DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/22/25, 2/26/25, 1/30/25, 2/2/24 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
METHOD, DEVICE, AND SYSTEM FOR INDICATICATING A BUFFER STATUS REPORT WITH AN INDEX TO A DATA SIZE TABLE.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 20 simply recited the same limitation from lines 5 and 6 of independent claim 19. Claim 20 must introduce narrowing limitations. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 39 is objected to because the preamble recites a device and the body of the claim recites action/steps. For clarity, it is suggested to add a colon “:” after the word comprising. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7, 12-14, 18-20, 22, 25, 30, 39-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al (Pub No: 2013/0100908).
As to claim 1, Xu teaches a method performed by a wireless terminal in a wireless network (Xu, [0155], Fig 1 & 2, a method by a terminal in a wireless network), comprising:
transmitting, to a wireless communication node in the wireless network, indication information indicating an index pointing to an entry value in a precise data size table (Xu, [0155]-[0160], sending the index to the extended buffer status report table to the base station), the entry value indicating a requested data size for transmitting UL traffic to the wireless communication node (Xu, [0003]-[0007], the index is into a table that represents the amount of data in the buffer for transmission to the base station (uplink)), wherein the precise data size table is associated with or supplemental to a base data size table (Xu, [0012][0014][0015], the extended buffer status report table is an extended (supplement) to the buffer status report table)).
As to claim 4, Xu teaches wherein the indication information comprises a buffer status report (BSR) (Xu, Fig 4, [0015], the index information is a buffer status report since it reports to the base station the index which is a status reporting of the data in the buffer).
As to claim 7, Xu teaches wherein the base data size table comprises M data size ranges, each of the M data size ranges associated with two adjacent indexes of the base data size table, and characterized by a lower bound X, an upper bound Y, and a range length defined by X and Y, X and Y being non-negative numbers (Xu, Fig 10 [0031] [0012], the buffer status report table has 64 size ranches associated with a high and lower bound, where the range of buffer status is defined by the upper an lower bounds).
As to claim 12, Xu teaches wherein the indication information is indicative of a data size range from the M data size ranges, and the requested data size is within the data size range (Xu, [0158], the sent index indication is for data within the buffer status report table (M data size ranges and within the range)).
As to claim 13, Xu teaches wherein the indication information is indicative of a subrange index L of a subrange in the data size range, and the requested data size is associated with the subrange index, L being a non-negative integer (Xu, [0158], the index can point to a data size range in the extended buffer status report table which is non-negative and a subrange of the 15000+ L).
As to claim 14, Xu teaches wherein the requested data size is determined by the lower bound of the data size range, the upper bound of the data size range, a sub-range index L associated with a sub-range in the data size range, and a number of sub-ranges N in the data size range, N being a positive integer (Xu, [0158]-[0160], the data size is indexed which determines the lower bound and upper bound, the 150000+ sub range being 0-64 in the extended table land L).
As to claim 18, Xu teaches wherein the indication information further indicates a remaining delay budget of the UL traffic (Xu, [0003]-[0007],a buffer of data amount to be transmitted is an indication of delay budget towards the base station (UL)).
As to claim 19, Xu teaches a method performed by a wireless communication node in a wireless network (Xu, [0155], Fig 1 & 2, a method by a base station in a wireless network),, comprising:
receiving, from a wireless terminal, indication information indicating an index pointing to an entry value in a precise data size table (Xu, [0155]-[0160], receiving the index to the extended buffer status report table from the UE), the entry value indicating a requested data size for transmitting UL traffic to the wireless communication node (Xu, [0003]-[0007], the index is into a table that represents the amount of data in the buffer for transmission to the base station (uplink)), the precise data size table being supplemental to and configured based on a base data size table (Xu, [0012][0014][0015], the extended buffer status report table is an extended (supplement) to the buffer status report table)).
As to claim 20, Xu teaches wherein the precise data size table being supplemental to and configured based on a base data size table (Xu, [0012][0014][0015], the extended buffer status report table is an extended (supplement) to the buffer status report table)).
As to claim 22, Xu teaches wherein the indication information comprises a buffer status report (BSR) (Xu, Fig 4, [0015], the index information is a buffer status report since it reports to the base station the index which is a status reporting of the data in the buffer).
As to claim 25, Xu teaches wherein the base data size table comprises M data size ranges, each of the M data size ranges associated with two adjacent indexes of the base data size table, and characterized by a lower bound X, an upper bound Y, and a range length defined by X and Y, X and Y being non-negative numbers (Xu, Fig 10 [0031] [0012], the buffer status report table has 64 size ranches associated with a high and lower bound, where the range of buffer status is defined by the upper an lower bounds).
As to claim 30, Xu teaches wherein the indication information is indicative of a data size range from the M data size ranges, and the requested data size is within the data size range (Xu, [0158], the sent index indication is for data within the buffer status report table (M data size ranges and within the range)).
As to claim 39, Xu teaches a wireless device comprising a memory for storing computer instructions and a processor in communication with the memory, wherein, when the processor executes the computer instructions, the processor is configured to cause the wireless device (Xu, [0155], Fig 1 & 2, a terminal in a wireless network) to:
transmit, to a wireless communication node, indication information indicating an index pointing to an entry value in a precise data size table (Xu, [0155]-[0160], sending the index to the extended buffer status report table to the base station), the entry value indicating a requested data size for transmitting UL traffic to the wireless communication node (Xu, [0003]-[0007], the index is into a table that represents the amount of data in the buffer for transmission to the base station (uplink)), the precise data size table being supplemental to and configured based on a base data size table (Xu, [0012][0014][0015], the extended buffer status report table is an extended (supplement) to the buffer status report table)).
As to claim 40, Xu teaches a computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer-readable program medium with computer code stored thereupon, the computer code, when executed by one or more processors (Xu, [0155], Fig 14, computer memory with processor) causing the one or more processors to implement a method of claim 1 (Xu, citations for claim 1).
As to claim 41, Xu teaches a device for wireless communication comprising a memory for storing computer instructions and a processor in communication with the memory, wherein, when the processor executes the computer instructions Xu, [0155], Fig 14, computer memory with processor), the processor is configured to implement a method of claim 19 (Xu, citations for claim 19).
As to claim 42, Xu teaches a computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer-readable program medium with computer code stored thereupon, the computer code, when executed by one or more processors Xu, [0155], Fig 14, computer memory with processor), causing the one or more processors to implement a method of claim 19 (Xu, citations for claim 19).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 11, 27, 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al (Pub No: 2011/0171967) [0026]-[0035]
LG (Pub No: EP 2 584 714 B1) [0041]-[0071]
/AFSHAWN M TOWFIGHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469