Status of claims
The following claims have been rejected or allowed for the following reasons:
Claim(s) 7-9 is rejected under 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 10-20 are withdrawn based on applicants response to restriction
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement/statements (IDS) were filed on 9/15/25. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as applied to Claussen (US 20220347853 A1), in further view of Li (Localization and manipulation of small parts using GelSight tactile sensing | NPL | 2014).
Regarding claim 7 Claussen teaches A method comprising: receiving one or more images of an object held by a robotic component, wherein each image is associated with a respective perturbation pose of the robotic component that is at an offset relative to a nominal pose of the robotic component; providing the one or more images of the object as input to a machine learning model that is configured to map an input comprising one or more images of an object to an output comprising data representing the offset between a perturbation pose of the robotic component and the nominal pose of the robotic component, (Claussen [0027] reads “The controller 101 uses a machine learning-based inference unit 211, such as a DNN model, with a dedicated hardware accelerator to process two image inputs 201, 202 to determine a configuration error 215. The configuration error 215 is the difference between a desired configuration image 201 and the current configuration 202 image for workpiece 205,”);
and generating correction data representing commands to move the robotic component based on the output to reduce the offset of the perturbation pose relative to the nominal pose so that the object is closer to [[a]] the goal pose. (Claussen [0027] reads “Dynamic controller 212 operates by receiving a low-dimensional quantity of configuration error 215 (e.g., a relative pose) and in response, generates a control action signal 216 for positional adjustment of the robotic device 220 in 3D space which reduces the error by moving workpiece 205 nearer to the desired configuration 201. In an embodiment, each control action signal 216 may act on a pulse width modulation of power to a servo motor within robot 220 for fine resolution of motion control of a gripper that has grasped the workpiece 205 and is tasked with placement of the workpiece 205 to a target position represented by the image of desired configuration 201.”);
Claussen does not teach wherein the nominal pose defines a pose of the robotic component relative to the object when the object is in a goal pose for the object, and wherein the goal pose for the object defines a position and orientation of the object relative to a second object;
Li in analogous art, teaches wherein the nominal pose defines a pose of the robotic component relative to the object when the object is in a goal pose for the object, (Li Section IV. Subsection B. Connector Alignment reads “After grasping the connector, the robot moves the gripper to a pose a few centimeters above the mating hole. Then, after localizing the connector in the grasp, it calculates a target pose that will align the connector just above the hole. This occurs as follows. Since we have assumed that the mating hole is fixtured to the environment (i.e. the base frame), we can calculate the target transform, bTo∗, for the connector with respect to the base frame. This target transform denotes the pose of the connector hovering just over the hole. The pose of the gripper in the base frame, bTg, is available using the forward kinematics of the robot. The transform, gTm, denotes the pose of the map with respect to the gripper. This must be measured during map creation. The map is created by registering tactile images relative to a single root image. The pose of this root image with respect to the gripper must be measured and stored as gTm. Finally, mTo denotes the pose of the object in the map frame. This transform is calculated using feature-based height map registration. Given all of these transforms, we can calculate the target gripper pose as follows. The transforms are related by: bTo=mTg gTm mTo.”);
and wherein the goal pose for the object defines a position and orientation of the object relative to a second object; (Li introduction reads “Small parts manipulation and insertion is an important robotics problem that has applications in manufacturing, space and hazardous environments, and medicine. A good example is the problem of grasping and inserting a USB cable, as shown in Figure 1. This insertion is challenging because the tolerances are very low - less than plus or minus one millimeter. Nevertheless, this type of fine manipulation problem is important.” From this source It would be appreciated by one with ordinary skill in the art that the goal positioning of a USB insertion task would require the positioning of the two objects relative to each other.);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Claussen with that of Li to include a method for understanding the relationship between small difficult to manipulate objects. This would allow the system to operate with an improved amount of accuracy. (Li page 1 paragraph 2 reads “Small parts manipulation and insertion is an important robotics problem that has applications in manufacturing, space and hazardous environments, and medicine. … Nevertheless, this type of fine manipulation problem is important. Today, human factory workers are often employed to perform fine insertions and manipulation of exactly this kind.”);
Regarding claim 9 Claussen/Li teaches The method of claim 7, wherein a type of each image comprises any one of: an optical image, data derived from an optical image, (Claussen [0028] reads “The robot acquires 301 visual data of the object using, for example, one or more cameras (e.g., 3D cloud point cameras) arranged on or near the robot.”);
a tactile image, or data derived from a tactile image. (Li page 2 paragraph 2 reads “The tactile map is a model of what the object surface is expected to feel like as a function of contact configuration and is created prior to manipulation (see Figure 1 (b)). During manipulation, the robot perceives tactile information regarding the pose of the object in the hand.”);
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as applied Claussen/Li, in further view of Nakamura (US 20230390935 A1).
