Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 8/7/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
The following limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses means or a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the means or generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
“decompressing portion” includes the generic/nonce term “portion” coupled with the function of “decompressing”. A return to the specification provides an expansion valve (page 286) Therefor the limitation is interpreted as the same or equivalents thereof.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 8, and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,650,250. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited claims include overlapping ranges of the %mass of the refrigerants with the ranges of the instant claims.
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,584,055. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited claims include overlapping ranges of the %mass of the refrigerants with the ranges of the instant claims.
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,270,575. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited claims include overlapping ranges of the %mass of the refrigerants with the ranges of the instant claims.
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,906,207. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited claims include overlapping ranges of the %mass of the refrigerants with the ranges of the instant claims.
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 11-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,834,601. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited claims include overlapping ranges of the %mass of the refrigerants with the ranges of the instant claims.
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,820,933. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited claims include overlapping ranges of the %mass of the refrigerants with the ranges of the instant claims.
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,549,041. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited claims include overlapping ranges of the %mass of the refrigerants with the ranges of the instant claims.
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,549,695. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited claims include overlapping ranges of the %mass of the refrigerants with the ranges of the instant claims.
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,535,781. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited claims include overlapping ranges of the %mass of the refrigerants with the ranges of the instant claims.
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,525,076. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited claims include overlapping ranges of the %mass of the refrigerants with the ranges of the instant claims.
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,506,425. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited claims include overlapping ranges of the %mass of the refrigerants with the ranges of the instant claims.
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,492,527. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited claims include overlapping ranges of the %mass of the refrigerants with the ranges of the instant claims.
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,493,244. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited claims include overlapping ranges of the %mass of the refrigerants with the ranges of the instant claims.
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,5,9,13, and17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,441,819. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited claims include overlapping ranges of the %mass of the refrigerants with the ranges of the instant claims.
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 11-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,435,118. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited claims include overlapping ranges of the %mass of the refrigerants with the ranges of the instant claims.
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,365,335. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited claims include overlapping ranges of the %mass of the refrigerants with the ranges of the instant claims.
Claims 1 and 4-7 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2of copending Application No. 17/887125 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited claims include overlapping ranges of the %mass of the refrigerants with the ranges of the instant claims. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 3 each recite “if” in regard to an amount of component w, CO2. However, there is no requirement that “w” must be within any of said ranges. The limitation is contingent. MPEP 2111.04. For example, a composition including CO2, HFO-1132(E), R32, and R1234yf having a CO2 mass% of 8.0 and the other three constituents present in any value would satisfy the claim as none of the contingencies are triggered and all of the positively recited components are present. Because it is unclear if any of the ranges of the ternary diagrams are necessarily required, the scope of the claims are unclear.
Claims 2 and 3 provide a plurality of parenthetical limitations, e.g. “(excluding points on straight line B”D and straight line CI)” which call into question whether the limitations within the parentheticals are required by the claim. The examiner suggests removing the parenthesis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukushima et al (US 2016/0333243).
Regarding claim 1, Fukushima discloses a refrigerant cycle apparatus for freezing or cold storage comprising:
a refrigerant circuit including a compressor (11), a radiator (12), a decompressing portion (13), and a heat absorber (14); and
a refrigerant enclosed in the refrigerant circuit containing at least 1,2-difluorothylene (HFO-1132(E) of table 11 at page 13).
Regarding claim 4, Fukushima discloses a refrigerant cycle apparatus for freezing or cold storage comprising:
a refrigerant circuit including a compressor (11), a radiator (12), a decompressing portion (13), and a heat absorber (14); and
a refrigerant enclosed in the refrigerant circuit, wherein the refrigerant comprises trans-1,2-difluoroethylene (HFO-1132 (E)) and 2,3,3,3- tetrafluoropropene (HFO-1234yf) (table 11 at page 13), and
a content rate of HFO-1132(E) is 31.1 to 39.8 mass% and a content rate of HFO-1234yf is 68.9 to 60.2 mass%, based on a total mass of HFO-1132(E) and HFO-1234yf (example 29 at table 11 provides 20% mass HFO-1132(E) and 40% mass HFO-1234yf out of 100% total mass thus of only those two constituents they are in a ratio of 1/3 to 2/3 or 33% and 66% which provides a specific example in the claimed range).
