DETAILED ACTION
A. This action is in response to the following communications: Request for Continued Examination filed 08/10/2026.
B. Claims 1-20 remain pending.
C. Claim 3 is objected.
D. Claim 13 is allowed.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 13 is allowed based upon the amendment filed 04/09/2026 that made the dependent claim independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-12 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haas, Walter A. et al. (US Pub. 2019/0340700 A1), herein referred to as “Haas” in view of Mantrana-Exposito, Vicente Alexei (US Pub. 2019/0238619 A1), herein referred to as “Mantrana-Exposito” in further view of KoteInikova, Irina et al. (US Pat. 11,347,554 B1), herein referred to as “KoteInikova”
As for claims 1 and 11, Haas teaches. A system and corresponding method of claim 11 for accessing an external function on a webpage, comprising: one or more processors; and memory communicably connected to the one or more processors and storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to (par. 65 hardware environment for implementing the software system):
receive a request from a user device to access the external function on the webpage(fig. 2, 216 and par. 37 At 216, an address, within the website 110, of website data 112 that is associated with purchase transactions may be determined. For example, data received from or retrieved from a seller website 110 may be used to determine a link, network address, or other type of location with the website 110 where a purchase history associated with a user account is accessible);
confirm access to the external function by: communicating with a server providing the external function for an authentication token corresponding to an active login session of the external function (Paragraph 36 accessing a website through an application (browser) using user credentials, networks or platforms other than websites 110 may be accessed in a similar manner. In paragraph 37 the external function is that of website data 112 corresponding to purchase transactions such that data received from or retrieved from a seller website 110 may be used to determine a link, network address, or other type of location with the website 110 where a purchase history associated with a user account is accessible. Further external function relating to use of learning algorithm which describes an instance-based learning algorithm may be used to determine the location of other data that is typically proximate to data associated with purchase histories. In response to determining the presence of at least a threshold quantity of data that is expected to be proximate to data associated with a purchase history, the data associated with the purchase history may be extracted for use. Paragraphs 38-39 describes the purchase data in more detail which relates to an image and using said image to render onto the user interface so a user can view purchase history, this data gathering step is only possible through paragraph 36 by having the user actively logged into their account associated with the website while external functions pull information from the website to render to the user interface; fig. 2, 214 and par. 36 At 214, a website account associated with a user device 106 may be accessed. For example, a user may provide information useable to access a website account, such as an account name and password);
receiving an authentication token used to access the server providing the external function (par. 24 a user may authorize an application programming interface (API) or other type of service or process to access and receive communications from the communication server 109. Continuing the example, purchase communications 108 may be associated with an e-mail account or other type of electronic communications, and the purchase identification module 120 may be configured to determine characteristics of the e-mail, such as a sender or domain associated with the e-mail, content of the e-mail, and so forth);
synchronizing the authentication token of the external function to a web browser displaying the webpage (par. 24 linking user credentials from an application/service to an email account with authorization through API or other type of service/process with an email account/application; this method of authorization is used to sync with other accounts as discussed in par. 30 “At 202, an e-mail account associated with a user may be accessed. For example, a user may provide information useable to access an e-mail account, such as a user name or e-mail address and a password, and this information may be used to obtain access to electronic communications received using the e-mail account. In other implementations, other types of electronic communication accounts, such as accounts associated with social networks, messenger applications, short message services (SMS), and so forth, may be accessed in a manner similar to an e-mail account”);
authorizing access to the external function on the webpage (par. 24 and 30 authorization into other applications, email, SMS, messenger etc.); and
retrieving information from the server to include in the external function (fig. 4, 402 par. 52 presenting retrieved information of images from set of items related to purchase interest; a method for making at least a portion of user interface data 136 associated with a first user account accessible to a second user account to potentially influence purchases by the second user);
retrieve an image payload from the webpage, the image payload comprising information related to one or more images (par. 53, fig. 4 item 404 receiving through the first user interface user input selectin data indicating a subset of items to be shared with other user, these include pictures of products);
determine a display image from the image payload to display in the external function (fig. 4, 404 selecting subset of information , product images, to send to second user);
populate the external function using the display image and the information from the server; and overlay the external function on the webpage (par. 54; fig. 4, 408 generating second user interface that has the image payload from first user interface to present to second user device including inclusion of product images influenced by first user actions, history and profile).
Even if it is found that Haas does not teach of authorization and the use of tokens, however in the same field of endeavor Mantrana-Exposito also in addition teaches confirm access to the external function by: communicating with a server providing the external function for an authentication token
receiving an authentication token used to access the server providing the external function ; synchronizing the authentication token of the external function to a web browser displaying the webpage ; authorizing access to the external function on the webpage (par. 78 Setting up a secure communication channel between the SCS and the application being registered to that SCS comprises: to create various end points in that application for the SCS to submit information (e.g., shared content) into the application, the application to consume an API provided by the SCS for applications to communicate with the SCS, and both parties to set up and keep up to date an authorization mechanism for each way communication between them; for example, using OAuth 2.0 authorization tokens issued by a trusted security token service, which could be the SCS itself, and agreeing on a secret and hashing method to encrypt/decrypt JSON Web Tokens (JWT); par. 87 a Linkage Profile (e.g. synchronization) may store a set of OAuth 2.0 tokens to be used by the SCS to perform certain actions on the linked application on behalf of the linking user. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Mantrana-Exposito into Haas because Mantrana-Exposito suggests in paragraph 4 that a need exists to add to sharing capabilities such as a tool to easily select and share specific content from webpages, also note par. 6-7.
