Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/02/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 set forth in the amendment submitted 2/02/2024 form the basis of the present examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9, line 3 recites, “the conductive substrate or elements” however line 2 recites, “a conductive periodic patten or metasurface”.
Therefore, in claim 9, line 2 should read, “the conductive substrate or elements”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s)1-2, 6, 8-9, 14-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Kotter et al. (Hereinafter, “Kotter”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20090125254 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Kotter teaches a method to perform material or device electromagnetic characterization (methods for analyzing and designing structures that are responsive to incident electromagnetic energy, and more specifically for analyzing and designing arrays of electromagnetic scattering elements; Paragraph [0003] Line 2-5), the method comprising:
providing a dielectric test material [105] of interest (The substrate 105 may be, any suitable dielectric material. As non-limiting examples, the substrate 105 may be a semiconductor-based material including silicon, silicon-on-insulator (SOI); Paragraph [0028] Line 1-4);
providing a conductive substrate or elements [110] (resonance elements 110 as the conductive elements) (The resonance elements 110 may be formed of a conductive material; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-2) with a periodic pattern or metasurface (An apparatus comprising a frequency selective surface including a pattern of conductive material formed on a substrate to form an array of resonance elements; Paragraph [0013] Line 1-4; There are many geometric configurations that may be suitable as resonance elements 110. As non-limiting examples, some of these geometries are square loops, circular loops, concentric loops, square spirals, circular spirals, slots, and crosses; Paragraph [0031] Line 1-5) in proximity to the dielectric test material [105] to form a test assembly [100] (Frequency selective surfaces (FSS) 100 as the test assembly) (FIGS. 1A-1C are top views of various resonance elements 110 and two-dimensional arrays of resonance elements 110 to form FSS structures 100. FIG. 1A illustrates square loop resonance elements 110 formed on a substrate 105 to create an array of elements that form a FSS structure 100; Paragraph [0027] Line 1-6; Figure 1A: Modified Figure 1A of Kotter below shows a conductive substrate or elements [110] in proximity to the dielectric test material [105]);
Figure 1A: Modified Figure 1A of Kotter
wherein the conductive substrate or elements [110] are configured to transmit or reflect electromagnetic energy incident upon it (Generally, the FSS structure may be formed by a conductive material formed in a specific pattern on a dielectric substrate to create the resonance elements. These FSS structures may be used for spectral modification of reflected or transmitted incident radiation; Paragraph [0026] Line 3-8; In general, the incident electromagnetic energy may be absorbed by, transmitted through, or reflected by the FSS structure 100; Paragraph [0071] Line 1-3) with a resonant response with center frequency and resonance shape that varies based on permittivity properties of the dielectric test material [105] (The resonant properties of these structures are largely dependent on the structure's layout in terms of shape, dimensions, periodicity, the structure's material properties, and optical parameters of surrounding media. It has been demonstrated that by varying the FSS geometry, material properties, or combinations thereof it is possible to tune the resonance of an FSS structure to meet specific design requirements; Paragraph [0026] Line 8-14; At least one aspect of the frequency selective surface is determined by defining a frequency range including multiple frequency values, determining a frequency dependent permittivity across the frequency range for the substrate (dielectric material), determining a frequency dependent conductivity across the frequency range for the conductive material, and analyzing the frequency selective surface using a method of moments analysis at each of the multiple frequency values for an incident electromagnetic energy impinging on the frequency selective surface; Paragraph [0013] Line 4-15; multiple frequency value includes center frequency; FIG. 3 illustrates a Graphical User Interface (GUI) 200 showing some parameters and results used in analyzing FSS structures 100. The GUI 200 may include dialog windows and forms to control the geometry and modeling parameters of the FSS design; Paragraph [0075] Line 1-5; See Paragraph [0011]-[0012]);
directing electromagnetic energy to the test assembly [100] (In general, the incident electromagnetic energy may be absorbed by, transmitted through, or reflected by the FSS structure 100; Paragraph [0071] Line 1-3),
wherein the directed electromagnetic energy causes interactions between (i) the periodic pattern or metasurface of the conductive substrate or elements [110], and (ii) the dielectric test material [105] ([0062] from Maxwell's equations for each patch, which may be expanded to find the unknown surface current density over the entire surface. The result is a coupled system of equations accounting for the electromagnetic interaction of every segment with every other segment on the surface. As a result, a PMM model can predict a complete antenna pattern at all points in space by taking into account the effect of the antenna geometry, antenna materials and the surrounding media; Paragraph [0062] Line 13-21; electromagnetic interaction with every other segment on the surface which comprises the conductive elements and dielectric test material);
capturing an electromagnetic energy profile of the test assembly [100] (In general, the incident electromagnetic energy may be absorbed by, transmitted through, or reflected by the FSS structure 100. The result of a conventional PMM model is in units of reflectivity for the excited FSS structure 100. The magnitude of reflectivity may be expressed in terms of decibels (db). In analysis and optimization, it may be more useful to understand the emissivity properties of the FSS structure 100; Paragraph [0071] Line 1-8; performing the PMM analysis across a range of frequencies for the incident electromagnetic energy by "sweeping" through a set of frequencies within a desired frequency range and performing the PMM analysis at each frequency within the set. In addition, frequency dependent values for conductivity of the conductive material and permittivity of the dielectric substrate 105 may be incorporated into the model based on the information obtained previously, through, as a non-limiting example, the ellipsometry analysis; Paragraph [0069] Line 2-11; PMM analysis is used to capture the electromagnetic energy profile); and
determining an electromagnetic property (GUI 200 shows electromagnetic properties in Figure 3) of the test assembly [100] based on the captured electromagnetic energy profile (FIG. 3 illustrates a Graphical User Interface (GUI) 200 showing some parameters and results used in analyzing FSS structures 100. The GUI 200 may include dialog windows and forms to control the geometry and modeling parameters of the FSS design. Each parameter can be entered as single values for fixed sweeping or array values for parametric sweeping. Interactive menus may be used to guide the Design Engineer through setup of the "design and modeling" parameters; Paragraph [0075] Line 1-9),
wherein the electromagnetic property of the test assembly [100] is used as a characterization of the dielectric test material [105] (dielectric property window 220 as the characterization of the dielectric test material) (As a non-limiting example, one window of the GUI 200 illustrates a resonance element geometry window 210, a dielectric properties window 220, a conductive material window 230, and a model output window 250; Paragraph [0076] Line 1-4; The resonance element geometry window 210 may be used to view geometries of the resonance element in two-dimensional and three-dimensional views. FIG. 3 illustrates a two-dimensional top view of a square loop resonance element. The dielectric properties window 220 may be used to show the permittivity characteristics of the dielectric property across a selected frequency range for the currently defined FSS structure 100; Paragraph [0077] Line 1-8; Claim 6: The method of claim 5, further comprising selecting the parameter of interest from the group consisting of angle of incidence for the incident electromagnetic energy, conductive material thickness, conductive material trace width, substrate thickness, resonance element size, resonance element periodicity, and spacing between resonance elements).
