DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to amendments and remarks filed 30 September 2026. Claims 19-20, 22-25, 37-38, 40-47 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19-20, 22, 24, 37-38, 40 and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US 2018/0092022 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Huang appears to disclose a method, comprising:
receiving, from a network device, by a first terminal component used by a second terminal to access the network device, system information, wherein the first terminal component is one of a first terminal or a chip of the first terminal ([0286] disclosing “The relay UE can learn load conditions of the serving cell and/or the adjacent cell according to an Access Class Barring (ACB) parameter value broadcast in a system message SIB of the serving cell and/or the adjacent cell.”);
determining, based on the system information ([0286] disclosing “in consideration of load balancing, the relay UE can merely send information of the cell in which it is located and/or the adjacent cell with relatively light load to the remote UE. For example, if the load of the cell in which the relay UE is located is heavy (which can be judged by the relay UE according to an AC parameter), then it is indicated that the cell in which the relay UE is located is barred to be accessed or the cell access probability parameter is broadcast…so as to prevent the [remote] UE from…attempting to access the cell in which the relay UE is located”), and radio resource control (RRC) status information of the first terminal component ([0283] disclosing “a method that a remote UE of the relay UE switches to the base station to access the network after moving to the coverage area of the base station.”; [0284] disclosing “in the current scenario, the remote UE performs data transmission with the eNB through the relay UE, and the relay UE can sends the auxiliary information by broadcast, so as to help the remote UE detect the nearby cells faster” (i.e., the steps are based on relay UE being connected to the base station and providing current coverage to the remote UE for the purpose of helping the remote UE find a cell faster)) that the second terminal fails to camp on a first cell of the network device ([0286] disclosing “in consideration of load balancing, the relay UE can merely send information of the cell in which it is located and/or the adjacent cell with relatively light load to the remote UE. For example, if the load of the cell in which the relay UE is located is heavy (which can be judged by the relay UE according to an AC parameter), then it is indicated that the cell in which the relay UE is located is barred to be accessed or the cell access probability parameter is broadcast…so as to prevent the [remote] UE from…attempting to access the cell in which the relay UE is located”); and
sending first indication information to the second terminal, wherein the first indication information indicates to break a sidelink between the first terminal component and the second terminal, or that the second terminal fails to camp on the first cell ([0184] disclosing “the first D2D UE receives the auxiliary information from the relay node, wherein the auxiliary information includes at least one of cell information of the first cell, cell information of the adjacent cell”; [0186]-[0188] disclosing the cell information includes cell access barred information to indicate the first D2D UE is barred to access the corresponding cell; [0284] disclosing “The cell information can include one or a combination of the following: the frequency, the cell ID, the cell access barring indication and the cell access probability parameter.”; [0285] disclosing “The cell access barred indication is arranged to indicate that the cell is not allowed to be accessed; for example, when the load of the cell is heavy, the cell access probability parameter can also be arranged to control the number of UEs accessing the cell” That is to say the cell access probability parameter is not required).
Regarding claim 20, Huang appears to disclose the method according to claim 19, wherein the system information indicates that the first cell is in an access-barred state, and wherein the second terminal fails to camp on the first cell of the network device ([0184], [0186]-[0188], [0286]).
Regarding claim 22, Huang appears to disclose the method according to claim 19, wherein the system information comprises first cell access status information, and wherein the first cell access status information comprises at least one of information indicating that the first cell is in an access-barred state or information indicating that the first cell is in a non-access-barred state ([0184], [0186]-[0188], [0286]).
Regarding claim 24, Huang appears to disclose the method according to claim 19, wherein the RRC status information of the first terminal component indicates a RRC status of the first terminal component ([0284] disclosing “in the current scenario, the remote UE performs data transmission with the eNB through the relay UE…” the relay UE is connected to the base station).
