DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-8 are pending and are subject to this office action. This is the first Office Action on the merits of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 introduces the limitation “fire extinguishing portion” and then recites "the fire extinguishing section comprising" in lines 10-11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the fire extinguishing section” in the claim. Claim 1 uses “portion” and “section” for different elements (“a first extinguishing section, a second extinguishing section”), so it is unclear whether “the fire extinguishing section” is the fire extinguishing portion, one of the two extinguishing sections, or a different element). See MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, “the fire extinguishing section comprising” is read as “the fire extinguishing portion comprising.”
Claim 1 recites “a soft synthetic resin sheet constituting an outside portion” and “a soft metal film constituting an inside portion.” The term “soft” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “soft” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. See MPEP 2173.05(b). The specification identifies EVA (ethylene-vinyl-acetate copolymer resin) for the synthetic resin sheets and “soft aluminum foil” for the metal film only as non-limiting examples ([0036]). It gives no hardness, stiffness, thickness or other measure of how pliable a sheet or film must be to be “soft”. Therefore, the meets and bounds of the claim cannot be determined with reasonable certainty. For examination purposes, “soft” is read as “flexible.”
Claim 1, further recites the limitation “a cleaning tool for the extinguishing section” in the last line, 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the extinguishing section” in the claim. Claim 1 previously recites a fire extinguishing portion, a first extinguishing section and a second extinguishing section, so it is unclear which of these the cleaning tool is for. The specification describes cleaning tool (6) as being for the metal pipe member (4c) that constitutes the fire extinguishing part (4, Figs.10A-B; [0045], [0051]). For examination purposes, the limitation is read as “a cleaning tool for the fire extinguishing portion.”
Claims 2-8 are also rejected by virtue of their dependence on claim 1.
Claim 2 recites the limitations "the second fire extinguishing section” and “the housing section" in lines 3-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Claim 1 recites “a second extinguishing section” and “a housing portion”. For examination purposes, they are read as “the second extinguishing section” and “the housing portion,” respectively. The same reading of “the housing section” applies to claims 5, 6 and 8.
Claims 3-5 and 7 are also rejected by virtue of their dependence on claim 2.
Claim 8 depends from claim 1 and recites the limitation “the second butt portion” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A second butt portion is only introduced in claim 3 and claim 8 does not depend on claim 3. See MPEP 2153.05(e).
Under this interpretation, claim 8 is identical in scope to claim 5. Applicant is advised that should claim 5 be found allowable, claim 8 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miura (JP-3238300-U, hereinafter referring to the English Machine Translation retrieved from Espacenet) in view of Ho (US-20060174900-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Miura, directed to a portable ashtray (1, Fig.2, [0001]), discloses:
A soft synthetic resin sheet constituting an outside portion: outer member (1a) made of soft synthetic resin sheet such as EVA ([0008], [0026-0027]).
A soft metal film constituting an inside portion (1b), where the outside and inside portions are superimposed on each other (Fig.6; [0008], [0026-0030]).
A housing portion having an opening and an inner area for containing cigarette butts: accommodating portion (2) with opening (2a), which accommodates cigarette butts (Figs.2, 8; [0026], [0036-0038]).
A lid portion that can open and close the opening of the housing portion: lid portion (3), which covers opening (2a) and is fixed in the closed position by snap buttons (3b-c, Fig.2; [0026], [0031], [0039])
A fire extinguishing portion inside the housing portion, having a cylindrical shape and opened to contain a tip of a cigarette inserted into the housing portion to be extinguished: tubular fire extinguishing portion (4, metal pipe 4c) fixed inside accommodating portion (2), which receives and extinguishes the lit tip of a cigarette inserted into the accommodating portion (Figs.4a-5; [0008], [0026], [0032], [0037]).
A first extinguishing section for accommodating and extinguishing a tip side of a regular sized cigarette: first fire extinguishing section (4a), inner diameter D1 = 8.4mm, fitting regular cigarettes (5a 8mm, and 5c 7mm; [0034-0035], [0037], [0040]).
A second extinguishing section having a smaller diameter than the first section, provided in connection with it, for accommodating and extinguishing a tip side of a slim sized cigarette: second fire extinguishing section (4b), inner diameter D2 = 6.3mm, in communication with first section (4a), fitting slim cigarettes (5b-5d, 5-6mm, Fig.5; [0026], [0034-0035], [0037], [0040]).
Miura does not explicitly disclose a cleaning tool for the fire extinguishing portion.
However, Miura teaches that ash from cigarettes extinguished in fire extinguishing portion (4) must be kept from accumulating in the pipe and provides discharge hole (4f) so that the ash drops into the accommodating portion ([0012], [0020], [0038]).
