DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, filed 4 November 2025, has been entered and carefully considered.
Claims 1-7 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim 9 is canceled.
Claims 8 and 10 are amended and currently pending.
The outstanding objection to Claim 8 is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment to said claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 4 November 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 8 and 10 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the newly presented rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 herein.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Citations to Applicant’s specification herein are taken from the instant application’s pre-grant publication (US 2024/0179798)
Claims 8 and 10 recite (emphasis added by the Office) “an information element indicating whether multicast reception is to be prioritized over unicast reception even when the user equipment is participating in a multicast session.” The claims then subsequently recite language indicating both an action performed “when the user is not participating in the multicast session” and a separate action performed “when the user is participating in the multicast session.” However, as the first recitation indicates that the UE is participating in a unicast session, it is unclear how the UE is also “not participating in the multicast session.” Turning to Applicant’s specification, Figure 15 (as described in paragraphs 0143-0153), details a scenario where the UE is in an RRC connected state (paragraph 0143), participates in the multicast session (step s31 and paragraph 0144) and transmits an RRC message indicating priority information (step s34 and paragraph 0148). The UE is described as sending this RRC message “even when the UE is participating in a multicast session” (paragraph 0148). However, the disclosure lacks description of the UE both “participating” and “not participating” in a multicast session. As such, based on the claim language and the specification, one of ordinary skill in the art could not ascertain the metes and bounds of the claim language, as currently drafted, where the UE both participates and does not participate in the multicast session. Therefore, the claims are indefinite.
For search and prior art purposes, the claims will be examined as best understood by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastava et al (United States Pre-Grant Publication 2022/0132468), hereinafter Shrivastava, in view of Cao et al (United States Pre-Grant Publication 2023/0199569), hereinafter Cao.
Regarding Claim 10, Shrivastava discloses a user equipment (Figure 9, UE 900) comprising:
a transmitter (Figure 9, transceiver 920) configured to transmit, when the user equipment performing MBS reception or being interested in the MBS reception in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state, an RRC message to a base station, wherein the RRC message comprises an information element indicating whether multicast reception is to be prioritized over unicast reception (Figure 3, operation 303 and paragraph 0085 – the UE sends an interest indication to the gNB that can indicate priority for MBS reception and a preference for MBS reception (i.e., over unicast reception));
transmitting, when the user equipment is not participating in the multicast session, the RRC message comprising the information element and a different information element indicating an MBS session where the user equipment is performing the MBS reception or is interested in the MBS reception (paragraph 0085 – the interest indication indicates the preference for MBS reception (i.e., the information element) and at least one MBS (i.e., MBS session) that the UE is interested to receive (i.e., the different information element)).
However, while Shrivastava discloses sending the interest indication when (i.e., “even when”) the user equipment is participating in a multicast session (refer to paragraph 0085, where the interest indication indicates at least one MBS that the UE is currently receiving), Shrivastava does not disclose transmitting the RRC message comprising the information element without comprising the different information element. In an analogous art, Cao discloses this. Specifically, Cao discloses sending an MBS indication information that the UE is interested in including a receiving mode, where the receiving mode can include multicast/broadcast reception (i.e., a preference for multicast over unicast) (refer to paragraph 0201). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shrivastava and Cao in order to increase reliability of MBS packet reception and efficient switching between PTM and PTP modes of reception (refer to paragraph 0008 of Shrivastava).
Claim 8 is a method claim comprising the same steps performed by the UE of Claim 10. Therefore, Claim 8 is rejected for the same reasons as presented above for Claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Kim discloses the UE transmitting MBS interest information to a gNB (Figure 1O and paragraph 0445).
/ANDREW W CHRISS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472