Regarding claim 2, Kotter teaches a method,
wherein the conductive substrate or elements [110] are formed on a carrier dielectric substrate [105] that is attached to the dielectric test material [105] to form the test assembly [100] (A FSS structure is made up of a periodic arrangement of resonant structures (also referred to as antennas, micro-antennas, and nano-antennas). Generally, the FSS structure may be formed by a conductive material formed in a specific pattern on a dielectric substrate to create the resonance elements; Paragraph [0026] Line 1-6; FIGS. 1A-1C are top views of various resonance elements 110 and two-dimensional arrays of resonance elements 110 to form FSS structures 100. FIG. 1A illustrates square loop resonance elements 110 formed on a substrate 105 to create an array of elements that form a FSS structure 100. FIG. 1B illustrates square spiral resonance elements 110' formed on a substrate 105'. FIG. IC illustrates the resonance element 110' of FIG. 1B formed in an array of resonance elements 110' on the substrate 105' to produce another FSS structure 100': Paragraph [0027] Line 1-10; Figure 1A: Modified Figure 1A of Kotter above shows the conductive substrate or elements [110] are formed on a carrier dielectric substrate [105] that is attached to the dielectric test material [105] (dielectric substrate as the dielectric test material) to form the test assembly [100]).
Regarding claim 6, Kotter teaches a method,
wherein the conductive substrate or elements [110] comprise the periodic pattern (Generally, the FSS structure may be formed by a conductive material formed in a specific pattern on a dielectric substrate to create the resonance elements. These FSS structures may be used for spectral modification of reflected or transmitted incident radiation. The resonant properties of these structures are largely dependent on the structure's layout in terms of shape, dimensions, periodicity, the structure's material properties, and optical parameters of surrounding media; Paragraph [0026] Line 3-11), and
wherein a periodicity between elements [3.5 microns] in the periodic pattern is between 50% and 80% of a wavelength [3-12 microns] at the resonant frequency of an interrogation signal corresponding to the directed electromagnetic energy (As non-limiting examples, the parameter selection window 270 illustrates parameters (and selected values) such as, type of trace material (Au), type of dielectric material (polyl), minimum wavelength to solve (3 microns), maximum wavelength to solve (12 microns), number of wavelength sample points (30), incident wave alpha angle (0 degrees), incident wave eta angle (0.01 degrees), dielectric thickness (1.25 microns), square loop (e.g., element or trace) width (0.3 microns), square loop spacing gap (0.3 microns), and square loop periodicity (3.5 microns). It is noted that the displayed values are merely examples and should not be considered limiting in any sense; Paragraph [0083] Line 1-12; Minimum wavelength to maximum wavelength is 3 microns to 12 microns which is 50-80% wavelength as claim does not recite 50% to 80% of what parameter).
Regarding claim 8, Kotter teaches a method, further comprising:
providing a second conductive substrate or elements (second resonance elements 110 as the conductive elements) (The resonance elements 110 may be formed of a conductive material; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-2) with a second periodic pattern or metasurface in proximity to the dielectric test material to form a second test assembly[110] with a periodic pattern or metasurface (An apparatus comprising a frequency selective surface including a pattern of conductive material formed on a substrate to form an array of resonance elements; Paragraph [0013] Line 1-4; There are many geometric configurations that may be suitable as resonance elements 110. As non-limiting examples, some of these geometries are square loops, circular loops, concentric loops, square spirals, circular spirals, slots, and crosses; Paragraph [0031] Line 1-5; Figure 1A: Modified Figure 1A of Kotter above shows a second conductive substrate or elements (plurality of conductive elements 110) with a second periodic pattern or metasurface in proximity to the dielectric test material to form a second test assembly[110] with a periodic pattern or metasurface);
directing electromagnetic energy to the second test assembly [100] (In general, the incident electromagnetic energy may be absorbed by, transmitted through, or reflected by the FSS structure 100; Paragraph [0071] Line 1-3),
wherein the directed electromagnetic energy causes interactions between (i) the second periodic pattern or metasurface of the conductive substrate or elements [110], and (ii) the dielectric test material [105] ([0062] from Maxwell's equations for each patch, which may be expanded to find the unknown surface current density over the entire surface. The result is a coupled system of equations accounting for the electromagnetic interaction of every segment with every other segment on the surface. As a result, a PMM model can predict a complete antenna pattern at all points in space by taking into account the effect of the antenna geometry, antenna materials and the surrounding media; Paragraph [0062] Line 13-21; electromagnetic interaction with every other segment on the surface which comprises the conductive elements and dielectric test material); and
capturing a second electromagnetic energy profile of the second test assembly [100] (In general, the incident electromagnetic energy may be absorbed by, transmitted through, or reflected by the FSS structure 100. The result of a conventional PMM model is in units of reflectivity for the excited FSS structure 100. The magnitude of reflectivity may be expressed in terms of decibels (db). In analysis and optimization, it may be more useful to understand the emissivity properties of the FSS structure 100; Paragraph [0071] Line 1-8; performing the PMM analysis across a range of frequencies for the incident electromagnetic energy by "sweeping" through a set of frequencies within a desired frequency range and performing the PMM analysis at each frequency within the set. In addition, frequency dependent values for conductivity of the conductive material and permittivity of the dielectric substrate 105 may be incorporated into the model based on the information obtained previously, through, as a non-limiting example, the ellipsometry analysis; Paragraph [0069] Line 2-11; PMM analysis is used to capture the electromagnetic energy profile); and
wherein the captured second electromagnetic energy profile, or a parameter derived therefrom (FIG. 3 illustrates a Graphical User Interface (GUI) 200 showing some parameters and results used in analyzing FSS structures 100. The GUI 200 may include dialog windows and forms to control the geometry and modeling parameters of the FSS design. Each parameter can be entered as single values for fixed sweeping or array values for parametric sweeping. Interactive menus may be used to guide the Design Engineer through setup of the "design and modeling" parameters; Paragraph [0075] Line 1-9) of the second test assembly is used as another characterization of the dielectric test material (As a non-limiting example, one window of the GUI 200 illustrates a resonance element geometry window 210, a dielectric properties window 220, a conductive material window 230, and a model output window 250; Paragraph [0076] Line 1-4; The resonance element geometry window 210 may be used to view geometries of the resonance element in two-dimensional and three-dimensional views. FIG. 3 illustrates a two-dimensional top view of a square loop resonance element. The dielectric properties window 220 may be used to show the permittivity characteristics of the dielectric property across a selected frequency range for the currently defined FSS structure 100; Paragraph [0077] Line 1-8; Claim 6: The method of claim 5, further comprising selecting the parameter of interest from the group consisting of angle of incidence for the incident electromagnetic energy, conductive material thickness, conductive material trace width, substrate thickness, resonance element size, resonance element periodicity, and spacing between resonance elements).
