DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Claims 1-7, 9-10 and 13-16 and 18 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 03/27/2026, with respect to Claims 1-18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) of 12/29/2025 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed 03/27/2026, with respect to Claims 4 and 13 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) of 12/29/2025 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments on page 10, regarding claim 1 “Liu has not been shown to teach or suggest that a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) comprises indication information, and much less that the indication information in the SUCI indicates an access manner of non-seamless wireless local area network offloading (NSWO)”
Examiner respectfully disagree because in addition to the existing citation “Liu” disclose, in paragraph [0115] cites “The SUCI subscriber identity structure includes a network type indicator (NTI). A home network identifier and the routing identifier (=indication information) may be different for different access network types. The scheme output field contains the concealed subscriber identifier generated using a protection scheme”, and in FIG. 18 provides a generic SUCI subscriber identity format.
Examiner interpreting that the routing identifier is “indication information” because in FIG. 3 of the claimed application, SUCI includes “Routing indicator” and in the specification, paragraph [0187] cited that “It may be understood that the RID used in the NSWO mode in this manner may be the indication information indicating that the terminal device is in the NSWO scenario/indicating to select the EAP-AKA' authentication method in this embodiment of this application”.
Therefore, the purpose of the routing identifier/indicator in the Subscription Concealed Identifier (SUCI) used as indication information to help identify or route a user seeking to access a network via a specific access manner, such as Non-Seamless Wireless Local Area Network Offloading (NSWO), which fulfills the goal of the claimed limitation, therefore cited portion read on claimed limitation.
Applicant’s argument on page 11, Regarding Claim 5 and 14:
Examiner states that, upon detail examination, examiner found that “Rajadurai” still disclose the amended claimed limitation in [0191] and [0193], When the UE 206 is using the NSWO, the UE 206 does not generate the key KAUSF.
Applicant’s argument on page 11, Regarding Claim 6 and 15:
Examiner states that, upon detail examination, examiner found that “Rajadurai” still disclose the amended claimed limitation in [0074], The authentication server 212 verifies that the authentication initiated with the UE 206 is successful… and in [0075], On verifying that the authentication initiated with the UE 206 is successful, the authentication server 212 generates a Master Session Key (MSK) specific to the non-3GPP network access authentication, which reads on amended claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RAJADURAI et al. (U. S. PGPub. No. 2024/0298174 A1) (hereinafter “Rajadurai”) in view of LIU et al. (U. S. PGPub. No. 2021/0306849 A1) (hereinafter “Liu”).
Regarding Claim 1, Rajadurai teaches:
establishing, by a communication apparatus, a connection with a wireless access point (Rajadurai: [0019], establishing a connection by the UE with the non-3GPP network AP. [0067], Once the UE 206 establishes the connection with the non-3GPP network AP 220), wherein the communication apparatus is a terminal device, a chip on the terminal device, or a chip system on the terminal device (Rajadurai: [0064] The UE 206 may be a user device capable of accessing the non-3GPP services provided from the non-3GPP network 204. Examples of the UE 206 may be, but are not limited to, a mobile phone, a smartphone, a tablet, a phablet, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a laptop, a computer, a wearable computing device, a vehicle infotainment device, an IoT device, a Wireless Fidelity (Wi-Fi) router, a USB dongle, or any other device capable of accessing the 3GPP services and the non-3GPP services. Alternatively, the UE 206 may also be capable of accessing the 3GPP services from the 3GPP network 202 in conjunction with accessing the non-3GPP services from the non-3GPP network 204.);
receiving, by the communication apparatus, an extensible authentication protocol (EAP) request or an authentication message from the wireless access point (Rajadurai: [0105] the WLAN AP 220 (=wireless access point) forwards the EAP request-identity message (=EAP request) to the UE 206 (=terminal device));
generating, by the communication apparatus, a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) in a network access identifier (NAI) format (Rajadurai: [0132], The UE 206 may construct the SUCI as specified in the clause 6.12.2 of the 3GPP TS 33.501, if a registration initiated by the UE 206 is an initial registration or the 5G-GUTI is included in the NAI) by using an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) (Rajadurai: [0176] At step 3, the UE 206 sends the EAP response/identity message to the WLAN AP 220. The UE 206 sends the identity complying with the NAI to the WLAN AP 220. The UE 206 always sends the SUCI in the NAI/NAI format (i.e., username@realm format…[0178] the SUCI of the type IMSI for a NULL protection scheme may be composed of: [0179] 0 or x, 678, 0, 0,0999999999@234),
and sending, by the communication apparatus, an EAP response or an identity message to the wireless access point (Rajadurai: [0068] In response to the sent identity request, the non-3GPP network AP 220 receives an identity response from the UE 206), wherein the EAP response or the identity message comprises the SUCI (Rajadurai: [0068], The identity response of the UE 206 indicates an identity/subscriber identity of the UE 206 in the NAI format. [0069], The identity response of the UE 206 indicates an identity/subscriber identity of the UE 206 in the NAI format).