Regarding claim 37, Huang appears to disclose a method, comprising:
receiving, from a network device, by a first terminal component that is used by a second terminal to access the network device, system information, wherein the first terminal component is one of a first terminal or a chip of the first terminal ([0286] disclosing “The relay UE can learn load conditions of the serving cell and/or the adjacent cell according to an Access Class Barring (ACB) parameter value broadcast in a system message SIB of the serving cell and/or the adjacent cell.”);
determining, based on the system information ([0286] disclosing “in consideration of load balancing, the relay UE can merely send information of the cell in which it is located and/or the adjacent cell with relatively light load to the remote UE. For example, if the load of the cell in which the relay UE is located is heavy (which can be judged by the relay UE according to an AC parameter), then it is indicated that the cell in which the relay UE is located is barred to be accessed or the cell access probability parameter is broadcast…so as to prevent the [remote] UE from…attempting to access the cell in which the relay UE is located”), and radio resource control (RRC) status information of the first terminal component ([0283] disclosing “a method that a remote UE of the relay UE switches to the base station to access the network after moving to the coverage area of the base station.”; [0284] disclosing “in the current scenario, the remote UE performs data transmission with the eNB through the relay UE, and the relay UE can sends the auxiliary information by broadcast, so as to help the remote UE detect the nearby cells faster” (i.e., the steps are based on relay UE being connected to the base station and providing current coverage to the remote UE for the purpose of helping the remote UE find a cell faster)) that the second terminal fails to camp on a first cell of the network device ([0286] disclosing “in consideration of load balancing, the relay UE can merely send information of the cell in which it is located and/or the adjacent cell with relatively light load to the remote UE. For example, if the load of the cell in which the relay UE is located is heavy (which can be judged by the relay UE according to an AC parameter), then it is indicated that the cell in which the relay UE is located is barred to be accessed or the cell access probability parameter is broadcast…so as to prevent the [remote] UE from…attempting to access the cell in which the relay UE is located”); and
sending first indication information to the second terminal, wherein the first indication information indicates that the second terminal fails to camp on the first cell ([0184] disclosing “the first D2D UE receives the auxiliary information from the relay node, wherein the auxiliary information includes at least one of cell information of the first cell, cell information of the adjacent cell”; [0186]-[0188] disclosing the cell information includes cell access barred information to indicate the first D2D UE is barred to access the corresponding cell; [0284] disclosing “The cell information can include one or a combination of the following: the frequency, the cell ID, the cell access barring indication and the cell access probability parameter.”; [0285] disclosing “The cell access barred indication is arranged to indicate that the cell is not allowed to be accessed; for example, when the load of the cell is heavy, the cell access probability parameter can also be arranged to control the number of UEs accessing the cell” That is to say the cell access probability parameter is not required).
Regarding claim 38, Huang appears to disclose the method according to claim 37, wherein the system information indicates that the first cell is in an access-barred state, and wherein the second terminal fails to camp on the first cell of the network device ([0184], [0186]-[0188], [0286]).
Regarding claim 40, Huang appears to disclose the method according to claim 37, wherein the system information comprises first cell access status information, and wherein the first cell access status information comprises at least one of information indicating that the first cell is in an access-barred state or information indicating that the first cell is in a non-access-barred state ([0184], [0186]-[0188], [0286]).
Regarding claim 42, Huang appears to disclose the method according to claim 37, wherein the RRC status information of the first terminal component indicates a RRC status of the first terminal component ([0284] disclosing “in the current scenario, the remote UE performs data transmission with the eNB through the relay UE…” the relay UE is connected to the base station).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23, 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2018/0092022 A1) in view of Sharma et al. (US 2020/0367146 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Huang does not disclose the following; however, Sharma suggests the method according to claim 19, wherein the system information further comprises first cell reservation status information, wherein the first cell reservation status information indicates a reservation status of the first cell, and wherein the reservation status comprises at least one of the first cell being reserved for use by an operator, the first cell being restricted from other uses, or the first cell being restricted from future use ([0045], [0050] disclosing the system information indicates “reserved for operator use”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date if the invention to modify the techniques of Huang with the invention of Sharma because this allows remote UEs to access cells normally reserved for operator employees ([0050]).
