DETAILED ACTION
The claims 1-6 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 4-6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitation "RRC" in line 5. Please amend the claim to provide the name corresponding to the abbreviation.
The same claim objections are applied to claims 4-6.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Byun et al (US Patent Publication No. 2022/0015063 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Byun teaches a communication method, comprising the steps of: receiving, by a base station (gNB-DU) from another base station (gNB-CU), a multicast broadcast service (MBS) paging message including a Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI) (paragraph 0216 disclose a gNB-CU may provide a gNB-DU with the service identity (for example, TMGI) so that the gNB-DU can perform the paging for UEs in RRC_IDLE that have joined the MB session (for example, any CM-IDLE UE with the specific TMGI of a MB session). Based on the received service identity, the gNB-DU may broadcast the received service identity or send the RRC message with the received service identity. Thus, the gNB-DU could transmit the paging information efficiently); and in response to receiving the MBS paging message, transmitting a paging message including the TMGI to a user equipment in an RRC inactive state (paragraph 0216; 0219-0222 disclose upon the receipt of the Paging message, the gNB-CU may send the Paging message containing the received TMGI to the gNB-DU to page UEs in RRC_IDLE that have joined the MB session).
With respect to claim 2, Byun teaches wherein the MBS paging message is used for MBS multicast transmission and is different from a Radio Access Network (RAN) paging message used for unicast transmission (paragraph 0216; 0219-0222 disclose upon the receipt of the Paging message, the gNB-CU may send the Paging message containing the received TMGI to the gNB-DU to page UEs in RRC_IDLE that have joined the MB session; paging is for multicast and broadcast service).
With respect to claim 3, Byun teaches receiving, by the base station from the another base station, information indicating a support status of a MBS function (page 0016 disclose a CU of a RAN node could efficiently support the paging for UEs joined the MB session, by providing the service identity to the DU of the RAN node).
With respect to claim 4, Byun teaches receiving, by the base station from the user equipment in the RRC inactive state, an RRC message for starting a procedure for transitioning to an RRC connected state (paragraph 0186 disclose If there are UEs in CM-Connected with RRC INACTIVE state with the TMGI in their UE Contexts, NG-RAN may perform the Network triggered transition from RRC INACTIVE to RRC_CONNECTED procedure for those UEs).
The limitations of claim 5 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim
is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of claim 6 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CHEIKH T NDIAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447
2/21/2026