Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 9-12, 14, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) based upon a public use or sale or other public availability of the invention.
The instant invention is anticipated by Mansky et al. (US6535824B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Mansky et al. teaches a device with extended duration measurement capabilities (See the Abstract, the computer readable medium, and the Claim(s) 1-61 in [Col. 2 line 45 - Col. 55 line 30] in Fig. 1-28), comprising: a sensing system (See in Fig. 1A-E) comprising an array of sensor units (See how the sensor array 10 includes a plurality of sensors 12 and a plurality of sensor contact pads 14 in corresponding to the sensors 12 in [Col. 12 line 47 - Col. 14 line 38] in Fig 1A-4 and in Claim(s) 1, 36) configured to generate a first signal in response to a first analyte over an extended duration, and a second signal in response to a second analyte, over the extended duration (See the signal routing means 129/126, the probe assembly 61, and how the flexible electronic platform can output and read many different signals required for measuring many different material properties with different sensors, simply by changing the connections within the matrix switch 50 in [Col. 16 line 30 - Col. 18 line 65], [Col. 32 ln. 40-48], [Col. 39, ln. 62 - Col. 40] in Fig. 5-12D), each sensor unit of the array of sensor units positioned to correspond with a corresponding well on a sample carrier comprising an array of wells (See how the liquids in the wells 84 can also be directly characterized while the sensors 12 are immersed in the wells 84 in [Col. 19 line 43 - Col. 20 line 22] in Fig. 8);
a stage configured to receive the sample carrier (See the three-axis translation stage in [Col. 17 lines 62 - Col. 18 line 34] in Fig. 5-6B);
a motion actuator assembly configured to position at least one of the stage and the sensing system relative to one another on one or more of an x-axis, a z-axis, and a y-axis (See how the three-axis translation stage is controlled by the computer 52 and a mechanical actuator in [Col. 17 line 62 - Col. 18 line 34], [Col. 7 ln. 36-48] in Fig. 5-6B);
a liquid handling system to dispense a substance into at least one well of the sample carrier (See the liquid dispensing robot in [Col. 27 lines 15-36], [Col. 6 ln. 6-12]);
a sample control element configured to control a characteristic of samples within at least one well of the sample carrier over the extended duration to be within a predefined amount of another sample within another well of the sample carrier (See the sample characteristics can be controlled via connectors and heating/cooling sensors 12 or sensor array 10 in [Col. 15 lines 23-41], [Col. 18 ln. 35-65]); and
a controller operatively connected to the sensing system and the sample control element (See how the three-axis translation stage is controlled by the computer 52 and a mechanical actuator in [Col. 17 line 62 - Col. 18 line 34], [Col. 15 ln. 66 - Col. 16 ln. 21], [Col. 18 ln. 35-65 in Fig. 5-6B), configured to: control, for the extended duration, one or more of a temperature (See in [Col. 7 lines 15-16], [Col. 39 ln. 62 - Col. 40 ln. 14), a humidity (See in [Col. 4 lines 27-30), and a gas content of an environment surrounding the sample carrier (See in [Col. 38 line 51 to Col. 39 line 3]); and
acquire data corresponding to the first signal and second signal for at least two points spanning the extended duration (See how the output signals are configured to determine temperature, rate of temperature change, and heat capacity for the durations of 1 to 30 seconds or 30 minutes to 2 hours in [Col. 6 lines 54-57], [Col. 29 ln. 10-28] and in Claim(s) 1-36).
Regarding Claim 3, Mansky et al. teaches the device limitations of instant claim 1.
Mansky et al. further teaches a device with extended duration measurement capabilities (See the Abstract, the computer readable medium, and the Claim(s) 1-61 in [Col. 2 line 45 - Col. 55 line 30] in Fig. 1-28), wherein the extended duration measurement is made in a non-continuous manner between a single modality selected from the group consisting of flux measurement (See in [Col. 51 lines 22-65]), impedance measurement (See in [Col. 7 lines 18-19], [Col. 45 ln. 4-26]), and imaging (See in [Col. 1 line 59 - Col. 1 line 18], [Col. 15 lines 51-65]).