Regarding claim 9, Kotter teaches a system (methods for analyzing and designing structures that are responsive to incident electromagnetic energy, and more specifically for analyzing and designing arrays of electromagnetic scattering elements; Paragraph [0003] Line 2-5) comprising:
a test assembly [100] (Frequency selective surfaces (FSS) 100 as the test assembly) (FIGS. 1A-1C are top views of various resonance elements 110 and two-dimensional arrays of resonance elements 110 to form FSS structures 100. FIG. 1A illustrates square loop resonance elements 110 formed on a substrate 105 to create an array of elements that form a FSS structure 100; Paragraph [0027] Line 1-6; Figure 1A: Modified Figure 1A of Kotter above shows a a test assembly 100 comprises conductive substrate or elements [110] and the dielectric test material [105]);
including a conductive periodic pattern or metasurface [110] (resonance elements 110 as the conductive elements) (The resonance elements 110 may be formed of a conductive material; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-2; An apparatus comprising a frequency selective surface including a pattern of conductive material formed on a substrate to form an array of resonance elements; Paragraph [0013] Line 1-4; There are many geometric configurations that may be suitable as resonance elements 110. As non-limiting examples, some of these geometries are square loops, circular loops, concentric loops, square spirals, circular spirals, slots, and crosses; Paragraph [0031] Line 1-5)) and
a dielectric test material [105] (The substrate 105 may be, any suitable dielectric material. As non-limiting examples, the substrate 105 may be a semiconductor-based material including silicon, silicon-on-insulator (SOI); Paragraph [0028] Line 1-4);
wherein the conductive substrate or elements [110] are placed in contact with or in proximity to the dielectric test material [105] (FIGS. 1A-1C are top views of various resonance elements 110 and two-dimensional arrays of resonance elements 110 to form FSS structures 100. FIG. 1A illustrates square loop resonance elements 110 formed on a substrate 105 to create an array of elements that form a FSS structure 100; Paragraph [0027] Line 1-6; Figure 1A: Modified Figure 1A of Kotter above shows a conductive substrate or elements [110] in proximity to the dielectric test material [105]); and
wherein the conductive substrate or elements [110] are configured to transmit or reflect electromagnetic energy incident upon it (Generally, the FSS structure may be formed by a conductive material formed in a specific pattern on a dielectric substrate to create the resonance elements. These FSS structures may be used for spectral modification of reflected or transmitted incident radiation; Paragraph [0026] Line 3-8; In general, the incident electromagnetic energy may be absorbed by, transmitted through, or reflected by the FSS structure 100; Paragraph [0071] Line 1-3) with a resonant response with center frequency and resonance shape that varies based on permittivity properties of the dielectric test material [105] (The resonant properties of these structures are largely dependent on the structure's layout in terms of shape, dimensions, periodicity, the structure's material properties, and optical parameters of surrounding media. It has been demonstrated that by varying the FSS geometry, material properties, or combinations thereof it is possible to tune the resonance of an FSS structure to meet specific design requirements; Paragraph [0026] Line 8-14; At least one aspect of the frequency selective surface is determined by defining a frequency range including multiple frequency values, determining a frequency dependent permittivity across the frequency range for the substrate (dielectric material), determining a frequency dependent conductivity across the frequency range for the conductive material, and analyzing the frequency selective surface using a method of moments analysis at each of the multiple frequency values for an incident electromagnetic energy impinging on the frequency selective surface; Paragraph [0013] Line 4-15; multiple frequency value includes center frequency; FIG. 3 illustrates a Graphical User Interface (GUI) 200 showing some parameters and results used in analyzing FSS structures 100. The GUI 200 may include dialog windows and forms to control the geometry and modeling parameters of the FSS design; Paragraph [0075] Line 1-5; See Paragraph [0011]-[0012]);
an antenna (A FSS structure is made up of a periodic arrangement of resonant structures (also referred to as antennas, micro-antennas, and nano-antennas); Paragraph [0026] Line 1-3) configured to capture an electromagnetic energy profile of the test assembly in response to electromagnetic energy directed to the test assembly [100] (In general, the incident electromagnetic energy may be absorbed by, transmitted through, or reflected by the FSS structure 100; Paragraph [0071] Line 1-3),
wherein the directed electromagnetic energy causes interactions between (i) the periodic pattern or metasurface of the conductive substrate or elements [110], and (ii) the dielectric test material [105] (from Maxwell's equations for each patch, which may be expanded to find the unknown surface current density over the entire surface. The result is a coupled system of equations accounting for the electromagnetic interaction of every segment with every other segment on the surface. As a result, a PMM model can predict a complete antenna pattern at all points in space by taking into account the effect of the antenna geometry, antenna materials and the surrounding media; Paragraph [0062] Line 13-21; electromagnetic interaction with every other segment on the surface which comprises the conductive elements and dielectric test material); and