Regarding claim 8 Claussen/Li teaches The method of claim 7.
Claussen/Li does not teach wherein the offset between the perturbation pose of the robotic component and the nominal pose comprises an offset in any one of: translation, roll rotation, pitch, or yaw.
Nakamura in analogous art, teaches wherein the offset between the perturbation pose of the robotic component and the nominal pose comprises an offset in any one of: translation, roll rotation, pitch, or yaw. (Nakamura [0034] reads “Note that the operation command output by the learning type control device 2 is not limited to the target angle of each of the joints, and may be, for example, X, Y, and Z positions of the end effector 12 and position and orientation information represented by yaw, pitch, and roll angles. In this case, the robot control device 5 may be configured to internally calculate a solution of inverse kinematics of the working robot 6 and output the motor current of the working robot 6 as the control command.”);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Claussen/Li with that of Nakamura to include an understanding of the types of error or offset that objects may have. This addition would then lead to an increase in the accuracy of manipulation. (Nakamura [0005] reads “Meanwhile, the learning unit (trained model) which has been subjected to machine learning is basically an approximate inference device based on statistics, and can perform inference with high accuracy in a case where there is an input in a situation close to a situation where the learning unit has been subjected to the machine learning, but the inference accuracy of the learning unit decreases in a case where there is an input in a situation different from the time where the learning unit has been subjected to the machine learning.”);
Response to arguments
Applicant argues < In particular, Claussen describes a machine learning model that processes two images to determine a configuration error for a workpiece between a current configuration for the workpiece and a desired configuration for the workpiece, rather than a machine learning model that maps one or more images of an object to an output that includes data representing the offset between a perturbation pose of a robotic component and a nominal pose of the robotic component. Thus, Claussen determines a configuration error for the workpiece, rather than an offset between a perturbation pose of a robotic component and a nominal pose of the robotic component, "wherein the nominal pose defines a pose of the robotic component relative to the object when the object is in a goal pose for the object, and wherein the goal pose for the object defines a position and orientation of the object relative to a second object," as recited by amended claim 1. > [Page 9 second paragraph]. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The amended limitations of the claimed invention we shown to be covered by the prior art of record in the rejection above. Li specifically discusses the relationship between the current position of a robotically grasped object and the pose of the robotic system. This transformation was preformed kinematically in their art which would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to do. Further Li is relied upon to teach that the goal pose of an object could be related to its position relative to other object. The example presented by Li in figure 1 directly correlates to figure 2 of the current specification, Though some aspects of Claussen may also read on this limitation. (Li figure 1 is depicted below);
Li Figure 1
Therefore, the combination teaches the claimed invention.
Other references not Cited
Throughout examination other references were found that could read onto the prior art. Though these references were not used in this examination they could be used in future examination and could read on the contents of the current disclosure. These references are, Xu (US 20230339118 A1); Homberg (US 20190337152 A1); Sampedro (US 10058995 B1).
Conclusion
/JOHN MARTIN O'MALLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658