DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedri (US Patent 5,526,856) in view of Aondetto (US Patent 4,312,491). Regarding claim 1, Pedri discloses a carriage (support bracket 62 including housing 70 and adjustable platform 64, 66, 68) comprising: a housing (70) able to be slidably mounted on a track (60; fig. 3), a platform (66, 68) comprising a flat upper surface on which can rest an object to be cut by a cutting device (depicted in phantom lines) separately mounted on the track (fig. 4), wherein the platform is movable relative to the housing through a range of vertical positions (via slot 74, bolt 72 and nut 76) to align with a vertical position of the cutting device (fig. 4), wherein the range of vertical positions is bounded by a maximum raised position (at lower end of slot 74) and a lowered position (at upper end of slot 74), wherein the upper flat surface is closer to the track in the lowered position than in the maximum position when the housing is slidably mounted on the track (fig. 3), and a stop (68) operatively coupled to the platform (66) and able to stop the object relative to the cutting device while the object rests on the upper flat surface (col. 3, lines 21-28). Pedri fails to disclose a first grippable element operatively coupled to the platform and configured to adjust a range of the plurality of vertical positions of the platform, wherein rotation of the first grippable element in a first direction is operative to raise the maximum raised position of the platform to increase the range of vertical positions, and wherein rotation of the first greppable element in a second direction is operative to lower the maximum raised position of the platform to decrease the range of vertical positions. However, Aondetto teaches it is known in the art of adjusting the movable range of support surfaces to provide a first grippable element (knob 63) operatively coupled (figs. 1 and 2) to a platform (top frame 2) configured to adjust a range of the plurality of positions of the platform (col. 3, lines 25-26, wherein Aondetto states, “projecting arm 55 constitutes a stop for determining the top level of the useful travel of the suspension”). It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify the carriage of Pedri with the teaching of Aondetto such disclose a first grippable element operatively coupled to the platform and configured to adjust a range of the plurality of vertical positions of the platform, wherein rotation of the first grippable element in a first direction is operative to raise the maximum raised position of the platform to increase the range of vertical positions, and wherein rotation of the first greppable element in a second direction is operative to lower the maximum raised position of the platform to decrease the range of vertical positions in order to help facilitate incremental mechanical adjustment of the adjustment range of the platform, thereby increasing the operator’s level of control over the height of the platform during operation. Regarding claim 10, Pedri discloses the housing (70) extends between the platform (66) and the track (60), when the housing (70) is slidably mounted on the track (60; col. 3, lines 41-42).
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedri (US Patent 5,526,856) and Aondetto (US Patent 4,312,491) in view of Jureit et al (US Patent 3,610,299), herein referred to as Juriet.
Regarding claim 2, the modified carriage of Pedri substantially disclosed above fails to disclose the stop is able to be set in: a deployed position wherein the stop protrudes from the platform, so as to stop the object relative to the cutting device while the object rests on the platform, a retracted position wherein the stop is retracted in the platform and is prevented to stop the object. However, Juriet teaches it is known in the art of carriages to provide a stop (132) on a movable stop carriage (58) configured to be set in: a deployed position (fig. 6) wherein the stop protrudes from the platform (124), so as to stop the object relative to the cutting device while the object rests on the platform (workpiece abuts surface 133 of stop 132, as shown in fig. 4), a retracted position (col. 5, lines 40-46) wherein the stop is retracted in the platform and is prevented to stop the object (i.e., “lumber stop 132 is retracted, surface 133 being flush with the top of tongue 124,” col. 5, lines 44-46). It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify the carriage of Pedri substantially disclosed above with the teaching of Juriet such that the stop is able to be set in: a deployed position wherein the stop protrudes from the platform, so as to stop the object relative to the cutting device while the object rests on the platform, a retracted position wherein the stop is retracted in the platform and is prevented to stop the object in order to allow the operator to selectively utilize the stop to either position the workpiece with respect to the cutting tool when the stop is in the deployed position, or alternatively, simply utilize the platform as a supporting member when the stop is in the retracted position.
