Priority
This application is a CON of 17/215,683 (03/29/2021 US11926871)
17/215,683 is a CON of 16/802,264 (02/26/2020 US10988808)
16/802,264 is a CON of 15/404,980 (01/12/2017 US10612089)
15/404,980 has PRO 62/277,783 (01/12/2016).
Drawings
The drawings filed 2/2/24 are objected to for illegible text, in particular in several of the sequences. MPEP 608.02.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 is to a product that is library of oligonucleotides comprising various regions without specifying any particular sequence or structural requirements. The specification provides exemplary embodiments without indicating how the library or any of regions are limited to any particular structure. Thus, one of skill in the art would understand the library as being broadly defined as any collection of oligonucleotides and claims are construed under this BRI accordingly. MPEP 2111.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Samuels et al. (US20120220494).
Samuels teaches a collection of oligonucleotides (i.e., “Universal Droplet Barcode Library”, Figures; [0213]-[0349]) which anticipates claim 1 under the BRI. Regarding claim 2-6, Samuels teaches more than 50 unique barcodes, in a partition, attached to hydrogel beads, and with a poly-T ([0161], [0205]-[0206], [0291]).
Regarding claim 7, Samuels teaches analyzing nucleic acids from a population of cells including providing, partitioning, lysing, hybridization, template directed polymerization, combining, and sequencing (Figs. 18. 24). Regarding claims 8-14, Samuels teaches use of barcode beads, RNA, RT, polyT, unique identifiers, and adapters (Fig. 23, [0226]-[0234]; [0245]; [0336]; [0465]; [0469]).
Regarding claims 15-20, Samuels teaches method of synthesizing a barcode library comprising various regions, annealing to primers, extending, and displacing (claims 1-13; [0246]; [0205]-[0270]; Figs. 5-26) which anticipate the claims under the BRI as with claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11926871. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a method of making barcodes in the same manner as in the instant claims for the same utility which anticipates and renders obvious the instant claims in view of Samuels et al. (US20120220494) which is in the same field of endeavor and would be combined by one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11685947. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims barcodes equivalent to the instant claims for the same utility which anticipates and renders obvious the instant claims in view of Samuels et al. (US20120220494) which is in the same field of endeavor and would be combined by one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 10988808. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a method of using barcodes in the same manner as in the instant claims for the same utility which anticipates and renders obvious the instant claims in view of Samuels et al. (US20120220494) which is in the same field of endeavor and would be combined by one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10752894. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a method of making barcodes in the same manner as in the instant claims for the same utility which anticipates and renders obvious the instant claims in view of Samuels et al. (US20120220494) which is in the same field of endeavor and would be combined by one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10730030. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a method of using barcodes in the same manner as in the instant claims for the same utility which anticipates and renders obvious the instant claims in view of Samuels et al. (US20120220494) which is in the same field of endeavor and would be combined by one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 10612089. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims barcodes equivalent to the instant claims for the same utility which anticipates and renders obvious the instant claims in view of Samuels et al. (US20120220494) which is in the same field of endeavor and would be combined by one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/ROBERT H HAVLIN/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1626