Regarding Claim 4, Mansky et al. teaches the device limitations of instant claim 1.
Mansky et al. further teaches a device with extended duration measurement capabilities (See the Abstract, the computer readable medium, and the Claim(s) 1-61 in [Col. 2 line 45 - Col. 55 line 30] in Fig. 1-28), wherein the extended duration measurement is made in a non-continuous manner (See in [Col. 27 lines 18-36]) between at least two modalities selected from the group consisting of flux measurement (See in [Col. 51 lines 22-65]), impedance measurement (See in [Col. 7 lines 18-19], [Col. 45 ln. 4-26]), and imaging (See in [Col. 1 line 59 - Col. 1 line 18], [Col. 15 lines 51-65]).
Regarding Claim(s) 5-6, Mansky et al. teaches the device limitations of instant claim 1.
Mansky et al. further teaches a device with extended duration measurement capabilities (See the Abstract, the computer readable medium, and the Claim(s) 1-61 in [Col. 2 line 45 - Col. 55 line 30] in Fig. 1-28), wherein the control element controls a sample environment to maintain environmental parameters at target levels of an associated well in the sample carrier (See in [Col. 4 lines 27-30], [Col. 15 ln. 59-65], [Col. 20 ln. 49-59);
wherein the target levels for the environmental parameters are programmatically changed over a time of the extended duration measurement (See how the output signals are configured to determine temperature, rate of temperature change, and heat capacity for the durations of 1 to 30 seconds or 30 minutes to 2 hours in [Col. 6 lines 54-57], [Col. 29 ln. 10-28] and in Claim(s) 1-36).
Regarding Claim 9, Mansky et al. teaches the device limitations of instant claim 5.
Mansky et al. further teaches a device with extended duration measurement capabilities (See the Abstract, the computer readable medium, and the Claim(s) 1-61 in [Col. 2 line 45 - Col. 55 line 30] in Fig. 1-28), wherein the target levels for the sample parameters are programmatically changed over a time of the extended duration measurement (See in [Col. 4 lines 27-30], [Col. 15 ln. 59-65], [Col. 20 ln. 49-59], [Col. 29 ln. 10-28], [Col. 38 ln. 25-50]).
Regarding Claim 10, Mansky et al. teaches the device limitations of instant claim 1.
Mansky et al. further teaches a device with extended duration measurement capabilities (See the Abstract, the computer readable medium, and the Claim(s) 1-61 in [Col. 2 line 45 - Col. 55 line 30] in Fig. 1-28), further comprising a venting system configured to change a headspace gas composition in a cellular microenvironment (See in [Col. 15 lines 51-65], [Col. 27 ln. 37-59]).
Regarding Claim(s) 11-12, Mansky et al. teaches the device limitations of instant claim 1.
Mansky et al. further teaches a device with extended duration measurement capabilities (See the Abstract, the computer readable medium, and the Claim(s) 1-61 in [Col. 2 line 45 - Col. 55 line 30] in Fig. 1-28), wherein the sample control element comprises one or both of: a sample temperature control element configured to control the temperature of the sample; or a sample environmental control element comprising one or both of: a gaseous control element configured to control the gas content of one or more of 02, CO2, and N2 content of the sample, or a humidity control element configured to control the humidity of the environment (See in [Col. 4 lines 27-33], [Col. 48 ln. 3-12]);
wherein the sample control element comprises a heater (See the heater 104 in [Col. 20 line 24 - Col. 21 line 67] in Fig. 9B-C).
Regarding Claim 14, Mansky et al. teaches the device limitations of instant claim 1.
Mansky et al. further teaches a device with extended duration measurement capabilities (See the Abstract, the computer readable medium, and the Claim(s) 1-61 in [Col. 2 line 45 - Col. 55 line 30] in Fig. 1-28), wherein the first signal is measured in parallel to the second signal (See how the output signals are configured to determine temperature, rate of temperature change, and heat capacity for the durations of 1 to 30 seconds or 30 minutes to 2 hours in [Col. 6 lines 54-57], [Col. 29 ln. 10-28] and in Claim(s) 1-36).
