DETAILED ACTION
Claims 37-49 and 67-73 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of U.S. Provisional Application Serial No. 63/443,309 filed February 3, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 2/16/2024, 5/24/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 71 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 71 recites “a selection of a resource by the EU for transmitting ". It is suggested to change “a selection of a resource by the EU for transmitting”, to “a selection of a resource by the UE for transmitting”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 37-49 and 67-73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 37 recites in lines 5-6, “determining whether one or more conditions for exchanging data with the base station using MT-SDT are satisfied” - (step A), and in lines 7-8, “transmitting, in the RRC_INACTIVE state, an uplink (UL) response message to initiate the MT-SDT, based on a determination that the one or more conditions are satisfied” – (step B). In view of step A the UE is determining whether one or more conditions for exchanging data with the base station using MT-SDT are satisfied, it is unclear whether the UE will possess the knowledge of the network (one or more conditions), since in view of step B, there were no steps in the claim for measuring/ exchanging any information on condition, prior to the one or more conditions being satisfied. Thus the claim is indefinite.
Claims 67 and 73 are also rejected for the same reason as set forth above for claim 37.
Claims 38-49 and 68-72 are also rejected since they are dependent on the respective independent claims 37, and 67, respectively as set forth above.
For purpose of examination, the examiner interprets the limitation as best understood.
Notice re prior art available under both pre-AIA and AIA
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 37-39, 41-42 and 45-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huawei (Early DL data transmission, R2-1813914, 10-12-2018), and further in view of ZTE (MT-SDT procedure, R2-2211532, 00-18-2022).
As per claim 37, Huawei disclose A method (see Fig.2, Fig.4-Fig.7, UE in RRC_Idle an RRC_INACTIVE state)comprising:
receiving, in an RRC_INACTIVE state, a paging message from a base station of a wireless network, the paging messaging comprising a Mobile Terminated Small Data Transmission (MT-SDT) indication (see section , 2.2 DL-EDT solutions; 2.2.2.1 DL data / MT-SDT with MSG2 for the CP solution); and
transmitting, in the RRC_INACTIVE state, an uplink (UL) response message to initiate the MT-SDT, based on a determination that the one or more conditions are satisfied (see Fig.3. Step 8, UE transmitting UL ACK based on a determination that the one or more conditions are satisfied).
Although Huawei disclose receiving, in an RRC_INACTIVE state, a paging message from a base station of a wireless network;
Huawei however does not explicitly disclose determining whether one or more conditions for exchanging data with the base station using MT-SDT are satisfied;
ZTE however disclose determining whether one or more conditions for exchanging data with a base station using MT-SDT are satisfied (see Section 2, a base station trigger MT-SDT in a paging message, and section 3, upon receiving MT-SDT trigger in the paging record, the UE performs further checks to
see if radio conditions are suitable for SDT to be initiated, the UE checks/determining SDT RSRP threshold or SSB level RSRP threshold); and transmitting, in the RRC_INACTIVE state, an uplink (UL) response message to initiate the MT-SDT, based on a determination that the one or more conditions are satisfied (see Fig.2, sections 2 and 4, UE transmitting a paging response in the RRC_INACTIVE state to initiate the MT-SDT based on the threshold condition check).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of determining whether one or more conditions for exchanging data with a base station using MT-SDT are satisfied, as taught by ZTE, in the system of Huawei, so that upon receiving MT-SDT trigger in the paging record, the UE performs further checks to
see if radio conditions are suitable for SDT to be initiated, see ZTE section 5, proposal 3 and Proposal 4.
As per claim 38, the combination of Huawei and ZTE disclose the method of claim 37.
ZTE further disclose wherein the one or more conditions comprises a first condition pertaining to a radio quality of wireless signals received from the base station (see section 3, section 5, a radio quality of wireless signals received from the base station is checked by the UE, Proposal 4: Upon receiving MT-SDT trigger, the UE shall perform the following checks before SDT procedure is initiated (all these same as Rel-17)).
As per claim 39, the combination of Huawei and ZTE disclose the method of claim 38.
ZTE further disclose wherein the first condition is satisfied when a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) of the wireless signals is greater than a threshold value (see section 3, section 5, RSRP of the wireless signals is greater than a threshold value, 4b: Check for SDT RSRP threshold).
As per claim 41, the combination of Huawei and ZTE disclose the method of claim 38.
