DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the claims filed on 06/23/2026.
Status of Claims: Claims 1, 4-9, and 13-22 are currently pending and have been examined below. Claims 2-3 and 10-12 are cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-9, and 13-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1
Recitations such as “wherein the connector is moved simultaneously perpendicular to both the connector direction and the longitudinal rod axis while in the extended position by urging with the chamfered surfaces when guided into the recess by engagement with the chamfered surfaces” on lines 20-23 discloses new matter. The claims are written such that the urging/engagement of the connector with the chamfered surfaces causes the simultaneously perpendicular movement of the connector to both the axial connector direction (see 156 in figures 16-17) and along in longitudinal rod axis (axis of rotation of 120 in figures 5-6) which is not true. As shown in figures 22-24 and the annotated figure 18 below, the engagement of the connector with the chamfered surfaces moves the connector in a direction that is different than both the axial connector direction and longitudinal rod axis.
The chamfered surfaces do not urge the connector in neither the axial connector direction nor along the longitudinal rod axis, as such, the amendment discloses new matter issues. Furthermore, the connector cannot be moved along the direction of the longitudinal rod axis while it is in the retracted position (which would be the case if the connector is moving along the axial connector direction as it is not engaged with the recess).
Perhaps what applicant is attempting to claim is --wherein the connector is moved in a direction that is perpendicular to both the axial connector direction and longitudinal rod axis by urging with the chamfered surfaces when being guided into the recess-- or --wherein an engagement of the connector with the chamfered surfaces moves the connector in a direction that is perpendicular to both the axial connector direction and longitudinal rod axis--.
annotated figure 18
All claims depending from a rejected claim are rejected for including the 112 issues of the claim from which it depends.
Claims 1, 4-9, and 13-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1
Recitations such as “wherein the connector is moved simultaneously perpendicular to both the connector direction and the longitudinal rod axis while in the extended position by urging with the chamfered surfaces when guided into the recess by engagement with the chamfered surfaces” on lines 20-23 render the claims indefinite. The claims require movement of the connector in the axial connector direction 156 ‘while in the extended position’. This is indefinite because lines 19-20 recites that the extended and the retracted positions as being defined in the axial connector direction, therefore it is unclear how is the connector moving in the axial connector direction if it is already in the extended position.
Examiner notes applicant to consider the suggested language set forth above.
All claims depending from a rejected claim are rejected for including the 112 issues of the claim from which it depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 8-9, 13-17, 19, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Plummer (US 9382745).
Claim 1
(Plummer discloses) An actuator assembly (figures 1A and 4A-7) for moving a sliding door or window (216), the actuator assembly including:
a motor assembly (242; figure 5) attachable to a frame (215; figure 7) of the sliding door or window;
a rod (244) driveable by the motor assembly and rotatable about a longitudinal rod axis (211), the rod having a thread (figure 5);
a block (270) that is engaged with and driveable by the thread of the rod (lines 62-67 of col. 10);
a connector (262) engaged at a first end (end of 262 that is inserted in the block in figure 6C), with the block, and engageable at a second end (end of 262 closer to the sash 216) with the sliding door or window, such that actuation of the motor assembly to drive the rod causes movement of the block along the rod, which causes movement of the connector for moving the sliding door or window (lines 8-12 of col. 12);
wherein the connector is selectively engageable with the block (figures 6A-6C);
wherein the connector is moveable between an extended position (extended position of 262 in figure 6C), wherein the first end of the connector is engaged with the block such that movement of the block causes movement of the connector (lines 8-12 of col. 12), and a retracted position (retracted position of 262 in figure 6B), wherein the first end of the connector is disengaged with the block such that movement of the block does not cause movement of the connector (lines 62-67 of col. 11);
wherein the block includes a recess (274) for receiving the connector in the extended position (figure 6C);
wherein the block includes chamfered surfaces (chamfered surfaces 276 and 278) to guide the connector to the recess when the block collides with the connector in the extended position (figures 6A-6C; lines 62-67 of col. 11); and
wherein the movement of the connector between the extended and the retracted positions is in an axial connector direction (Annotated figure 6C below), and wherein the connector is moved simultaneously perpendicular to both the connector direction and the longitudinal rod axis while in the extended position by urging with the chamfered surfaces when guided into the recess by engagement with the chamfered surfaces (Annotated figure 6C below; due to the 112 issues above, this was interpreted as best understood by the examiner as the connector is moved in both the axial connector direction and along the direction of the longitudinal rod axis 'with the use or help of' the connector urging with the chamfered surfaces; note that ‘by’ was interpreted as --With the use or help of; through--).