an analyzer (By way of non-limiting example, computing instructions for performing the processes may be performed on a processing system (not shown); Paragraph [0025] Line 1-3) configured to measure and determine an electromagnetic property (GUI 200 shows electromagnetic properties in Figure 3) of the test assembly [100] (In general, the incident electromagnetic energy may be absorbed by, transmitted through, or reflected by the FSS structure 100. The result of a conventional PMM model is in units of reflectivity for the excited FSS structure 100. The magnitude of reflectivity may be expressed in terms of decibels (db). In analysis and optimization, it may be more useful to understand the emissivity properties of the FSS structure 100; Paragraph [0071] Line 1-8; performing the PMM analysis across a range of frequencies for the incident electromagnetic energy by "sweeping" through a set of frequencies within a desired frequency range and performing the PMM analysis at each frequency within the set. In addition, frequency dependent values for conductivity of the conductive material and permittivity of the dielectric substrate 105 may be incorporated into the model based on the information obtained previously, through, as a non-limiting example, the ellipsometry analysis; Paragraph [0069] Line 2-11; PMM analysis is used to capture the electromagnetic energy profile) based on the captured electromagnetic energy profile (PMM analysis is used to capture the electromagnetic energy profile) (FIG. 3 illustrates a Graphical User Interface (GUI) 200 showing some parameters and results used in analyzing FSS structures 100. The GUI 200 may include dialog windows and forms to control the geometry and modeling parameters of the FSS design. Each parameter can be entered as single values for fixed sweeping or array values for parametric sweeping. Interactive menus may be used to guide the Design Engineer through setup of the "design and modeling" parameters; Paragraph [0075] Line 1-9),
wherein the electromagnetic property of the test assembly [100] is used as a characterization of the dielectric test material [105] (dielectric property window 220 as the characterization of the dielectric test material) (As a non-limiting example, one window of the GUI 200 illustrates a resonance element geometry window 210, a dielectric properties window 220, a conductive material window 230, and a model output window 250; Paragraph [0076] Line 1-4; The resonance element geometry window 210 may be used to view geometries of the resonance element in two-dimensional and three-dimensional views. FIG. 3 illustrates a two-dimensional top view of a square loop resonance element. The dielectric properties window 220 may be used to show the permittivity characteristics of the dielectric property across a selected frequency range for the currently defined FSS structure 100; Paragraph [0077] Line 1-8; Claim 6: The method of claim 5, further comprising selecting the parameter of interest from the group consisting of angle of incidence for the incident electromagnetic energy, conductive material thickness, conductive material trace width, substrate thickness, resonance element size, resonance element periodicity, and spacing between resonance elements).
Regarding claim 14, Kotter teaches a system,
further comprising an energy generator (antenna generates/directs electromagnetic energy) configured to generate and/or direct the electromagnetic energy (In general, the method of moments is a mathematical technique for solving inhomogeneous linear equations and is especially suited for analysis of periodic arrays of nano-antennas. To accomplish this, the field scattered by the antenna may be represented as an integral of the unknown surface currents on the reflecting surface. The surface may then be divided into small patches, which are sometimes referred to as modes. Then, by modal analysis, current across the surface may be represented as a sum of current components along two orthogonal directions. Plane wave expansion may be used to solve the electromagnetic boundary conditions derived from Maxwell's equations for each patch, which may be expanded to find the unknown surface current density over the entire surface. The result is a coupled system of equations accounting for the electromagnetic interaction of every segment with every other segment on the surface. As a result, a PMM model can predict a complete antenna pattern at all points in space by taking into account the effect of the antenna geometry, antenna materials and the surrounding media; Paragraph [0062] Line 1-20).
Regarding claim 15, Kotter teaches a system,
wherein the energy generator comprises a microwave source, power meters, network analyzer, antennas, focusing lenses or reflectors, a coaxial airline, a waveguide, or a combination thereof (In general, the method of moments is a mathematical technique for solving inhomogeneous linear equations and is especially suited for analysis of periodic arrays of nano-antennas. To accomplish this, the field scattered by the antenna may be represented as an integral of the unknown surface currents on the reflecting surface. The surface may then be divided into small patches, which are sometimes referred to as modes. Then, by modal analysis, current across the surface may be represented as a sum of current components along two orthogonal directions. Plane wave expansion may be used to solve the electromagnetic boundary conditions derived from Maxwell's equations for each patch, which may be expanded to find the unknown surface current density over the entire surface. The result is a coupled system of equations accounting for the electromagnetic interaction of every segment with every other segment on the surface. As a result, a PMM model can predict a complete antenna pattern at all points in space by taking into account the effect of the antenna geometry, antenna materials and the surrounding media; Paragraph [0062] Line 1-20; the energy generator comprises antennas).
Regarding claim 16, Kotter teaches a system,
wherein the conductive substrate or elements [110] comprise the periodic pattern (Generally, the FSS structure may be formed by a conductive material formed in a specific pattern on a dielectric substrate to create the resonance elements. These FSS structures may be used for spectral modification of reflected or transmitted incident radiation. The resonant properties of these structures are largely dependent on the structure's layout in terms of shape, dimensions, periodicity, the structure's material properties, and optical parameters of surrounding media; Paragraph [0026] Line 3-11), and
wherein a periodicity between elements [3.5 microns] in the periodic pattern is between 50% and 80% of a wavelength [3-12 microns] at the resonant frequency of an interrogation signal corresponding to the directed electromagnetic energy (As non-limiting examples, the parameter selection window 270 illustrates parameters (and selected values) such as, type of trace material (Au), type of dielectric material (polyl), minimum wavelength to solve (3 microns), maximum wavelength to solve (12 microns), number of wavelength sample points (30), incident wave alpha angle (0 degrees), incident wave eta angle (0.01 degrees), dielectric thickness (1.25 microns), square loop (e.g., element or trace) width (0.3 microns), square loop spacing gap (0.3 microns), and square loop periodicity (3.5 microns). It is noted that the displayed values are merely examples and should not be considered limiting in any sense; Paragraph [0083] Line 1-12; Minimum wavelength to maximum wavelength is 3 microns to 12 microns which is 50-80% wavelength as claim does not recite 50% to 80% of what parameter).