Regarding claim 41, Huang does not disclose the following; however, Sharma suggests the method according to claim 37, wherein the system information further comprises first cell reservation status information, wherein the first cell reservation status information indicates a reservation status of the first cell, and wherein the reservation status comprises at least one of the first cell being reserved for use by an operator, the first cell being restricted from other uses, or the first cell being restricted from future use ([0045], [0050] disclosing the system information indicates “reserved for operator use”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date if the invention to modify the techniques of Huang with the invention of Sharma because this allows remote UEs to access cells normally reserved for operator employees ([0050]).
Claim(s) 25 and 43- 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2018/0092022 A1) in view of LG Electronics Inc. “Relay (re-)selection and path switching”, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #113e, Online Meeting, 2021 April 12- April 20, R2-2103994, hereafter D1.
Regarding claim 25, Huang does not disclose the following; however, D1 suggests the method according to claim 19, further comprising:
breaking the sidelink (Section 2.1 third triggering condition “when the relay UE is barred” disclosing when the relay UE is barred it cannot do a relaying operation and can directly trigger relay reselection of remote UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the techniques of Huang as suggested by D1 because the suggestion lies in D1 that this can improve service continuity (top of pg. 2 paragraph below excerpt from 3GPP TR 38.836).
Regarding claim 43, Huang appears to disclose a method comprising:
receiving, from a network device, by a first terminal component that is used by a second terminal to access the network device, system information, wherein the first terminal component is one of a first terminal or a chip of the first terminal ([0286] disclosing “The relay UE can learn load conditions of the serving cell and/or the adjacent cell according to an Access Class Barring (ACB) parameter value broadcast in a system message SIB of the serving cell and/or the adjacent cell.”);
determining, based on the system information ([0286] disclosing “in consideration of load balancing, the relay UE can merely send information of the cell in which it is located and/or the adjacent cell with relatively light load to the remote UE. For example, if the load of the cell in which the relay UE is located is heavy (which can be judged by the relay UE according to an AC parameter), then it is indicated that the cell in which the relay UE is located is barred to be accessed or the cell access probability parameter is broadcast…so as to prevent the [remote] UE from…attempting to access the cell in which the relay UE is located”), and radio resource control (RRC) status information of the first terminal component ([0283] disclosing “a method that a remote UE of the relay UE switches to the base station to access the network after moving to the coverage area of the base station.”; [0284] disclosing “in the current scenario, the remote UE performs data transmission with the eNB through the relay UE, and the relay UE can sends the auxiliary information by broadcast, so as to help the remote UE detect the nearby cells faster” (i.e., the steps are based on relay UE being connected to the base station and providing current coverage to the remote UE for the purpose of helping the remote UE find a cell faster)) that the second terminal fails to camp on a first cell of the network device ([0286] disclosing “in consideration of load balancing, the relay UE can merely send information of the cell in which it is located and/or the adjacent cell with relatively light load to the remote UE. For example, if the load of the cell in which the relay UE is located is heavy (which can be judged by the relay UE according to an AC parameter), then it is indicated that the cell in which the relay UE is located is barred to be accessed or the cell access probability parameter is broadcast…so as to prevent the [remote] UE from…attempting to access the cell in which the relay UE is located”); and
sending first indication information to the second terminal, wherein the first indication information indicates that the second terminal fails to camp on the first cell ([0184] disclosing “the first D2D UE receives the auxiliary information from the relay node, wherein the auxiliary information includes at least one of cell information of the first cell, cell information of the adjacent cell”; [0186]-[0188] disclosing the cell information includes cell access barred information to indicate the first D2D UE is barred to access the corresponding cell; [0284] disclosing “The cell information can include one or a combination of the following: the frequency, the cell ID, the cell access barring indication and the cell access probability parameter.”; [0285] disclosing “The cell access barred indication is arranged to indicate that the cell is not allowed to be accessed; for example, when the load of the cell is heavy, the cell access probability parameter can also be arranged to control the number of UEs accessing the cell” That is to say the cell access probability parameter is not required).
