DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the applicant's response to restriction requirement submitted on 11/12/2025. In virtue of this amendment:
Claims 43-212 were canceled via preliminary amendment filed on 02/23/2024;
Claims 27-38 are withdrawn from consideration; and thus,
Claims 1-42 are pending;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of this Patent Application claims priority under 35 U.S.C § 119(e) to U.S. Provisional Patent Application Ser. 63/443,192 filed on 02/03/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/12/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US2005/0194243A1 hereinafter “Prineppi”.
Regarding claim 1, Prineppi discloses a control device for controlling a lighting load (¶2L1-3: electric light), the control device comprising:
an analog intensity adjustment actuator (¶31L1-2: a rocker switch) that is configured to be manually operated (¶7L11-12: allows the switch to be manually operated) to adjust an intensity level of light emitted by the lighting load (¶2L1-3: turn electric lights on and off) (Note: turning lights off would equate to an intensity level of 0 and turning lights on would equate to an intensity level of 100);
a communication circuit (¶36L5: a radio frequency receiver unit) configured to receive a message from a remote device (¶34L1-4: a remote control transmitter), the message comprising a commanded intensity level for controlling the lighting load (¶7L7-12: a command signal from a remote control transmitter to the RF unit);
an actuator adjustment system (¶32L15-16: a rotatable switch rocker actuator rod) configured to adjust a position of the analog intensity adjustment actuator (¶35L1-24: cam lobe presses the rocker switch downwards it activate or deactivate the switch); and
a control circuit configured to control the amount of power delivered to the electrical load in response to manual operation of the analog intensity adjustment actuator, the control circuit further configured to control the actuator adjustment system to adjust the position of the analog intensity adjustment actuator in response to the message received from the remote device via the communication circuit, wherein the position of the analog intensity adjustment actuator is adjusted to indicate the commanded intensity level. (¶7L1-12: the switch rocker actuator extends from the housing and is adapted to engage with the switch to thereby selectively move it rom an on position to an off position and vice versa in response to a command signal from a remote control transmitted to the RF unit)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 40-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prineppi.
Regarding claim 40, Prineppi discloses the control device of claim 1
Prineppi does not explicitly disclose:
a controllably conductive device adapted to be coupled in series electrical connection between an alternating current (AC) power source and the lighting load; wherein the control circuit is configured to control the controllably conductive device to control the amount of power delivered to the lighting load in response to the manual operation of the analog intensity adjustment actuator.
However, Prineppi implicitly disclose the claimed feature, as the rocker switch is a traditional light switch, which would be connected to the AC input to supply power to the lighting load, and a switch is a controllably conductive device that either connects or disconnect the circuit based on the position of the rocker switch.
Regarding claim 41, Prineppi discloses the control device of claim 40, wherein
the control circuit is configured to control the amount of power delivered to the electrical load in response to commanded intensity level included in the message received from the remote device. (¶7L1-12: the switch rocker actuator extends from the housing and is adapted to engage with the switch to thereby selectively move it from an on position to an off position and vice versa in response to a command signal from a remote control transmitted to the RF unit)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-26, 39 and 42 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Raymond R Chai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844