Regarding claim 20, Kotter teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising a memory having instructions stored thereon to cause a processor (A computer-readable medium includes, but is not limited to, magnetic and optical storage devices such as disk drives, magnetic tape, CDs (compact disks), DVDs (digital versatile discs or digital video discs), and semiconductor devices such as RAM, DRAM, ROM, EPROM, and Flash memory; Paragraph [0024] Line 3-8; methods for analyzing and designing structures that are responsive to incident electromagnetic energy, and more specifically for analyzing and designing arrays of electromagnetic scattering elements; Paragraph [0003] Line 2-5) to:
analyze an electromagnetic energy profile acquired via a test assembly [100] (Frequency selective surfaces (FSS) 100 as the test assembly) (FIGS. 1A-1C are top views of various resonance elements 110 and two-dimensional arrays of resonance elements 110 to form FSS structures 100. FIG. 1A illustrates square loop resonance elements 110 formed on a substrate 105 to create an array of elements that form a FSS structure 100; Paragraph [0027] Line 1-6; Figure 1A: Modified Figure 1A of Kotter above shows a a test assembly 100 comprises conductive substrate or elements [110] and the dielectric test material [105]) (In general, the incident electromagnetic energy may be absorbed by, transmitted through, or reflected by the FSS structure 100; Paragraph [0071] Line 1-3) in response to electromagnetic energy directed thereto (In general, the incident electromagnetic energy may be absorbed by, transmitted through, or reflected by the FSS structure 100; Paragraph [0071] Line 1-3), wherein the test assembly [100] includes
(i) a conductive layer with a periodic pattern or metasurface [110] (resonance elements 110 as the conductive elements) (The resonance elements 110 may be formed of a conductive material; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-2) with a periodic pattern or metasurface (An apparatus comprising a frequency selective surface including a pattern of conductive material formed on a substrate to form an array of resonance elements; Paragraph [0013] Line 1-4; There are many geometric configurations that may be suitable as resonance elements 110. As non-limiting examples, some of these geometries are square loops, circular loops, concentric loops, square spirals, circular spirals, slots, and crosses; Paragraph [0031] Line 1-5) and
(ii) a dielectric test material [105] (The substrate 105 may be, any suitable dielectric material. As non-limiting examples, the substrate 105 may be a semiconductor-based material including silicon, silicon-on-insulator (SOI); Paragraph [0028] Line 1-4);
wherein the conductive layer [110] is in contact with or positioned in proximity to the dielectric test material [105] (FIGS. 1A-1C are top views of various resonance elements 110 and two-dimensional arrays of resonance elements 110 to form FSS structures 100. FIG. 1A illustrates square loop resonance elements 110 formed on a substrate 105 to create an array of elements that form a FSS structure 100; Paragraph [0027] Line 1-6; Figure 1A: Modified Figure 1A of Kotter above shows a conductive substrate or elements [110] in proximity to the dielectric test material [105]);
wherein the conductive layer [110] is configured to transmit or reflect electromagnetic energy incident upon it (Generally, the FSS structure may be formed by a conductive material formed in a specific pattern on a dielectric substrate to create the resonance elements. These FSS structures may be used for spectral modification of reflected or transmitted incident radiation; Paragraph [0026] Line 3-8; In general, the incident electromagnetic energy may be absorbed by, transmitted through, or reflected by the FSS structure 100; Paragraph [0071] Line 1-3) with a resonant response with center frequency and resonance shape that varies based on permittivity properties of the dielectric test material [105] (The resonant properties of these structures are largely dependent on the structure's layout in terms of shape, dimensions, periodicity, the structure's material properties, and optical parameters of surrounding media. It has been demonstrated that by varying the FSS geometry, material properties, or combinations thereof it is possible to tune the resonance of an FSS structure to meet specific design requirements; Paragraph [0026] Line 8-14; At least one aspect of the frequency selective surface is determined by defining a frequency range including multiple frequency values, determining a frequency dependent permittivity across the frequency range for the substrate (dielectric material), determining a frequency dependent conductivity across the frequency range for the conductive material, and analyzing the frequency selective surface using a method of moments analysis at each of the multiple frequency values for an incident electromagnetic energy impinging on the frequency selective surface; Paragraph [0013] Line 4-15; multiple frequency value includes center frequency; FIG. 3 illustrates a Graphical User Interface (GUI) 200 showing some parameters and results used in analyzing FSS structures 100. The GUI 200 may include dialog windows and forms to control the geometry and modeling parameters of the FSS design; Paragraph [0075] Line 1-5; See Paragraph [0011]-[0012]);
, and
wherein the directed electromagnetic energy causes interactions between (i) the periodic pattern or metasurface of the conductive layer [110], and (ii) the dielectric test material [105] (from Maxwell's equations for each patch, which may be expanded to find the unknown surface current density over the entire surface. The result is a coupled system of equations accounting for the electromagnetic interaction of every segment with every other segment on the surface. As a result, a PMM model can predict a complete antenna pattern at all points in space by taking into account the effect of the antenna geometry, antenna materials and the surrounding media; Paragraph [0062] Line 13-21; electromagnetic interaction with every other segment on the surface which comprises the conductive elements and dielectric test material).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 7, 10-13 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotter ‘254 A1 in view of Hefti et al. (Hereinafter, “Hefti”) in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20020168659 A1.
Regarding claim 3, Kotter fails to teach a method, wherein the conductive substrate or elements include an active electronic circuity that is placed upon or embedded in a layer of the conductive substrate or elements, and wherein electronic vias are formed between the active electronic circuitry and the conductive substrate or elements.
Hefti teaches a system and method for detecting and identifying molecular events in a sample by monitoring the sample's change in characterizing a test sample in terms of the test sample's permittivity (Paragraph [0006] Line 1-4),
wherein the conductive substrate or elements [120] in Figure 1 (detector 120 comprises detector probe and sample) include an active electronic circuity [110] (signal analyzer 110 as the electronic circuitry) that is placed upon or embedded in a layer of the conductive substrate or elements [120] (FIG. 1 illustrates a permittivity test set 100 configured to determine the permittivity of the test sample in accordance with one embodiment of the present invention. The test system 100 includes a computer 105, a signal analyzer 110, and a detector assembly 120. Computer 105 controls the settings and operation of signal analyzer 110 via a command bus 107 (a general purpose instrument bus in one embodiment). Responsive to the computer's instructions, signal analyzer 110 transmits an incident signal 111 along a signal path 112 (typically a coaxial cable) to the detector assembly 120; Paragraph [0058] Line 1-11; upon means in or into contact with; Synonyms: next, next to; https://www.merriam-webster.com/thesaurus/upon; Figure 1 shows an active electronic circuity [110] (signal analyzer 110 as the electronic circuitry) is placed upon (in or into contact) a layer of the conductive substrate or elements [120]), and
wherein electronic vias are formed between the active electronic circuitry [110] and the conductive substrate or elements [120] (Figure 1 shows there is electronic vias between the active electronic circuitry [110] and the conductive substrate or elements [120] from where the signal path 112 is connected and signal 111 and 113 passes). The purpose of doing so is to enable the sample illuminated by a high frequency test signal, to provide the unique signal response for many samples, thereby enabling their detection and identification, to provide amplitude or amplitude and phase information of incident and reflected signals and to measure the permittivity of the test sample.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kotter in view of Hefti, because Hefti teaches to include an active electronic circuity placed upon or embedded in a layer of the conductive substrate or elements enables the sample illuminated by a high frequency test signal, provides the unique signal response for many samples, thereby enabling their detection and identification (Paragraph [0056]), provides amplitude or amplitude and phase information of incident and reflected signals (Paragraph [0063]) and measures the permittivity of the test sample (Paragraph [0064]).
