DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: The limitation reading “wherein the adjustable blade mount is secured to a respective one of the at least one rotating shaft in a selected one of the at least two longitudinally spaced-apart positions and engaged in rotation with the at least one rotating shaft and a loosen configuration wherein the adjustable blade mount is displaceable along the least one rotating shaft” should read: “wherein the adjustable blade mount is secured to a respective one of the at least one rotating shaft in a selected one of the at least two longitudinally spaced-apart positions and engaged in rotation with the at least one rotating shaft and a loosened configuration wherein the adjustable blade mount is displaceable along the least one rotating shaft”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The limitation of Claim 1, reading: “wherein each one of the adjustable blade mounts further comprises a shaft locking assembly for detachably securing the first and second half collars at a selected one of the longitudinal positions along the rotating shaft, the shaft locking assembly comprising the elongated groove defined in the rotating shaft, a locking channel defined in the blade mount and a mechanical fastener engageable in the locking channel and the elongated groove defined in the rotating shaft for at least partially preventing the adjustable blade mount from rotating about the rotating shaft” is indefinite. The Claim appears to require that each of the blade mounts 58 comprise a shaft locking assembly and that said assembly includes the elongated groove defined in the rotating shaft. However, from the figures, the blade mounts are connected to a shaft locking channel in the shaft. In other words, the blade mounts themselves do not comprise the channel in the shaft. For purposes of advancing prosecution, this limitation will be interpreted as the apparatus comprising a blade mount assembly which includes adjustable blade mounts, an elongated groove in a rotating shaft, and a mechanical fastener, as best understood in light of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 11, 16, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPN 6012372, Laster in view of USPGPUB 20030205117, Flaherty, and USPN 3850069, Saunders, and in view of USPN 5647277, DeVito
Regarding Claim 1, Laster discloses a board cutting apparatus for cutting a plate-shaped article into slats (col. 1, 15-25), comprising:
a cutting device (10), the cutting device comprising:
a rotating shaft 12 comprising an elongated groove (recess in shaft which accepts part 14) extending longitudinally along the rotating shaft (fig 1);
adjustable blade mounts 46 mounted to the rotating shaft (fig 1), detachably securable to the rotating shaft in a plurality of longitudinal positions along the rotating shaft to modify a width of the slats being cut (col. 3, 35-45),
wherein each one of the adjustable blade mounts 46 further comprises a shaft locking assembly for detachably securing the blade mounts at a selected one of the longitudinal positions along the rotating shaft (col. 3, 34-45) the shaft locking assembly comprising the elongated groove (recess in shaft which accepts part 14) defined in the rotating shaft (12), a locking channel 60 defined in the blade mount 46 (fig 8) and a mechanical fastener (not shown) engageable in the locking channel (not shown) and the elongated groove defined in the rotating shaft for at least partially preventing the adjustable blade mount from rotating about the rotating shaft (col 3. 34-45);
at least one circular blade 16; and mechanical fasteners 14 engageable with the blade to secure the blades to respective ones of the blade mounts for the blades being engageable in rotation by the rotating shaft (col. 4, 20-45).
Regarding Claim 11, Laster discloses:
A board cutting apparatus for cutting a plate-shaped article into slats, (col. 1, 15-25) comprising:
a cutting device (10) including at least one rotating shaft 12, and at least one cutting blade assembly (14 and 46), mounted to the at least one rotating shaft (fig 1), engageable in rotation therewith (fig 1, col. 3, 34-45, col. 4, 20-45), and securable thereto in at least two longitudinally spaced-apart positions (fig 1, col. 3, 34-45, col. 4, 20-45), wherein each one of the at least one cutting blade assembly comprises: an adjustable blade mount 46 having a variable inner diameter (fig 8, due to the recesses 60) and being selectively configurable in a secured configuration wherein the adjustable blade mount is secured to a respective one of the at least one rotating shaft in a selected one of the at least two longitudinally spaced-apart positions and engaged in rotation with the at least one rotating shaft and a loosen configuration wherein the adjustable blade mount is displaceable along the least one rotating shaft (col. 4, 20-45); and a circular blade (16) mounted to the adjustable blade mount (fig 1) and being engaged in rotation with the at least one rotating shaft when the adjustable blade mount is configured in the secured configuration (col 3. 34-45).