Regarding claim 3, the modified carriage of Pedri substantially disclosed above, as set forth in the rejection for claim 2, includes the stop comprises a flap (Juriet’s stop 132 is formed as a flapped with a stop surface 133 configured to abut the workpiece when stop 132 is in the “deployed position”) pivotally mounted on the platform between: a standing position (i.e. “deployed position,” see Juriet fig. 4) wherein the flap is perpendicular to the platform, a lying position wherein the flap lies along the platform (“[when] lumber stop 132 is retracted, surface 133 [is] flush with the top of tongue 124,” col. 5, lines 44-46).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedri (US Patent 5,526,856) and Aondetto (US Patent 4,312,491) in view of Goodrich (US Patent 376,876). Regarding claim 4, Pedri fails to disclose a ratchet able to be set in an engaged configuration wherein the ratchet allows the platform to be moved from the lowered position to the raised position and prevents the platform to be moved from the raised position to the lowered position. However, Goodrich teaches it is known in the art of a workpiece support (with platform “O”) to provide a ratchet (fig. 1, i.e., pawls “T” and ratchet-teeth “S”) able to be set in an engaged configuration (fig. 1) wherein the ratchet allows the platform to be moved from the lowered position to the raised position (distal end of pawl “T” slides over each ramped ratchet-tooth of ratchet-teeth “S” when workpiece support is adjusted upward) and prevents the platform to be moved from the raised position to the lowered position (distal end of pawl “T” abuts against underside of respective ratchet-teeth “S” to hold workpiece support “O” at desired height). It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify the carriage of Pedri with the teaching of Goodrich such that a ratchet is provided and configured to be set in an engaged configuration wherein the ratchet allows the platform to be moved from the lowered position to the raised position and prevents the platform to be moved from the raised position to the lowered position to provide a simple one-way locking mechanism to facilitate adjustment of the platform relative to the housing and track, wherein the ratchet holds the platform at the desired height without having to securely tighten any locking bolts.
Regarding claim 5, the modified carriage of Pedri substantially disclosed above includes the ratchet is able to be set in a disengaged configuration (pawl “T” of Goodrich is pivotable about “pivot pins or rivets U” [page 1, lines 81-82] allowing distal end of pawl “T” to swing out of engagement with ratchet-teeth “S”) wherein the ratchet allows the platform to be moved from the lowered position to the maximum position (platform is free to move from the lowered position to the raised position regardless of whether the ratchet is set in its engaged or disengaged configuration) and allows the platform to be moved from the raised position to the lowered position (when distal end of pawl “T” is pivoted out of engagement with ratchet-teeth “S,” there is nothing to prevent the platform from being moved in the downward direction). Regarding claim 6, the modified carriage of Pedri substantially disclosed above includes a second grippable element (a middle portion of pawl “T” between distal end configured to engage ratchet teeth “S” and the pivoting end connected via rivets “U”) allowing a user to set the ratchet in the engaged configuration and in the disengaged configuration.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedri (US Patent 5,526,856), Aondetto (US Patent 4,312,491) and Goodrich (US Patent 376,876) in further view of Squier (US Patent 436,641).
