DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kannan et al. (US Pub. 2023/0336412) in view of Bartholic et al. (US Pub. 2022/0030402).
Regarding claim 1, Kannan discloses a monitoring system comprising:
at least two sensor modules (par.043) configured to communicate in a network, a sensor module of the at least two sensor modules including a sensor configured to generate an output signal based on at least one measured parameter (0043);
gateway communication circuitry in wired or wireless communication (par.040) with at least one of the at least two sensor modules and configured to receive measured parameter information from the at least two sensor modules and to provide the measured parameter information (par.043) to a remote apparatus (par.038 “The portal system 180…..such as data collected by any of a sensing device control system”, fig.1 element 180 and communication link 15”); and
a communication device configured to provide device configuration information to at least one of the at least two sensor modules (par.086-089 “a sensing device control
system 150………configuration parameters….a sensing device”).
However, Kannan doesnot disclose that the sensor module includes communication circuitry.
Barholic discloses the sensor module including communication circuitry (par.088).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Kannan with the above teaching of Barholic in order to provide a transceiver to sensor measurement data to network endpoints as suggested by Barholic (par.043).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Kannan discloses the network comprises a mesh network (Kannan, par.044 “the network 102 can be ……hybrid IoT hub mesh topology”, par.048 “Bluetooth mesh connection”).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Kannan discloses at least one of the at least two sensor modules includes a Bluetooth (Kannan, par.048 “Bluetooth mesh connection” transceiver (Barholic, par.088 “The transceiver 1306A”).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Kannan discloses at least one of the at least two sensor modules includes an output to provide instruction to an actuator (par.094 “The sensor data can……sent to based on……an alarm”).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Kannan discloses at least one of the at least two sensor modules includes a memory device to store measured parameter information (Barholic, par.088 “the memory 1308 can store one or more….sensor data 1308H”).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Kannan discloses at least one of the at least two sensor modules is configured to transmit data to the communication device (Kannan, par.037 “one or more sensing device 5…..send the collected data to the sensing device control system 150”).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Kannan the system is configured to be operated in one of intermittent mode (Kanna, par.094 “The sensor data….a random basis”), a continuous mode and a survey mode (consideration is optional).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Kann discloses at least one of the remote apparatus or the at least two sensor modules are configured to include memory for data aggregation (Barholic, par.088 “the memory 1308 can store one or more….sensor data 1308H”).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Kann discloses at least one of the remote apparatus or the at least two sensor modules are configured to include a display for data display and a user input for receiving manual control (Kanna, par.054, par.047 “The video notification can include data for display on a display device associated with the sensing device control system 150”, “a network device 150 with display functionality”, par.089 “” sensing device control system 150 can comprise……The configuration response can comprise one or more configuration parameters that the device interface service 902 can use to configure the device and one more sensors associated with the device…….a sensing device 5”).
Claims 4, 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kannan (US Pub. 2023/0336412) in view of Bartholic (US Pub. 2022/0030402) and further in view of Stilp (US Pub. 2008/0001734, IDS dated 10/03/24).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Kannan fails to disclose a cradle including a first
mechanical feature and the communication device includes a second mechanical feature, wherein the first mechanical feature and second mechanical feature are configured to engage and disengage in a tool-less manner. (par.0188 “The smoke/fire/CO detector 590……then snapped onto the mounting plate 592).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Kannan fails to disclose a cradle configured to be separated and operated separately from the at least two sensor modules.
Stilp discloses a cradle configured to be separated and operated separately from the at least two sensor modules (par.0188 “The mounting plate 592 is…….The smoke/fire/CO detector 590 is then …..and then snapped onto the mounting plate 592”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of the modified Kannan with the above teaching of Stilp in order to provide a mounting plate being affixed in an existing home.
Regarding claim 15, Kann fails to disclose the sensor module includes a second memory device.
Barholic discloses the sensor module includes a second memory device (par.088). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of the modified Kannan with the above teaching of Barholic in order to provide a transceiver to sensor measurement data to network endpoints as suggested by Barholic (par.043).
Claims 12-14, 16-17 and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kannan (US Pub. 2023/0336412) in view of Stilp (US Pub.
2008/0001734, IDS dated 10/03/24).
Regarding claim 12, Kannan discloses a monitoring system comprising:
a communication device, the communication device having a user interface (par.047 “the sensing device control system, a user interface….with reference to FIG. 2”), a processor, a first wireless telemetry module, and a first memory device; and a sensor module having a second wireless telemetry module, a sensor configured to generate an output signal based on at least one measured parameter (par.086-089 “a sensing device control system 150………configuration parameters….a sensing device”, par.097 “Each of the elements…..Any of the components may be implemented as a CPU or other processor), and
a sensor housing, wherein the first wireless telemetry module and the second wireless telemetry module are configured to exchange data (par.003 “bluetooth”, par.044 “sensing devices 5 can collect data and send the data”, par.061 “device telemetry….collection of data”, par.089 “sensing device 5 that require on-boarding”) with the communication device (par.086-089).