Laster lacks:
Feature I: a housing having a plate-shaped article entrance, a slat exit, a conveying path extending between the plate-shaped article entrance and the slat exit; and the cutting device being at least partially located in the housing across the conveying path (Claim 1), the slat exit being opposite of the plate-shaped article entrance to expel the slats and the cutting device at least partially located in the housing and across the conveying path (Claim 11).
Feature II: each one of the adjustable blade mounts comprising at least a first half collar and a second half collar and a locking channel in the first half collar, and the shaft locking assembly for detachably securing the first and second half collars at a selected one of the longitudinal positions along the rotating shaft, and the blade comprising at least a first half-disc and a second half-disc, and mechanical fasteners engageable with the first and second half-discs and the first and second half collars to secure the first and second half-discs to respective ones of the first and second half collars for the first and second half-discs being engageable in rotation by the rotating shaft, (Claims 1 and 16) and wherein each one of the first and second half collars comprises an inner portion engageable with the rotating shaft and a support plate protruding outwardly from and extending perpendicularly to a longitudinal axis of the rotating shaft when mounted thereto, wherein the first and second half-discs are securable to the support plates with the mechanical fasteners, (Claim 5) wherein each one of the first and the second half collars comprises an inner portion engageable with the at least one rotating shaft and a support plate protruding outwardly from and extending perpendicularly to a longitudinal axis of the at least one rotating shaft when mounted thereto and the first half-discs and the second half-discs are securable to the support plate of the first and the second half collars respectively (Claim 21).
Feature III: a mechanical fastener engageable in the locking channel and the elongated groove defined in the rotating shaft for at least partially preventing the adjustable blade mount from rotating about the rotating shaft (Claim 1), wherein the adjustable blade mount further comprises a locking channel defined therein a mechanical fastener engageable in the locking channel and the elongated groove defined in the rotating shaft for detachably securing the adjustable blade mount at the selected one of the at least two longitudinal positions along the rotating shaft and for at least partially preventing the adjustable blade mount from rotating about the rotating shaft (Claim 11).
Regarding Feature I: Flaherty discloses an apparatus for cutting sheet products into slit sheet portions in the same field of endeavor as the apparatus for cutting sheet products into slit sheet portions of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes a housing (26) defining a plate-shaped article entrance (at portion 28 of the housing in fig 1) for receiving the plate-shaped article (fig 1), a slat exit opposite of the plate-shaped article entrance to expel the slats (at side of housing opposite to part 28 in fig. 1), and a conveying path (e.g. between cutters, fig 1) extending between the plate-shaped article entrance and the slat exit (see: fig. 1) in order to support the cutter assembly, (par 0033).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Laster by including a housing having a plate-shaped article entrance, a slat exit, a conveying path extending between the plate-shaped article entrance and the slat exit; and the cutting device being at least partially located in the housing across the conveying path, in order to support the cutter assembly, as taught in Flaherty.
