DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application 18/431,793 filed on 02/02/2024 claims the benefit of provisional U.S. Patent Application No. 63/443,279, filed on 02/03/2023.
The priority date of claim 85 and its dependent claims 86-104 is determined to be 02/03/2023, the filing date of provisional U.S. Patent Application No. 63/443,279.
Status of Claims
Applicant’s amendments to claims filed 08/14/2026 in response to the Non-Final Rejection mailed 05/19/2026 are acknowledged.
Claims 85, 87, 90, 92, 93, and 103 are amended.
Claims 85-104 are pending and under examination.
Response to Remarks filed 08/14/2026
The amendments and arguments presented in the papers filed 08/14/2026 ("Remarks”) have been thoroughly considered. The issues raised in the Office action dated 05/19/2026 listed below have been reconsidered as indicated.
a) The 35 USC 112(b) indefiniteness rejections of claim have been withdrawn in view of the amendments to claims 85 and 103.
New and modified grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment are detailed below and this action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 85-104 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
These are new rejections necessitated by claim amendments.
Claim 85 recites the limitations “(i) an amplifier probe comprising a recognition sequence and at least two reporter hybridization regions -, and (ii) -- each reporter probe -- comprises a detectable label and a reporter region capable of hybridizing to a reporter hybridization region of the at least two reporter hybridization regions”. The limitation “a reporter region capable of hybridizing to a reporter hybridization region” is unclear. It is unclear is a single reporter probe is intended to hybridize to a single reporter hybridization region or what structure is required to perform the function.
Further “each reporter probe of at least a subset of the plurality of reporter probes” makes it unclear whether each and every reporter probe comprises a detectable label and reporter region or whether not every reporter probe comprises a label and reporter region.
Claims 86-104 are similarly indefinite because they directly or indirectly depend from claim 85.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 85-99 and 104 are/remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US20220119870) in view of Daugharthy et al. (US PGPub 20190032121).
Regarding claim 85, Ma teaches a method of multiplex detection of a plurality of target nucleic acids, the method comprising: contacting a sample comprising a cell (a biological sample) with a set of probes, wherein the set of probes comprises amplifiers that comprise binding sites to a pre-amplifier (recognition sequence) and binding sites for label probes (reporter hybridization regions) (para 38, claim 2). Ma teaches a plurality of label probes (reporter probes) that bind to the amplifiers (para 24) and detecting the bound detectable labels bound (para 38).
Ma teaches the amplifiers are capable of hybridizing to multiple label probes (para 26) with a space between the binding sites for label probes (Fig. 1A for example. AP=amplifier probe, LP=label probe).
Ma is silent regarding the length of the spacer region.
Daugharthy teaches methods for detecting genomic nucleic acids using sets of probes. Daugharthy teaches the use of spacers sequences that separate functional regions of the probe, where the functional regions are defined as those involved in nucleic acid hybridization or signal amplification (para 43). Daugharthy teaches exemplary spacer sequences are poly-T sequences including d(T)4, d(T)6, and d(T)8 (para 43), which reads on a spacer region of between 4 and 8 nucleotides in length between reporter hybridization regions.
Daugharthy teaches that the spacer regions are designed to prevent intramolecular hybridization to form hairpins or other DNA secondary structures or intermolecular hybridization to other probes (para 43).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ma and Daugharthy to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. The modification would have entailed using the specific spacer sequences of Daugharthy in the space between reporter hybridization regions. One would have been motivated by the recommendation of the specific spacer regions for the benefits recited by Daugharthy. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials and methods are widely known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the prior art.
Regarding claim 86, Ma teaches amplifier probes that comprise, in order, a binding site to a pre-amplifier (recognition sequence), a first label probe binding region, a first spacer region, a second label probe binding region, a second spacer region, and a third label probe binding region (Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 87, Ma teaches an amplifier with a linker between the pre-amplifier (PA) binding site (recognition sequence) and the first label probe binding region (Fig. 1A).
Ma is silent regarding the length of the linker sequence.
Daugharthy teaches methods for detecting genomic nucleic acids using sets of probes. Daugharthy teaches the use of spacers sequences that separate functional regions of the probe, where the functional regions are defined as those involved in nucleic acid hybridization or signal amplification (para 43). Daugharthy teaches exemplary spacer sequences are poly-T sequences including d(T)4, d(T)6, and d(T)8 (para 43), which reads on a linker sequence of between 2 and 8 nucleotides in length between the recognition sequence and the first reporter hybridization region.
Daugharthy teaches that the spacer regions are designed to prevent intramolecular hybridization to form hairpins or other DNA secondary structures or intermolecular hybridization to other probes (para 43).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ma and Daugharthy to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. The modification would have entailed using the specific spacer sequences of Daugharthy in the space between reporter hybridization regions. One would have been motivated by the recommendation of the specific spacer regions for the benefits recited by Daugharthy. The same benefits of preventing intra- and intermolecular hybridization would apply to the amplifier probe regions of the recognition sequence and the first reporter hybridization sequence. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials and methods are widely known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the prior art.