Regarding claim 7, the modified carriage of Pedri substantially disclosed above includes a toothed element (ratchet-teeth “S”) and a pawl (T) configured to engage the toothed element. The modified carriage of Pedri substantially disclosed above a cam arranged to move the toothed element away from the pawl or towards the pawl, whenever the grippable element is rotated relative to the housing. However, Squier teaches it is known in the art of workpiece supports (e.g., a workpiece vice assembly) to provide a ratchet (figs. 3 and 6) with a toothed element (23) and a pawl (14) configured to engage the toothed element, wherein a cam (19) is arranged to move the toothed element (23) away from the pawl (page 2, lines 14-21) or towards the pawls (fig. 3), whenever a grippable element (22) is rotated relative to the housing (see figs. 1 and 2). It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify the carriage of Petri substantially disclosed above with the teaching of Squier such that a cam arranged to move the toothed element away from the pawl or towards the pawl, whenever the grippable element is rotated relative to the housing in order to provide a safe and effective way for the operator to disengage the ratchet for adjustment without needing to directly contact any of the elements that are underload when the ratchet is engaged. Moreover, utilizing a grippable element to actuate a cam for disengaging the ratchet allows the operator to use the lever action of the greppable element to reduce the amount of force required to overcome the engaging force of the ratchet to adjust the position of the platform.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedri (US Patent 5,526,856) and Aondetto (US Patent 4,312,491) in view of Yuan et al (US Patent 10,092,089), herein referred to as Yuan, and Ursell et al (US Publication 2016/0354920), herein referred to as Ursell. Regarding claim 9, the modified carriage of Pedri substantially disclosed above fails to include a scissors mechanism which links the housing to the platform. However, Yuan teaches it is known in the art of height adjustable platform structures with base housing (23) and a platform (1) to use a scissor mechanism (2) to link the housing (23) to the platform (1). Additionally, Ursell teaches it is known in the art of adjustable platform structures configured for use with a work bench to use levers (34) to adjustable connect a platform (32) to the base housing portion (12) of a workbench (fig. 3). Platform (32) being adjustable in height but also configured to slid relative to tool base surface (36), as described in paragraph 0024, lines 7-10). The teaching of Ursell suggesting the use of levers is known in the art of workbenches and applicable to maintaining a horizontal attitude of the workpiece platform during adjustment (paragraph 0024, lines 1-5). It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify the carriage of Pedri with the teaching of Yuan and Ursell such that a scissors mechanism links the housing to the platform in order to provide a robust and sturdy structure configured to adjustably support the platform of Pedri throughout its range of motion while maintaining the platform in a horizontal orientation, as taught by Ursell.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedri (US Patent 5,526,856) and Aondetto (US Patent 4,312,491) in view of Stephens (US Publication 2003/0070727) and further in view of Keener et al (US Patent 3,141,367), herein referred to as Keener.
Regarding claim 11, Pedri fails to disclose a drive mechanism for sliding the housing relative to the track, wherein the drive mechanism comprises: a pinion rotatably mounted to the housing, and able to engage a rack of the track. However, Stephens (US Publication 2003/0070727) teaches it is known in the art of workpiece supports (fig. 4) that can be adjusted along a track (16) with a gear (110) to provide a drive mechanism (102, 104, 108) for sliding the housing (44) relative to the track (16), wherein the drive mechanism comprises: a pinion (104) rotatably mounted to the housing (fig. 4), and able to engage a rack (110) of the track (paragraph 0040). It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify the carriage of Pedri with the teaching of Stephens such that the carriage is provided with a drive mechanism in order to facilitate accurate adjustment of the carriage with respect to the cutting tool. The modified carriage of Pedri substantially disclosed above fail to include a motor configured to drive the pinion. However, Stephens states in para. 0040, lines 3-6, “[g]ear mechanism 102 includes concentrically aligned circular gears 104, which typically are mounted on a shaft 106 and operable via rotation of a crank 108 or other actuating mechanism” [emphasis added]. Additionally, Keener (US Patent 3,141,367) teaches it is known in the art of workpiece adjusting carriages to provide the carriage (68) with a motor (78) configured to drive a pinion (worm 76) that engages a gear rack (74) on a track (72). It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify the carriage of Pedri substantially disclosed above with the teaching of Stephens and Keener such that any reasonable actuating mechanism is utilized, e.g., a motor, is provided to drive the pinion of Stephens because the motor can be controlled by a programmed controller to facilitate automatic operation of the carriage and automatic adjustment of the carriage with greater accuracy than can be achieved by an operator adjusting the carriage by hand.