ZTE further disclose wherein the one or more conditions comprise a second condition pertaining to a selection of a resource for transmitting the UL response message to the base station (see section 3, section 5, Proposal 4: Upon receiving MT-SDT trigger, the UE shall perform the following checks before SDT procedure is initiated (all these same as Rel-17), -4d: Check for SSB level RSRP threshold for CG resource).
As per claim 42, the combination of Huawei and ZTE disclose the method of claim 41.
ZTE further disclose wherein the second condition comprises selecting the resource from among: a legacy Random Access Channel (RACH) resource, a RACH resource specific to Small Data Transmission (SDT), and a Configured Grant (CG) resource specific to SDT (see sections 4 and 5, the SDT cause is known to the network either by the RACH resource or by CG resource used by the UE. Since the network anyway knows the UE has been paged for mt-SDT, there is no need for a separate mt-SDT resume cause either).
As per claim 45, the combination of Huawei and ZTE disclose the method of claim 37.
ZTE further disclose wherein the UL response message is transmitted using one or more resources selected based on a configuration received from the base station (see section 2, Proposal 2: the network triggers MT-SDT only if the UE is configured for SDT and if the DL data is mapped to SDT RB(s) / a configuration received from the base station and section 5, Proposal 5: No new resume cause is needed for MT-SDT (i.e., the UE reuses mt-Access as the resume cause)).
As per claim 46, the combination of Huawei and ZTE disclose the method of claim 45.
ZTE further disclose wherein the configuration received from the base station is a RRC specific configuration (see section 3, at RRC level UE performs general checks to see if UE is configured for SDT and if cell supports SDT etc. These checks can be kept as it is but they anyway will pass since the network will only trigger MT-SDT).
As per claim 47, the combination of Huawei and ZTE disclose the method of claim 45.
ZTE further disclose wherein the configuration received from the base station is a System Information Block (SIB) broadcast configuration (see section 3, a System Information Block (SIB)/SSB broadcast configuration received from the network node).
As per claim 48, the combination of Huawei and ZTE disclose the method of claim 37.
ZTE further disclose wherein the method is performed by a user equipment (UE) (see Fig.1, UE).
As per claim 49, the combination of Huawei and ZTE disclose the method of claim 37.
ZTE further disclose wherein the method is performed by at least one baseband processor (see Fig.1, gNB with a baseband processor triggering MT-SDT).
Claims 40, 43, 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huawei (Early DL data transmission, R2-1813914, 10-12-2018), in view of ZTE (MT-SDT procedure, R2-2211532, 00-18-2022) and further in view of Lenovo (Discussion on the MT-SDT procedure, R2-2212120, 11-18-2022).
As per claim 40, the combination of Huawei and ZTE disclose the method of claim 38.
The combination of Huawei and ZTE however does not explicitly disclose wherein the first condition is configured for both MT-SDT and Mobile Originated Small Data Transmission (MO-SDT).
Lenovo however disclose wherein a first condition is configured for both MT-SDT and Mobile Originated Small Data Transmission (MO-SDT) (see section 2, Proposal 2: UL SDT (MO-SDT) procedure is initiated to respond to the paging for SDT and Proposal 3: the RSRP thresholds applied for MT-SDT which is different to the existing RSRP thresholds for MO-SDT are defined to determine whether to perform SDT procedure to respond to the paging for SDT).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a first condition is configured for both MT-SDT and Mobile Originated Small Data Transmission (MO-SDT, as taught by Lenovo, in the system of Huawei and ZTE, so that : UL SDT (MO-SDT) procedure is initiated to respond to the paging for SDT, see Lenovo section 2, proposal 2.
As per claim 43, the combination of Huawei and ZTE disclose the method of claim 43.
ZTE further disclose wherein the legacy RACH resource is selected (see sections 4 and 5, the SDT cause is known to the network either by the RACH resource or by CG resource used by the UE. Since the network anyway knows the UE has been paged for mt-SDT, one or more RACH resources specific to SDT).