Rajadurai does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the SUCI comprises indication information and the indication information indicates an access manner of non-seamless wireless local area network offloading (NSWO);
However, in an analogous art, Liu disclose:
wherein the SUCI comprises indication information and the indication information indicates an access manner of non-seamless wireless local area network offloading (NSWO) (Liu: [0075] After reception of the Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get Request, the UDM/ARPF chooses the authentication method, based on the subscription data. For example, an EAP-AKA′ mutual authentication type protocol as modified herein may be executed between the UE and AUSF. [0076] The UDM/ARPF generates an authentication vector and sends this authentication vector AV′ (RAND, AUTN, XRES, CK′, IK′) to the AUSF from which it received the Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get Request. The UDM/ARPF also transmits an indication that the authentication vector AV′ is to be used for EAP-AKA′ using a Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get Response message. [0115], ] FIG. 18 illustrates a schematic block diagram of an embodiment of a generic SUCI subscriber identity format. a generic SUCI subscriber identity format. The SUCI subscriber identity structure includes a network type indicator (NTI). A home network identifier and the routing identifier (=indication information) may be different for different access network types. The scheme output field contains the concealed subscriber identifier generated using a protection scheme. Examnier’s Note: Examiner interpreting that the routing identifier is “indication information” because in FIG. 3 of the claimed application, SUCI includes “Routing indicator” and in the specification, paragraph [0187] cited that “It may be understood that the RID used in the NSWO mode in this manner may be the indication information indicating that the terminal device is in the NSWO scenario/indicating to select the EAP-AKA' authentication method in this embodiment of this application”).
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Rajadurai’s method of generating SUCI in NAI format using IMSI by applying Liu’s method of UDM choose the authentication method i.e. EAP-AKA’ and transmitting the indication to use EAP-AKA’ authentication methos, in order to session establishment by user equipment over a plurality of heterogeneous access network (Liu: [0001]).
Regarding Claim 2, Rajadurai in view of Liu teaches:
The method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above),
wherein the establishing, by a communication apparatus, a connection with a wireless access point comprises (Rajadurai” [0019], establishing a connection by the UE with the non-3GPP network AP. [0067], Once the UE 206 establishes the connection with the non-3GPP network AP 220):
in a process of establishing the connection between the communication apparatus and the wireless access point (Rajadurai: [0066] For accessing the non-3GPP services from the non-3GPP network 204, the UE 206 establishes a connection with the non-3GPP network AP 220 of the non-3GPP network 206. The UE 206 establishes the connection with the non-3GPP network AP 220 using a non-3GPP related technology specific procedure),
receiving, by the communication apparatus, a message from the wireless access point (Rajadurai: [0067] Once the UE 206 establishes the connection with the non-3GPP network AP 220, the non-3GPP network AP 220 sends an identity request to the UE 206. In an embodiment, the identity request includes an Extensible Authentication Protocol (EAP) identity request message. Embodiments herein use the terms “identity request”, “EAP request”, “EAP request-identity message”, “EAP identity request message”, and so on, interchangeably through the document),
and determining, by the communication apparatus, that the communication apparatus accesses a network in the NSWO manner (Rajadurai: [0187] At step 6, the AUSF 212 (also be referred as an EAP authentication server) sends the EAP response identity request to the UDM 214 including the SUCI and the WLAN-Auth or the Auth-Ind indication. In an embodiment, the UE Authentication Get Request message is being a new message (new service provided by UDM 214) and the new message is the implicit indication depicting that the authentication procedure is triggered for the non-seamless WLAN offload purposes)
Regarding Claim 4, Rajadurai in view of Liu teaches:
The method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above),
wherein the indication information is in an example part of the NAI format (Rajadurai: [0178] the SUCI of the type IMSI for a NULL protection scheme may be composed of: [0180] 0 or x, 678, 0, 0, 0999999999@example.com, where example.com is the domain name)
Regarding Claim 5, Rajadurai in view of Liu teaches:
The method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above),
in response to the access manner of NSWO, skipping, by the communication apparatus, generating an intermediate key Kausf (Rajadurai: [0191], When the UE 206 is using the NSWO, the UE 206 does not generate the key KAUSF (=skipping generating an KAUSF). [0193], At step 17, when the AUSF 212 performs the NSWO specific authentication, the AUSF 212 does not generate the key KAUSF (=skipping generating an KAUSF)).