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedri (US Patent 5,526,856), Aondetto (US Patent 4,312,491), Stephens (US Publication 2003/0070727) and Keener (US Patent 3,141,367), in further view of Dick et al (US Publication 2011/0056344), herein referred to as Dick. Regarding the claims set forth above, the modified carriage of Pedri substantially disclosed above as set forth in the 103 rejection for claim 11 includes a drive mechanism for sliding the housing relative to the track. The modified carriage of Pedri substantially disclosed above fails to include the following: In claim 12, an input interface for receiving data representing a length of the object, a controller configured to: determine from the data a target position of the carriage relative to the track wherein a distance between the stop and the cutting device equals to the length, and control the drive mechanism so as to move the carriage into the target position; In claim 13, the drive mechanism is included in the housing, and the input interface and/or the controller is included in a detachable unit which is releasably mounted to the housing; and In claim 14, the detachable unit includes a power supply configured to supply the motor with power. However, Dick teaches it is known in the art of workpiece adjusting devices to provide an input interface (paragraph 0106) for receiving data representing a length of the object, a controller (96) configured to: determine from the data a target position of the carriage relative to the track wherein a distance between the stop and the cutting device equals to the length, and control the drive mechanism so as to move the carriage into the target position (paragraph 0107), wherein the controller is a detachable unit (see fig. 4), and the detachable unit includes a power supply configured to supply the motor with power (paragraph 0106).
It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify the carriage of Pedri substantially disclosed above with the teaching of Dick to include an input interface for receiving data representing a length of the object, a controller configured to: determine from the data a target position of the carriage relative to the track wherein a distance between the stop and the cutting device equals to the length, and control the drive mechanism so as to move the carriage into the target position (as per claim 12); the drive mechanism is included in the housing, and the input interface and/or the controller is included in a detachable unit which is releasably mounted to the housing (as per claim 13); and the detachable unit includes a power supply configured to supply the motor with power (as per claim 14) in order to facilitate automatic programming of the carriage and stop mechanisms during operation of the cutting tool and to facilitate a simple means for supplying power to the device.
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedri (US Patent 5,526,856) and Aondetto (US Patent 4,312,491) in further view of Stephens (US Publication 2003/0070727).
Regarding claim 15, the modified carriage of Pedri substantially disclosed above as set forth in the 103 rejection of claim 1 includes a system comprising: a track; and a carriage, said carriage including: a housing able to be slidably mounted on said track, a platform comprising an upper flat surface on which can rest an object to be cut by a cutting device separately mounted on said track, wherein the platform is movable relative to the housing through a range of vertical positions to align with a vertical position of the cutting device, wherein the range of vertical positions is bounded by a maximum raised position and a lowered position, wherein the upper flat surface is closer to the track in the lowered position than in the raised position when the housing is slidably mounted on the track, a first grippable element (63 as taught by Aondetto) operatively coupled to the platform and configured to adjust the range of vertical positions of the platform, wherein rotation of the first grippable element in a first direction is operative to raise the maximum raised position of the range of the range of vertical positions, and wherein rotation of the first grippable element in a second direction is operative to lower the maximum raised position of the platform to decrease the range of vertical positions, and a stop (Pedri 68) operatively coupled to the platform and able to stop the object relative to the cutting device while the object rests on the upper flat surface. The modified system of Pedri substantially disclosed above fails to disclose the track comprising a first groove extending parallel to a longitudinal axis of the track. However, Stephens teaches it is known in the art of movable workpiece support assemblies (e.g., 14) to mount a workpiece support assembly to a track (base 16 with elongated way members 96) with a first groove (e.g., inwardly facing grooves 114) extending parallel to a longitudinal axis of the track (i.e., along x-axis; fig. 6). It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify the system of Pedri substantially disclosed above with the teaching of Stephens such that the track comprising a first groove extending parallel to a longitudinal axis of the track in order to increase the structural rigidity of the track and to provide features with which the carriage can engage for guiding and fixation purposes. Regarding claim 16, the modified system of Pedri substantially disclosed above fails to disclose the track includes a linear rack, the linear rack extending along the first groove. However, Stephens teaches it is known in the art of workpiece supports (fig. 4) that can be adjusted along a track (elongated way members 96 of base 16) to provide the track with a linear rack (gear track 110) extending along first groove (114), wherein linear rack (110) is associated with a drive mechanism (102, 104, 108) for sliding workpiece support (14) along track (16).
