2Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
DETAILED ACTION
1. This communication is response to the application filed 04/18/2025 havingclaims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination.
Priority
2. application filed on 02/02/2024 is a continuation of CHINA 202310118208.2 02/02/2023 CHINA 202310513025.0 05/08/2023 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 02/02/2024 and these drawings are accepted.
2. Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/06/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
3. The Oath/Declaration filed on 02/02/2024 is accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6, 10-11, 15-16, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by US publication US 20240413874 A1 Ly et al. (Hereinafter “Ly ").
As per claim 1, Ly teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a base station, configuration information on a channel state information (CSI) report, wherein the configuration information includes information on a one or more sub- configuration[[s]] of parameters for the CSI report (para 0106, 0115], fig. 2, UE is receiving from the base station and based on the received information UE identifies based on the sub configuration information wherein the sub configuration comprises information on an antenna port subset for indicating at least one first antenna port enabled for CSI and at least one second antenna port disabled for the CSI), wherein the sub-configuration of the parameters includes antenna port subset information for indicating antenna ports enabled for CSI, and wherein the antenna ports are mapped to consecutive antenna ports starting at an antenna port 3000 in increasing order ((para 0106, 0115], fig. 2, where the sub configuration includes parameter such as antenna ports subset information such as 8 16 and 24, wherein where in the antenna ports are mapped to consecutive antenna ports starting at an antenna port in increasing order such as 8, 16 and 24); identifying the CSI based on the antenna ports enabled for the CSI (para 0106, 0115], fig. 2, based on the received information from the base station UE identifies CSI information from the base station); and transmitting, to the base station, the CSI report including[[for]] the CSI (para 0106, 0115], fig. 2, UE is transmitting back to the base station , the CSI report for the CSI identified based on the at least one first antenna port); .
As per claim 5, Ly teaches method of claim 1, wherein a number of a CSI processing unit (CPU) for a semi- persistent CSI report is identified based on a number of CSI reference signal (RS) resources corresponding to the at least one sub-configuration (para 0120], for a semi- persistent CSI report is identified based on a number of CSI reference signal (RS) resources corresponding to the sub-configuration).
As per claim 6, Ly teaches a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver; and at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the UE to : receive, from a base station, configuration information on a channel state information (CSI) report, wherein the configuration information includes information on a one or more sub-configuration[[s]] of parameters for the CSI report(para 0106, 0115], fig. 2, UE is receiving from the base station and based on the received information UE identifies based on the sub configuration information wherein the sub configuration comprises information on an antenna port subset for indicating at least one first antenna port enabled for CSI and at least one second antenna port disabled for the CSI), wherein the sub-configuration of the parameters includes antenna port subset information for indicating antenna ports enabled for CSI, and wherein the antenna ports are mapped to consecutive antenna ports starting at an antenna port 3000 in increasing order((para 0106, 0115], fig. 2, where the sub configuration includes parameter such as antenna ports subset information such as 8 16 and 24, wherein where in the antenna ports are mapped to consecutive antenna ports starting at an antenna port in increasing order such as 8, 16 and 24);, identify the CSI based on the antenna ports enabled for the CSI (para 0106, 0115], fig. 2, based on the received information from the base station UE identifies CSI information from the base station) , and transmit, to the base station, the CSI report including [[for]] the CSI (para 0106, 0115], fig. 2, UE is transmitting back to the base station , the CSI report for the CSI identified based on the at least one first antenna port).
As per claim 10, Ly teaches UE of claim 6, wherein a number of a CSI processing unit (CPU) for a semi- persistent CSI report is identified based on a number of CSI reference signal (RS) resources corresponding to the sub-configuration (para 0120], for a semi- persistent CSI report is identified based on a number of CSI reference signal (RS) resources corresponding to the at least one sub-configuration ).
As per claim 11, Ly teaches method performed by a base station , the method comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information on a channel state information (CSI) report, wherein the configuration information includes information on a sub-configuration of parameters for the CSI report (para 0106, 0115], fig. 2, base station is transmitting to the UE configuration information related to the UE and information includes sub configuration information), wherein the sub-configuration of the parameters includes antenna port subset information for indicating antenna ports enabled for CSI, and wherein the antenna ports are mapped to consecutive antenna ports starting at an antenna port 3000 in increasing order (para 0106, 0115], fig. 2, wherein the sub configuration includes sub configuration includes parameter such as antenna ports subset information such as 8 16 and 24, wherein where in the antenna ports are mapped to consecutive antenna ports starting at an antenna port in increasing order such as 8, 16 and 24),; and receiving, from the UE, the CSI report including the CSI , wherein the CSI is based on the antenna ports enabled for the CSI (para 0106, 0115], fig. 2, base station receives from the UE CSI report based on the enabled antenna ports).