Regarding claim 4, Kotter fails to teach a method, wherein the active electronic circuity is configured to adjust resonant properties of the conductive substrate or elements.
Hefti teaches a system and method for detecting and identifying molecular events in a sample by monitoring the sample's change in characterizing a test sample in terms of the test sample's permittivity (Paragraph [0006] Line 1-4),
wherein the active electronic circuity [110] (electronic circuitry comprises resonant detector 330 or 430 to adjust resonant property) is configured to adjust resonant properties of the conductive substrate or elements (FIG. 3A illustrates one embodiment of a resonant detector 430 used to determine the permittivity of a test sample in accordance with the present invention; Paragraph [0066] Line 1-3; The tuning element 333 can be rotated to expand or contract the gap (and according, decreasing or increasing the value of the capacitive effect) between the first and second sections 332 and 334, thereby changing the resonant frequency of the detector 330 to the desired frequency; Paragraph [0070] Line 9-14). The purpose of doing so is to determine the aformentioned parameters which is useful in detecting and identifying molecular events, they are sample-volume dependent and test system specific to strongly influence the measured s-parameters, the resonant frequency and quality factor of the resonant probe by any variation in the volume of sample which can easily vary between different test systems, to affect these parameters by variations in how the probe and sample are interfaced, to vary these parameters widely across test systems.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kotter in view of Hefti, because Hefti teaches to adjust resonant properties of the conductive substrate or elements by an active electronic circuity determines the aformentioned parameters which is useful in detecting and identifying molecular events, they are sample-volume dependent and test system specific to strongly influence the measured s-parameters, the resonant frequency and quality factor of the resonant probe by any variation in the volume of sample which can easily vary between different test systems, affects these parameters by variations in how the probe and sample are interfaced, varies these parameters widely across test systems (Paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 5, Kotter teaches a method of claim 4,
wherein the electromagnetic energy is directed by an antenna, a focused beam, a coaxial airline, a waveguide, or a combination thereof (A FSS structure is made up of a periodic arrangement of resonant structures (also referred to as antennas, micro-antennas, and nano-antennas); Paragraph [0026] Line 1-3).
Regarding claim 7, Kotter fails to teach a method, further comprising: evacuating air between the dielectric test material and the conductive substrate or elements.
Hefti teaches a system and method for detecting and identifying molecular events in a sample by monitoring the sample's change in characterizing a test sample in terms of the test sample's permittivity (Paragraph [0006] Line 1-4), further comprising:
evacuating air between the dielectric test material and the conductive substrate or elements (Alternatively or in addition, liquid and/or gaseous phase materials (including air) that exhibit a relatively high degree of test signal transparency can also comprise the intervening materials; Paragraph [0104] Line 1-3; for signal transparency air is evacuated between the dielectric test material and the conductive substrate or elements). The purpose of doing so is to determine the aforementioned parameters which is useful in detecting and identifying molecular events, they are sample-volume dependent and test system specific to strongly influence the measured s-parameters, the resonant frequency and quality factor of the resonant probe by any variation in the volume of sample which can easily vary between different test systems.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kotter in view of Hefti, because Hefti teaches evacuating air between the dielectric test material and the conductive substrate or elements determines the aforementioned parameters which is useful in detecting and identifying molecular events, they are sample-volume dependent and test system specific to strongly influence the measured s-parameters, the resonant frequency and quality factor of the resonant probe by any variation in the volume of sample which can easily vary between different test systems (Paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 10, Kotter fails to teach a system, wherein the analyzer is further configured to: determine dielectric constant and loss tangent of the dielectric test material.
Hefti teaches a system and method for detecting and identifying molecular events in a sample by monitoring the sample's change in characterizing a test sample in terms of the test sample's permittivity (Paragraph [0006] Line 1-4), wherein the analyzer is further configured to:
determine dielectric constant and loss tangent of the dielectric test material (As known in the art, the complex permittivity of a material at a given frequency (f) is given by:
; Paragraph [0051-0054]; As known to those skilled in the art of material properties, the dielectric constant represents a ratio of two parallel-plate capacitances of equal dimensions, one capacitance having the subject material interposed between its plates, and the second capacitance having a vacuum interposed between its plates. The dielectric loss of the sample represents energy dissipation of the material; Paragraph [0055] Line 1-7; The real and imaginary parts of the permittivity changes over frequency, i.e., the sample will exhibit a a first dielectric constant .di-elect cons..sub.1' and dielectric loss .di-elect cons..sub.1" at one frequency and a different dielectric constant .di-elect cons..sub.2' and/or dielectric loss .di-elect cons..sub.2" at a second frequency; Paragraph [0056] Line 1-6). The purpose of doing so is to provide a unique signal response when a test signal is electromagnetically coupled to the sample, to enable the sample by the unique signal response illuminated by a high frequency test signal, to provide the unique signal response for many samples, thereby enabling their detection and identification.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kotter in view of Hefti, because Hefti teaches to determine dielectric constant and loss tangent of the dielectric test material provides a unique signal response when a test signal is electromagnetically coupled to the sample, enables the sample by the unique signal response illuminated by a high frequency test signal, provides the unique signal response for many samples, thereby enabling their detection and identification (Paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claim 11, Kotter teaches a system,
wherein the conductive substrate or elements [110] are formed on a dielectric substrate [105] that is attached to the dielectric test material [105] to form the test assembly [100] (A FSS structure is made up of a periodic arrangement of resonant structures (also referred to as antennas, micro-antennas, and nano-antennas). Generally, the FSS structure may be formed by a conductive material formed in a specific pattern on a dielectric substrate to create the resonance elements; Paragraph [0026] Line 1-6; FIGS. 1A-1C are top views of various resonance elements 110 and two-dimensional arrays of resonance elements 110 to form FSS structures 100. FIG. 1A illustrates square loop resonance elements 110 formed on a substrate 105 to create an array of elements that form a FSS structure 100. FIG. 1B illustrates square spiral resonance elements 110' formed on a substrate 105'. FIG. IC illustrates the resonance element 110' of FIG. 1B formed in an array of resonance elements 110' on the substrate 105' to produce another FSS structure 100': Paragraph [0027] Line 1-10; Figure 1A: Modified Figure 1A of Kotter above shows the conductive substrate or elements [110] are formed on a carrier dielectric substrate [105] that is attached to the dielectric test material [105] (dielectric substrate as the dielectric test material) to form the test assembly [100]).