Regarding Feature II: Saunders discloses an apparatus for cutting sheet products into slit sheet portions (col 1, 1-15) in the same field of endeavor as the an apparatus for cutting sheet products into slit sheet portions of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes blade mounts 13 comprising at least a first half collar 21 and a second half collar 22 and a locking channel 24 in the first half collar (fig 1), for detachably securing the first and second half collars at a selected one of the longitudinal positions along the rotating shaft (col 2, 35-55), and a blade 15 comprising at least a first half-disc 35 and a second half-disc 36, and mechanical fasteners (37 and 24) engageable with the first and second half-discs (fig 1) and the first and second half collars (fig 1) to secure the first and second half-discs to respective ones of the first and second half collars for the first and second half-discs being engageable in rotation by the rotating shaft (col 2, 35-55), )(Claims 1 and 16), wherein each one of the first and second half collars comprises an inner portion 43 engageable with the rotating shaft 11 and a support plate 36 protruding outwardly from and extending perpendicularly to a longitudinal axis of the rotating shaft (fig 3) when mounted thereto (fig 3), wherein the first and second half-discs are securable to the support plates with the mechanical fasteners (37) (Claim 5), wherein each one of the first and second half collars comprises an inner portion 43 engageable with the rotating shaft 11 and a support plate 36 protruding outwardly from and extending perpendicularly to a longitudinal axis of the rotating shaft (fig 3) when mounted thereto (fig 3), wherein the first and second half-discs are securable to the support plates with the mechanical fasteners (37) (Claim 21), in order to facilitate changing of the blades due to rapid wear of the blades (col. 1, line 25-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Laster by including each one of the adjustable blade mounts comprising at least a first half collar and a second half collar and a locking channel in the first half collar, and the shaft locking assembly for detachably securing the first and second half collars at a selected one of the longitudinal positions along the rotating shaft, and the blade comprising at least a first half-disc and a second half-disc, and mechanical fasteners engageable with the first and second half-discs and the first and second half collars to secure the first and second half-discs to respective ones of the first and second half collars for the first and second half-discs being engageable in rotation by the rotating shaft, (Claims 1 and 16) wherein each one of the first and second half collars comprises an inner portion engageable with the rotating shaft and a support plate protruding outwardly from and extending perpendicularly to a longitudinal axis of the rotating shaft when mounted thereto, wherein the first and second half-discs are securable to the support plates with the mechanical fasteners, (Claim 5) wherein each one of the first and the second half collars comprises an inner portion engageable with the at least one rotating shaft and a support plate protruding outwardly from and extending perpendicularly to a longitudinal axis of the at least one rotating shaft when mounted thereto and the first half-discs and the second half-discs are securable to the support plate of the first and the second half collars respectively (Claim 21), in order to facilitate changing of the blades due to rapid wear of the blades, as taught by Saunders.
Regarding Feature III: DeVito discloses a discloses an apparatus for cutting sheet products into slit sheet portions in the same field of endeavor as the apparatus for cutting sheet products into slit sheet portions tool of the present invention, and which, like the present invention includes a blade assembly comprising blade disc portions 401 being attached to a blade holder 402, and discloses that in such a assembly it is beneficial to include a mechanical fastener 411 engageable in an elongated locking channel 410 of the blade holder 402 and an elongated groove (threaded portions, which by their nature are at least partially elongated, e.g. in order to receive the partly elongated portions 420, see fig 3, and col 6, lines 15-20) defined in the rotating shaft for at least partially preventing the adjustable blade mount from rotating about the rotating shaft (col 6, lines 15-20), (Claim 1), for detachably securing the adjustable blade mount at the selected one of the at least two longitudinal positions along the rotating shaft and for at least partially preventing the adjustable blade mount from rotating about the rotating shaft (col 6, lines 15-20) (Claim 11), in order to allow for additional axial adjustment of the blades relative to the holders (col 6 lines 20-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Laster by including a mechanical fastener engageable in the locking channel and the elongated groove defined in the rotating shaft for at least partially preventing the adjustable blade mount from rotating about the rotating shaft, (Claim 1) for detachably securing the adjustable blade mount at the selected one of the at least two longitudinal positions along the rotating shaft and for at least partially preventing the adjustable blade mount from rotating about the rotating shaft (col 6, lines 15-20) (Claim 11), in order to allow for axial adjustment of the blades relative to the blade holders as taught by DeVito.
Claims 2-4, 7-8, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laster, in view of Flaherty, Saunders and Devito as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of USPN 1570318, Pollard.
Regarding Claims 2-4, 7-8, and 13-15, Laster lacks the device thereof comprising: a worktable extending upstream of the plate-shaped article entrance of the housing and configured to support the plate-shaped article as it is received in the housing via the plate-shaped article entrance (Claims 2 and 13), wherein the housing further comprises a lip adjacent to the plate-shaped article entrance and extending substantially parallel to the worktable and vertically spaced-apart therefrom, the lip being configured to stabilize the plate-shaped article during introduction of the plate-shaped article into the housing (Claims 3 and 14), and the cutting device comprises: an additional rotating shaft mounted in a spaced apart and parallel configuration with the rotating shaft with a section of the conveying path extending in between; a motor operatively connected to the rotating shaft and the additional rotating shaft; and a gear assembly mechanically connecting together the rotating shaft and the additional rotating shaft to rotate in opposing rotational directions whereby when the plate-shaped article reaches the cutting device, the plate-shaped article is automatically entrained between the rotating shaft and the additional rotating shaft to be cut into slats (Claims 4 and 15), further comprising a carrier on which the housing and the cutting device are mountable for carrying and displacing same (Claim 7) wherein the carrier comprises one or more framing structures surrounding at least partially the housing and the cutting device and protecting same (Claim 8).
