DETAILED ACTION
1. This communication is response to the application filed 1/30/2026 havingclaims 1-12 pending and presented for examination.
Priority
2. Application filed on 02/02/2024 is a CON of PCT/JP2022/029548 08/01/2022
FOREIGN APPLICATIONS JAPAN 2021-127856 08/03/2021 are acknowledged.
Drawings
3. The drawings were received on 02/02/2024 and these drawings are accepted.
4. Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
4. The Oath/Declaration filed on 02/02/2024 is accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2,4-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by US Publication US 20230247521 A1 ZHU et al. (Hereinafter “ZHU ").
As per claim 1, ZHU teaches a communication control method used in a cellular communication system, the communication control method comprising: transmitting, by a relay node, to a donor node information indicating that a Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP) header rewriting function is supported (para 0189], fig. 1F, relay node such as the first network node in a communication system comprising donor node implementing Backhaul Adaptation Protocol indicating to a donor node such as CU, header rewriting is supported when handover occurs from one network to other network). 20230247521
As per claim 2, ZHU teaches the communication control method according to claim 1, further comprising: forwarding, by the relay node, a data packet in accordance with configuration related to inter topology routing, wherein the relay node is located at a boundary between a first topology and a second topology, and the configuration includes information indicating that a routing ID of the second topology is adapted and a routing ID of the first topology not adapted ((para 0189], 0192] fig. 1F, the relay node is situated in the boundary between two topologies such as the first network node is in accordance with topology update since first network node in the first topology is connected to the fifth network node and changes the topology and provides configuration information one of the network topology is adapted and other is not adapted because of the handover occurs from one network to other network).
As per claim 4, ZHU teaches the communication control method used in a cellular communication system, the communication control method comprising: receiving, by a donor node, from a relay node information indicating that a Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP) header rewriting function is supported(para 0189], fig. 1F, relay node such as the first network node in a communication system comprising donor node implementing Backhaul Adaptation Protocol indicating to a donor node such as CU, header rewriting is supported when handover occurs from one network to other network). and performing, by the donor node, configuration related to inter topology routing to the relay node, wherein the relay node is located at a boundary between a first topology and a second topology (0192] fig. 1F, relay node is sitting in a boundary network of network node IAB node 2 and IAB node 1), and the configuration includes information indicating that a routing ID of the second topology is adapted and a routing ID of the first topology not adapted ((para 0189], 0192] fig. 1F, the relay node is situated in the boundary between two topologies such as the first network node is in accordance with topology update since first network node in the first topology is connected to the fifth network node and changes the topology and provides configuration information one of the network topology is adapted and other is not adapted because of the handover occurs from one network to other network).
As per claim 5, ZHU teaches the relay node in a cellular communication system, the node comprising a transceiver circuitry and a processing circuitry operatively associated with the transceiver circuitry and configured to execute processing of: transmitting to a donor node information indicating that a Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP) header rewriting function is supported (para 0189], fig. 1F, relay node such as the first network node in a communication system comprising donor node implementing Backhaul Adaptation Protocol indicating to a donor node such as CU, header rewriting is supported when handover occurs from one network to other network)..
As per claim 6, ZHU teaches the donor node in cellular communication system, the node comprising a receiver circuitry and a processing circuitry operatively associated with the receiver circuitry and configured to execute processing of ((para 0189], fig. 1F, IAB donor 2 associated with network): receiving from a relay node information indicating that a Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP) header rewriting function is supported (para 0189], fig. 1F, relay node such as the first network node in a communication system comprising donor node implementing Backhaul Adaptation Protocol indicating to a donor node such as CU, header rewriting is supported when handover occurs from one network to other network).. and performing configuration related to inter topology routing to the relay node, wherein the relay node is located at a boundary between a first topology and a second topology, and the configuration includes information indicating that a routing ID of the second topology is adapted and a routing ID of the first topology not adapted((para 0189], 0192] fig. 1F, second donor node updates the configuration information when it receives information from the relay node such as the first network node is in accordance with topology update since first network node in the first topology is connected to the fifth network node and changes the topology and provides configuration information one of the network topology is adapted and other is not adapted because of the handover occurs from one network to other network)..
As per claim 7, ZHU teaches a cellular communication system comprising: a relay node (fig. 1F, ); and a donor node (fig. 1F,), wherein the relay node transmits to a donor node information indicating that a Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP) header rewriting function is supported ((para 0189], fig. 1F, para 0189], fig. 1F, relay node such as the first network node in a communication system comprising donor node implementing Backhaul Adaptation Protocol indicating to a donor node such as CU, header rewriting is supported when handover occurs from one network to other network).
