DETAILED ACTION
This Office action details a first action on the merits for the above referenced application No. Claim 1 is pending in this application.
Priority
This application is a 35 USC 111(a) filing and a continuation of international application No. PCT/US22/39601 filed on 5 Aug. 2022 and claims benefit under 35 USC 119(e) to US provisional application No. 63/230,439 filed on 6 Aug. 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
An information disclosure statements (IDS) has not been filed for this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Si et al. (Cancer Biotherapy and Radiopharmaceuticals; published 2019; see attached 892).
Regarding claim 1, Si et al. disclose the compounds
(pg. 553) that bind to EGFR having and intracellular protein domain (pg. 551). The Michael acceptor side chain of irreversible inhibitors at 6-position forms a covalent bond with the sulfhydryl group of Cys-773 of EGFR (pg. 552). The compound bound specifically to HCC 827 cells harboring an activating mutation in the EGFR gene.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Planken et al. (J. Med. Chem.; published 2017; see attached 892)., in view of Si et al. (Cancer Biotherapy and Radiopharmaceuticals; published 2019; see attached 892).
Planken et al. teach discovery of PF-06747775 through structure-based design: a high affinity irreversible inhibitor targeting oncogenic EGFR mutants with selectivity over wild-type EGFR (see title). Planken et al. teach the compound 1
having low nanomolar potency against both EGFR T790M-resistant mutants, excellent selectivity for drug resistant mutants over WT EGFR and in vitro and in vivo ADME characteristics well suited for in vitro efficacy studies (Fig. 1, pg. 3003). Planken et al. teach chemical probes P_1
and P_21
(see Fig. 10) compared to that of a chemical probe P_AQ a quinazoline based covalent second generation pan ERBB2 inhibitor, which contains a Michael acceptor acrylamide (pg. 3013). (P_1 and P_21 on a conjugate comprising a targeting ligand wherein the targeting ligand selectively binds to an intracellular protein wherein the intracellular protein is mutated and a linker.) Planken et al. teach compounds 17 , 19 and 21 (tables 4 and 6). The tert-butyl afforded the highest selectivity margin (pgs. 3010-3011). Addition of methyl, methoxy, or ethyl all improved kinase selectivity (pg. 3009). Compound 21 has potency against both common T790M EGFR double mutants and single activating mutants Del and L858R while retaining selectivity over EGFR wild type (pg. 3016).
Planken et al. do not expressly teach a conjugate further comprising a metal chelator.
Si et al. teach as discussed above. Si et al. teach evaluation of EGFR-TK expression with a 99mTc-labeled complex bearing a quinazoline pharmacophore (see title). Si et al. teach that considering widespread application, in this study, a aniloquinazoline derivative was conjugated with a bifunctional chelator and then labeled with 99mTc to establish a novel SPECT imaging probe (pg. 556). The whole-body noninvasive imaging based on probes specific for activated status of EGFR kinase could provide information of EGFR expression of the tumor lesions for forecasting treatment response before initiating the EGFR inhibitor-based therapy. The results demonstrate the feasibility of using complex13 as a SPECT tracer for screening EGFR TKIs sensitive patients (pg. 557).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify compounds of Planken et al. (P_1 and P_21) by connecting a chelator moiety to a linker attached to the pyrazolyl N as taught by Planken et al. and Si et al. because the a chelator attached to the linker would have been expected to advantageously enable whole body SPECT or PET imaging of mutated EGFR with high selectivity over WT EGFR enabling the in vivo detection of cancer and the forecasting of treatment response.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4, 8-12, 19, 35, 38, 40, 42, 69, 75, 81, 88, 94, 96, and 108 of copending Application No. 18/434,621 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because those claims claim a conjugate comprising a targeting ligand wherein the targeting ligand covalently binds to an intracellular protein wherein the intracellular protein is mutated; a linker and a metal chelator. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 18, 22, 24, 43-45, 47, 50-54, 57-58, 60, 63-64, 71, and 74 of copending Application No. 18/431,646 in view of Si et al. (Cancer Biotherapy and Radiopharmaceuticals; published 2019; see attached 892). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 18, 22, 24, 43-45, 47, 50-54, 57-58, 60, 63-64, 71, and 74 of copending Application No. 18/431,646 claim a radiopharmaceutical conjugate comprising a targeting ligand that covalently binds to an intracellular KRAS protein wherein the intracellular KRAS protein is mutated and wherein the conjugate comprises a linker and a radionuclide such as
.
Claims 1, 18, 22, 24, 43-45, 47, 50-54, 57-58, 60, 63-64, 71, and 74 of copending Application No. 18/431,646 do not claim the instant conjugate comprising a chelator.
Si et al. teach as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify claims 1, 18, 22, 24, 43-45, 47, 50-54, 57-58, 60, 63-64, 71, and 74 of copending Application No. 18/431,646 so that a chelated radionuclide replaces the radioiodine radionuclide as taught by Si et al. because the chelated radionuclide would have been expected to advantageously enable widespread SPECT imaging or PET imaging of disease associated intracellular proteins wherein the intracellular proteins are mutated.
Technical Background Material
Jain et al. (Bioorg. Med. Chem. Lett.; published 2017; see attached 892) is being made of record; however, it is not being used in a rejection because it is cumulative.
Conclusion
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/SEAN R. DONOHUE/
Examiner, Art Unit 1618