DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/02/2024 and 10/14/2024 follow the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-9, 13, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lorenz et al. hereinafter Lorenz (US 20210080046 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Lorenz discloses a gravity compensation control device (carrier arm 400, See Fig. 1) comprising:
a first mounting unit (first stand part 465);
a rotatable link (main support arm 410), one end of which is connected to a compensation shaft (shaft 420) arranged in the first mounting unit (465) and another end of which is vertically movable by a weight applied thereto (see connection element 435 in Fig. 4A), wherein a portion between the ends is supported by a fixed shaft (force transmission point 455) arranged in the first mounting unit (465), such that the link is rotatable about the fixed shaft (see Fig. 4A); and
a weight compensation device (torque compensation assembly 402), wherein the weight compensation device comprises:
a bearing unit (bearing 445 and rod 480) comprising a bearing shaft (480) arranged in the first mounting unit (465), and a bearing (bearing 445) coupled to the bearing shaft (see Fig. 4A);
an auxiliary link (lever part 440), one end of which is connected to the compensation shaft (440, Fig. 4A) and the other end of which is connected to one side of the bearing unit (445 and 480); and
an elastic member (first torque compensation assembly 450) coupled to another side of the bearing unit (445 and 480) and arranged in a lengthwise direction of the auxiliary link (440, see Fig. 4A).
With respect to claim 2, Lorenz discloses the gravity compensation control device of claim 1, wherein the bearing unit is capable of at least one of rotating and moving (see Fig. 4A-4C movement of bearing 445).
With respect to claim 5, Lorenz discloses the gravity compensation control device of claim 1, further comprising a guide link at one end of the elastic member (Fig. 4A: free end of first torque compensation assembly 450).
With respect to claim 6, Lorenz discloses the gravity compensation control device of claim 1, wherein the weight compensation device comprises a plurality of weight compensation devices (the torque compensation assembly 402 includes a second torque compensation assembly 470, para. [0073]).
With respect to claim 7, Lorenz discloses the gravity compensation control device of claim 6, further comprising a connection unit connecting the plurality of weight compensation devices to each other (see Fig. 4A and para. [0073]- [0075]).
With respect to claim 8, Lorenz discloses the gravity compensation control device of claim 6, wherein the respective elastic members arranged in the plurality of weight compensation devices have different elastic forces (see Fig. 4A-4C).
With respect to claim 9, Lorenz discloses the gravity compensation control device of claim 1, wherein the compensation shaft is rotatable (The first torque compensation assembly 450 is mounted on the first stand part 465 in the bearing 460 pivotably within a swivel range, para. [0073]).
With respect to claim 13, Lorenz discloses a gravity compensation control device (carrier arm 400, See Fig. 1) comprising:
a first mounting unit (first stand part 465);
a second mounting unit that is vertically movable (second torque compensation assembly 470);
a main compensation device (torque compensation assembly 402) comprising a main elastic member (first torque compensation assembly 450 compensate loads on a vertical position, see para. [0081] and Fig. 5A); and
a weight compensation device (main support arm 410 compensate dynamic load torque and static load torque), wherein the weight compensation device comprises:
a bearing unit (bearing 445 and rod 480) comprising a bearing shaft (480) arranged in the first mounting unit (465), and a bearing (bearing 445) coupled to the bearing shaft (see Fig. 4A);
an auxiliary link (lever part 440), one end of which is connected to a rotatable compensation shaft (440, Fig. 4A) arranged in the first mounting unit and another end of which is connected to one side of the bearing unit (445 and 480); and
an elastic member (first torque compensation assembly 450) coupled to another side of the bearing unit (445 and 480) and arranged along a lengthwise direction of the auxiliary link (440, see Fig. 4A).
With respect to claim 16, Lorenz discloses the gravity compensation control device of claim 13, further comprising a guide link at one end of the elastic member (see Fig. 4A that shows free end of first torque compensation assembly 450).
With respect to claim 17, Lorenz discloses the gravity compensation control device of claim 13, wherein the weight compensation device comprises a plurality of weight compensation devices (the torque compensation assembly 402 includes a second torque compensation assembly 470, para. [0073]).
