DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/02/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou (US Patent Publication Number 2019/0041601 A1) in view of Perreault (US Patent Publication Number 2020/0132888 A1).
Hou teaches, as claimed in independent claim 13, an electronic device (See Fig. 3A) comprising a head-mounted housing structure; and a lens system (See Fig. 4c) comprises first (3) and second lenses (4) configured to provide a base optical power (¶0103 “the optical power of tunable lens2 is negative” and ¶0113 “The optical power of Alvarez lens2 ranges from −0.3(1/mm) to 0.3(1/mm) )), wherein the first lens (3) comprises a first surface (Alvarez surface), wherein the second lens (4) comprises a second surface (Alvarez surface), wherein the-first and second surfaces are opposing freeform surfaces that are laterally shifted to provide an additional optical power in combination with the base optical power wherein the base optical power is a negative optical power, and wherein the additional optical power is a positive optical power (¶0103 “the optical power of the tunable lens1 is positive and the optical power of tunable lens2 is negative (as in FIG. 3(a)), at telescope end, the optical power of tunable lens1 is negative and the optical power of tunable lens2 is positive”), Hou fails to teaches a an electronic device (See Fig. 3A) comprising: a head-mounted housing structure. In a related art, Perrault teaches an electronic device (See Fig. 3A) comprising: a head-mounted housing structure (¶00155 “HMDs and other near-eye display systems”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic device, as taught by Hou, with the head-mounted housing structure, as taught by Perrault, for the purpose of providing corrective effect for a user's impacted vision (¶0015).
Hou teaches, as claimed in claim 14, wherein the first (3) and second lenses (4) apply the base optical power to passing light when the first and second lenses are in an aligned state and wherein the first and second lenses apply the combination of the base optical power and the additional optical power when the first and second lenses are in an offset state after a lateral shift from the aligned state (¶0103 “the optical power of the tunable lens1 is positive and the optical power of tunable lens2 is negative (as in FIG. 3(a)), at telescope end, the optical power of tunable lens1 is negative and the optical power of tunable lens2 is positive”).
Hou teaches, as claimed in claim 15, wherein the first lens (3) comprises a third surface, wherein the second lens (4) comprises a fourth surface, wherein lenses comprise the third and fourth surfaces are non-freeform surfaces (See outer surfaces of lenses 3 and 4), and wherein the base optical power is provided using at least one of the first, second, third, and fourth surfaces of the first and second lenses (¶0103 “the optical power of the tunable lens1 is positive and the optical power of tunable lens2 is negative (as in FIG. 3(a)), at telescope end, the optical power of tunable lens1 is negative and the optical power of tunable lens2 is positive”), Hou fails to teaches a an electronic device (See Fig. 3A).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 4-6, 9-12 and 18-26 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to teach all of the limitations of claims 1 which includes wherein the non-freeform surface of the first lens has a smaller degree of curvature than the non-freeform surface of the second lens.
Regarding claims 4-6 and 9-12 has dependency on independent claim 1.
The prior art fails to teach all of the limitations of claims 18 which includes wherein the freeform surfaces of the first and second lenses are laterally shifted shift to provide an adjustable additional optical power in combination with the base optical power, wherein the base optical power is a positive optical power, and wherein the additional optical power is an additional positive optical power.
Regarding claims 19-26 has dependency on independent claim 18.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JOURNEY F. SUMLAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
24 August 2026
/SHARRIEF I BROOME/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872