Regarding claim 88, Daugharthy teaches exemplary spacer sequences are poly-T sequences, i.e. a sequence of thymidines (para 43).
Regarding claim 89, Daugharthy teaches exemplary spacer sequences are poly-T sequences, i.e. a sequence of thymidines (para 43).
Daugharthy does not teach the spacer regions are the same.
However, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ma and Daugharthy to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. The modification would have entailed designing amplifier probes with the same spacer region sequence between the two reporter hybridization regions. Daugharthy teaches three exemplary sequences for spacer regions. Selecting spacer regions that are the same has the benefit of simplifying probe design and the selection of identical spacer regions would be merely a matter of judicious selection and routine optimization in the course of probe design by one of skill in the art. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials and methods are widely known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the prior art.
Regarding claim 90, Ma teaches segments of complementary nucleic acid sequence between the components is generally in the range of 10 to 50 nucleotides, including lengths of 15 to 25 nucleotides (para 112), which is encompassed by lengths of 15 to 25 nucleotides.
Regarding claim 91, Ma teaches detectable labels can be fluorophores (paras 80, 117).
Regarding claim 92, Ma teaches the use of Atto Rho6G (para 122)., which has an excitation peak at 533 nm.
Regarding claim 93, Ma teaches the use of Atto 590 (para 122), which has an excitation peak at 592 nm.
Regarding claim 94, Ma teaches label probes (LP) with detectable labels (filled circle) that are separated from the reporter region by one or more nucleotides (Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 95, Ma teaches an amplifier probe can hybridize to a pre-amplifier (adapter probe) (para 26).
Regarding claim 96, Ma teaches a complex comprising 4 amplifier probes hybridized to an adapter probe (Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 97, Ma teaches an pre-amplifier probe (adapter probe) can hybridize to a target probe (primary probe) (para 27).
Regarding claim 98, Ma teaches an amplifier probe can hybridize to a target probe (primary probe) (para 26, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 99, Ma teaches an amplifier probe can hybridize to a target nucleic acid (para 26).
Regarding claim 104, Ma teaches the cells (biological sample) fixed to a slide (i.e. a substrate) (para 150).
Claims 100-103 are/remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US20220119870) in view of Daugharthy et al. (US PGPub 20190032121)as applied to claims 85-99 and 104 above, and further in view of Saka et al. (Immuno-SABER enables highly multiplexed and amplified protein imaging in tissues. 2019. Nat Biotechnol 37: 1080–1090).
Regarding claims 100-102, neither Ma nor Daugharthy teach the target nucleic acid is an oligonucleotide reporter in a labeling agent bound to a non-nucleic acid analyte (claim 100); wherein the labeling agent is an antibody conjugated to the oligonucleotide reporter (claim 101); or wherein the non-nucleic acid analyte is a protein (claim 102).
Saka teaches a method of multiplexed and amplified protein imaging in tissues (Immuno-SABER), the method comprising using DNA barcoded antibodies (oligonucleotide reporters in a labeling agent) that bind a protein (non-nucleic acid analyte) (Figs. 1B and 1C). The antibodies are conjugated to DNA sequences (p. 1082, col. 1) and the signal is amplified by binding multiple fluorophore-bearing imager strands (p. 1081, col. 1).
Saka states that mapping of proteins in tissues is challenging due to limitations in multiplexing (Abstract) and teaches a method of “branched SABER” amplification using amplifier probes and reporter probes (Fig. 3a) and teaches that branched SABER enhances signal and improves sensitivity (p. 1085, col. 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ma and Daugharthy with Saka to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. The modification would have entailed using the method of Ma and Daugharthy applied to the DNA-barcoded antibodies of Saka. One would have been motivated by the ability to detect proteins with sensitivity by using the nucleic acid amplification techniques taught by Ma and Daugharthy, the basic principles of which were known by Saka. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials and methods are widely known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the prior art.
Regarding claim 103, Ma teaches a sample comprising a cell comprising a plurality of target nucleic acids (claim 1), which reads on the target nucleic acid is a cellular nucleic acid analyte.
Response to Arguments against Claim Rejections - 35 U.S. C § 103
The response asserts that the recited spacer region separating the reporter hybridization regions of the amplifier probe is designed for specific advantages and cites para 37 of the specification stating that the spacer region reduces or avoids autoquenching and avoids steric effects that reduce the efficiency of reporter probe hybridization. In support, the response points to experimental data supporting the asserted benefits (citing paras 249-50 and Figure 8 of the instant specification) describing "[i]mproved signal intensities were detected as the spacer length in the amplifier probe was increased." (p. 7)
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the claimed spacer region is designed for specific advantages, including avoiding autoquenching and steric effects, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Applicant’s arguments are not directed to the structure of the claimed probes, but rather to their design and purpose. In this regard, Daugharthy teaches exemplary spacer sequences are poly-T sequences including d(T)4, d(T)6, and d(T)8 (para 43), which reads on a spacer region of between 4 and 8 nucleotides in length between reporter hybridization regions.