Regarding claim 12, Kotter fails to teach a system, wherein the test assembly includes an active electronic circuity that is placed upon or embedded in a layer of the conductive substrate or elements, and wherein electronic vias are formed between the active electronic circuitry and the conductive substrate or elements.
Hefti teaches a system and method for detecting and identifying molecular events in a sample by monitoring the sample's change in characterizing a test sample in terms of the test sample's permittivity (Paragraph [0006] Line 1-4),
wherein the test assembly includes [120] in Figure 1 (detector 120 comprises detector probe and sample) include an active electronic circuity [110] (signal analyzer 110 as the electronic circuitry) that is placed upon or embedded in a layer of the conductive substrate or elements [120] (FIG. 1 illustrates a permittivity test set 100 configured to determine the permittivity of the test sample in accordance with one embodiment of the present invention. The test system 100 includes a computer 105, a signal analyzer 110, and a detector assembly 120. Computer 105 controls the settings and operation of signal analyzer 110 via a command bus 107 (a general purpose instrument bus in one embodiment). Responsive to the computer's instructions, signal analyzer 110 transmits an incident signal 111 along a signal path 112 (typically a coaxial cable) to the detector assembly 120; Paragraph [0058] Line 1-11; upon means in or into contact with; Synonyms: next, next to; https://www.merriam-webster.com/thesaurus/upon; Figure 1 shows an active electronic circuity [110] (signal analyzer 110 as the electronic circuitry) is placed upon (in or into contact) a layer of the conductive substrate or elements [120]), and
wherein electronic vias are formed between the active electronic circuitry [110] and the conductive substrate or elements [120] (Figure 1 shows there is electronic vias between the active electronic circuitry [110] and the conductive substrate or elements [120] from where the signal path 112 is connected and signal 111 and 113 passes). The purpose of doing so is to enable the sample illuminated by a high frequency test signal, to provide the unique signal response for many samples, thereby enabling their detection and identification, to provide amplitude or amplitude and phase information of incident and reflected signals and to measure the permittivity of the test sample.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kotter in view of Hefti, because Hefti teaches to include an active electronic circuity placed upon or embedded in a layer of the conductive substrate or elements enables the sample illuminated by a high frequency test signal, provides the unique signal response for many samples, thereby enabling their detection and identification (Paragraph [0056]), provides amplitude or amplitude and phase information of incident and reflected signals (Paragraph [0063]) and measures the permittivity of the test sample (Paragraph [0064]).
Regarding claim 13, Kotter fails to teach a system, wherein the active electronic circuity is configured to adjust resonant properties of the conductive substrate or elements.
Hefti teaches a system and method for detecting and identifying molecular events in a sample by monitoring the sample's change in characterizing a test sample in terms of the test sample's permittivity (Paragraph [0006] Line 1-4),
wherein the active electronic circuity [110] (electronic circuitry comprises resonant detector 330 or 430 to adjust resonant property) is configured to adjust resonant properties of the conductive substrate or elements (FIG. 3A illustrates one embodiment of a resonant detector 430 used to determine the permittivity of a test sample in accordance with the present invention; Paragraph [0066] Line 1-3; The tuning element 333 can be rotated to expand or contract the gap (and according, decreasing or increasing the value of the capacitive effect) between the first and second sections 332 and 334, thereby changing the resonant frequency of the detector 330 to the desired frequency; Paragraph [0070] Line 9-14). The purpose of doing so is to determine the aformentioned parameters which is useful in detecting and identifying molecular events, they are sample-volume dependent and test system specific to strongly influence the measured s-parameters, the resonant frequency and quality factor of the resonant probe by any variation in the volume of sample which can easily vary between different test systems, to affect these parameters by variations in how the probe and sample are interfaced, to vary these parameters widely across test systems.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kotter in view of Hefti, because Hefti teaches to adjust resonant properties of the conductive substrate or elements by an active electronic circuity determines the aformentioned parameters which is useful in detecting and identifying molecular events, they are sample-volume dependent and test system specific to strongly influence the measured s-parameters, the resonant frequency and quality factor of the resonant probe by any variation in the volume of sample which can easily vary between different test systems, affects these parameters by variations in how the probe and sample are interfaced, varies these parameters widely across test systems (Paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 17, Kotter fails to teach a system, wherein the system is configured as a broadband-focused beam system.
Hefti teaches a system and method for detecting and identifying molecular events in a sample by monitoring the sample's change in characterizing a test sample in terms of the test sample's permittivity (Paragraph [0006] Line 1-4),
wherein the system is configured as a broadband-focused beam system (A non-resonant structure is used to determine the permittivity of a test sample. A non-resonant structure provides advantages in that it can be used to interrogate the test sample over a broad frequency spectrum, resulting in a broadband response obtained for the test sample. Because the molecular structures or binding events will typically exhibit dramatic and unique changes in the measured response at various frequencies over the broad frequency range, the test sample will have exhibited a unique response which can be used to identify molecular structures and binding events in subsequently tested samples; Paragraph [0086] Line 1-12). The purpose of doing so is to interrogate the test sample over a broad frequency spectrum, resulting in a broadband response obtained for the test sample, to exhibit a unique response of the test sample which can be used to identify molecular structures and binding events in subsequently tested samples.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kotter in view of Hefti, because Hefti teaches to configure the system as a broadband-focused beam system interrogates the test sample over a broad frequency spectrum, resulting in a broadband response obtained for the test sample, exhibits a unique response of the test sample which can be used to identify molecular structures and binding events in subsequently tested samples (Paragraph [0086]).
Regarding claim 18, Kotter fails to teach a system, wherein the test assembly is mounted on a fixture.
Hefti teaches a system and method for detecting and identifying molecular events in a sample by monitoring the sample's change in characterizing a test sample in terms of the test sample's permittivity (Paragraph [0006] Line 1-4),
wherein the test assembly [355] is mounted on a fixture [353] in Figure 3C.