Pollard discloses a shaft supported rotating disc cutter, in the same field of endeavor as the a shaft supported rotating disc cutter tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes the apparatus having: a worktable 12 extending upstream of the plate-shaped article entrance (fig. 1 and 3) of the housing (fig 1 and 3) and configured to support the plate-shaped article as the plate-shaped article is received in the housing via the plate-shaped article entrance (page 1 lines 30-60) (Claims 2 and 13), wherein the housing further having a lip adjacent to the plate-shaped article entrance and extending substantially parallel to the worktable and vertically spaced-apart therefrom (see annotated fig 1 below), the lip being configured to stabilize the plate-shaped article during introduction of the plate-shaped article into the housing (since the part 13 is used to fill this function and the lip in the annotated figure may be used to help fulfill this for certain workpieces, see page 1,; lines 30-50) (Claims 3 and 14) an additional rotating shaft (23) mounted in a spaced apart and parallel configuration with the rotating shaft (fig 1) with a section of the conveying path extending in between (see figure 1); a motor (29) operatively connected to the rotating shaft (pg 1, 60-80) and the additional rotating shaft (page 1 lines 45-65); and a gear assembly 24 mechanically connecting together the rotating shaft and the additional rotating shaft to rotate in opposing rotational directions (page. 1 lines 45-65) whereby when the plate-shaped article reaches the cutting device, the plate-shaped article is automatically entrained between the rotating shaft and the additional rotating shaft to be cut into slats (pg. 1, 55-90), (Claims 4 and 15), a carrier (20, 47, 45, 17, and 32) on which the housing and the cutting device are mountable for carrying and displacing same (page 2, 90-100) (Claim 7), the carrier comprises one or more framing structures (47 and 17) surrounding at least partially the housing and the cutting device and protecting same (fig 1-2) (Claim 8), in order to allow the work to be supported in a back and forth fashion during cutting, pg. 1, 40-55.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Laster by including a worktable extending upstream of the plate-shaped article entrance of the housing and configured to support the plate-shaped article as it is received in the housing via the plate-shaped article entrance (Claims 2 and 13), wherein the housing further comprises a lip adjacent to the plate-shaped article entrance and extending substantially parallel to the worktable and vertically spaced-apart therefrom, the lip being configured to stabilize the plate-shaped article during introduction of the plate-shaped article into the housing (Claims 3 and 14), and the cutting device comprises: an additional rotating shaft mounted in a spaced apart and parallel configuration with the rotating shaft with a section of the conveying path extending in between; a motor operatively connected to the rotating shaft and the additional rotating shaft; and a gear assembly mechanically connecting together the rotating shaft and the additional rotating shaft to rotate in opposing rotational directions whereby when the plate-shaped article reaches the cutting device, the plate-shaped article is automatically entrained between the rotating shaft and the additional rotating shaft to be cut into slats (Claims 4 and 15), further comprising a carrier on which the housing and the cutting device are mountable for carrying and displacing same (Claim 7) wherein the carrier comprises one or more framing structures surrounding at least partially the housing and the cutting device and protecting same (Claim 8) in order to allow the work to be supported in a back and forth fashion during cutting, as taught in Pollard.
Claims 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPN 4054394 Neuman in view of: DeVito,
Regarding Claim 17, Neuman discloses A method for cutting a plate-shaped article into slats having predetermined widths, the method comprising: untightening a mechanical fastener 18 of a shaft locking assembly (16, 18, and 22-25) of at least one cutting blade assembly 16 mounted to a rotating shaft 12 of a cutting device (abstract); displacing the at least one cutting blade assembly along the rotating shaft of the cutting device to a longitudinal position corresponding to the predetermined widths of the slats (col. 2, 50-65); securing the at least one cutting blade assembly at the longitudinal position by tightening the mechanical fastener 18 of the shaft locking assembly of the at least one cutting blade assembly to the rotating shaft (col. 2, 50-65); engaging the rotating shaft having the at least one cutting blade assembly secured thereto in rotation; and translating the plate-shaped article along a conveying path to engage the at least one cutting blade assembly and be cut into the predetermined width slats (col. 2, 50-65).