Regarding Claim 18, Mansky et al. teaches the device limitations of instant claim 1.
Mansky et al. further teaches a device with extended duration measurement capabilities (See the Abstract, the computer readable medium, and the Claim(s) 1-61 in [Col. 2 line 45 - Col. 55 line 30] in Fig. 1-28), further comprising: an electrode surface comprising a non-conductive carrier on a base of the sample carrier (See the sensor electrodes 130, 160 in [Col. 42 lines 22-36], [Col. 48 ln. 13-29] in Fig. 16C-E);
a plurality of electrode arrays positioned on the sample carrier, wherein each electrode array comprises at least two electrode structures positioned on a single plane and having substantially a same surface area (See in [Col. 42 lines 22-61]); and
a plurality of connection pads located on the sample carrier, wherein each connection pad is in electrical communication with at least one of the electrode structures in each well of the plurality of wells (See the contact pads 14, 32 in Col. 13 lines 10-23], [Col. 14 ln 18-38] in Fig. 2A-4).
Regarding Claim 20, Mansky et al. teaches the device limitations of instant claim 1.
Mansky et al. further teaches a device with extended duration measurement capabilities (See the Abstract, the computer readable medium, and the Claim(s) 1-61 in [Col. 2 line 45 - Col. 55 line 30] in Fig. 1-28), further comprising: an impedance measurement device configured to: measure impedance changes resulting from attachment of samples within each well of the sample carrier (See in [Col. 7 lines 17-19], [Col. 43 ln 4-26]); or stimulate samples with electrical signals within each well of the sample carrier (See in [Col. 15 ln. 51-65], [Col. 54 ln 35-56]), wherein the electrode surface is at a base of the sample carrier, and wherein the electrode surface comprises a non-conductive carrier (See in [Col. 42 ln. 22-36], [Col. 48 ln. 13-29]);
a plurality of electrode arrays positioned on the sample carrier, wherein each electrode array comprises at least two electrode structures positioned on a shared plane and having substantially a same surface area (See in [Col. 4 ln. 34-35], [Col. 42 ln. 22-36]);
a plurality of connection pads located on the sample carrier, wherein each connection pad is in electrical communication with at least one of the electrode structures (See in [Col. 17 ln. 62 -Col. 18 line. 14], [Col. 43 ln. 44 - Col. 44 ln. 17]);
wherein the impedance element detects a change in electrical impedance between or among the electrode structures or stimulates the sample with electrical signals (See in [Col. 7 ln. 17-19], [Col. 15 ln. 51-65], [Col. 43 ln. 4-26], [Col. 54 ln 35-56]); and
wherein the impedance element detects a change in electrical impedance between or among the electrode structures or stimulation outputs of the sample from electrical signals (See in [Col. 7 ln. 17-19], [Col. 15 ln. 51-65], [Col. 43 ln. 4-26], [Col. 54 ln 35-56]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 7-8, 13, 15-17, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mansky et al. (US6535824B1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ludlam et al. (US20210002602A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Mansky et al. teaches the device limitations of instant claim 1.
Mansky et al. further teaches a device with extended duration measurement capabilities (See the Abstract, the computer readable medium, and the Claim(s) 1-61 in [Col. 2 line 45 - Col. 55 line 30] in Fig. 1-28), wherein the extended duration measurement is made in a microchamber with a reduced volume of no greater than 5-10 microliters produced by the sensor unit of the array of sensor units moving down a predefined positioned into a corresponding well in the sample carrier (See in [Col. 26 lines 4-19]).
Mansky et al. fails to explicitly teach a device, wherein the extended duration measurement is made in a microchamber with a reduced volume of no greater than 3 microliters produced by the sensor unit of the array of sensor units moving down a predefined positioned into a corresponding well in the sample carrier.
However, in the analogous art of microfluidic-enabled multi-well cell culture devices and systems for precision culture control and monitoring of living cells, teaches a device with extended duration measurement capabilities (See the Abstract, the cell culture system 100, and the Claim(s) 1-68 in [0005]-[0471] in Fig. 1-15), wherein the extended duration measurement is made in a microchamber with a reduced volume of no greater than 3 microliters produced by the sensor unit of the array of sensor units moving down a predefined positioned into a corresponding well in the sample carrier (See the precision of the system and its capability to manipulate nanoliter volumes in a precise and repetitive way and its suitability for culturing live cells in [0471], [0056], [0631], [0750]).