It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify the carriage of Pedri substantially disclosed above with the teaching of Stephens such that the track includes a linear rack, the linear rack extending along the first groove in order to facilitate accurate movement and adjustment of the carriage with respect to the cutting tool. Regarding claim 17, the modified system of Pedri substantially disclosed above includes the track (e.g., elongated way members 96; Stephens) includes a second groove (Stephens, inwardly facing grooves 114) extending parallel to the longitudinal axis and opposite the first groove (Stephens, figs. 3 and 6). Regarding claim 18, the modified system of Pedri substantially disclosed above includes the housing includes a first leg (Stephens, inner extension of foot 44) comprising a first protrusion (112) and a second leg (outer extension of foot 44) comprising a second protrusion (112), the first and second legs defining a space therebetween, wherein the first and second protrusions extend toward one another (Stephens, para. 0041). Regarding claim 19, the modified system of Pedri substantially disclosed above includes the first protrusion is received in the first groove (114) and the second protrusion (Stephens 112) is received in the second groove (114) when the housing is slidably mounted on the track (Stephens, para. 0039-0041).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedri (US Patent 5,526,856), Aondetto (US Patent 4,312,491) and Stephens (US Publication 2003/0070727) in view of Phillipson (US Patent 1,044,816). Regarding claim 20, the modified system of Pedri substantially disclosed above includes the housing includes a leg (e.g., Stephens inner extension of foot 44). The modified system of Pedri substantially disclosed above fails to disclose a wheel pivotally mounted on the leg, the wheel being configured to roll on the track.
However, Phillipson teaches it is known in the art of workpiece support carriages to provide the carriage with a housing (head 24) having a wheel (bearing roller 25) configured to roll along a track (page 1, lines 97-101). It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify the carriage of Pedri substantially disclosed above with the teaching of Phillipson such that the housing includes a leg and a wheel pivotally mounted on the leg, the wheel being configured to roll on the track in order to help the carriage move smoothly along the track while carrying the workpiece (Phillipson page 2, lines 29-32).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedri (US Patent 5,526,856), Aondetto (US Patent 4,312,491) and Stephens (US Publication 2003/0070727) in view of Welsh et al (US Patent 6,745,804), herein referred to as Welsh. Regarding claim 21, the modified system of Pedri substantially disclosed above fails to disclose the stop includes a flap pivotally mounted on the platform, the flap being pivotable relative to the platform about a transverse axis perpendicular to the longitudinal axis. However, Welsh teaches it is known in the art of portable work benches to include a stop (84e) includes a flap (84) pivotally mounted on the platform (83), the flap being pivotable relative to the platform about a transverse axis perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (fig. 20C).
It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify the carriage of Pedri substantially disclosed above with the teaching of Welsh such that the stop includes a flap pivotally mounted on the platform, the flap being pivotable relative to the platform about a transverse axis perpendicular to the longitudinal axis in order to provide a stop that can be moved into or out of position when desired.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kent (US Patent 6,058,990) discloses a multi-function worktable with a carriage (5) movable with respect to a power tool support (6). Thomas et al (US Publication 2008/0007987) discloses a tool mount for attaching a power tool to a support structure. Bergmann et al (US Publication 2009/00084929) discloses a track with first and second grooves on either side thereof (e.g., fig. 11) and providing a housing of a work supporting carriage with two legs, each having a protrusion which define a space therebetween and wherein the two protrusions extend toward one another (e.g., fig. 6) so as to be received in the first and second grooves, respectively. Breitenbach (US Patent 8,684,052) discloses a system with a profiled track for supporting carriage elements configured to support a workpiece and power tool support elements.
/SAMUEL A DAVIES/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724 August 27, 2026
/BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724