[0087] FIG. 3C illustrates one embodiment of a non-resonant detector 350, realized as an open-ended coaxial probe (hereinafter referred to as "non-resonant probe"). The non-resonant probe 350 includes a section of open-ended coaxial line 351, an interaction fixture base 353, an interaction substrate 355, a fluid interface 357 having one or more fluid tubes 359 extending therefrom; Paragraph [0087] Line 1-7). The purpose of doing so is to securely attach and align the interaction substrate with the open-end portion.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kotter in view of Hefti, because Hefti teaches to mount the test assembly on a fixture securely attaches and align the interaction substrate with the open-end portion (Paragraph [0088]).
Regarding claim 19, Kotter fails to teach a system, wherein the test assembly is mounted on a vacuumed fixture comprising vacuum channels, fittings, and integrated seals.
Hefti teaches a system and method for detecting and identifying molecular events in a sample by monitoring the sample's change in characterizing a test sample in terms of the test sample's permittivity (Paragraph [0006] Line 1-4),
wherein the test assembly [355] is mounted on a vacuumed fixture [353] comprising vacuum channels, fittings, and integrated seals (FIG. 3C illustrates one embodiment of a non-resonant detector 350, realized as an open-ended coaxial probe (hereinafter referred to as "non-resonant probe"). The non-resonant probe 350 includes a section of open-ended coaxial line 351, an interaction fixture base 353, an interaction substrate 355, a fluid interface 357 having one or more fluid tubes 359 extending therefrom; Paragraph [0087] Line 1-7; Figure 3C shows that the test assembly 355 is mounted on a vacuumed fixture comprising vacuum channels, fittings, and integrated seals). The purpose of doing so is to securely attach and align the interaction substrate with the open-end portion.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kotter in view of Hefti, because Hefti teaches to mount on a vacuumed fixture comprising vacuum channels, fittings, and integrated seals securely attaches and align the interaction substrate with the open-end portion (Paragraph [0088]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Smith (US 20100225562 A1) discloses, “BROADBAND METAMATERIAL APPARATUS, METHODS, SYSTEMS, AND COMPUTER READABLE MEDIA- [0011] A method for broad band metamaterial including a non-resonant structure is also disclosed. The method includes receiving broadband electromagnetic energy from one or more directions, where the broadband electromagnetic energy is directed toward a physical topography. The broadband electromagnetic energy is transmitted, substantially independently of the one or more directions, in a manner whereby the transmitted broadband electromagnetic energy appears to be returned from an apparent topography different than the physical topography. [0050] The permittivity can be accurately controlled by changing the geometry of the closed ring. The electric response of the closed ring structure is identical to the "cutwire" structure previously studied (See, e.g., Smith et. al., "Design of Metamaterials with Negative Refractive Index," Proc. Of SPIE Vol. 5359 (2004), the disclosure of which is incorporated herein by referenced in its entirety) where it has been shown that the plasma and resonance frequencies are simply related to circuit parameters according to .omega. p 2 .apprxeq. 1 L and .omega. 0 2 .apprxeq. 1 LC . ( 6 ) ##EQU00005##For this illustrative case of the closed ring, L is the inductance primarily associated with the arms of the closed ring and C is the capacitance primarily associated with the gap between adjacent closed rings. For a fixed unit cell size, the inductance can be varied primarily either by changing the thickness w, of the conducting rings or their length, a. The capacitance can be controlled primarily by changing the overall size of the ring, which correspondingly varies the gap between adjacent closed rings. [0051] Changing the resonance properties in turn changes the low frequency permittivity value, illustrated by the simulation results presented in FIG. 2. Specifically, FIG. 2(a) shows the extracted permittivity with a=1.4 mm, FIG. 2(b) shows the extracted index and impedance for several values of a. (The low frequency region is shown); and FIG. 2(c) shows the relationship between the dimension a and the extracted refractive index and wave impedance. The closed ring structure shown in FIG. 2(a) is modeled to be deposited on FR4 substrate, whose permittivity is 3.85+i0.02 and thickness is 0.2026 mm. The unit cell dimension is 2 mm, and the thickness of the deposited metal layer (modeled as copper) is 0.018 mm. For this structure, a resonance occurs near 25 GHz with the permittivity nearly constant over a large frequency region (roughly zero to 15 GHz). Simulations of three different unit cell with ring dimensions of a=0.7 mm, 1.4 mm and 1.625 mm were also simulated to illustrate the effect on the material parameters. In FIG. 2(b), it is observed that the index value becomes larger as the ring dimension is increased, the larger polarizability of the larger rings. The refractive index remains, for the most part, relatively flat as a function of frequency for frequencies well below the resonance. The index does exhibit a slight monotonic increase as a function of frequency, however, which is due to the higher frequency resonance. The impedance changes also exhibits some amount of frequency dispersion, due to the effects of spatial dispersion on the permittivity and permeability. The losses in this structure are found to be negligible, as a result of being far away from the resonance frequency. This result emerges despite the fact that the substrate in the model is not one optimized for RF circuits--in fact, the FR4 circuit board substrate modeled here is generally considered quite lossy. [0052] As can be seen from the simulation results in FIG. 2, metamaterial structures based on the closed ring element would be nearly non-dispersive and low-loss, provided the resonances of the elements are sufficiently above the desired range of operating frequencies. As an illustration, the closed ring element was incorporated into two gradient index devices: a beam focusing lens and a beam steering lens. The use of resonant metamaterials to implement positive and negative gradient index structures was described for example in D. R. Smith et al, U.S. patent application Ser. No. 11/658,358 (previously incorporated by reference) and subsequently applied in various contexts. The design approach is first to determine the desired continuous index profile to accomplish the desired function (e.g., focusing with a desired focal length, or steering with a directed angle of deflection) and then to stepwise approximate the index profile using a discrete number of metamaterial elements. The elements can be designed by performing numerical simulations for a large number of variations of the geometrical parameters of the unit cell (i.e., a, w, etc.); once enough simulations have been run so that a reasonable interpolation can be formed of the permittivity as a function of the geometrical parameters, the metamaterial gradient index structure can be laid out and fabricated-However Smith does not disclose wherein the directed electromagnetic energy causes interactions between (i) the periodic pattern or metasurface of the conductive substrate or elements, and (ii) the dielectric test material; capturing an electromagnetic energy profile of the test assembly; and determining an electromagnetic property of the test assembly based on the captured electromagnetic energy profile, wherein the electromagnetic property of the test assembly is used as a characterization of the dielectric test material.”
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858