DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-6 are pending.
Claims 1-6 are currently under consideration.
Claims 1-6 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
No Information Disclosure Statements have been filed with the present application. Applicants are reminded of his/her duty to disclose patents and publications relevant to the patentability of the instant claims.
Specification
The use of the term Dentamet®, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the use of bullets is not proper format. Applicant may consider identifying elements with letters, e.g., a), b). Appropriate correction is required. The Examiner notes that copying and pasting complex files containing intricate formatting (i.e., bullets) may result in data loss or formatting inconsistencies.
Claims 2-6 are objected to because of the following informalities: a) there appears to be a verb missing after the recitation of “as” and before “in”. Applicants may consider amending to recite, “as claimed in claim 1”; and b) the “A” in the recitation of “A formulation” should be changed to “The” to prevent indefiniteness.
Claims 3-4 are objected to because of the following informalities: the acronyms PAA and PMAA in claims 3 and 4 respectively, should be spelled out upon their first appearance. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation of “pantotemid” appears to be a misspelling of pentatomid (see instant Spec., [0005]). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “some” in line 2 of claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “some” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The use of the term “some” has rendered the amount of chelated metal ions and the amount of metal ions that are not chelated. For the purposes of this Office action, prior art that teaches any amount of metal ions that are chelated will be considered to have met the claim limitation.
Claims 5-6 recite the limitation "said pest” in lines 2 of both claims. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Applicant Claims
The instant claims are directed to a formulation comprising an aqueous solution of metal ions and at least one water soluble polymer wherein chelated metal ions are present; wherein the polymer is PAA; and wherein the polymer is PMAA.
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102 (a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Rohrer et al. (US 10,407,353 B2, issued 09/10/2019) herein referenced Rohrer.
Rohrer discloses a formulation for an aqueous micronutrient fertilizer dispersion composition for both immediate and sustained release of active components within a hydrated polyelectrolyte solution (abstract). The composition is comprised of an insoluble micronutrient, a soluble micronutrient, a polyelectrolyte and a metal complexing agent (claim 1). This formulation is very shelf stable, easily diluted, non-hard packing and highly concentrated (col. 1, lines 56-61). Rohrer teaches that the metal complexing agent renders the ions inert (col. 2, line 4). Rohrer teaches that the micronutrients in the formulation may be one or more of the following: B, N, Mg, Al, Si, P, S, Cl, K, Ca, Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, Ni, Cu, Zn, Se, Mo, Ag, Sn, I , or mixtures thereof (col. 4, lines 9-12). The polyelectrolyte is a polymer that may be soluble in water (col. 5, line 63) to include polyacrylic acid (col. 6, line 23; claim 1). Rohrer teaches that the metal complexing agent is added to the aqueous micronutrient fertilizer composition and forms a complex with a metal (col. 6, lines 49-50 and 54).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Applicant Claims
The instant claims are directed to a formulation comprising an aqueous solution of metal ions and at least one water soluble polymer wherein chelated metal ions are present; wherein the polymer is PAA; and wherein the polymer is PMAA.
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Tsivion (WO 2020/110110 A1, pub. 06/04/2020) in view of Xing et al. (CN 103435424 B, pub. 03/30/2016, MT Espacenet) herein referenced Xing. Citations from Xing are taken from the translation provided.
The applied reference has a common joint inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2).
Tsivion discloses a compositions for suppressing the population of various pentatomid bugs and fertilizers containing chelated or non-chelated heavy metals known to be otherwise deleterious to bacteria and or fungi ([005], claims 1-3 and 6). Tsivion provides exemplary treatments using mixtures of nutritive heavy metal chelated with organic acids were tested for their effect in suppressing stink bug populations ([009]). Tsivion discloses commercially available micronutrients that comprise copper, zinc and citric acid bio complex (i.e., Dentamet®, copper and zinc combination with citric acid as a complexant) (paragraphs [013], [021]). Tsivion teaches the adding of water (paragraph [020] see water + additive, Table 1; claim 1). Tsivion teaches the symbiotic bacteria maternal stink bug secretions (see pg. 2, lines 13-23) to read on instant claim 6.
Tsivion mentions the addition of poly-1-p-menthene-based pesticide additive to increase active ingredients penetration of maternal secretions ([013]). However, Tsivion does not disclose water soluble polymers.
Xing discloses a novel coating material with unique water solubility that is efficient, environmentally friendly, and economical directed to slow-release fertilizers ([0011], [0032]). Xing discloses that the coating material contains polymeric micro/nanoparticles, preferably comprising ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymer and its blended polymer alloys; polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP) and its complexed trace elements and drugs; and polymeric micro/nanoparticles ([0015], claim 1).The ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymer polymer is selected from at least one of a group that includes polyacrylic acid (PAA) and polymethacrylic acid (PMAA) ([0018], claim 4). Xing teaches that trace elements complexed with PVP include zinc and copper ([0022]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, ahead of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the PAA and PMAA taught by Xing in the compositions of Tsivion with expected results. One would be motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because Xing overcomes the challenges of release profiles of fertilizer nutrients in the art to prolong or control the release of fertilizer nutrients, and coordinate the release of nutrients with the nutrient requirements of crops, thereby improving fertilizer utilization ([0005]) which would contribute to the art, absent a clear showing of evidence to the contrary. Xing teaches a material that exhibits strong complexing ability with metals ([0021-0022]), provides a controlled-release coating for pesticides while reducing environmental pollution (see Xing [0005], claim 10) to suggest an improvement upon the non-water soluble polymer of Tsivion (see Tsivion [013]).
For the foregoing reasons the instant claims are rendered obvious by the teachings of the prior art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3 and 6 of copending application 17/297,379 herein referenced ‘379 in view of Xing et al. (CN 103435424 B, pub. 03/30/2016, MT Espacenet) herein referenced Xing. Citations from Xing are taken from the translation provided.
Claim 3 of ‘379 recites, “A composition for use for the control of Pentatomid insects consisting of ‘at least one nutritive heavy metal otherwise used for foliar fertilizing of plants.’ wherein the application of said composition to egg masses of said insect induces neonate mortality.”
Claim 6 of ‘379 recites, “A composition as in claim 3 wherein said at least one nutritive metal is chelated.”
However the claims of ‘379 do not recite water soluble polymer, PAA, and PMAA.
Xing discloses polyacrylic acid and polymethacrylic acid ([0018], claim 4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, ahead of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the PAA and PMAA of Xing in the composition of patent ‘379 with expected results. One would be motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as Xing teaches that the polymers in the coating material for controlled-release coatings for pesticides is environmentally friendly and provides sustained-release performance ([0004], claim 10).
Conclusion
Claims 1-6 are rejected; no claims are currently allowable.
The Examiner asks Applicant to provide support for the amendments in the application disclosure by referencing page numbers, paragraphs, figures, etc. for the sake of compact prosecution.
/Karen Ketcham/Examiner, Art Unit 1614
/ALI SOROUSH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1614