Regarding Claim 6, Rajadurai in view of Liu teaches:
The method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above),
verifying, by the communication apparatus, authenticity of a network side (Rajadurai: [0074], The authentication server 212 verifies that the authentication initiated with the UE 206 is successful, if the received response value from the UE 206 matches with the stored expected response value);
and generating, by the communication apparatus, a master session key (MSK) after the verification succeeds (Rajadurai: [0075] On verifying that the authentication initiated with the UE 206 is successful, the authentication server 212 generates a Master Session Key (MSK) specific to the non-3GPP network access authentication);
Regarding Claim 10, this claim contains identical limitations found within that of claim 1 above albeit directed to a different statutory category (apparatus medium). For this reason the same grounds of rejection are applied to claim 10.
Regarding Claim 11, this claim contains identical limitations found within that of claim 2 above albeit directed to a different statutory category (apparatus medium). For this reason the same grounds of rejection are applied to claim 11.
Regarding Claim 12, this claim contains identical limitations found within that of claim 3 above albeit directed to a different statutory category (apparatus medium). For this reason the same grounds of rejection are applied to claim 12.
Regarding Claim 13, this claim contains identical limitations found within that of claim 4 above albeit directed to a different statutory category (apparatus medium). For this reason the same grounds of rejection are applied to claim 13.
Regarding Claim 14, this claim contains identical limitations found within that of claim 5 above albeit directed to a different statutory category (apparatus medium). For this reason the same grounds of rejection are applied to claim 14.
Regarding Claim 15, this claim contains identical limitations found within that of claim 6 above albeit directed to a different statutory category (apparatus medium). For this reason the same grounds of rejection are applied to claim 15.
Claim(s) 7-9, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RAJADURAI et al. (U. S. PGPub. No. 2024/0298174 A1) (hereinafter “Rajadurai”) in view of LIU et al. (U. S. PGPub. No. 2021/0306849 A1) (hereinafter “Liu”); and further in view of NIU et al. (US. PGPub. No. 2017/0223698 A1) (hereinafter “Niu”)
Regarding Claim 7, Rajadurai teaches:
receiving, by a proxy of an authentication server function entity, a message from a wireless access point (Rajadurai: [0106] At step 10, the WLAN AP 220 forwards the EAP response-identity message to the AUSF/AAA-S 212 through the N3IWF 218);
wherein the message comprises a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) of a communication apparatus in a network access identifier (NAI) format, (Rajadurai: [0176] At step 3, the UE 206 sends the EAP response/identity message (=the message) to the WLAN AP 220. The UE 206 sends the identity complying with the NAI to the WLAN AP 220. The UE 206 always sends the SUCI in the NAI/NAI format (=SUCI in NAI format) (i.e., username@realm format, for example, typeX.rid678.schid1.hnkey27.ecckey<ECC ephemeral public key>.cip<encryption of user17>.mac<MAC tag value>@example.com. [0097], the UE 206 sends the SUCI in the EAP response), the SUCI of the communication apparatus comprises indication information,the indication information indicates an access manner of non-seamless wireless local area network offloading (NSWO) ((Liu: [0075] After reception of the Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get Request, the UDM/ARPF chooses the authentication method, based on the subscription data. For example, an EAP-AKA′ mutual authentication type protocol as modified herein may be executed between the UE and AUSF. [0076] The UDM/ARPF generates an authentication vector and sends this authentication vector AV′ (RAND, AUTN, XRES, CK′, IK′) to the AUSF from which it received the Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get Request. The UDM/ARPF also transmits an indication that the authentication vector AV′ is to be used for EAP-AKA′ using a Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get Response message. [0115], ] FIG. 18 illustrates a schematic block diagram of an embodiment of a generic SUCI subscriber identity format. a generic SUCI subscriber identity format. The SUCI subscriber identity structure includes a network type indicator (NTI). A home network identifier and the routing identifier (=indication information) may be different for different access network types. The scheme output field contains the concealed subscriber identifier generated using a protection scheme. Examnier’s Note: Examiner interpreting that the routing identifier is “indication information” because in FIG. 3 of the claimed application, SUCI includes “Routing indicator” and in the specification, paragraph [0187] cited that “It may be understood that the RID used in the NSWO mode in this manner may be the indication information indicating that the terminal device is in the NSWO scenario/indicating to select the EAP-AKA' authentication method in this embodiment of this application”).