ZTE however does not explicitly disclose wherein the legacy RACH resource is different from one or more RACH resources specific to SDT;
Lenovo however disclose wherein legacy RACH resource is selected and wherein the legacy RACH resource is different from one or more RACH resources specific to SDT (see section 2, the legacy SDT resource selection procedure as defined for Rel-17, UE would determine based on a data volume threshold and some RSRP thresholds whether to select the CG-SDT procedure or RACH-SDT procedure or even select the legacy RRCResume procedure (transit to RRC CONNECTED and
performing data transmission in CONNECTED state)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein legacy RACH resource is selected and wherein the legacy RACH resource is different from one or more RACH resources specific to SDT, as taught by Lenovo, in the system of Huawei and ZTE, so that : UL SDT (MO-SDT) procedure is initiated to respond to the paging for SDT, see Lenovo section 2, proposal 2.
As per claim 44, the combination of Huawei and ZTE disclose the method of claim 38.
The combination of Huawei and ZTE however does not explicitly disclose determining that the first condition is not satisfied, and responsive to determining that the first conditions is not satisfied, initiating an RRC Resume procedure.
Lenovo however disclose determining that the first condition is not satisfied, and responsive to determining that the first conditions is not satisfied, initiating an RRC Resume procedure (Proposal 2: UL SDT (MO-SDT) procedure should be initiated to respond to the paging for SDT. Following the legacy SDT resource selection procedure as defined for Rel-17, UE would determine based on a data volume threshold and some RSRP thresholds whether to select the CG-SDT procedure or RACH-SDT procedure or even select the legacy RRC Resume procedure (transit to RRC CONNECTED and
performing data transmission in CONNECTED state)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of determining that the first condition is not satisfied, and responsive to determining that the first conditions is not satisfied, initiating an RRC Resume procedure, as taught by Lenovo, in the system of Huawei and ZTE, so that : UL SDT (MO-SDT) procedure is initiated to respond to the paging for SDT, see Lenovo section 2, proposal 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 67-69 and 73 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Koskinen et al. (PCT/CN2022/133030 further published as US Pub. No.: 2025/0106930).
As per claim 67, Koskinen disclose A non-transitory computer storage medium encoded with instructions (see Fig.5, Fig.6, para. 0145-0147, a computer program 530 includes computer executable instructions that are executed by the associated processor 510) that, when executed by one or more processors (see Fig.2, Fig.4, Fig. 5, a network device 120 with processor 510, see para. 0145-0147, the program 530 is stored in the ROM 524, and the processor 510 perform any suitable actions and processing by loading the program 530 into the RAM 522), cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
transmitting, to the UE in an RRC-INACTIVE state, a paging message comprising a Mobile Terminated Small Data Transmission (MT-SDT) indication (see Fig.2, para. 0064, the network device 120 transmits (205), to the terminal device 110, an indication message indicating the terminal device 110 to initiate an MT-SDT, the terminal device 110 receives (210), from the network device 120, the indication message the indication message comprise a paging message indicating the terminal device 110 to trigger or initiate an MT-SDT procedure, see also Fig.4, step 410, para. 0108, 0113); and
receiving, from the UE in the RRC-INACTIVE state, an uplink (UL) response message initiating the MT-SDT (see para. 0065, the terminal device 110 determine whether to initiate the MT-SDT, the terminal device 110 determine whether the MT-SDT is to be initiated based on a predetermined condition for the MT-SDT, the condition for the MT-SDT is associated with one or more of an RSRP threshold), based on one or more conditions for exchanging data with the UE using the MT-SDT being satisfied (see Fig.2, para. 0064-0066, 0079, when the predetermined condition for the MT-SDT is fulfilled, the terminal device 110 initiate/initiating the MT-SDT, by transmitting, in the RRC_INACTIVE state, an uplink (UL) response message to initiate the MT-SDT, see also Fig.4, step 420, para. 0108-0109, see also para. 0086).
As per claim 68, Koskinen disclose the non-transitory computer storage medium of claim 67.
Koskinen further disclose wherein the one or more conditions comprises a first condition pertaining to a radio quality of wireless signals received by the UE (see para. 0065, the condition for the MT-SDT is associated with one or more of an RSRP threshold, when the RSRP is lower than the RSRP threshold, it is not suitable to perform the MT-SDT and the terminal device determines that the condition for the MT-SDT was not met / a radio quality of wireless signals received by the UE).
As per claim 69, Koskinen disclose the non-transitory computer storage medium of claim 68.
Koskinen further disclose wherein the first condition is satisfied when a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) of the wireless signals is greater than a threshold value (see para. 0065, the condition for the MT-SDT is associated with one or more of an RSRP threshold, when the RSRP is greater than the RSRP threshold, it is suitable to perform the MT-SDT and the terminal device determines that the condition for the MT-SDT is met / the first condition is satisfied).