Annotated figure 6C
Claim 4
(Plummer discloses) The actuator assembly of claim 1, wherein the actuator assembly further includes a button assembly (260; figures 4B-4C) operable to move the connector between the extended position and the retracted position (figures 4B-4C).
Claim 5
(Plummer discloses) The actuator assembly of claim 4, wherein the button assembly includes a slide toggle (see sliding toggle 264; figures 4B-4C).
Claim 8
(Plummer discloses) The actuator assembly of claim 1, wherein the connector is biased toward the extended position (lines 2-5 of col. 10).
Claim 9
(Plummer discloses) The actuator assembly of claim 1, wherein, in the retracted position, the connector is moveable relative to the block for moving the sliding door or window without actuation of the motor assembly (lines 56-67 of col. 1).
Claim 13
(Plummer discloses) The actuator assembly of claim 1, wherein the actuator assembly further includes a connector holder (320; figure 8) to allow the connector to engage with the sliding door or window (‘engage’ was interpreted as -- To require the use of; occupy-- and ‘with’ was interpreted as -- Next to; alongside of-- such that the connector holder allows the connector, which is next to the sliding door or window, to be used),
wherein the connector holder is movable perpendicular to the connector direction between a rest position (position of 320 when the connector is not in the recess) and a displaced position (position of 320 when the connector is within the recess) to allow the movement of the connector when guided into the recess by the chamfered surfaces (lines 56-67 of col. 12).
Claim 14
(Plummer discloses) The actuator assembly of claim 13, wherein the connector holder includes a spring (330) to bias the connector holder toward the rest position.
Claim 15
(Plummer discloses) The actuator assembly of claim 1, wherein the recess is located off-center with respect to the rod (figure 6A showing the recess off-centered with respect to the rod).
Claim 16
(Plummer discloses) The actuator assembly of claim 1, wherein the actuator assembly further includes a connector holder (264; figures 4B-4C) to allow the connector to engage with the sliding door or window,
wherein the connector holder includes a receiver (the receiver of the connector holder 264 in Annotated figure 4B below) for receiving the connector, the receiver being located off-center with respect to the rod (figure 4B and figure 6B).
Annotated figure 4B
Claim 17
(Plummer discloses) The actuator assembly of claim 16, wherein the connector holder
includes said receiver and at a second receiver (see both receivers in Annotated figure 4B above), located on opposite off-center locations with respect to the rod (Annotated figure 4B above).
Claim 19
(Plummer discloses) A sliding door or window assembly (figure 1A) including the actuator assembly of claim 1 (see rejection in claim 1 above), the sliding door or window assembly including:
a frame (12-13, and 15) having a sill (13) with jambs (15) upstanding from the sill and topped by a head (12) to define a cavity (figure 1A);
a sliding member (218; figure 4A) mounted in the frame so as to be moveable between an open position and a closed position (figures 6A-6C);
wherein the motor assembly is mounted in an interior of an extrusion profile of at least one of the sill, the jambs, and the head (this is taught as shown in figure 1A showing the window balance assembly including the motor assembly inside the jamb).
Claim 21
(Plummer discloses) The sliding door or window assembly of claim 19, wherein the sliding member includes a plurality of sash members (at least 4 sash members as shown in figure 1A), and wherein the connector is mounted in an interior of an extrusion profile of one of the sash members (figure 6C).
Claim 22
(Plummer discloses) The sliding door or window assembly of claim 21, wherein the actuator assembly further includes a button assembly (260; figures 4B-4C) operable to move the connector between the extended position (position in figure 4B) and the retracted position (position in figure 4C) and wherein the button assembly is mounted to one of the sash members (figures 4B-4C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plummer, as applied to claims 1, 4-5, 8-9, 13-17, 19, and 21-22 above, in view of Simson et al. (US 5826377) (hereinafter “Simson”).
Claims 6 and 7
(Plummer discloses) The actuator assembly of claim 4.
