to a carrier(s) of a second carrier subset to keep the connection, the first carrier subset and the second carrier subset both belong to a preset carrier set), and
the first carrier and the second carrier share the control channel resource (See Para. 0071; all the carriers in the preset carrier set share the same set of system information. The system information further includes a System Information Block Type 1 (SIB1), and the SIB1 includes a cell identifier, cell barring information, cell receiving level information and the like. Note that the description (Para. 0028) of the application discloses SIB as an example of a control channel resource), and comprise different spectrum resources (See Para. 0076; center frequencies and/or bandwidths of any two carriers in the preset carrier set are different. Para. 0070; Center frequencies and/or bandwidths of any two carriers S.sub.i and S.sub.j (i≠j) in the preset carrier set S are different); and
sending the first carrier configuration information to the first terminal device (See Para. 0076; the terminal receives signaling sent by a base station on a carrier(s) of a first carrier subset, wherein the terminal currently keeps a connection on the carrier(s) of the first carrier subset, the signaling indicates the terminal to switch from the carrier(s) of the first carrier subset to a carrier(s) of a second carrier subset to keep the connection).
Feng discloses the terminal receives signaling sent by a base station on a carrier(s) of a first carrier subset, wherein the terminal currently keeps a connection on the carrier(s) of the first carrier subset, the signaling indicates the terminal to switch from the carrier(s) of the first carrier subset to a carrier(s) of a second carrier subset to keep the connection (See Para. 0076) but does not explicitly disclose determining first carrier configuration information.
However, Dinan from the same field of endeavor discloses determining first carrier configuration information (corresponding to deactivation timer expires) (See abstract & Para. 0036-0038; The base station may maintain a deactivation timer for the second carrier of the wireless device. The base station may change the activation state of the second carrier of the wireless device to an inactive state after the associated deactivation timer expires).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include determining first carrier configuration information as taught by Dinan in the system of Feng to transmits a control message for reconfiguring the carriers of the wireless device (See abstract; lines 3-4).
Regarding claim 8: The combination of Feng and Dinan disclose a carrier configuration method.
Furthermore, Dinan discloses the carrier configuration method, receiving first capability information in the first cell that indicates that the first terminal device supports the change from the first carrier to the second carrier (See Para. 0042; The wireless device may transmit a plurality of radio capability parameters to the base station on the first signaling connection on an uplink carrier corresponding to the first carrier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include receiving first capability information in the first cell that indicates that the first terminal device supports the change from the first carrier to the second carrier as taught by Dinan in the system of Feng to transmits a control message for reconfiguring the carriers of the wireless device (See abstract; lines 3-4).
Regarding claim 10: The combination of Feng and Dinan disclose a carrier configuration method.
Furthermore, Dinan discloses the carrier configuration method, wherein determining, by the network device, first carrier configuration information comprises: determining the first carrier configuration information based on one or more of: a quantity of terminal devices in a radio resource control connected mode in the first cell (See Para. 0035-0038; The at least one control message may configure the signal quality metric that the wireless device may measure. The at least one control message may configure a measurement reporting criteria. The signal quality information may comprise signal strength).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a quantity of terminal devices in a radio resource control connected mode in the first cell as taught by Dinan in the system of Feng to transmits a control message for reconfiguring the carriers of the wireless device (See abstract; lines 3-4).
Regarding claims 3 & 14: Feng discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with an exception of wherein the computer program further instructs the processor to report first capability information in the first cell, and the first capability information indicates that the apparatus supports the change from the first carrier to the second carrier.
However, Dinan from the same field of endeavor discloses report first capability information in the first cell, and the first capability information indicates that the apparatus supports the change from the first carrier to the second carrier (See Para. 0042; The wireless device may transmit a plurality of radio capability parameters to the base station on the first signaling connection on an uplink carrier corresponding to the first carrier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include discloses report first capability information in the first cell, and the first capability information indicates that the apparatus supports the change from the first carrier to the second carrier as taught by Dinan in the system of Feng to transmits a control message for reconfiguring the carriers of the wireless device (See abstract; lines 3-4).
