DETAILED ACTION
1. This communication is response to the application filed 5/31/2024 havingclaims 1-10 are pending and presented for examination.
Priority
2. Application filed on 02/02/2024 is a CON of PCT/JP2022/029552 08/01/2022
PCT/JP2022/029552 has PRO 63/228,268 08/02/2021is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 02/02/2024 and these drawings are accepted.
3. Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/02/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
4. The Oath/Declaration filed on 02/02/2024 is accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by US Publication US 20240276519 A1 LEE et al. (Hereinafter “LEE ").
As per claim 1, LEE teaches a communication method used by a user equipment configured to perform reception processing of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) from a base station by using a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), the communication method comprising: when N (N≥2) group RNTIs (G-RNTIs) are associated with one multicast broadcast service (MBS) session, specifying M (M≤N) G-RNTIs to be used for the reception processing from among the N G-RNTIs (para [ 0284 - 0288],fig. 19, when two groups RNTIs are associated with one multicast transmission from the base that associated with two UEs , specifying one group G-RNTI for that particular UE1 or UE2 as mentioned by the base station to the UE in 1304 a or b is selected by the used for the reception processing from among the N G-RNTIs ).; and performing the reception processing by using the M G-RNTIs (para [ 0284 - 0288],fig. 19, UE is performing the reception processing by using the M G-RNTIs).20240276519
As per claim 2, LEE teaches the communication method according to claim 1, wherein the performing the reception processing comprises performing, in receiving the MBS session, the reception processing by using the M G-RNTIs without using (N−M) G-RNTIs among the N G-RNTIs for the reception processing (para [ 0284 - 0288], UE is receiving the data by using the first selected G-RNTI for the reception processing).
As per claim 3, LEE teaches the communication method according to claim 1, wherein the specifying comprises specifying, from among K (K≥2) Quality of Service (QOS) flows associated with the one MBS session, a desired QoS flow where the user equipment desires to receive, and specifying the M G-RNTIs associated with the desired QoS flow (para 0122], a base station includes a CQI (Channel Quality Indicator) and a terminal may transmit control information of the above-described CQI/).
As per claim 4, LEE teaches the communication method according to claim 3, further comprising receiving information configured to associate the one MBS session, the K QoS flows, and the N G-RNTIs from the base station (para [ 0284 - 0288],fig. 19, associate the one MBS session, the K QoS flows, and the N G-RNTIs from the base station ).
As per claim 5, LEE teaches the communication method according to claim 3, further comprising transmitting a message comprising an identifier of the MBS session and an identifier related to the desired QoS flow to the base station (para 0213] , UE selects (or determines) the best beam and reports an ID of the selected beam and related quality information ) .
As per claim 10, LEE teaches a user equipment configured to perform reception processing of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) from a base station by using a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), the user equipment comprising: a circuitry configured to, when N (N≥2) group RNTIs (G-RNTIs) are associated with one multicast broadcast service (MBS) session, specify M (M≤N) G-RNTIs to be used for the reception processing from among the N G-RNTIs(para [ 0284 - 0288],fig. 19, when two groups RNTIs are associated with one multicast transmission from the base that associated with two UEs , specifying one group G-RNTI for that particular UE1 or UE2 as mentioned by the base station to the UE in 1304 a or b is selected by the used for the reception processing from among the N G-RNTIs ).;, and a transceiver configured to perform the reception processing by using the M G-RNTIs(para [ 0284 - 0288],fig. 19, UE is performing the reception processing by using the M G-RNTIs)..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 6 ,8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pub US 20230308221 A1 to KADIRI et al (hereinafter KADIRI).further view of US PG Pub US 20200260508 A1 to He et al (hereinafter He).
As per claim 6, KADIRI teaches a communication method used by a user equipment configured to perform reception processing of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) from a base station by using a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), the communication method comprising: performing the reception processing to receive a dedicated traffic channel (DTCH) by using a cell RNTI (C-RNTI) (para 0113], UE is performing processing to receive a multicast traffic channel (MTCH) by using a group RNTI (G-RNTI) ); performing the reception processing to receive a multicast traffic channel (MTCH) by using a group RNTI (G-RNTI) (para 0113], UE is performing processing to receive a multicast traffic channel (MTCH) by using a group RNTI (G-RNTI); and when an identical logical channel identifier (LCID) is allocated to the DTCH and the MTCH, specifying a logical channel where received data obtained in response to the reception processing belongs, (para 0140 0113], fig. 1, LDID is allocated to the DTCH and the MTCH an single LCID of the multicast RLC entity 451 may be used for multicast and may be associated with the G-RNTI for HARQ operations or the C-RNTI for HARQ operations and specifying a logical channel where received data obtained in response to the reception processing belongs, based on the RNTI used in the reception processing).
He teaches performing the reception processing to receive based on the RNTI used in the reception processing (para 0147, UE performs the reception based on the received RNTI from the base station for processing) 20200260508
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the combination system of KADIRI by performing the reception processing to receive based on the RNTI used in the reception processing as suggested by He, this modification would benefit KADIRI for enabling an efficient data transferring mechanism in a mobile communication system.
As per claim 8, KADIRI teaches the communication method according to claim 6, further comprising outputting, at a medium access control (MAC) layer of the user equipment, the received data to the specified logical channel (para 0101], outputting, at a medium access control (MAC) layer of the user equipment, the received data to the specified logical channel).
As per claim 9, KADIRI teaches the communication method according to claim 6, further comprising receiving, from the base station, information configured to associate a data radio bearer (DRB) and an LCID of the DTCH and information configured to associate a multicast radio bearer (MRB) and an LCID of the MTCH (para 0113], configured to associate a data radio bearer (DRB) and an LCID of the DTCH and information configured to associate a multicast radio bearer (MRB) and an LCID of the MTCH ).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Prior arts made of record, not relied upon: US Patent Publication US 20220322293 A1; US Patent Publication US 20240314522 A1, US Patent Publication US 20230224931 A1
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANEZ EBRAHIM whose telephone number is (571)270-7153. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8 AM to 5 PM If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached on (571) 272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANEZ C EBRAHIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467