With respect to claim 18, Lorenz discloses the gravity compensation control device of claim 17, further comprising a connection unit connecting the plurality of weight compensation devices to each other (see Fig. 4A and para. [0073]- [0075]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 14-15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lorenz in view of Lee et al. hereinafter Lee (US 20180135797 A1).
With respect to claim 3, Lorenz discloses the gravity compensation control device of claim 1 above. Lorenz does not explicitly disclose the bearing unit is capable of at least one of rotating and moving along a guideline arranged in the first mounting unit.
Lee invention related to a medical apparatus, and a display supporting structure and arm structure used in the medical apparatus discloses the bearing unit is capable of at least one of rotating and moving along a guideline arranged in the first mounting unit (Referring to FIG. 3A, the distance variation guide 160, may be disposed in the first link 130. In this case, the inclined surface 161 may have a height that varies from a virtual line connecting the first connection point C1 and the third connection point C3 in a direction perpendicular to the length direction of the first link 130).
Accordingly, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lorenz to include a bearing unit capable of rotating and moving along a guideline as taught by Lee, in order to facilitate guided movement and positional adjustment of the supported structure, yielding predictable results.
With respect to claim 4, Lorenz discloses the gravity compensation control device of claim 1 above. Lorenz is silent a nut is coupled to one end of the elastic member. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to couple a nut to one end of the elastic member as an obvious matter of design choice, since the specific choice of connector or securing member is a known and predictable variation that would have been selected based on desired assembly, retention, and fastening consideration, while yielding no unexpected result and involving no change in the principle of operation of Lorenz’s device.
With respect to claim 14, Lorenz discloses the gravity compensation control device of claim 13 above. Lorenz does not explicitly disclose the bearing unit is capable of at least one of rotating and moving along a guideline arranged in the first mounting unit.
Lee invention related to a medical apparatus, and a display supporting structure and arm structure used in the medical apparatus discloses the bearing unit is capable of at least one of rotating and moving along a guideline arranged in the first mounting unit (Referring to FIG. 3A, the distance variation guide 160, may be disposed in the first link 130. In this case, the inclined surface 161 may have a height that varies from a virtual line connecting the first connection point C1 and the third connection point C3 in a direction perpendicular to the length direction of the first link 130).
Accordingly, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lorenz to include a bearing unit capable of rotating and moving along a guideline as taught by Lee, in order to facilitate guided movement and positional adjustment of the supported structure, yielding predictable results.
With respect to claim 15, Lorenz discloses the gravity compensation control device of claim 13 above. Lorenz is silent a nut is coupled to one end of the elastic member. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to couple a nut to one end of the elastic member as an obvious matter of design choice, since the specific choice of connector or securing member is a known and predictable variation that would have been selected based on desired assembly, retention, and fastening consideration, while yielding no unexpected result and involving no change in the principle of operation of Lorenz’s device.
With respect to claim 19, Lorenz discloses the gravity compensation control device of claim 17 above. Lorenz discloses the first and second weight compensation devices but is silent about the respective elastic members arranged in the plurality of weight compensation devices have different elastic forces. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the respective elastic members of the plurality of weight compensation devices to have different elastic forces in order to provide adjustable or staged weight compensation for different load conditions, yielding predictable result.
Claims 10-11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lorenz in view of Heller et al. hereinafter Heller (US 4339100 A).
With respect to claim 10, Lorenz discloses the gravity compensation control device of claim 1 above. Lorenz is silent about a first mounting unit having a first shaft and a second shaft arranged therein, and a second mounting unit that is vertically movable and has a third shaft and a fourth shaft arranged therein, wherein the rotatable link is at least one of a first link connected to the first shaft and the third shaft, a second link connected to the second shaft and the fourth shaft and arranged below the first link, a third link connected to the first shaft and the second shaft, and a fourth link connected to the third shaft and the fourth shaft.
Heller invention related to a stand for an optical observation device discloses
a first mounting unit (120) having a first shaft (130)and a second shaft (135) arranged therein, and a second mounting unit (110) that is vertically movable and has a third shaft (155) and a fourth shaft (1551) arranged therein, wherein the rotatable link (146) is at least one of a first link (145)connected to the first shaft (130) and the third shaft (155), a second link (147) connected to the second shaft (135)and the fourth shaft (1551) and arranged below the first link (See Fig. 2), a third link (150) connected to the first shaft (130) and the second shaft (135), and a fourth link connected to the third shaft (155) and the fourth shaft (1551).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the gravity compensation control device of Lorenz to include the mounting units and link arrangement as taught by Heller in order to provide a stable multi-link support structure that enables controlled vertical movement and improved positional adjustment, yielding predictable result.