Regarding claims 5 & 16: The combination of Feng and Dinan disclose a carrier configuration an apparatus/a method.
Furthermore, Dinan discloses the apparatus/a method, wherein the computer program further instructs the processor to receive second carrier configuration information in the first cell, wherein the second carrier configuration information is used to add a third carrier for the apparatus in the first cell (See Para. 0039 & 0051; The reconfiguration may comprise adding the second cell to the first connection (if the second carrier is needed and if it is not already configured). If needed, the second cell may be added if the at least one measurement report indicates an acceptable signal quality for the second carrier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the computer program further instructs the processor to receive second carrier configuration information in the first cell, wherein the second carrier configuration information is used to add a third carrier for the apparatus in the first cell as taught by Dinan in the system of Feng to transmits a control message for reconfiguring the carriers of the wireless device (See abstract; lines 3-4).
Regarding claims 6 & 17: The combination of Feng and Dinan disclose a carrier configuration an apparatus/a method.
Furthermore, Dinan discloses the apparatus/a method, wherein the computer program further instructs the processor to report second capability information in the first cell, wherein the second capability information indicates that the apparatus supports carrier aggregation (See Para. 0042; The wireless device may transmit a plurality of radio capability parameters to the base station on the first signaling connection on an uplink carrier corresponding to the first carrier. The base station transmits data traffic using carrier aggregation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include report second capability information in the first cell, wherein the second capability information indicates that the apparatus supports carrier aggregation as taught by Dinan in the system of Feng to transmits a control message for reconfiguring the carriers of the wireless device (See abstract; lines 3-4).
12. Claims 4 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng, in view of Zhu et al. (hereinafter referred as Zhu) US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0374908 A1.
Regarding claims 4 & 15: Feng discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with an exception of wherein the computer program further instructs the processor to receive bandwidth part (BWP) configuration information used to configure a BWP of the second carrier, and a start location of the BWP is determined based on a start location of the second carrier.
However, Zhu from the same field of endeavor discloses receive bandwidth part (BWP) configuration information used to configure a BWP of the second carrier, and a start location of the BWP is determined based on a start location of the second carrier (See Para. 0194-0196; send BWP configuration information to the first terminal device. The BWP configuration information is used to configure a BWP of the second carrier, and a start location of the BWP is determined based on a start location of the second carrier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include report second capability information in the first cell, wherein the second capability information indicates that the apparatus supports carrier aggregation as taught by Zhu in the system of Feng to maximize utilization of a spectrum resource (See Para. 0004; line 1).
13. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng, in view of Dinan, further in view of Zhu..
Regarding claim 9: Feng discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with an exception of sending bandwidth part BWP configuration information to the first terminal device, wherein the BWP configuration information is used to configure a BWP of the second carrier, and a start location of the BWP is determined based on a start location of the second carrier.
However, Zhu from the same field of endeavor discloses sending bandwidth part BWP configuration information to the first terminal device, wherein the BWP configuration information is used to configure a BWP of the second carrier, and a start location of the BWP is determined based on a start location of the second carrier (See Para. 0194-0196; send BWP configuration information to the first terminal device. The BWP configuration information is used to configure a BWP of the second carrier, and a start location of the BWP is determined based on a start location of the second carrier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include sending bandwidth part BWP configuration information to the first terminal device, wherein the BWP configuration information is used to configure a BWP of the second carrier, and a start location of the BWP is determined based on a start location of the second carrier as taught by Zhu in the combined system of Feng and Dinan to maximize utilization of a spectrum resource (See Para. 0004; line 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
14. Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
15. The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
A. Khoshnevisan et al. 2023/0039103 A1 (Title: Transmit power control configuration for physical uplink control channel…) (See Abstract, Para. 0012 & 0037-0038).
B. Yi et al. 2021/0360616 A1 (Title: Transmission using a plurality of wireless resources) (See abstract, Para. 0006 & 00813-0016).
C. Mo et al. 2021/0352741 A1 (Title: Random access method and terminal) (See FIG. 1, Para. 0046, 0050 & 0160).
/MEWALE A AMBAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469