DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Black and white line drawings replacing the grayscale drawings will overcome this objection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-12, 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over van Boheemen et al. (US 2017/0274778 A1) in view of Shin et al. (US 2019/0333676 A1)
Re. claims 1-3: Van Boheemen discloses a cooling apparatus for a wireless power transfer (WPT) transmitter coil comprising:
a reservoir (tank in 561) for holding coolant; (see fig. 5; para. 0065)
a coolant loop (510, 610, 710), wherein the coolant loop includes a plurality of heat sinks; (see fig. 5-7; para. 0065-0070, 0076-0077)
a wireless power transfer (WPT) transmitter coil (422), wherein coolant flows from the reservoir through the coolant loop into the plurality of heat sinks via the pump, (see fig. 4-7; para. 0062-0065)
wherein heat from the WPT transmitter coil is transferred from the plurality of heat sinks to the coolant. (see para. 0071-0075)
van Boheemen fails to disclose:
a pump for pumping a coolant including nano ferrite particles;
wherein the nano ferrite particles include at least one of Mn-Zn, cobalt ferrite, barium ferrite, and nickel-zinc.
However, Shin discloses:
a pump (100) for pumping a coolant including nano ferrite particles; (see fig. 2-4; para. 0027-0031)
wherein the nano ferrite particles include at least one of Mn-Zn, cobalt ferrite, barium ferrite, and nickel-zinc. (see para. 0029)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an inductive coolant loop with ferrofluid comprising Mn-Zn coolant to the apparatus of van Boheemen as taught by Shin. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do this in order to circulate coolant within the coil and magnet without the need for an external pump. (Shin para. 0023-0024)
Re. claim 4: Shin discloses wherein a magnetic field of the WPT transmitter coil (120) assists in pumping the coolant (through channel 240). (see para. 0039-0044)
Re. claim 6: van Boheemen discloses an electromagnet (421) proximate an inlet of a manifold (561 manifold for plural 560). (see fig. 5; para. 0063-0064)
Re. claim 7: Shin discloses wherein a magnetic field magnitude difference between the inlet and an outlet causes the coolant with the nano ferrite particles to flow passively from the inlet to the outlet. (see fig. 2B; para. 0033-0034, 0039-0044)
Re. claims 8-11: van Boheemen discloses a cooling apparatus for cooling a wireless power transfer (WPT) transmitter coil comprising:
a reservoir (tank in 561) for holding coolant; (see fig. 5; para. 0065)
a coolant loop (510, 610, 710), wherein the coolant loop includes a plurality of heat sinks; (see fig. 5-7; para. 0065-0070, 0076-0077)
wherein heat from the WPT transmitter coil is transferred from the plurality of heat sinks to the coolant. (see para. 0071-0075)
an electromagnet (421) proximate an inlet of a manifold (561 manifold for plural 560); and (see fig. 5; para. 0063-0064)
a wireless power transfer (WPT) transmitter coil (422), wherein coolant flows from the reservoir through the coolant loop into the plurality of heat sinks (see fig. 4-7; para. 0062-0065)
wherein heat from the WPT transmitter coil is transferred from the plurality of heat sinks to the coolant. (see para. 0071-0075)
van Boheemen fails to disclose:
wherein a magnetic field magnitude difference between the inlet and an outlet causes the coolant to flow passively from the inlet to the outlet,
However, Shin discloses:
wherein a magnetic field magnitude difference between the inlet and an outlet causes the coolant to flow passively from the inlet to the outlet, (see fig. 2-4; para. 0027-0031)
wherein the nano ferrite particles include at least one of Mn-Zn, cobalt ferrite, barium ferrite, and nickel-zinc. (see para. 0029-0031)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an inductive coolant loop with ferrofluid comprising Mn-Zn coolant to the apparatus of van Boheemen as taught by Shin. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do this in order to circulate coolant within the coil and magnet without the need for an external pump. (Shin para. 0023-0024)
Re. claim 12: Shin discloses wherein a magnetic field of the WPT transmitter coil (120) assists in pumping the coolant (through channel 240). (see para. 0039-0044)
Re. claim 14: Shin discloses a pump (100) that helps the coolant to flow. (see fig. 2-4; para. 0039-0042)
Re. claims 15-17: van Boheemen discloses a method for cooling a wireless power transfer (WPT) transmitter coil comprising:
holding coolant in a reservoir (tank in 561); (see fig. 5; para. 0065)
connecting a coolant loop (510, 610, 710), that includes a plurality of heat sinks to the reservoir; (see fig. 5-7; para. 0065-0070, 0076-0077)
moving coolant from the reservoir through the coolant loop into the plurality of heat sinks; and (see fig. 4-7; para. 0062-0065)
transferring heat from a WPT transmitter coil (422) to the coolant via the plurality of heat sinks. (see para. 0071-0075)
van Boheemen fails to disclose:
a pump for pumping a coolant including nano ferrite particles;
wherein the nano ferrite particles include at least one of Mn-Zn, cobalt ferrite, barium ferrite, and nickel-zinc.
However, Shin discloses:
a pump (100) for pumping a coolant including nano ferrite particles; (see fig. 2-4; para. 0027-0031)
wherein the nano ferrite particles include at least one of Mn-Zn, cobalt ferrite, barium ferrite, and nickel-zinc. (see para. 0029)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an inductive coolant loop with ferrofluid comprising Mn-Zn coolant to the apparatus of van Boheemen as taught by Shin. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do this in order to circulate coolant within the coil and magnet without the need for an external pump. (Shin para. 0023-0024)
Re. claim 18: Shin discloses a magnetic field of the WPT transmitter coil assists in pumping the coolant. (through channel 240). (see para. 0039-0044)
Re. claim 20: van Boheemen discloses:
generating a magnetic field via an electromagnet (421) proximate an inlet of a manifold, (561 manifold for plural 560). (see fig. 5; para. 0063-0064)
Van Boheemen fails to disclose:
wherein a magnetic field magnitude difference between the inlet and an outlet causes the coolant with the nano ferrite particles to flow passively from the inlet to the outlet.
However, Shin discloses:
wherein a magnetic field magnitude difference between the inlet and an outlet causes the coolant with the nano ferrite particles to flow passively from the inlet to the outlet. (see fig. 2B, 4D; para. 0039-0042)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an inductive coolant loop with ferrofluid comprising Mn-Zn coolant to the apparatus of van Boheemen as taught by Shin. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do this in order to circulate coolant within the coil and magnet without the need for an external pump. (Shin para. 0023-0024)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 13, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Re. claims 5, 13, and 19: the limitations of “a metering valve in an inlet tube of the coolant loop” in combination with the remaining limitations in the claim cannot be found in the prior art. One of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to provide a metering valve to the apparatus of van Boheemen and Shin because the valve would have slowed the coolant and reduced the cooling efficiency of the apparatus.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Luzinski et al. (US 2022/0200342 A1) discloses a wireless power transmission device with cooling loop. Liu et al. (US 2023/0085399 A1) discloses a ferrous heat exchanging cold plate for use in wireless vehicle charging.
August 21, 2026
/ADAM B DRAVININKAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841