As per claim 73, Koskinen disclose An apparatus (see Fig.1, Fig.2, Fig.5, UE 110) comprising one or more processors (see Fig.5, processor 510, para. 0145-0147) and one or more storage devices (see Fig.5, one or more memories 520) on which are stored instructions that are operable, when executed by the one or more processors (see para 0145-0147, computer program 530 includes computer executable instructions that are executed by the associated processor 510. The program 530 is stored in the ROM 524. The processor 510 perform any suitable actions and processing by loading the program 530 into the RAM 522), to cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
receiving, in an RRC_INACTIVE state, a Mobile Terminated Small Data Transmission (MT-SDT) paging message from a base station (see Fig.1, Fig.2, Network Device 120) of a wireless network (see Fig.2, para. 0064, the network device 120 transmits (205), to the terminal device 110, an indication message indicating the terminal device 110 to initiate an MT-SDT, the terminal device 110 receives (210), from the network device 120, the indication message the indication message comprise a paging message indicating the terminal device 110 to trigger or initiate an MT-SDT procedure, see also Fig.4, step 410, para. 0108, 0113);
determining whether one or more conditions for transferring data from the base station using MT-SDT have been configured (see para. 0065, the terminal device 110 determine whether to initiate the MT-SDT, the terminal device 110 determine whether the MT-SDT is to be initiated based on a predetermined condition for the MT-SDT, the condition for the MT-SDT is associated with one or more of an RSRP threshold); and performing at least one of: (i) upon determining that the one or more conditions have not been configured, transmitting an uplink (UL) response message to the base station indicating an initiation of MT-SDT, and receiving data from the base station using MT-SDT (see Fig.2, para. 0065, 0066, if DRB is not the DRB configured for SDT, the terminal device 110 determines that the condition for the MT-SDT is not met, and when the predetermined condition for the MT-SDT is fulfilled, the terminal device 110 determines that the MT-SDT may be initiated. Otherwise, the terminal device 110 may determine that a non-SDT procedure or a regular connection establishment procedure may be initiated),
(ii) upon determining that the one or more conditions have been configured and that the one or more configured conditions have been satisfied, transmitting the UL response message to the base station indicating the initiation of MT-SDT, and receiving data from the base station using MT-SDT satisfied (see Fig.2, para. 0064-0066, 0079, when the predetermined condition for the MT-SDT is fulfilled, the terminal device 110 initiate/initiating the MT-SDT, by transmitting, in the RRC_INACTIVE state, an uplink (UL) response message to initiate the MT-SDT, see also Fig.4, step 420, para. 0108-0109, see also para. 0086),
or (iii) upon determining that the one or more conditions have been configured and that at least one of the one or more configured conditions has not been satisfied, receiving data from the base station in an RRC_CONNECTED state (see para. 0078-0080, if the terminal device 110 is in the RRC_inactive state and determines that the initiation of the MT-SDT fails, for example for the reason that the condition for the MT-SDT is not met, the terminal device 110 may initiate a non-SDT resume procedure, for example transmit a non-SDT resume request. In such a case, the network device 120 may respond to the non-SDT request by transmitting an indication to the terminal device 110 to bring the terminal device 110 to the RRC connected state. In this case, the network device may bring the terminal device 110 to a connected state for a non-SDT transmission. The network device may trigger the RRC state change by transmitting a trigger indication).
Claim 79 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koskinen et al. (PCT/CN2022/133030 further published as US Pub. No.: 2025/0106930), and further in view of Lenovo (Discussion on the MT-SDT procedure, R2-2212120, 11-18-2022).
As per claim 70, Koskinen disclose the non-transitory computer storage medium of claim 68.
Koskinen however does not explicitly disclose wherein the first condition is configured for both MT-SDT and Mobile Originated Small Data Transmission (MO-SDT).
Lenovo however disclose wherein a first condition is configured for both MT-SDT and Mobile Originated Small Data Transmission (MO-SDT) (see section 2, Proposal 2: UL SDT (MO-SDT) procedure is initiated to respond to the paging for SDT and Proposal 3: the RSRP thresholds applied for MT-SDT which is different to the existing RSRP thresholds for MO-SDT are defined to determine whether to perform SDT procedure to respond to the paging for SDT).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a first condition is configured for both MT-SDT and Mobile Originated Small Data Transmission (MO-SDT, as taught by Lenovo, in the system of Koskinen, so that : UL SDT (MO-SDT) procedure is initiated to respond to the paging for SDT, see Lenovo section 2, proposal 2.