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Rajadurai’s method of generating SUCI in NAI format using IMSI by applying Liu’s method of UDM choose the authentication method i.e. EAP-AKA’ and transmitting the indication to use EAP-AKA’ authentication methos, in order to session establishment by user equipment over a plurality of heterogeneous access network (Liu: [0001]).
and sending, by the proxy, a terminal device authentication request message to the authentication server function entity (Rajadurai: [0186] At step 5, the IWF 218 sends the UE Authentication Request message (for example, Nausf_UEAuthentication_Authenticate Request) with the SUCI, a serving network name and the WLAN-Auth or the Auth-Ind indication towards the AUSF/AAA-S 212. The UE Authentication Request message is routed towards the designated AUSF 212 based on the realm part of the NAI and/or the routing identifier), wherein the terminal device authentication request message comprises the SUCI of the communication apparatus and the service network name (Rajadurai: [0187] At step 6, the AUSF 212 (also be referred as an EAP authentication server) sends the EAP response identity request to the UDM 214 including the SUCI and the WLAN-Auth or the Auth-Ind indication. In an embodiment, the UE Authentication Get Request message is being a new message (new service provided by UDM 214) and the new message is the implicit indication depicting that the authentication procedure is triggered for the non-seamless WLAN offload purposes.
Rajadurai does not explicitly disclose:
generating, by the proxy, a service network name, wherein the service network name comprises an identifier of an access network and access method indication information,
the access network is a network where the wireless access point is located.
and the access method indication information indicates that a network access manner used by a terminal device is non-seamless wireless local area network offloading (NSWO);
However, in an analogous art, Niu teaches:
generating, by the proxy, a service network name, wherein the service network name comprises an identifier of an access network and access method indication information,
the access network is a network where the wireless access point is located (Niu: [0046], The eNB 30 determines which WiFi APs are within the network of the eNB and, based on the determination, generates the parameter, WiFi SSID list. In this example, the WiFi SSID list includes two entries, SSID1 (for WiFi AP 32) and SSID2 (for WiFi AP 90)),
and the access method indication information indicates that a network access manner used by the communication apparatus is the NSWO (NIu: [0029] Between the WiFi AP 32 and the Internet 20 is a dedicated channel, the non-seamless WLAN offload (NSWO) 38. The NSWO 30 is 3GPP technology parlance for WiFi offloading. Once a WiFi connection is available, the UE 40 is offloaded from the LTE network to the WLAN, in some embodiments);
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Rajadurai’s method of receiving a response identity message includes SUCI by applying Niu’s method of determining which Wi-Fi access point are within the network by generating the SSID’s. The motivation is to control the UL traffic for improved optimization of the overall system (Niu: [0010]).
Regarding Claim 8, Rajadurai in view of Liu and Niu teaches:
The method of claim 7 (see rejection of claim 7 above),
wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the proxy, a terminal device authentication response message from the authentication server function entity (Rajadurai: [0193], The AUSF 212 sends the Nausf_UEAuthentication_Authenticate Response message with an EAP-success message (i.e.., the success message) along with the MSK key to IWF 218.).
Regarding Claim 9, Rajadurai in view of Liu and Niu teaches:
The method of claim 7 (see rejection of claim 7 above),
forwarding, by the proxy, an authentication vector and the service network name to the communication apparatus by using an extensible authentication protocol (EAP) request message (Rajadurai: [0073],The UDM 214 generates the AV based on the obtained SUPI. In an embodiment, the AV includes an Extensible Authentication Protocol Method for 3rd Generation Authentication and Key Agreement (EAP-AKA′) based AV. The UDM 214 sends the AV to the authentication server 212 in an authentication get response message. [0190] At step 9, the IWF 218 sends the EAP request to the WLAN AP 220. At step 10, the WLAN AP 220 forwards the EAP request message to the UE 206);
and receiving, by the proxy, an EAP response message from the communication apparatus (Rajadurai: [0192] At step 12, the UE 206 sends the EAP response message to the WLAN AP 220. At step 13, the WLAN AP 220 forwards the EAP response message to the IWF 218(=proxy)). [0119], At step 7, the UE 206 sends the EAP response message to the WLAN AP 220, wherein the EAP response message includes an acknowledgement. At step 8, the WLAN AP 220 relays the EAP response message of the UE 206 to the AAA-S/AUSF/UDM).