Kannan does not disclose a cradle includes a first mechanical feature and the sensor module includes a second mechanical feature, wherein the first mechanical feature and second mechanical feature are configured to engage and disengage in a tool-less manner.
Stilp discloses a cradle includes a first mechanical feature and the sensor module includes a second mechanical feature, wherein the first mechanical feature and second mechanical feature are configured to engage and disengage in a tool-less manner (par.0188 “The mounting plate 592 is…….The smoke/fire/CO detector 590 is
then …..and then snapped onto the mounting plate 592”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of the modified Kannan with the above teaching of Stilp in order to provide a mounting plate being affixed in an existing home.
Regarding claim 13, the modified Kannan discloses at least one of the first wireless telemetry module and the second wireless telemetry module includes a Bluetooth transceiver (par.003 “bluetooth”, par.044 “to receive, transmit”).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Kannan discloses the communication device is configured to provide an instruction to an actuator based on a user input (Khannan, par.093 “a trigger….an alarm….updates are sent from the sensing device control system 150”) .
Regarding claim 16, the modified Kannan discloses the sensor module is configured to transmit data to the communication device (Kannan par.094 “receives sensor data from……a sensor device 5”).
Regarding claim 17, the modified Kannan discloses at least one other sensor module in wireless communication with the communication device (Kanna, par.003 “bluetooth”, par.044 “sensing devices 5 can collect data and send the data”, par.061 “device telemetry….collection of data”, par.089 “a sensing device control system…..configuration parameters…..one or more sensors”).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Kannan discloses the wireless communication is according to a Bluetooth communication standard (par.003 “bluetooth”).
Regarding claim 19, the modified Kannan discloses a user device in communication with the at least one other sensor module and configured to
communicate to a remote system (Stilp par.094 “remote monitoring via a gateway).
Regarding claim 20, the modified Kannan discloses at least one of the remote system (par.038 “The portal system 180 can provide control, monitoring, aggregation…..of data….one or more sensing devices 5”), the communication device, or the sensor module includes memory for data aggregation (consideration is optional).
Regarding claim 21, the modified Kannan at least one of the remote system, the communication device, or the sensor module includes a display for data display and a user input for receiving manual control (Kanna, par.054, par.047 “The video notification can include data for display on a display device associated with the sensing device control system 150”, “a network device 150 with display functionality”, par.089 “” sensing device control system 150 can comprise……The configuration response can comprise one or more configuration parameters that the device interface service 902 can use to configure the device and one more sensors associated with the device…….a sensing device 5”). .
Regarding claim 22, the modified Kannan discloses the communication device is configured to exchange data with the cloud (Kannan, par.038 “the cloud-based”).
Claims 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Stilp (US Pub. 2008/0001734, IDS dated 10/03/24) in view of Kannan (US Pub. 2023/0336412).
Regarding claim 25, Stilp fails to disclose the wireless communication device is configured to communicate in a mesh network.
Kannan discloses the wireless communication device is configured to communicate in a mesh network (par.044 “the network 102 can be ……hybrid IoT hub mesh topology”, par.048 “Bluetooth mesh connection”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Stilp with the above teaching of Kannan in order to provide every sensing devices having capability communicate with each other.
Regarding claim 26, the modified Kannan disclose the mesh network is a Bluetooth mesh network (Kannan, par.048 “Bluetooth mesh connection”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 23-24 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stilp (US Pub. 2008/0001734, IDS dated 10/03/24).
Regarding claim 23, Stilp discloses a device comprising:
a housing having a cavity (par.020 “transponders to transmit data from covered openings and sensors”, par.0283 “sensor/transponder 100 combination can be……..packaging”, par.095 “transponder 100 may be physically integrated into ….physical package”) configured to receive a wireless communication device (par.064 “transponder 150…..from the RF transmissions of base units 200”, par.067 “bidirectional wireless communications between a transponder and base unit”); and
a sensor module engagement feature coupled to the housing (par.0229 “the on-board…..and/or power the various circuits contained within the passive transponder”), the sensor module engagement feature configured to enable mechanical coupling with a sensor module and configured to enable mechanical decoupling with the sensor module, wherein the mechanical coupling and the mechanical decoupling are tool-less (par.0188 “The smoke/fire/CO detector 590……then snapped onto the mounting plate 592).
Regarding claim 24, Stilp discloses further comprising a mounting mechanism to mount the device to a surface (par.0188 “snapped”).
Regarding claim 27, Stilp discloses the wireless communication device is configured to communicate with a gateway (par.092 “a gateway 300”, fig.23A element 300).
Regarding claim 28, Stilp discloses the housing includes a cradle for hand-held device operation (par.013 “the charging cradle for the cordless telephone handset”).
Conclusion
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Delany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/TU X NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642