Regarding claim 5, Fukushima discloses a content rate of HFO-1132(E) is 31.1 to 37.9 mass% and a content rate of HFO-1234yf is 68.9 to 62.1 mass%, based on a total mass of HFO-1132(E) and HFO-1234yf (example 29 at table 11 provides 20% mass HFO-1132(E) and 40% mass HFO-1234yf out of 100% total mass thus of only those two constituents they are in a ratio of 1/3 to 2/3 or 33% and 66% which provides a specific example in the claimed range).
Regarding claim 7, Fukushima discloses a refrigerant cycle apparatus for freezing or cold storage comprising:
a refrigerant circuit including a compressor (11), a radiator (12), a decompressing portion (13), and a heat absorber (14); and
a refrigerant enclosed in the refrigerant circuit, wherein the refrigerant comprises trans-1,2-difluoroethylene (HFO-1132 (E)) and 2,3,3,3- tetrafluoropropene (HFO-1234yf) (table 11 at page 13), and
a content rate of HFO-1132(E) is 12.1 to 72.0 mass% and a content rate of HFO-1234yf is 87.9 to 28.0 mass%, based on a total mass of HFO-1132(E) and HFO-1234yf (example 29 at table 11 provides 20% mass HFO-1132(E) and 40% mass HFO-1234yf out of 100% total mass thus of only those two constituents they are in a ratio of 1/3 to 2/3 or 33% and 66% which provides a specific example in the claimed range)..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukushima et al (US 2016/0333243).
Regarding claim 6, Fukushima discloses a refrigerant cycle apparatus for freezing or cold storage comprising:
a refrigerant circuit including a compressor (11), a radiator (12), a decompressing portion (13), and a heat absorber (14); and
a refrigerant enclosed in the refrigerant circuit, wherein the refrigerant comprises trans-1,2-difluoroethylene (HFO-1132 (E)) and 2,3,3,3- tetrafluoropropene (HFO-1234yf) (table 11 at page 13).
Fukushima lacks a content rate of HFO-1132(E) is 21.0 to 28.4 mass% and a content rate of HFO-1234yf is 79.0 to 71.6 mass%, based on a total mass of HFO-1132(E) and HFO-1234yf.
It has been held that the optimization of a result-effective variable is obvious. In this instance each constituent component provides for different properties, e.g. combustion lower limit, self-decomposition, relative pressure, or cycle performance (provided in tables 2 and 3). Therefor because the relative weight of HFO-1132(E) and HFO-1234yf is recognized as effecting the result of combustion lower limit, self-decomposition, relative pressure, or cycle performance; the value of 21.0 to 28.4 mass% HFO-1132(E) and 79.0 to 71.6 mass% HFO-1234yf is not a product of innovation but of ordinary skill and is obvious.
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukushima et al (US 2016/0333243) in view of Low (GB 2566809).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Fukushima further discloses the refrigerant containers, trans-1,2-difluoroethylene (HF)-1132(E)), difluoromethane (R32), and 2,3,3,3-tetrafluoro-1-propene (R1234yf) (examples shown in table 11).
Fukushima lacks providing CO2 to the refrigerant composition. Low discloses a refrigerant composition including difluoro ethylene, difluoroethane, and tetrafluoropropene (page 3, lines 5-7) and CO2 (page 3, line 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Fukushima with CO2 refrigerant, in the amount of 0-7.0 mass%, in order to reduce flammability.
Further regarding the %mass of trans-1,2-difluoroethylene (HF)-1132(E)), difluoromethane (R32), and 2,3,3,3-tetrafluoro-1-propene (R1234yf); in one sense the examples provided in table 11 include specific examples in the claimed range, but in another sense said ranges are not contingent on an amount of CO2. However, it has been held that the optimization of a result-effective variable is obvious. In this instance each constituent component provides for different properties, e.g. combustion lower limit, self-decomposition, relative pressure, or cycle performance (provided in tables 2 and 3). Therefor because the relative weight of HFO-1132(E), R32, and HFO-1234yf is recognized as effecting the result of combustion lower limit, self-decomposition, relative pressure, or cycle performance; the claimed values are not a product of innovation but of ordinary skill and are obvious.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ueno et al (US 10,380,518) optionally includes CO2 in refrigerant composition.
Singh et al (US 8,053,404) tetrafluopropene and CO2 refrigerants
Singh et al (US 2007/0007488) adding CO2 to the cycle.
/CHRISTOPHER R ZERPHEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799