With respect to claim 11, Lorenz and Heller disclose the gravity compensation control device of claim 10 above. Lorenz further discloses a gas elastic member connected to the third shaft and the second shaft (The elastically deformable energy storage device 350 can be a compression spring but is not limited thereto. Any other elastically deformable energy storage device such as a gas spring, etc. can also be used, para. [0060]).
With respect to claim 12, Lorenz discloses an ultrasonic diagnostic device comprising the gravity compensation control device of claim 1 above. Lorenz is silent about the ultrasonic diagnostic device further comprising: a main body connected to the first mounting unit; and a control panel connected to a connection frame to be movable up, down, left, right, or diagonally with respect to the main body, wherein the connection frame comprises the gravity compensation control device.
Lee further discloses the ultrasonic diagnostic device (A medical apparatus such as an ultrasound diagnosis apparatus may include a medical image acquiring unit transmitting an ultrasound to an object and receiving another ultrasound reflected from the object and a display apparatus displaying an image generated using the medical image acquiring unit, para. [0003]) further comprising: a main body (11) connected to the first mounting unit (12); and a control panel (2) connected to a connection frame to be movable up, down, left, right, or diagonally with respect to the main body (see Fig. 1), wherein the connection frame comprises the gravity compensation control device (see Fig. 3A and 3C).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Lee by replacing the microscope attached to the support structure with an ultrasonic diagnostic device and incorporating the gravity compensation control device of Lorenz at the attachment location in order to facilitate balanced support and smooth positional adjustment of the ultrasonic device, yielding predictable results.
With respect to claim 20, Lorenz discloses the gravity compensation control device of claim 13 above. Lorenz is silent about a first mounting unit having a first shaft and a second shaft arranged therein, and a second mounting unit having a third shaft and a fourth shaft arranged therein, wherein the main compensation device comprises: a first link connected to the first shaft and the third shaft; a second link connected to the second shaft and the fourth shaft and arranged below the first link; a gas spring connected to the third shaft and the second shaft; a third link connected to the first shaft and the second shaft; and a fourth link connected to the third shaft and the fourth shaft, and the first link extends from the third shaft toward the first shaft such that one end of the first link is connected to the compensation shaft.
Heller invention related to a stand for an optical observation device discloses
a first mounting unit (120) having a first shaft (130)and a second shaft (135) arranged therein, and a second mounting unit (110) that is vertically movable and has a third shaft (155) and a fourth shaft (1551) arranged therein, wherein the rotatable link (146) is at least one of a first link (145) connected to the first shaft (130) and the third shaft (155), a second link (147) connected to the second shaft (135)and the fourth shaft (1551) and arranged below the first link (See Fig. 2), a third link (150) connected to the first shaft (130) and the second shaft (135), and a fourth link connected to the third shaft (155) and the fourth shaft (1551), and the first link (145) extends from the third shaft (150) toward the first shaft (130) such that one end of the first link (145) is connected to the compensation shaft (see Figs. 1-2).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the gravity compensation control device of Lorenz to include the mounting units and link arrangement as taught by Heller in order to provide a stable multi-link support structure that enables controlled vertical movement and improved positional adjustment, yielding predictable result.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20180193107 A1 discloses a balance arm apparatus for supporting heavy tools, including a base and a joint unit with one side coupled to the base and configured to be operated in upward, downward, leftward, and rightward directions, and the other side coupled to a gimbal capable of changing directions of a tool or device. According to an embodiment of the present invention, it is possible to support a weight of a high load apparatus for movement with six-degrees-of-freedom by connecting a balance arm having three-or-more-degrees-of-freedom and capable of supporting the apparatus while changing a position of the apparatus, and a gimbal structure having three-or-more-degrees-of-freedom or more to an end of the balance arm capable of switching a direction of the apparatus.
/GEDEON M KIDANU/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/KRISTINA M DEHERRERA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855 3/17/26