Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 08/25/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-7 are pending.
Claims 8-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-7 are pending and are currently under consideration.
Claim Interpretation
Reference to “fragments thereof” in claims 1 and 3 is interpreted as limited to those polypeptides claimed (e.g., FGF2, HGF, VEGF, and IgG) and those comprising at least 85% identity thereto as “fragments thereof” is defined in the specification. See for example paragraph [0027] in applicant’s PGPUB US20240228566.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (Eng. Life Sci. Vol. 20, published July 2, 2020, IDS).
Zhang et al. teach an isolated complex comprising a basic fibroblast growth factor and an immunoglobulin G polypeptide that further comprises a VEGF growth factor (referred to as Peptibody, see abstract). For example, Zhang et al. teach that the complex was formed recombinantly (column 2, page 427) in that “The synthesized genetic linkage of bFGF/VEGFA-Fc was inserted into the expression vector pET-28A and transformed to E. coli strain of BL21.” The fusion to the constant region (fragment crystallizable or Fc) confers that the complex does not comprise an antibody-antigen interaction as the Fc region does not comprise the antigen recognition domains. Zhang et al. further teach (page 426, 1st column, last paragraph) the complex with a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient in that mice were immunized with the Peptibody vaccine with an equal volume of Freund’s adjuvant.
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (Mol Cancer Ther (2012) 11 (4): 864–872).
Wang et al. teach a novel monoclonal antibody (mAb), GAL-F2, specific for FGF2. The anti-FGF2 complex was isolated in an ELISA whose wells were coated with goat antimouse IgG (page 865, 2nd column and Figure 1, page 867). Thus, the isolated complex of the prior art comprised an FGF2 polypeptide and an immunoglobulin G polypeptide wherein the polypeptides were complexed by non-covalent interactions.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 7-9 of copending Application No. 18431592 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are claiming nearly the same subject matter except for minor differences in scope.
For example, reference claims 1-2 are broadly drawn to:
The above overlaps in scope with currently pending claims 1-2:
Reference claim 3 defines the “polypeptide of interest” as a growth factor or cytokine which broadly anticipates a hepatocyte growth factor or VEGF or fragment thereof as set forth in Claim 3 of the instant application.
Reference claim 7 is drawn to binding forces as non-covalent and wherein the complex does not comprise an antibody-antigen interaction which is nearly identical in scope to Claims 4-5 of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3, 6-7 are further provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of copending Application No. 18/431592 in view of Chen et al. (Adv Drug Deliv Rev. 2012 Sep 29;65(10):1357–1369)
Claims 1-3 of the instant application are drawn to:
The instant application does not claim “wherein the Fc polypeptide is separated from the polypeptide of interest by peptide linker” as claimed in the reference application.
Chen et al. teach that linkers are an “indispensable component” of recombinant fusion proteins (abstract) and that optimal linkers can provide many advantages for the fusion proteins production, including improving structural stability, enhancing bioactivity, increasing expression level, altering the PK profiles and enabling the in vivo targeting of the fusion proteins (page 15)
Thus, it would have been obvious to include a linker in the presently claimed complex due to the known advantages as set forth by Chen et al.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a written description rejection.
The claims are drawn to an isolated complex comprising a basic fibroblast growth factor (FGF2) polyepeptide or fragment thereof and an immunoglobulin G polypeptide or fragment thereof wherein the isolated complex further comprises “an additional growth factor polypeptide or a fragment thereof”.
Thus, the scope of claim 2 is generic to the addition of any growth factor in the world or any fragment of said growth factor.
With regard to additional growth factors, the specification teaches [0015] the complex further contains an additional growth factor polypeptide, or a fragment thereof. In embodiments, the additional growth factor contains a hepatocyte growth factor (HGF) polypeptide, or a fragment thereof. In embodiments, the additional growth factor contains a vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF) polypeptide, or a fragment thereof. The specification further teaches [0104] that the present invention provides agents comprising complexes containing basic fibroblast growth factor (FGF2), hepatocyte growth factor (HGF), vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF), and/or IgG (e.g., complexes containing FGF2 and IgG, or fragments thereof, optionally where the complexes further contain VEGF, HGF, or fragments thereof). Thus, the specification only identifies two additional species of the genus: HGF and VEGF.
A description of a genus of may be achieved by means of a recitation of a representative number of species, defined by structure, falling within the scope of the genus. However, the instant specification fails to provide sufficient descriptive information, such as definitive structural or functional features of the claimed genus of “additional growth factor polypeptides or a fragment thereof”. Since the disclosure fails to describe the common attributes or characteristics that identify members of the genus, and because the genus is highly variant, the disclosure of only several species of growth factors (e.g., HGF, VEGF) is insufficient to describe the large genus. Thus, one of skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the disclosure fails to provide a representative number of species to describe and enable the genus as broadly claimed.
Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1117 (Fed. Cir. 1991) clearly states “applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the ‘written description’ inquiry, whatever is now claimed.” (See page 1117.) The specification does not “clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed.” (See Vas-Cath at page 1116). As discussed above, the skilled artisan cannot envision the detailed chemical structure of the encompassed genus of additional growth factor polypeptides, and therefore conception is not achieved until reduction to practice has occurred, regardless of the complexity or simplicity of the method of isolation. Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method of isolating it. The compound itself is required.
In particular, the genus of the world of any “additional growth factor polypeptide” or “fragments thereof” would be very large and highly diverse. The fundamental factual inquiry is whether the specification conveys with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, the inventor was in possession of the invention as now claimed. An applicant shows that the inventor was in possession of the claimed invention by describing the claimed invention with all of its limitations using such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, and formulas that fully set forth the claimed invention. Lockwood v. Am. Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Possession may be shown in a variety of ways including description of an actual reduction to practice, or by showing that the invention was "ready for patenting" such as by the disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas that show that the invention was complete, or by describing distinguishing identifying characteristics sufficient to show that the inventor was in possession of the claimed invention. For example, disclosure of an antigen fully characterized by its structure, formula, chemical name, physical properties, or deposit in a public depository does not, without more, provide an adequate written description of an antibody claimed by its binding affinity to that antigen, even when preparation of such an antibody is routine and conventional. See Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, 872 F.3d 1367, 1378, 124 USPQ2d 1354, 1361 (Fed. Cir. 2017)("knowledge of the chemical structure of an antigen [does not give] the required kind of structure-identifying information about the corresponding antibodies"); see also Centocor Ortho Biotech, Inc. v. Abbott Labs., 636 F.3d 1341, 1351-52, 97 USPQ2d 1870, 1877 (Fed. Cir. 2011)(patent disclosed the antigen the claimed antibody was supposed to bind, but did not disclose any antibodies with the specific claimed properties).
At present, the disclosure fails to describe the common attributes or characteristics that identify members of the genus. Thus, because the genus is highly variant, the contemplation of a world of “growth factors” is insufficient to describe the genus and one of skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the disclosure fails to provide a representative number of species to describe the genus as broadly claimed.
With the exception of FGF2, HGF, and VEGF, the skilled artisan cannot envision the detailed structure of other members of generic growth factors and therefore conception is not achieved until reduction to practice has occurred, regardless of the complexity or simplicity of the method of isolation. Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and a reference to a potential method of isolating it.
No claim is allowed.
/GARY B NICKOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1643