DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-7 are pending. Claims 1-6 have been amended. Claim 7 was newly added. Claims included in the prosecution are claims 1-7.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
The objections to claims 1-6 are withdrawn.
In light of the new amendments and/or upon further consideration, the rejection of claims 2 and 5-6 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as being indefinite is withdrawn.
New Rejections
Applicants’ amendments have necessitated the following grounds of rejection:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6 and dependent claims thereof are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “effective” in claim line 3 of is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “effective” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102 (a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Nho et al. (KR 101226102B1 Pub. 01-24-2013) evidenced by PubChem (Potassium Alum, National Center of Biotechnology Information. https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Potassium-Alum). Citations from Nho are taken from the machine translated document provided. deemed
Nho teaches the preparation of an inorganic salt wherein a liquid composition is formed from by dissolving 0.1-50 weight% of aluminum, 0.1-1 weight% of polyacrylic acid, 0.1-1 weight% of cyclodextrin in purified water (abstract). Nho anticipates the claims by teaching alum (aluminum potassium sulfate), and polyacrylic acid (paragraph [0010]). Nho teaches that the chemical component is (KAl(SO4)2 12H2O) and that aluminum is known to have antibacterial and insecticidal effects (paragraph [0016]). As polyacrylic acid (PAA) is taught, the limitation of claim 3 is anticipated and thereby anticipates the water-soluble polymer of claim 1.
The metal ion taught is aluminum. Further evidenced by PubChem, the (KAl(SO4)2 12H2O) taught has metal ions (see Description section of the document provided). Nho provides examples in which polyacrylic acid, cyclodextrin and aluminum sulfate were dissolved in purified water at a ratio of 0.1% by weight, 0.1% by weight and 0.1% by weight, respectively, to prepare an aqueous solution ([0036]). Nho also provides examples of aqueous solutions of aluminum sulfate dissolved in purified water at different ratios ([0038]-[0044]) to clearly anticipate the recited “an aqueous solution of metal ions” of claim 1.
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Rohrer et al. (US 10407353 B2, issued 09/10/2019) evidenced by Giovanni et al. (Exploring a sustainable solution to control Xylella fastidiosa subsp. Pauca on olive in the Salento Peninsula, Southern Italy. Crop Protection 139 (2021) 105288, pages 1-10).
Rohrer discloses a formulation for an aqueous micronutrient fertilizer dispersion composition for both immediate and sustained release of active components within a hydrated polyelectrolyte solution (abstract). The composition is comprised of an insoluble micronutrient, a soluble micronutrient, a polyelectrolyte and a metal complexing agent (claim 1). Rohrer describes complexing agent, e.g., citric acid, throughout comprising chelators thereby disclosing a chelated metal (claim 1). As evidenced by Giovanni, zinc, copper are complexed with citric acid (i.e., bio complex Dentamet®) (page 2, column 1, paragraph 6). This formulation is very shelf stable, easily diluted, non-hard packing and highly concentrated (col. 1, lines 56-61). Rohrer teaches that the metal complexing agent renders the ions inert (col. 2, line 4). Rohrer teaches that the micronutrients in the formulation may be one or more of the following: B, N, Mg, Al, Si, P, S, Cl, K, Ca, Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, Ni, Cu, Zn, Se, Mo, Ag, Sn, I , or mixtures thereof (col. 4, lines 9-12). The polyelectrolyte is a polymer that may be soluble in water (col. 5, line 63) to include polyacrylic acid (col. 6, line 23; claim 1). Rohrer teaches that the metal complexing agent is added to the aqueous micronutrient fertilizer composition and forms a complex with a metal (col. 6, lines 49-50 and 54).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Tsivion et al. (WO 2020/110110 A1) in view of Xing et al. (CN 103435424 B, pub. 03/30/2016). Citations from Xing are taken from the translation provided.
Tsivion discloses a compositions for suppressing the population of various pentatomid bugs and fertilizers containing chelated or non-chelated heavy metals known to be otherwise deleterious to bacteria and or fungi (paragraph [005], claims 1-3 and 6). Tsivion discloses commercially available micronutrients that comprise copper, zinc and citric acid bio complex (i.e., Dentamet®, copper and zinc combination with citric acid as a complexant) (paragraphs [013], [021]). Here the complexation and use of citric acid as a chelator reads on the chelated limitation of claim 2.