Regarding Claim 16, this claim contains identical limitations found within that of claim 7 above albeit directed to a different statutory category (apparatus medium). For this reason the same grounds of rejection are applied to claim 16.
Regarding Claim 17, this claim contains identical limitations found within that of claim 8 above albeit directed to a different statutory category (apparatus medium). For this reason the same grounds of rejection are applied to claim 17.
Regarding Claim 18, this claim contains identical limitations found within that of claim 9 above albeit directed to a different statutory category (apparatus medium). For this reason the same grounds of rejection are applied to claim 18.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RAJADURAI et al. (U. S. PGPub. No. 2024/0298174 A1) (hereinafter “Rajadurai”) in view of Liu et al. (U. S. PGPub. No. 2021/0306849 A1) (hereinafter “Liu”); and further in view of Chauhan et al. (U. S. PGPub. No. 2021/0068048 A1) (hereinafter “Chauhan”)
Regarding claim 3, Rajadurai in view of Liu teaches:
The method of claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above),
wherein the determining, by the communication apparatus, that the communication apparatus accesses a network in the NSWO manner comprises (Rajadurai: [0187] At step 6, the AUSF 212 (also be referred as an EAP authentication server) sends the EAP response identity request to the UDM 214 including the SUCI and the WLAN-Auth or the Auth-Ind indication. In an embodiment, the UE Authentication Get Request message is being a new message (new service provided by UDM 214) and the new message is the implicit indication depicting that the authentication procedure is triggered for the non-seamless WLAN offload purposes)
Rajadurai does not explicitly disclose:
determining, by the terminal device based on a locally stored service set identifier (SSID) list, that the NSWO manner is used for an SSID in the list.
However, Chaudhari teach:
determining, by the communication apparatus based on a locally stored service set identifier (SSID) list, that the NSWO manner is used for an SSID in the list (Chauhan: [0007], a typical policy defined at the server has a list of the Service Set Identifier (SSID) which is simply the name of the Wi-Fi network and list of mobile operator network cell IDs as a possible source of Wi-Fi offload destination. The ANDSF client makes use of a background Wi-Fi scans from an Operating System (OS) of the user device and takes a decision to automatically offload on policy preferred SSID if in an acceptable range. Also, as an alternative, the ANDSF client can periodically check if the user is in the expected network Cell ID coverage, turns ON Wi-Fi on the device and attempts to connect to preferred SSID if in an acceptable range).
A person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, would have found it obvious to modify Rajadurai in view of Liu by applying the well-known technique as disclosed by Chauhan of defining a policies which include SSID connecting to preferred SSID and decides to automatically attempt to connect preferred SSID. The motivation is to create a solution to provide automatic offload in multi SIM devices (Chauhan: [Abstract]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of References Cited for a listing of analogous art.
Kiss (U. S. PGPub. No. 2015/0312808 A1): A user equipment (UE) may receive charging data and use the charging data in determinations of whether to offload data from a mobile communication network, such as a 3GPP cellular network, to another wireless access network, such as a wireless local area network (WLAN). For example, the UE may receive, from the mobile communication network, charging data regarding one or more WLANs in the vicinity of the UE. The UE may also receive rules regarding whether to offload communication traffic from the cellular communication network to a particular WLAN based on charging data relating to the particular WLAN. The UE may detect one of the WLANs and determine whether to offload communication traffic to the WLAN based at least in part on the received rules and the received charging data regarding the WLAN. The determination may be further based on user preferences saved on the UE regarding the charging data.
Torvinen et al. (2019/0098502 A1): A method performed by an authentication server in a home network of a UE for obtaining a subscription permanent identifier, SUPI. The method comprises: receiving a SUCI which comprises an encrypted part in which at least a part of the SUPI is encrypted, and a clear-text part which comprises a home network identifier and an encryption scheme identifier that identifies an encryption scheme used by the UE to encrypt the SUPI in the SUCI; determining a de-concealing server to use to decrypt the encrypted part of the SUCI; sending the SUCI to the de-concealing server; and receiving the SUPI in response. Methods performed by a UE and a de-concealing server are also disclosed. Furthermore, UEs, de-concealing servers, authentication servers, computer program and a memory circuitry are also disclosed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2437 /ALI S ABYANEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2437