Claims 71-72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koskinen et al. (PCT/CN2022/133030 further published as US Pub. No.: 2025/0106930), and further in view of ZTE (MT-SDT procedure, R2-2211532, 00-18-2022).
As per claim 71, Koskinen disclose the non-transitory computer storage medium of claim 68.
Koskinen however does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more conditions comprise a second condition pertaining to a selection of a resource by the EU for transmitting the UL response message.
ZTE however disclose wherein e one or more conditions comprise a second condition pertaining to a selection of a resource for transmitting the UL response message to the base station (see section 3, section 5, Proposal 4: Upon receiving MT-SDT trigger, the UE shall perform the following checks before SDT procedure is initiated (all these same as Rel-17), -4d: Check for SSB level RSRP threshold for CG resource).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of determining whether one or more conditions for exchanging data with a base station using MT-SDT are satisfied, as taught by ZTE, in the system of Koskinen, so that upon receiving MT-SDT trigger in the paging record, the UE performs further checks to
see if radio conditions are suitable for SDT to be initiated, see ZTE section 5, proposal 3 and Proposal 4.
As per claim 72, the combination of Koskinen and ZTE disclose the non-transitory computer storage medium of claim 68.
ZTE further disclose wherein the second condition comprises selecting the resource from among: a legacy Random Access Channel (RACH) resource, a RACH resource specific to Small Data Transmission (SDT), and a Configured Grant (CG) resource specific to SDT (see sections 4 and 5, the SDT cause is known to the network either by the RACH resource or by CG resource used by the UE. Since the network anyway knows the UE has been paged for mt-SDT, there is no need for a separate mt-SDT resume cause either, see also proposal 3, At least on SSB above RSRP threshold exists with CG resource: Again, if CG resource is configured, this check should be performed by the UE before using CG resources and Proposal 4, 4d: Check for SSB level RSRP threshold for CG resource).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Esswie (US Pub. No.:2024/0236941) – see para. 0200, “FIG. 5 is a diagram illustrating a representative communication sequence for downlink small data transmission. As shown in FIG. 5, a UE (e.g., WTRU) may begin at 502 by being in any of a RRC idle, inactive or connected state. The WTRU may indicate a DL SDT capability to the RAN interface at 504. The RAN may store information of the DL SDT capability at 506 as part of the WTRU CN context information, such as to be utilized when a small DL payload arrives for the WTRU. The RAN may configure one or more DL SDT configurations at 508, such as by using higher layer signaling, as described herein. For example, the WTRU may receive one or more DL SDT configurations, each configuration may include any of a DL SDT PDSCH resource set, an indication whether the DL SDT payload is multiplexed with a paging record or being transmitted over dedicated PDSCH resource sets, a configuration of the DL SDT resource sets, a predefined and/or default MCS level for DL SDT, and/or default PDSCH-DL-beam-association information. After, the WTRU may transition to the RRC inactive state. The inactive WTRU may, for a current paging occasion 514, receive a DL SDT indication at 512”.
Awad et al (US Pub. No.:2025/0212174) – see para. 0095, “Essentially, embodiments of the present technique propose that a UE checks certain conditions when responding to paging-triggered MT-SDT in INACTIVE state, where such conditions check firstly whether the UE is able to receive and respond to the MT-SDT, and secondly how this procedure should be carried out. These conditions can be configured explicitly or implicitly. It is assumed here that: [0096] The UE is (or at least, should be) configured with at least one radio bearer for DL SDT (i.e. the radio bearer that will transport the downlink SDT) in the RRCRelease with suspend indication. This radio bearer may have an identifier or ID associated with it; [0097] The UE is configured with a DL RSRP threshold via system information in order to exclude cell-edge UEs in large cells from receiving DL SDT data (because while such UEs may be able to receive such DL SDT data, the problem here may be in the transmission of feedback by such UEs in the uplink); and [0098] The UE is configured with an UL SDT Data Volume Threshold (DVT) via system information in order to exclude the transmission of large data (if any) in the uplink when responding to paging-triggered MT-SDT.”.
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469