Tsivion provides exemplary treatments using mixtures of nutritive heavy metal chelated with organic acids were tested for their effect in suppressing stink bug populations (paragraph [009]) which continues to read on the pentatomid insects limitation of claim 5.
Regarding claims 5, Tsivion teaches pentatomid pest as stink bug (page 3, lines 13, 22).
Regarding claim 6, Tsivion teaches the symbiotic bacteria maternal stink bug secretions (see pg. 2, lines 13-23) and further teaches the addition of poly-1-p-menthene-based pesticide additive to increase active ingredients penetration of maternal secretions (paragraph [013]) to read on the bacteria limitation.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, with respect to being effective and considering the 112-issue discussed above, Tsivion discloses that corrected mortality rates were calculated using art-known methods to compute the effectiveness (paragraph [019]).
Regarding claim 7, Tsivion teaches adding of water (paragraph [020] see water + additive, Table 1; claim 1) reads on the solution limitation. In paragraph [014], eggs are treated with the “active substances solutions” using a hand sprayer.
Tsivion differs from the claimed invention insofar water-soluble polymers are not taught.
However, Xing discloses a novel coating material with unique water solubility that is efficient, environmentally friendly, and economical and is directed to slow-release fertilizers (paragraph [0011], [0032]). Xing discloses that the coating material contains polymeric micro/ nanoparticles, preferably comprising ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymer and its blended polymer alloys; polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP) and its complexed trace elements and drugs; and polymeric micro/nanoparticles (paragraph [0015], claim 1). The ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymer polymer is selected from at least one of a group that includes polyacrylic acid (PAA) and polymethacrylic acid (PMAA) (paragraph [0018], claim 4).
Xing teaches that trace elements complexed with PVP include zinc and copper (paragraph [0022]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, ahead of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the PAA and PMAA taught by Xing in the compositions of Tsivion with expected results. One would be motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because Xing overcomes the challenges of release profiles of fertilizer nutrients in the art to prolong or control the release of fertilizer nutrients and coordinate the release of nutrients with the nutrient requirements of crops, thereby improving fertilizer utilization (paragraph [0005]) which would contribute to the art, absent a clear showing of evidence to the contrary. Xing teaches a material that exhibits strong complexing ability with metals (paragraph [0021-0022]), provides a controlled-release coating for pesticides while reducing environmental pollution (see Xing [0005], claim 10) to suggest an improvement upon the non-water-soluble polymer of Tsivion (see Tsivion [013]).
For the foregoing reasons the instant claims are rendered obvious by the teachings of the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim rejections 102
Applicant cite Rohrer, in column 1, lines 53-61, and column 2, lines 41-44, to argue that Rohrer teaches insoluble micronutrient and the instant disclosure of precipitate in applicants’ specification does not allow insoluble micronutrient.
The Examiner respectfully submits that Rohrer teaches a formulation comprising high concentration of micronutrients with good rheological stability by incorporating a combination of polyelectrolytes with metal complexing agents. It is the “complexation of the soluble portion of nutrient ions that allows for increase compatibility with the other component in the formulation and rheology control” (column 2, lines 28-29). Additionally, Rohrer teaches that, “it is expected that the soluble micronutrient will be readily available to a plant , correcting any micronutrient deficiency, while the insoluble micronutrient will gradually convert to a soluble form over time” (column 4, lines 21-24). Claims 1-3 recite a formulation comprising an aqueous solution of metal ions. This is taught by the reference since some of the metal ions are dissolved in the water. The claim can further comprise additional ingredients that change the composition from a solution to a formulation that is not a solution.
Rejections - 103
In response to applicant's argument that Xing does not teach the recited "for extending the activity of micronutrient based pesticides over a period of time," the Examiner respectfully notes that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Whether Xing has a proclivity for fertilizers or not, it does not take away from Xing teaching polyacrylic acid (PAA) and polymethacrylic acid (PMAA) (paragraph [0018], claim 4).
For these reasons, Applicants’ arguments are found unpersuasive.
Conclusion
All claims under consideration remain rejected; no claims are allowed. Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Karen A Ketcham/Examiner, Art Unit 1614
/ALI SOROUSH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1614