[AltContent: textbox (brush)]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: oval]
[AltContent: textbox (handle)]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: oval]
Ho, directed to a multi-function portable ashtray carried in a user’s hand (1, [0002]), discloses an embodiment comprising a cover (2), a shield (3), a pivot (4), a brush (5) and a soft plug (6, Figs.1-2; [0024]). A clipping part (32), on shield (3), clamps brush (5, [0010], [0027]), and a sheath (51) is put on brush (5) to keep it clean ([0029-0030]). Ho teaches that the brush is provided for cleaning the accumulated ashes produced by cigarettes or fragrances easily ([0013]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the portable ashtray of Miura to include a cleaning tool for the fire extinguishing portion, i.e. a brush carried with the ashtray, as taught by Ho; because both Miura and Ho are directed to portable ashtrays, Ho teaches that providing a brush with the ashtray allows the ash accumulated from cigarettes to be cleaned easily ([0013]), and Miura identifies ash accumulation in the extinguishing pipe as a problem to be avoided ([0020]), and this involves combining a known element (a cleaning brush) with a known device (a portable extinguishing ashtray) according to known methods, with each element performing the same function it performs separately, to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 2, Miura, as modified by Ho, teaches the portable ashtray of claim 1. Miura further teaches that fire extinguishing portion (4) comprises a metal pipe member (4c) forming the first and second extinguishing sections 4a, 4b, with an inner diameter varied in two steps in the axial direction (D1 = 8.4mm to D2 = 6.3mm) (Fig.5, [0009], [0034-0035]). Miura also teaches that metal pipe (4c) is attached inside accommodating portion (2), via belt member (4g). The winding portion (4h) of the belt member wraps the pipe, and its attachment portions (4i) are bonded inside the accommodating portion (Figs.4b-5, [0013], [0021], [0033]).
Regarding claim 3, Miura, as modified by Ho, teaches the portable ashtray of claim 2. Miura further teaches a first abutment (butt) portion (4d) between the first and second extinguishing sections (4a, 4b), against which the tip of a regular-size cigarette abuts, and a second abutment (butt) portion (4e) in the second extinguishing section (4b), against which the tip of a slim-sized cigarette abuts ([0010], [0018], [0037]).
Regarding claim 4, Miura, as modified by Ho, teaches the portable ashtray of claim 3. Miura further teaches that the first abutment portion (4d) is formed as a smooth curved surface, which guides the tip of a slim-size cigarette into the second extinguishing section ([0011], [0019]).
Regarding claims 5 and 8 (claim 8 as interpreted above to depend on claim 3), Miura, as modified by Ho, teaches the portable ashtray of claim 3. Miura further teaches that the second abutment portion (4e) is provided with a discharge (ejection) hole (4f) that lets ash of the inserted slim-size cigarette fall into the accommodating (housing) portion (2, [0012], [0020], [0038]).
Regarding claim 7, Miura, as modified by Ho, teaches the portable ashtray of claim 2. Miura further teaches that metal pipe (4c) is affixed to the interior of accommodating portion (2), either through the bonded attachment portions (4i) of belt member (4g) or with double sided tape ([0014], [0022], [0033]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miura (JP-3238300-U, English Machine Translation retrieved from Espacenet) in view of Ho (US-20060174900-A1), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Tachi (JP-3197268-U, hereinafter referring to the English Machine Translation retrieved from Espacenet).
Regarding claim 6, Miura, as modified by Ho, teaches the portable ashtray of claim 1. In the modification, Ho teaches that the cleaning tool comprises a brush member (5) having a handle (the elongated body to which reference numeral 5 points to in Fig.2) and a brush section at one end of the handle, and a sheath (51) into which the brush is inserted so that the sheath accommodates the brush ([0029-0030]), i.e., a housing pipe for accommodating the brush member. Ho further teaches that the sheathed brush is removably clamped to the body of the ashtray in clipping part (32, [0027], [0030]).
Miura, as modified by Ho, does not explicitly disclose that the brush member is removably installed, via the housing pipe, into a housing hole in the housing portion.
However, Tachi, directed to a portable ashtray, discloses an embodiment comprising a rectangular bag-shaped ashtray body (2, Figs.1-2), a clip (3), a lid (5) held closed by a snap button (6), and a storage section (4) provided at the lower part of the ashtray body ([0009]). Storage section (4) is pocket-shaped, and an accessory (lighter 7) is inserted into and removed from it through opening (8, [0009-0010]). Tachi teaches that storing the accessory in the ashtray body removes the need to carry it separately ([0006]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the portable ashtray of Miura, as modified by Ho, so that the sheathed brush is removably installed into a receiving opening (a housing hole) in the housing portion, as taught by Tachi; because Miura, Ho and Tachi are all directed to portable ashtrays, Tachi teaches that providing a storage opening in the ashtray body for a removable accessory allows the accessory to be carried with the ashtray rather than separately ([0006]), which is the same purpose served by Ho’s clipping part (32, [0027]), and this involves applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143(I)(D)). Additionally, moving the location at which the sheathed brush is mounted, from Ho’s clip to a hole in the housing, does not modify the operation of the device and would have been an obvious rearrangement of parts (see MPEP 2144(VI)(C)).
Conclusion
/J.E.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755