DETAILED ACTION
1. This communication is response to the application filed 01/06/2025 havingclaims 1-11 pending and presented for examination.
Priority
2. Application filed on 02/02/2024 is a has CON of PCT/JP2022/029764 08/03/2022
PCT/JP2022/029764 has PRO 63/229,155 08/04/2021 are acknowledged.
Drawings
3. The drawings were received on 02/02/2024 and these drawings are accepted.
4. Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/06/2025, 09/09/2024,06/07/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
4. The Oath/Declaration filed on 02/02/2024 is accepted by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 and other independent claims are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recite an acronym "MRB", define the current acronym "MRB", similar amendments are required in other independent claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by US Publication US 20220209903 A1 Zhang et al. (Hereinafter “Zhang").
As per claim 1, Zhang teaches a communication method used in a mobile communication system for supporting a multicast and broadcast service (MBS), the communication method comprising: receiving, by a user equipment from a network node, a radio resource control (RRC) Reconfiguration message comprising an MBS session identifier of an MBS session, an identifier related to an MRB to which the MBS session is mapped (para 0026-0027], fig. 4, UE receives RRC information from the network wherein the network wherein the received information includes multicast and broadcast service, and multicast identification, multicast bearer information which is mapped to multicast service for the incoming session from the network) and a hyper frame number (HFN) corresponding to the MBS session (para 0022], receives hyper frame number (HFN) corresponding to the MBS session). US 20220209903 A1
As per claim 2, Zhang teaches the communication method according to claim 1, wherein the RRC Reconfiguration message further comprises a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) sequence number corresponding to the MBS session (para 0025], UE monitors the sequence number (SN) of the PDCP service data unit).
As per claim 3, Zhang teaches the communication method according to claim 1, further comprising setting, by the user equipment having received the RRC Reconfiguration message, the HFN comprised in the RRC Reconfiguration message as an HFN initial value (para 0022], setting, by the user equipment having received the RRC Reconfiguration message, the HFN comprised in the RRC Reconfiguration message as an HFN initial value RCVD_COUNt as RCVD_HFN,).
As per claim 4, Zhang teaches the communication method according to claim 1, further comprising reestablishing, by the user equipment having received the RRC Reconfiguration message, a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity (para 0028], received the RRC Reconfiguration message, a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity).
As per claim 5, Zhang teaches the communication method according to claim 1, wherein the MBS session is a multicast session (para 0025], the MBS session is a multicast session).
As per claim 6, Zhang teaches the communication method according to claim 1, wherein the identifier related to the MRB is MRB identifier (para 0028], the received identifier 496 identifier related to the MRB is MRB identifier).
As per claim 7, Zhang teaches a user equipment used in a mobile communication system for supporting a multicast and broadcast service (MBS), the user equipment comprising a receiver configured to receive, from a network node, a radio resource control (RRC) Reconfiguration message comprising an MBS session identifier of an MBS session, an identifier related to an MRB to which the MBS session is mapped (para 0026-0027], fig. 4, UE receives RRC information from the network wherein the network wherein the received information includes multicast and broadcast service, and multicast identification, multicast bearer information which is mapped to multicast service for the incoming session from the network), and a hyper frame number (HFN) corresponding to the MBS session (para 0022], receives hyper frame number (HFN) corresponding to the MBS session).
As per claim 8, Zhang teaches the network node used in a mobile communication system for supporting a multicast and broadcast service (MBS), the network node comprising a transmitter configured to transmit, to a user equipment, a radio resource control (RRC) Reconfiguration message comprising an MBS session identifier of an MBS session, an identifier related to an MRB to which the MBS session is mapped (para 0026-0027], fig. 4, network is transmitting RRC information to the user equipment wherein the network wherein the received information includes multicast and broadcast service, and multicast identification, multicast bearer information which is mapped to multicast service for the incoming session from the network), and a hyper frame number (HFN) corresponding to the MBS session (para 0022], receives hyper frame number (HFN) corresponding to the MBS session).
As per claim 9, Zhang teaches a mobile communication system comprising: the user equipment according to claim 7 (para 0026-0027], fig. 4, UE receives RRC information from the network wherein the network wherein the received information includes multicast and broadcast service, and multicast identification, multicast bearer information which is mapped to multicast service for the incoming session from the network para 0022], receives hyper frame number (HFN) corresponding to the MBS session).
As per claim 10, Zhang teaches the chipset for a user equipment used in a mobile communication system for supporting a multicast and broadcast service (MBS), the chipset comprising a circuitry configured to receive, from a network node, a radio resource control (RRC) Reconfiguration message comprising an MBS session identifier of an MBS session, an identifier related to an MRB to which the MBS session is mapped(para 0026-0027], fig. 4, UE receives RRC information from the network wherein the network wherein the received information includes multicast and broadcast service, and multicast identification, multicast bearer information which is mapped to multicast service for the incoming session from the network), and a hyper frame number (HFN) corresponding to the MBS session(para 0022], receives hyper frame number (HFN) corresponding to the MBS session).
As per claim 11, Zhang teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program that, when the program is executed by a user equipment, cause the user equipment to receive, from a network node, a radio resource control (RRC) Reconfiguration message comprising an MBS session identifier of an MBS session, an identifier related to an MRB to which the MBS session is mapped(para 0026-0027], fig. 4, UE receives RRC information from the network wherein the network wherein the received information includes multicast and broadcast service, and multicast identification, multicast bearer information which is mapped to multicast service for the incoming session from the network), and a hyper frame number (HFN) corresponding to the MBS session(para 0022], receives hyper frame number (HFN) corresponding to the MBS session).
Conclusion
Prior arts made of record, not relied upon: US Patent Publication US 20220124463 A1; US Patent Publication US 20220132333 A1, US Patent Publication US 20220210869 A1
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANEZ EBRAHIM whose telephone number is (571)270-7153. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8 AM to 5 PM If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached on (571) 272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANEZ C EBRAHIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467