Neuman lacks: an elongated groove extending longitudinally and being defined in the rotating shaft being aligned with a locking channel defined in an adjustable blade mount of the at least one cutting blade assembly, wherein the mechanical faster is engaged with the elongated groove and the locking channel for at least partially preventing the adjustable blade mount from rotating about the rotating shaft.
DeVito discloses a discloses an apparatus for cutting sheet products into slit sheet portions in the same field of endeavor as the apparatus for cutting sheet products into slit sheet portions tool of the present invention, and which, like the present invention includes a blade assembly comprising blade disc portions 401 being attached to a blade holder 402, and discloses that in such a assembly it is beneficial to include: an elongated groove (threaded portions, which by their nature are at least partially elongated, e.g. in order to receive the partly elongated portions 420, see fig 3, and col 6, lines 15-20) defined in the rotating shaft, the groove being aligned with a locking channel 410 defined in an adjustable blade mount 402 of the cutting blade assembly (402 and 401), , wherein the mechanical faster is engaged with the elongated groove and the locking channel for at least partially preventing the adjustable blade mount from rotating about the rotating shaft (col 6, lines 15-20) in order to allow for additional axial adjustment of the blades relative to the holders (col 6 lines 20-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Neuman by including an elongated groove extending longitudinally and being defined in the rotating shaft being aligned with a locking channel defined in an adjustable blade mount of the at least one cutting blade assembly, wherein the mechanical faster is engaged with the elongated groove and the locking channel for at least partially preventing the adjustable blade mount from rotating about the rotating shaft, in order to allow for axial adjustment of the blades relative to the blade holders as taught by DeVito.
Regarding Claim 18, Neuman discloses: the at least one cutting blade assembly comprises at least two cutting blade assemblies (fig 1) configured to be distributed in an irregular configuration where a distance between adjacent ones the at least two cutting blade assemblies and/or between a longitudinal edge of the plate-shaped article and an adjacent one of the at least two cutting assemblies is variable (as is possible since a user can freely move the blades along the shaft, per col 2, 50-68).
Regarding Claim 20, in Neuman, the displacing the at least one cutting blade assembly comprises sliding the at least one cutting blade assembly along the rotating shaft (per col 2, 50-68).
Claims 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neuman in view of DeVito, as applied to claim 17 above, and in view of: Saunders.
Regarding Claim 19, Neuman lacks: at least one of adding and removing a respective one of the at least two cutting blade assemblies to the rotating shaft.
Saunders discloses a shaft supported rotating disc cutter, in the same field of endeavor as the a shaft supported rotating disc cutter tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes the apparatus having at least one circular blade 15 be removably engaged with a rotating shaft thereof (col 2, 35-55) in order to facilitate changing of the blades due to rapid wear of the blades (col. 1, line 25-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Neuman by changing the fastener mechanism therein from one that only allows sliding along the shaft, to one as in Saunders which allows for sliding along the shaft and also complete removal of the blades, and replacement thereof, in order to facilitate changing of the blades due to rapid wear of the blades, as taught by Saunders.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 6/1/26, with respect to the claim interpretations under 35 USC 112f have been fully considered and are persuasive. With regard to the claim interpretations under 35 USC 112(f), Applicant has amended the claims to include sufficient structure to render the interpretation of the claim under 36 USC 112(f) moot.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 6/1/26with respect to the prior art rejections of the claims (as the claims have now been amended) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the prior art rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Laster and Neuman.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPNs/USPGPUBs 4732083 6012372 4162643 4982639 2241395 4254680 5144874 5074180 5647277 2105033 1649635 4347959 4220064 and 5857396 disclose state of the art slitting assemblies, and thus, each of these references disclose elements relevant to the present invention/application.
/FERNANDO A AYALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3724
/BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724