DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fardon et al. (US 2023/0341071 hereinafter “Fardon”).
In regards to claim 1, Fardon discloses a conduit receiving port comprising:
a base member (110) configured to receive at least one conduit;
a conduit gripping member (140) configured to grip the at least one conduit; and
a conduit release member (160, 170, 180) operable for selectively releasing the gripping member’s grip on the at least one conduit, wherein the conduit release member is rotatably affixed to the base member such that rotation of the conduit release member in a first direction causes the conduit release member to move longitudinally toward the conduit gripping member releasing the gripping members grip on the at least one conduit and rotation of the conduit release member in a second direction different than the first direction causes the conduit release member to move longitudinally away from the conduit gripping member (see abstract which describes rotation of element 170 causing elements 180 and 160 to move toward/away from the gripping member).
In regards to claims 2 and 12, Fardon further discloses the base member is configured to be attached to an opening of an electrical box (fig. 1 shows this capability).
In regards to claims 3 and 13, Fardon further discloses at least a portion (see at “110” in fig. 1) of the base member is dimensioned to rest against an outside surface surrounding the opening of the electrical box.
In regards to claims 4 and 14, Fardon further discloses at least a portion (at “111”) of the base member is dimensioned to be received in the electrical box.
In regards to claims 5 and 15, Fardon further discloses the base member comprises a plurality of rings (see two different inner diameters in fig. 2) each having a different inner diameter and each for receiving a conduit having a different outer diameter.
In regards to claims 6 and 16, Fardon further discloses a retaining clip (150) for securing the conduit gripping member in the base member.
In regards to claim 7, Fardon further discloses the conduit gripping member comprises at least one prong (141) dimensioned to grip the at least one conduit.
In regards to claims 8 and 18, Fardon further discloses the conduit release member is rotatable within the base member about a first axis (A).
In regards to claims 9 and 19, Fardon further discloses the conduit release member moves up and down along the first axis as the conduit release member is rotated within the base in clockwise and counterclockwise directions about the first axis (see abstract).
In regards to claims 10 and 20, Fardon further discloses the conduit release member selectively displaces the at least one prong to release the conduit when the conduit release member is rotated within the base in one of the clockwise and counterclockwise directions (see abstract).
In regards to claim 11, Fardon discloses a conduit receiving port removably attachable to an electrical box, the conduit receiving port comprising:
a base member (110) comprising a plurality of conduit receiving portions (see two different inner diameters in fig. 2), each of the plurality of conduit receiving portions having a different diameter each for receiving and holding a different diameter conduit;
a conduit gripping member (140) comprising at least one prong for securing at least one of the different diameter conduits received and held in the conduit receiving portions; and
a conduit release member (160, 170, 180) selectively operable to displace the at least one prong for selectively releasing the conduit held in the conduit receiving portions.
In regards to claim 21, Fardon discloses a conduit receiving port removably attachable to an electrical box, the conduit receiving port comprising:
a base member (110) comprising a plurality of conduit receiving portions (see two different inner diameters in fig. 2), each of the plurality of conduit receiving portions having a different diameter each for receiving and holding a different diameter conduit;
a conduit gripping member (140) comprising at least one prong (141) for securing at least one of the different diameter conduits received and held in the conduit receiving portions; and
a conduit release member (160, 170, 180) selectively operable to displace the at least one prong for selectively releasing the conduit held in the conduit receiving portions, wherein the conduit release member is rotatably affixed to the base member such that rotation of the conduit release member in a first direction causes the conduit release member to move longitudinally toward the conduit gripping member displacing the at least one prong and releasing the gripping member from the at least one of the different diameter conduit and rotation of the conduit release member in a second direction different than the first direction causes the conduit release member to move longitudinally away from the conduit gripping member (see abstract which describes rotation of element 170 causing elements 180 and 160 to move toward/away from the gripping member).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fardon as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Crompton et al. (USP 11,035,510 hereinafter “Crompton”).
In regards to claim 17, Fardon discloses the port of claim 11 and further discloses the at least one prong comprises a plurality of sets of prongs.
Fardon does not disclose each of the plurality of sets of prongs being sized differently.
However, Crompton teaches a similar port with a gripping member (25) having a plurality of sets of prongs (27A, 27B), each of the plurality of sets of prongs being sized differently (see fig. 6).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the gripping member of Fardon with sets of prongs being sized differently, in order to allow conduits of different diameters to be snugly retained in the port, as taught by Crompton at column 6, line 60 - column 7, line 27.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ZACHARY T DRAGICEVICH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679
12/01/2025