DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 103
7. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2023/0345332 A1 (hereinafter “Wang”) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Wang, in view of the non-patent literature document titled Handling Leftovers from Email Discussion on Switching Notification (hereinafter “R2-2103346”)1.
Regarding claims 1, 6 and 11: Wang teaches an apparatus comprising: a memory storing a program; and one or more processors configured to execute the program to:
process communication with a first network and a second network (see, e.g., figures 1 and 2; terminal 120 communicates with network 110 and network 111);
receive, from a base station apparatus in the first network, a radio resource control, RRC, message including first information for indicating a starting position of an aperiodic gap and second information for indicating a length of the aperiodic gap in a case where the apparatus is in RRC connected state in the first network; determine the aperiodic gap based on the first information for indicating the starting position of the aperiodic gap and the second information for indicating the length of the aperiodic gap; and perform a switching for the communication with the second network within the aperiodic gap, (see, e.g., [0051]-[0059]; the terminal determines one-shot gap configuration upon reception, including starting and duration information of the gap; after which, switching is performed);
wherein the first information for indicating the starting position of the aperiodic gap and the second information for indicating the length of the aperiodic gap are not maintained for the aperiodic gap (see, e.g., [0052]-[0059], [0088]; the one shot configuration is not maintained).
Wang teaches configuration signaling both from the terminal to the network, as well as from the network to the UE. Wang does not explicitly state wherein the downlink information includes the gap starting and length information. To the extent this feature is not inherent to Wang, it is nevertheless taught in R2-2103346 (see, e.g., section 2.2.2.2; note indication of configuration information). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application incorporate features from the system of R2-2103346, such as the indication functionality, within the system of Wang, in order to confirm and/or negotiate functionality.
The rationale set forth above regarding the apparatus of claim 1 is applicable to the base station and method of claims 6 and 11, respectively.
Regarding claims 2, 7, and 12: Wang alternatively modified by R2-2103346 further teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the program to transmit, to the base station apparatus in the first network, a UEAssistanceInformation message including third information for indicating the starting position of the aperiodic gap, the aperiodic gap is determined based on the third information for indicating the starting position of the aperiodic gap included in the UEAssistanceInformation message (see, e.g., Wang [0045], [0052]-[0059]; a UEAssistanceInformation message is transmitted; note additionally/alternatively R2-2103346 p. 2). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 2.
The rationale set forth above regarding the apparatus of claim 2 is applicable to the base station and method of claims 7 and 12, respectively.
Regarding claims 3, 8, and 13: Wang alternatively modified by R2-2103346 further teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the program to: receive, from the base station apparatus in the first network, the RRC message including fourth information for configuring a periodic gap; receive, from the base station apparatus in the first network, the RRC message including fifth information for indicating release of the periodic gap; perform a switching for the communication with the second network within the periodic gap based on the fourth information for configuring the periodic gap; and release the fourth information for configuring the periodic gap based on receiving the fifth information for indicating the release of the periodic gap (see, e.g., Wang [0045], [0052]-[0059]; and/or R2-2103346 pp. 7-11; note signaling). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 3.
The rationale set forth above regarding the apparatus of claim 3 is applicable to the base station and method of claims 8 and 13, respectively.
Regarding claims 4, 9, and 14: Wang alternatively modified by R2-2103346 further teaches wherein the first information for indicating the starting position of the aperiodic gap and the second information for indicating the length of the aperiodic gap are released without receiving any information for indicating the release of the aperiodic gap (see, e.g., Wang [0045], [0052]-[0059]; and/or R2-2103346 p. 7-11; note signaling, e.g. at p. 9 – functionality without response). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 4.
The rationale set forth above regarding the apparatus of claim 4 is applicable to the base station and method of claims 9 and 14, respectively.
Regarding claims 5, 10, and 15: Wang alternatively modified by R2-2103346 further teaches wherein the first information for indicating the starting position of the aperiodic gap and the second information for indicating the length of the aperiodic gap are not stored for the aperiodic gap (see, e.g., [0052]-[0059], [0088]; the one shot configuration is not maintained). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 5.
The rationale set forth above regarding the apparatus of claim 5 is applicable to the base station and method of claims 10 and 15, respectively.
Relevant Art
8. The following prior art not relied upon in this Office action is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: See form PTO-892.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS SLOMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476
1 R2-21003346 was cited in Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement submitted May 24, 2024 (Non-Patent Literature Documents, cite. No. CG).