Thus, it would be obvious to one with ordinary skills in the arts to modify the device of Mansky et al. by incorporating a microchamber with a reduced volume of no greater than 3 microliters (As taught by Ludlam et al.) for the benefit of producing precise signals and measurements of sample characteristics in the device, and to provide nanoliter control over fluid flow for highly parallel testing of multiple experimental conditions.
Regarding Claim 7, Mansky et al. teaches the device limitations of instant claim 1.
Mansky et al. fails to explicitly teach a device, wherein the control element controls the sample environment to achieve a target cellular microenvironment for a biological model in the sample via at least one of direct cellular/intracellular/pericellular/proximate measurements of sample parameters.
However, in the analogous art of microfluidic-enabled multi-well cell culture devices and systems for precision culture control and monitoring of living cells, teaches a device with extended duration measurement capabilities (See the Abstract, the cell culture system 100, and the Claim(s) 1-68 in [0005]-[0471] in Fig. 1-15), wherein the control element controls the sample environment to achieve a target cellular microenvironment (See in [0069]-[0072]) for a biological model in the sample via at least one of direct cellular/intracellular/pericellular/proximate measurements of sample parameters (See in [0070]-[0071], [0076], [0084]).
Thus, it would be obvious to one with ordinary skills in the arts to modify the device of Mansky et al. by incorporating a control element controls the sample environment to achieve a target cellular microenvironment for a biological model in the sample via at least one of direct cellular/intracellular/pericellular/proximate measurements of sample parameters (As taught by Ludlam et al.) for the benefit of producing precise signals and measurements of sample characteristics in the device, and to provide nanoliter control over fluid flow for highly parallel testing of multiple experimental conditions.
Regarding Claim 8, The combination of Mansky et al. and Ludlam et al. teaches the device limitations of instant claim 7.
Mansky et al. further teaches a device with extended duration measurement capabilities (See the Abstract, the computer readable medium, and the Claim(s) 1-61 in [Col. 2 line 45 - Col. 55 line 30] in Fig. 1-28), wherein the cellular microenvironment is controlled on a per-sample basis (See how sample can be processed one at a time in [Col. 27 lines 18-36]).
Regarding Claim 13, Mansky et al. teaches the device limitations of instant claim 1.
Mansky et al. further teaches a device with extended duration measurement capabilities (See the Abstract, the computer readable medium, and the Claim(s) 1-61 in [Col. 2 line 45 - Col. 55 line 30] in Fig. 1-28), wherein the first signal measures the first analyte in proportion to an 02 content in a given well (See in [Col. 4 lines 27-30]).
Mansky et al. fails to explicitly teach a device, wherein the first signal measures the first analyte in proportion to an 02 content in a given well and the second signal measure the second analyte in proportion to a pH value in the given well.
However, in the analogous art of microfluidic-enabled multi-well cell culture devices and systems for precision culture control and monitoring of living cells, teaches a device with extended duration measurement capabilities (See the Abstract, the cell culture system 100, and the Claim(s) 1-68 in [0005]-[0471] in Fig. 1-15), wherein the first signal measures the first analyte in proportion to an 02 content in a given well and the second signal measure the second analyte in proportion to a pH value in the given well (See in [0058], [0070], [0316]).
Thus, it would be obvious to one with ordinary skills in the arts to modify the device of Mansky et al. by incorporating a the second signal measure the second analyte in proportion to a pH value in the given well (As taught by Ludlam et al.) for the benefit of producing precise signals and measurements of sample characteristics in the device, and to provide nanoliter control over fluid flow for highly parallel testing of multiple experimental conditions.
Regarding Claim 15, Mansky et al. teaches the device limitations of instant claim 1.