Plummer fails to disclose:
(i) wherein the actuator assembly further includes a key lock operable between an unlocked position, wherein the button assembly is operable, and a locked position, wherein the button assembly is not operable; (claim 6);
(ii) wherein, when the key lock is in the locked position, the connector is not moveable between the extended position and the retracted position (claim 7).
However, Simson teaches:
(i) wherein an actuator assembly (assembly shown in Simson figures 1-2) further includes a key lock (30) operable between an unlocked position (loosened state; Simson figure 2; lines 11-16 of col. 3), wherein a button assembly (34) is operable, and a locked position (tightened state), wherein the button assembly is not operable;
(ii) wherein, when the key lock is in the locked position, a connector (17) is not moveable between an extended position and a retracted position (lines 11-16 of col. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the linearly moving actuator assembly of Plummer with the linear lock of Simson for providing additional security means to the actuator therefore it is not actuated accidentally.
Claim 20
(Plummer discloses) The sliding door or window assembly of claim 19.
Plummer is silent wherein the actuator assembly further includes a bearing holder at an opposite end of the extrusion profile wherein the motor assembly is mounted, the bearing holder having a bearing to support the rod.
(However, Simson teaches) wherein an actuator assembly (Simson figures 1-4) further includes a bearing holder (the block that holds bearing 7 in Simson figures 1 and 3) at an opposite end of an extrusion profile (the extrusion profile that holds the actuator assembly in figure 1) wherein a motor assembly (11) is mounted, the bearing holder having a bearing (7) to support a rod (2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the assembly of Plummer with the bearing holder of Simson for the predictable and expected benefit of fully supporting both ends of the rod thus reducing vibration as it is rotated by the motor.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plummer, as applied to claims 1, 4-5, 8-9, 13-17, 19, and 21-22 above, in view of Tseng (US 20150260216).
Claim 18
(Plummer discloses) The actuator assembly of claim 1.
Plummer fails to disclose wherein the actuator assembly further includes a tip that is threadingly engaged with the connector, so that a length of the combined connector and tip is adjustable.
(However, Tseng teaches) a linear actuator assembly (1 and 2; Tseng figures 4-5) further includes a tip (2) that is threadingly engaged with a connector (1), so that a length of the combined connector and tip is adjustable (Tseng figures 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the connector of Plummer with the adjustable tip of Tseng for accurately optimizing the length of the connector such that it is properly fitted within the recess when the connector and the block are engaged with one another.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment directed to the claim objection has been accepted and the objection was withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments were directed to support the amendments in claim 1. Regarding “The movement of the connector 150 between the extended (FIG. 16) and the retracted (FIG. 17) positions is in an axial connector direction 156, and wherein the connector 150 is simultaneously moved perpendicular to both the connector direction 156 and the longitudinal rod axis 114 while in the extended position by urging with the chamfered surfaces 134 when guided into the recess 132 by engagement with the chamfered surfaces 134” (page 2 of the Remarks section), this argument is discussing that the connector is moved in a separate direction that is perpendicular to both the axial connector direction 156 and the longitudinal rod axis, however the claims are written in a manner that does not accurately reflect applicant’s invention as shown in figures 3-4 and 16-24 (see new matter issue above).
Regarding “The vertical movement of the connector 150 along the axial connector direction 156 between the extended (FIG. 16) and the retracted (FIG. 17) positions, is independent of the movement of the connector 150 into and out of the recess 132 in the direction perpendicular to the axial connector direction 156 and the longitudinal rod axis 114”, this explanation supports applicant’s argument however, as noted above, this function of the invention was not properly claimed which led to new matter and indefinite issues.
Examiner encourages applicant to consider the suggested languages above (copied herein below) which seems to recite the function that applicant’s attempting to claim.
--wherein the connector is moved in a direction that is perpendicular to both the axial connector direction and longitudinal rod axis by urging with the chamfered surfaces when being guided into the recess--.
Or
--wherein an engagement of the connector with the chamfered surfaces moves the connector in a direction that is perpendicular to both the axial connector direction and longitudinal rod axis--.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Folger (US 4628636) was cited as a pertinent prior art as it discloses a connector 46 (figures 4-6) that engages with chamfered surfaces 45’ to be guided into a recess 45.
/PATRICK B. PONCIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634