The response asserts that to establish a prima facie case of obviousness, the Office must provide "a clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious." (p. 8) The response asserts that (1) Ma does not disclose the required spacer region and the alleged "space" depicted in Fig. 1A is merely a schematic separation between binding sites; Fig. 1A does not provide the nucleotide base-level resolution that would be necessary for determining the presence of a spacer region. Applicant points to MPEP 2125: "Drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed ... " and "[W]hen the reference does not disclose that the drawings are to scale and is silent as to dimensions, arguments based on measurement of the drawing features are of little value”. The response asserts that that nowhere in the description of Ma indicates that Fig. 1A depicts a spacer
region between hybridization regions; thus, the gaps between LPs in Fig. 1A cannot be construed to teach spacers regions. (p. 8) The response further asserts that (2) Daugharthy does not remedy this deficiency and the spacers of Daugharthy are not disclosed as a spacer of defined length positioned between two reporter hybridization regions (p. 8) Rather Daugharthy describe the location of the spacer as being between the genomic-complementary domain and barcode domain, or among the complementary, barcode, and priming domains, of a barcoded Oligopaint (p. 9) The response asserts that Daugharthy does not recognize auto-quenching between adjacent reporter labels or steric interference between reporter probes as problems to be solved by the introduction of a spacer region, and that, without this motivation, the skilled artisan would not seek to modify Ma for at least the reasons described above with any spacers of Daugharthy. (p. 9)
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding (1), Ma does not explicitly teach spacer sequences between binding sites for label probes (reporter hybridization regions). However, Ma does teach spacer sequences on pre-pre-amplifier probes between binding sites for multiple pre-amplifier molecules in order to allow the multiple pre-amplifier probes to bind simultaneously to the pre-pre-amplifier (para 101, Fig. 9C represented as the space between PA binding positions on PPA-1 and PPA-2) and, further, teaches that two or more target probes hybridize to adjacent (i.e., non-overlapping) sites in a target (para 33 and Fig. 1A represented as a space between TP target probes). Ma further recites bases between non-overlapping target binding probe sites can be selected form an integer up to 500 bases, including 5 bases (para116). One of skill in the art would have recognized a separation between binding sites as necessary for non-overlapping binding sites, which would include additional sequences between the binding sites. One of skill in the art would further have recognized that the same sequence and hybridization design principles applied to any of the sets of multiple probe binding sites recited by Ma., including the binding sites for label probes. Further one of skill in the art would have recognized the principle that overlapping binding sites, with no space between binding sites, would create an obstacle for the binding of multiple label probes.
Regarding the schematic nature of the drawing, MPEP 2125 further states that “When the reference is a utility patent, it does not matter that the feature shown is unintended or unexplained in the specification. The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art.” One of skill in the art would have understood the space between the binding sites for label probes to represent nucleotides separating the binding sites as Ma discloses spaces between other probe sequences represented in the figures in a similar fashion.
Regarding (2), as described in the 103 rejection above, Daugharthy teaches the use spacers of the claimed lengths in probe sequences with the purpose of separating regions such as those required for hybridization or signal amplification, and provides a rationale for doing so. Although Daugharthy does not teach verbatim the claimed probe, one of skill in the art would have recognized the binding sites for label probes as functional regions of the probe, and, given the use of bases between binding sites taught by Ma, been motivated to use the exemplary spacer sequences as taught by Daugharthy. The fact that Daugharthy suggests a use for the spacer sequences that does not include the design rationale intended by the Applicant does not limit the function of the spacer sequences in other contexts, for example in allowing multiple probes to bind simultaneously as in Ma.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., auto-quenching between adjacent reporter labels or steric interference between reporter probes as problems to be solved by the introduction of a spacer region) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The response asserts that the application further describes unexpected results, citing paras 243 and 247, and Figs.8-9 in support. The response asserts that the specification describes “a strong correlation between spacer length and signal intensity” up to 8T lengths, "[i]mproved signal intensities” with increased spacer length in the amplifier, and “the importance of increased spacer length to reduce steric hinderance during probe assembly and dye-to-dye quenching during fluorescence imaging." (p. 9)
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
As set forth in the 103 rejection above, Daugharthy teaches exemplary spacer sequences of the claimed lengths and teaches the benefits of using spacer sequences between functional regions. Thus, one of skill in the art would not have considered it unexpected for use of the claimed spacer sequence lengths to improve signal amplification in probes with multiple binding sites, as Ma teaches the use of bases between probe hybridization regions, i.e. spacer sequences, as necessary for the binding of multiple probes. In the case of label probe binding, the binding of multiple probes would lead to signal amplification.
Claims 100-103
The response asserts that Saka does not cure the deficiencies above. Specifically, Saka does not disclose or suggest "an amplifier probe comprising at least two reporter hybridization regions separated by a spacer region of between 4 and 8 nucleotides in length." (p. 10).
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant presents no arguments regarding limitations taught by Saka. Thus, for the reasons stated above, and those already of the record, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA GRAY/Examiner, Art Unit 1682
/WU CHENG W SHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1682