Mansky et al. further teaches a device with extended duration measurement capabilities (See the Abstract, the computer readable medium, and the Claim(s) 1-61 in [Col. 2 line 45 - Col. 55 line 30] in Fig. 1-28), comprising an extended duration (See how the output signals are configured to determine temperature, rate of temperature change, and heat capacity for the durations of 1 to 30 seconds or 30 minutes to 2 hours in [Col. 6 lines 54-57], [Col. 29 ln. 10-28] and in Claim(s) 1-36).
Mansky et al. fails to explicitly teach a device, wherein the extended duration is between 6 hours and 72 hours,6 hours to 170 hours, 6 hours to 168 hours between 12 hours and 60 hours, between 24 hours and 48 hours, between 12 hours and 36 hours, between 24 hours and 48 hours, between 36 hours and 60 hours, between 6 hours and 60 hours, between 6 hours and 48 hours, between 6 hours and 36 hours, between 6 hours and 24 hours, between 6 hours and 12 hours, between 60 hours and 72 hours, between 48 hours and 72 hours, between 36 hours and 72 hours, between 24 hours and 72 hours, between 12 hours and 72 hours, between 12 hours and 24 hours, between 24 hours and 36 hours, between 36 hours and 48 hours, or between 48 hours and 60 hours.
However, in the analogous art of microfluidic-enabled multi-well cell culture devices and systems for precision culture control and monitoring of living cells, teaches a device with extended duration measurement capabilities (See the Abstract, the cell culture system 100, and the Claim(s) 1-68 in [0005]-[0471] in Fig. 1-15), wherein the extended duration is between 6 hours and 72 hours,6 hours to 170 hours, 6 hours to 168 hours between 12 hours and 60 hours, between 24 hours and 48 hours, between 12 hours and 36 hours, between 24 hours and 48 hours, between 36 hours and 60 hours, between 6 hours and 60 hours, between 6 hours and 48 hours (See in [0050]), between 6 hours and 36 hours (See in [0050]), between 6 hours and 24 hours, between 6 hours and 12 hours, between 60 hours and 72 hours, between 48 hours and 72 hours, between 36 hours and 72 hours, between 24 hours and 72 hours, between 12 hours and 72 hours, between 12 hours and 24 hours, between 24 hours and 36 hours, between 36 hours and 48 hours, or between 48 hours and 60 hours (See in [0050]).
Thus, it would be obvious to one with ordinary skills in the arts to modify the device of Mansky et al. by incorporating an extended duration measurement capability up to 170 hours (As taught by Ludlam et al.) for the benefit of producing precise signals and measurements of sample characteristics in the device, and to provide nanoliter control over fluid flow for highly parallel testing of multiple experimental conditions.
Regarding Claim(s) 16-17, Mansky et al. teaches the device limitations of instant claim 1.
Mansky et al. fails to explicitly teach a device, further comprising: an image capture element configured to image a sample or a feature of the sample within each well of a plurality of wells defined in the sample carrier through an opening or a window; wherein the image capture element is configured to capture and process at least one image from each well of the sample carrier; or wherein the sample carrier comprises: a plurality of wells configured to hold a predetermined amount of a sample, wherein each well of the plurality of wells comprises the opening or the window that allows for an image capture element to capture at least one image from each well of the sample carrier.
However, in the analogous art of microfluidic-enabled multi-well cell culture devices and systems for precision culture control and monitoring of living cells, teaches a device with extended duration measurement capabilities (See the Abstract, the cell culture system 100, and the Claim(s) 1-68 in [0005]-[0471] in Fig. 1-15), further comprising: an image capture element configured to image a sample or a feature of the sample within each well of a plurality of wells defined in the sample carrier through an opening or a window; wherein the image capture element is configured to capture and process at least one image from each well of the sample carrier (See how the system is configured to record images of cell adhesion and proliferation within the wells over the period of at least 72 hours in [0060], [0075], [0305]-[0308], [0468]-[0469] in Fig. 14-15; Also see how the input device 110 can be a camera or microscope in [0048]);
wherein the sample carrier comprises: a plurality of wells configured to hold a predetermined amount of a sample, wherein each well of the plurality of wells comprises the opening or the window that allows for an image capture element to capture at least one image from each well of the sample carrier (See the system 100 and the multiwell plate device 200 in [0049]-[0075] in Fig. 1-2C and in Claim 1).