As per claim 8, ZHU teaches a cellular communication system comprising: a relay node(fig. 1F, ); and a donor node, wherein the donor node receives from a relay node information indicating that a Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP) header rewriting function is supported (para 0189], fig. 1F, ), comprising donor node implementing Backhaul Adaptation Protocol indicating to a donor node such as CU, header rewriting is supported when handover occurs from one network to other network).the donor node performs configuration related to inter topology routing to the relay node, the relay node is located at a boundary between a first topology and a second topology, and the configuration includes information indicating that a routing ID of the second topology is adapted and a routing ID of the first topology not adapted (para 0189], fig. 1F, para 0189], 0192] fig. 1F, the relay node is situated in the boundary between two topologies such as the first network node is in accordance with topology update since first network node in the first topology is connected to the fifth network node and changes the topology and provides configuration information one of the network topology is adapted and other is not adapted because of the handover occurs from one network to other network).
As per claim 9, ZHU teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer in a relay node to execute processing comprising: transmitting to a donor node information indicating that a Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP) header rewriting function is supported (para 0189], fig. 1F, transmitting to a donor node such as the CU relay node such as the first network node in a communication system comprising donor node implementing Backhaul Adaptation Protocol indicating to a donor node such as CU, header rewriting is supported when handover occurs from one network to other network)..
As per claim 10, ZHU teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer in a donor node to execute processing comprising: receiving from a relay node information indicating that a Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP) header rewriting function is supported (para 0189], 0192] fig. 1F, donor node is receiving from the relay node configuration information that indicates a Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP) header rewriting function is supported ); and performing configuration related to inter topology routing to the relay node, wherein the relay node is located at a boundary between a first topology and a second topology, and the configuration includes information indicating that a routing ID of the second topology is adapted and a routing ID of the first topology not adapted (para 0189], 0192] fig. 1F, donor node performs based on the received information the relay node is situated in the boundary between two topologies such as the first network node is in accordance with topology update since first network node in the first topology is connected to the fifth network node and changes the topology and provides configuration information one of the network topology is adapted and other is not adapted because of the handover occurs from one network to other network).).
As per claim 11, ZHU teaches the chipset for a relay node in a cellular communication system, the chipset comprising: transmitting to a donor node information indicating that a Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP) header rewriting function is supported(para 0189], fig. 1F, relay node such as the first network node in a communication system comprising donor node implementing Backhaul Adaptation Protocol indicating to a donor node such as CU, header rewriting is supported when handover occurs from one network to other network)..
As per claim 12, ZHU teaches the chipset for a donor node in a cellular communication system, the chipset comprising: receiving from a relay node information indicating that a Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP) header rewriting function is supported(para 0189], 0192] fig. 1F, donor node is receiving from the relay node configuration information that indicates a Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP) header rewriting function is supported );; and performing configuration related to inter topology routing to the relay node, wherein the relay node is located at a boundary between a first topology and a second topology, and the configuration includes information indicating that a routing ID of the second topology is adapted and a routing ID of the first topology not adapted (para 0189], 0192] fig. 1F, donor node performs based on the received information the relay node is situated in the boundary between two topologies such as the first network node is in accordance with topology update since first network node in the first topology is connected to the fifth network node and changes the topology and provides configuration information one of the network topology is adapted and other is not adapted because of the handover occurs from one network to other network).).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHU further view of US PG Pub US 20230171651 A1 to Liu et al (hereinafter Liu).
As per claim 3, ZHU teaches the communication control method according to claim 1, Liu teaches wherein the forwarding includes rewriting, by the relay node, a routing ID included in the data packet from the routing ID related to the first topology to the routing ID related to the second topology (para 0242], forwards and updates the routing id associated with the current network related to the first topology to the routing ID related to the second topology ). 20230171651
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the combination system of ZHU by wherein the forwarding includes rewriting, by the relay node, a routing ID included in the data packet from the routing ID related to the first topology to the routing ID related to the second topology as suggested by Liu, this modification would benefit ZHU for enabling a better service continuity during handover process in a mobile communication system.
Conclusion
Prior arts made of record, not relied upon: US Patent Publication US 20240048486 A1; US Patent Publication US 20220132393 A1, US Patent Publication US 20240015633 A1
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANEZ EBRAHIM whose telephone number is (571)270-7153. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8 AM to 5 PM If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached on (571) 272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANEZ C EBRAHIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467