As per claim 15, Ly teaches method of claim 11, wherein a number of a CSI processing unit (CPU) for a semi- persistent CSI report is based on a number of CSI reference signal (RS) resources corresponding to the sub-configuration (para 0120], for a semi- persistent CSI report is identified based on a number of CSI reference signal (RS) resources corresponding to the at least one sub-configuration ).
As per claim 16, Ly teaches base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver; and at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the base station to (fig. 2, ) :transmit, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information on a channel state information (CSI) report, wherein the configuration information includes information on a one or more sub-configuration[[s]] of parameters for the CSI report(para 0106, 0115], fig. 2, base station is transmitting to the UE configuration information related to the UE and information includes sub configuration information),, wherein the sub-configuration of the parameters includes antenna port subset information for indicating antenna ports enabled for CSI, and wherein the antenna ports are mapped to consecutive antenna ports starting at an antenna port 3000 in increasing order(para 0106, 0115], fig. 2, wherein the sub configuration includes sub configuration includes parameter such as antenna ports subset information such as 8 16 and 24, wherein where in the antenna ports are mapped to consecutive antenna ports starting at an antenna port in increasing order such as 8, 16 and 24),and receive, from the UE, the CSI report including the CSI , wherein the CSI is based on the antenna ports enabled for the CSI (para 0106, 0115], fig. 2, base station receives from the UE CSI report based on the enabled antenna ports).
As per claim 20, Ly teaches base station of claim 16, wherein a number of a CSI processing unit (CPU) for a semi-persistent CSI report is based on a number of CSI reference signal (RS) resources corresponding to the at least one sub-configuration (para 0120], for a semi- persistent CSI report is identified based on a number of CSI reference signal (RS) resources corresponding to the sub-configuration ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 2,4,7,9,12,14,17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly further view of US PG Pub US 20260046094 A1 to LASELVA et al (hereinafter LASELVA).
As per claim 2, Ly teaches method of claim 1, LASELVA teaches The method of claim 1, wherein sub-configuration includes, information on a codebook subset restriction, , and wherein sub-configuration[[s]] is associated with a non-zero-power (NZP) CSI reference signal (RS) resource (para 0106] receives sub configuration includes with one or more antenna ports and each of the one or more sub-configurations is associated with a non-zero-power (NZP) CSI reference signal (RS) resource,.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the combination system of Ly wherein each of the at least one sub-configuration includes, information on a codebook subset restriction, , and wherein each of the sub-configuration[[s]] is associated with a non-zero-power (NZP) CSI reference signal (RS) resource as suggested by LASELVA, this modification would benefit Ly for enabling a better power saving in a mobile communication device communicating with a network.
As per claim 4, Ly teaches method of claim 1, LASELVA teaches wherein a wherein a number of active enabled antenna ports for a CSI reference signal (RS) is identified based on a maximum value between a number of antenna ports configured for CSI RS resources and a number of antenna ports which are derived from information on the antenna port subset information (para 0099], identified based on a maximum value between a number of antenna ports configured for CSI RS resources and a number of antenna ports which are derived from information on one or more antenna ports, receiving, from the base station, a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) for activating the at least one sub-configuration among the one or more sub-configurations.).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 2.
As per claim 7, Ly teaches UE of claim 6, LASELVA teaches wherein each of the at least one sub-configuration includes, information on a codebook subset restriction, , and wherein each of the sub-configuration[[s]] is associated with a non-zero-power (NZP) CSI reference signal (RS) resource (para 0106] receives sub configuration includes with one or more antenna ports and each of the one or more sub-configurations is associated with a non-zero-power (NZP) CSI reference signal (RS) resource,.
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 2.
As per claim 9, Ly teaches UE of claim 6, LASELVA teaches wherein a wherein a number of active enabled antenna ports for a CSI reference signal (RS) is identified based on a maximum value between a number of antenna ports configured for CSI RS resources and a number of antenna ports which are derived from information on the antenna port subset, and one or more antenna subset information (para 0099], identified based on a maximum value between a number of antenna ports configured for CSI RS resources and a number of antenna ports which are derived from information on one or more antenna ports, receiving, from the base station, a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) for activating the at least one sub-configuration among the one or more sub-configurations.).
Examiner supply es the same rationale as supply in claim 2.
As per claim 12, Ly teaches method of claim 11, LASELVA teaches wherein each of the at least one sub-configuration includes, information on a codebook subset restriction, , and wherein each of the sub-configuration[[s]] is associated with a non-zero-power (NZP) CSI reference signal (RS) resource (para 0106] receives sub configuration includes with one or more antenna ports and each of the one or more sub-configurations is associated with a non-zero-power (NZP) CSI reference signal (RS) resource,.
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 2.