Thus, it would be obvious to one with ordinary skills in the arts to modify the device of Mansky et al. by incorporating an image capture element (As taught by Ludlam et al.) for the benefit of producing precise signals and measurements of sample characteristics in the device based on well images, and to provide nanoliter control over fluid flow for highly parallel testing of multiple experimental conditions.
Regarding Claim 19, Mansky et al. teaches the device limitations of instant claim 1.
Mansky et al. fails to explicitly teach a device, wherein a plurality of wells configured to hold a predetermined amount of a sample are positioned above the plurality of electrode arrays, wherein each well of the plurality of wells comprises the opening or the window that allows for the image capture element to capture at least one image from each well of the sample carrier.
However, in the analogous art of microfluidic-enabled multi-well cell culture devices and systems for precision culture control and monitoring of living cells, teaches a device with extended duration measurement capabilities (See the Abstract, the cell culture system 100, and the Claim(s) 1-68 in [0005]-[0471] in Fig. 1-15), wherein a plurality of wells configured to hold a predetermined amount of a sample are positioned above the plurality of electrode arrays, wherein each well of the plurality of wells comprises the opening or the window that allows for the image capture element to capture at least one image from each well of the sample carrier (See how the system is configured to record images of cell adhesion and proliferation within the wells over the period of at least 72 hours in [0060], [0075], [0305]-[0308], [0468]-[0469] in Fig. 14-15; Also see how the input device 110 can be a camera or microscope in [0048]; Also, see the system 100 and the multiwell plate device 200 in [0049]-[0075] in Fig. 1-2C and in Claim 1).
Thus, it would be obvious to one with ordinary skills in the arts to modify the device of Mansky et al. by incorporating a plurality of wells configured to hold a predetermined amount of a sample are positioned above the plurality of electrode arrays, wherein each well of the plurality of wells comprises the opening or the window that allows for the image capture element to capture at least one image from each well of the sample carrier (As taught by Ludlam et al.) for the benefit of producing precise signals and measurements of sample characteristics in the device based on well images, and to provide nanoliter control over fluid flow for highly parallel testing of multiple experimental conditions.
Regarding Claim 21, Mansky et al. teaches the device limitations of instant claim 20.
Mansky et al. fails to explicitly teach a device, wherein a plurality of wells configured to hold a predetermined amount of a sample are positioned above the plurality of electrode arrays, wherein each well of the plurality of wells comprises the opening or the window that allows for the image capture element to capture at least one image from each well of the sample carrier.
However, in the analogous art of microfluidic-enabled multi-well cell culture devices and systems for precision culture control and monitoring of living cells, teaches a device with extended duration measurement capabilities (See the Abstract, the cell culture system 100, and the Claim(s) 1-68 in [0005]-[0471] in Fig. 1-15), wherein a plurality of wells configured to hold a predetermined amount of a sample are positioned above the plurality of electrode arrays, wherein each well of the plurality of wells comprises the opening or the window that allows for the image capture element to capture at least one image from each well of the sample carrier (See how the system is configured to record images of cell adhesion and proliferation within the wells over the period of at least 72 hours in [0060], [0075], [0305]-[0308], [0468]-[0469] in Fig. 14-15; Also see how the input device 110 can be a camera or microscope in [0048]; Also, see the system 100 and the multiwell plate device 200 in [0049]-[0075] in Fig. 1-2C and in Claim 1).
Thus, it would be obvious to one with ordinary skills in the arts to modify the device of Mansky et al. by incorporating a plurality of wells configured to hold a predetermined amount of a sample are positioned above the plurality of electrode arrays, wherein each well of the plurality of wells comprises the opening or the window that allows for the image capture element to capture at least one image from each well of the sample carrier (As taught by Ludlam et al.) for the benefit of producing precise signals and measurements of sample characteristics in the device based on well images, and to provide nanoliter control over fluid flow for highly parallel testing of multiple experimental conditions.
Conclusion
/BRITNEY N. WASHINGTON/Examiner, Art Unit 1797
/JENNIFER WECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797