Huang does not disclose the following; however, D1 suggests wherein the first indication information indicates to break a sidelink between the first terminal component and the second terminal (Section 2.1 third triggering condition “when the relay UE is barred” disclosing when the relay UE is barred it cannot do a relaying operation and can directly trigger relay reselection of remote UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the techniques of Huang as suggested by D1 because the suggestion lies in D1 that this can improve service continuity (top of pg. 2 paragraph below excerpt from 3GPP TR 38.836).
Regarding claim 44, Huang appears to disclose the method according to claim 43, wherein the system information comprises first cell access status information, and wherein the first cell access status information comprises at least one of information indicating that the first cell is in an access-barred state or information indicating that the first cell is in a non-access-barred state ([0184], [[0186]-[0188], [0286]).
Regarding claim 46, Huang appears to disclose the method according to claim 43, wherein the RRC status information of the first terminal component indicates a RRC status of the first terminal component ([0284] disclosing “in the current scenario, the remote UE performs data transmission with the eNB through the relay UE…” the relay UE is connected to the base station).
Regarding claim 47, Huang does not disclose the following, however, D1 suggests the method according to claim 43, further comprising:
breaking the sidelink (Section 2.1 third triggering condition “when the relay UE is barred” disclosing when the relay UE is barred it cannot do a relaying operation and can directly trigger relay reselection of remote UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the techniques of Huang as suggested by D1 because the suggestion lies in D1 that this can improve service continuity (top of pg. 2 paragraph below excerpt from 3GPP TR 38.836).
Claim(s) 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2018/0092022 A1) in view of D1, further in view of Sharma et al. (US 2020/0367146 A1).
Regarding claim 45, Huang does not disclose the following; however, Sharma suggests the method according to claim 43, wherein the system information further comprises first cell reservation status information, wherein the first cell reservation status information indicates a reservation status of the first cell, and wherein the reservation status comprises at least one of the first cell being reserved for use by an operator, the first cell being restricted from other uses, or the first cell being restricted from future use ([0045], [0050] disclosing the system information indicates “reserved for operator use”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date if the invention to modify the techniques of Huang with the invention of Sharma because this allows remote UEs to access cells normally reserved for operator employees ([0050]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03 September 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Upon reconsideration, the disputed feature “based on…radio resource control (RRC) status information of the first terminal” appears to be satisfied by the reference of record Huang.
Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Huang discloses the method in which the remote UE is currently communicating via the relay UE with the base station in which the relay UE communicates the auxiliary information in order to support the remote UE finding nearby cells faster to facilitate handoff form the relay UE to the base station for access. ([0283]-[0284]). As such, this preestablished connection state of the relay UE is the basis for the method to occur, and in the broadest reasonable sense, this appears to disclose the determination recited in the claims is based, at least in part, on the pre-established connection status. Applicant is advised to further define this feature within the claims to differentiate from the prior art.
Applicant argues “Huang also fails to teach, disclose, or even suggest “"determining ... that the second terminal fails to camp on a first cell"”. This argument is based on the disclosure in Huang of “the cell access probability parameter” disclosed by Huang. The argument is flawed in that the cell access probability parameter is not required by Huang and applicant ignores the express disclosure in Huang of, “For example, if the load of the cell in which the relay UE is located is heavy (which can be judged by the relay UE according to an AC parameter), then it is indicated that the cell in which the relay UE is located is barred to be accessed or the cell access probability parameter is broadcast” ([0286]) Looking further into the disclosure of Huang, therein it is disclosed, “the relay UE can sends the auxiliary information… The cell information can include one or a combination of the following: the frequency, the cell ID, the cell access barring indication and the cell access probability parameter.” ([0283]). That is to say, Huang discloses only the cell access barring indication is needed which can be determined by the relay UE. The inclusion of the cell access barring parameter is an additional feature in Huang; however, Huang does not disclose that this is required and Haung expressly discloses the relay UE can judge the state of the cell in order to determine to send the cell access barring indication.
The prior art references of record, Tenny and Sharma speak for themselves and their disclosures can be relied upon in the future if necessary to address future amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH A BEDNASH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461