As per claim 14, Ly teaches method of claim 11, LASELVA teaches wherein a wherein a number of active enabled antenna ports for a CSI reference signal (RS) is identified based on a maximum value between a number of antenna ports configured for CSI RS resources and a number of antenna ports which are derived from information on the antenna port subset, and one or more antenna ports associated with the antenna ports (para 0099], identified based on a maximum value between a number of antenna ports configured for CSI RS resources and a number of antenna ports which are derived from information on one or more antenna ports, transmitting, to the UE, a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) for activating the at least one sub-configuration among the one or more sub-configurations.).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 2.
As per claim 17, Ly teaches base station of claim 16, LASELVA wherein each of the at least one sub-configuration includes, information on a codebook subset restriction, , and wherein each of the sub-configuration[[s]] is associated with a non-zero-power (NZP) CSI reference signal (RS) resource (para 0106] receives sub configuration includes with one or more antenna ports and each of the one or more sub-configurations is associated with a non-zero-power (NZP) CSI reference signal (RS) resource,.
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 2.
As per claim 19, Ly teaches base station of claim 16, LASELVA wherein a wherein a number of active enabled antenna ports for a CSI reference signal (RS) is identified based on a maximum value between a number of antenna ports configured for CSI RS resources and a number of antenna ports which are derived from information on the antenna port subset, and one or more antenna subset information (para 0099], identified based on a maximum value between a number of antenna ports configured for CSI RS resources and a number of antenna ports which are derived from information on one or more antenna ports, transmit, to the UE, a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) for activating the at least one sub-configuration among the one or more sub-configurations.).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 2.
5. Claim(s) 3, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly further view of US PG Pub US 20220352951 A1 to Ly et al (hereinafter Ly Yong).
As per claim 3, Ly teaches the method of claim 1, Ly Yong teaches wherein the UE is not configured with more enabled antenna ports in bandwidth parts (BWPs) than an antenna port capability of the UE (para 0039], antenna ports in active bandwidth parts (BWPs) than an antenna port capability of the UE). 20220352951
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fiLy ng date, to modify the combination system of Ly by wherein the UE is not configured with more enabled antenna ports in bandwidth parts (BWPs) than an antenna port capability of the UE as suggested by Ly Yong, this modification would benefit Ly for enabling a for an increased number of users and devices, as well as support for higher data rates in a mobile communication.
As per claim 8, Ly teaches UE of claim 6, Ly Yong teaches and wherein the UE is not configured with more enabled antenna ports in bandwidth parts (BWPs) than an antenna port capability of the UE (para 0039], antenna ports in active bandwidth parts (BWPs) than an antenna port capability of the UE ).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 3.
Response to Arguments
On page 11-12 applicant’s argument regarding claim 1, applicant argues that, “antenna ports. However, Ly fails to disclose the claimed elements of the amended claim 1. Ly does not describe "the sub-configuration of the parameters includes antenna port subset information for indicating antenna ports enabled for CSI, and wherein the antenna ports are mapped to consecutive antenna ports starting at an antenna port 3000 in increasing order" as recited in the amended claim 1”. Applicant arguments are considered but are not persuasive. Ly in para 0106, 0115], fig. 2 teaches a UE and base station communication wherein the UE receives configuration and sub configuration from base station and includes parameter such as antenna ports subset information such as 8 16 and 24, wherein where in the antenna ports are mapped to consecutive antenna ports starting at an antenna port in increasing order such as 8, 16 and 24.
On page 12 applicant’s argument regarding claim 1, applicant argues that, “ However, Yong Li never discloses that how to indicate the antenna port subset information using a mapping operation to actual CSIRS antenna ports when such antenna port subset information is provided as recited in the amended claim 1. In contrast, Yong Li explains that how resources are mapped to CSI-RS ports and is therefore not directly relevant to the claimed elements of the amended claim 1. Applicant arguments are considered but are not persuasive. Ly in para 0106, 0115], fig. 2 teaches a UE and base station communication wherein the UE receives configuration and sub configuration from base station and includes parameter such as antenna ports subset information such as 8 16 and 24, wherein where in the antenna ports are mapped to consecutive antenna ports starting at an antenna port in increasing order such as 8, 16 and 24.
Conclusion
Prior arts made of record, not relied upon: US PG publication US 20220159667 A1; US 20210410124 A1; US 20220006686 A1.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented inthis Office action. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or early er communications from the examiner should be directed to ANEZ EBRAHIM whose telephone number is (571)270-7153. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8 AM to 5 PM If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hassan PhilLy ps can be reached on (571) 272- 3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this appLy cation or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an appLy cation may be obtained from the Patent AppLy cation Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for pubLy shed appLy cations may be obtained from either Private PAIR or PubLy c PAIR. Status information for unpubLy shed appLy cations is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would Ly ke assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANEZ C EBRAHIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467/