Haas as modified by Mantrana-Exposito does not specifically teach “comprising information related to one or more images, including information about at least one image currently visible on at least a portion of the webpage displayed on the user device “; however in the same field of endeavor KoteInikova teaches retrieve an image payload from the webpage, the image payload comprising information related to one or more images, including information about at least one image currently visible on at least a portion of the webpage displayed on the user device; determine a display image from the image payload to display in the external function; populate the external function using the display image and the information from the server; and overlay the external function on the webpage (col. 12, lines 24-46 and col. 19, lines 14-35 a context of an application comprises a user-oriented global set of data about an application state. For example, a user-oriented global set of data about an application state comprises information about currently visible user interface (UI) page and current UI animation targets, flags to mark ongoing processes (e.g., “loading”), image or video capture, and so forth. In one example embodiment, the application context comprises an indication (e.g., variable, set of data) of an application context corresponding to a function or module of the application (e.g., chat, Appdb, preferences) that map to attribution tags The annotation system 506 provides various functions that enable a user to annotate or otherwise modify or edit media content associated with a message. For example, the annotation system 506 provides functions related to the generation and publishing of media overlays for messages processed by the networked system 400. In one example, the annotation system 506 operatively supplies a media overlay (e.g., a filter or media augmentation) to the messaging client application 414 based on a geolocation of the client device 410. In another example, the annotation system 506 operatively supplies a media overlay to the messaging client application 414 based on other information, such as social network information of the user of the client device 410. A media overlay may include audio and visual content and visual effects. Examples of audio and visual content include pictures, texts, logos, animations, and sound effects.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine KoteInikova into Hass as modified by Mantrana-Exposito because KoteInikova suggests in column 1, lines 56-67 that the scheduler selects which task or job among those in the queue is to be executed (e.g., first come first serve or other method) and allocates one or more application threads to execute the task or job. While conventional schedules may have some ways to optimize the processing of jobs or tasks, the optimization schemes are static and do not account for a change in application state or user context. This results in less than optimal use of the computing device's resources and delays in response to a user input or request.
As for claims 2 and 12, Haas teaches. The system of claim 1 and corresponding method of claim 11, wherein to retrieve the image payload from the webpage, the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: determine a first set of images in the webpage displayed on the user device; determine a second set of one or more images presented on the webpage displayed in the web browser; and add the first set and second set of one or more images to the image payload (fig. 2 depicts three examples of information sources to extract data (images) from to generate user interface described in fig. 4; par. 43 and 54).
As for claims 4 and 14, Haas teaches. The system of claim 1 and corresponding method of claim 11, wherein to determine the display image from the image payload to display in the external function, the instructions further cause the one or more processors to (par. 35 At 210, user interface data 136 may be determined that associates one or more item identifiers 122 with corresponding item characteristics 126. As described with regard to FIG. 1, a user interface 102 based on the user interface data 136 may be generated by a computing device other than the device used to determine the item characteristics 126) : determine code in the webpage to display the one or more images in the image payload; determine file sources of each image of the one or more images in the code, the file sources identifying locations of files representing each image of the one or more images; access the one or more images from the file sources (par. 38 At 218, an item identifier 122 indicative of an item that was purchased may be determined based on the website data 112. For example, website data 112 associated with a purchase history may include item names, SKUs, or other item identifiers 122, as well as one or more item characteristics 126, such as an image depicting an item or a date or price at which the item was purchased);
validate each image of the one or more images by reviewing an image size and a visibility of the image (par. 34 t 208, characteristics of an item that was purchased may be determined based on correspondence between the item identifier 122 determined at 206 and item data 128 received from merchant systems associated with sellers. For example, merchant systems may provide item data 128, item data 128 may be periodically retrieved from computing devices associated with sellers, or item data 128 associated with a seller device may be accessed. The item data 128 may associate item characteristics 126 with corresponding item identifiers 122).
Haas does not specifically teach de-duplicate the validated images by determining whether each image is a duplicate of any previously validated images; and determine the display image from the de-duplicated images; however in the same field of endeavor Mantrana-Exposito teaches in par. 138 to prevent duplicated information collection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Mantrana-Exposito into Haas because Mantrana-Exposito suggests in paragraph 4 that a need exists to add to sharing capabilities such as a tool to easily select and share specific content from webpages, also note par. 6-7.
As for claims 5 and 15, Haas teaches. The system of claim 4 and corresponding method of claim 14, wherein to determine the code in the webpage to display the one or more images in the image payload, the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: determine image elements of an HTML code of the webpage where the one or more images are located; determine other elements of the HTML code of the webpage which sets background image attributes where the one or more images are located; and determine elements of a hidden portion of the HTML code of the webpage present where the one or more images are located, wherein the hidden portion of the HTML code is a dynamically generated code (fig. 3 depiction of background and changing the graphics of the image featuring a product with an updated background attribute changed).
As for claims 6 and 16, Haas teaches. The system of claim 5 and corresponding method of claim 15, wherein to access the one or more images from the file sources, the instructions further cause the one or more processors to:
determine source attribute of the image elements of the HTML code of the webpage where the one or more images are located; and
in response to the source attribute being empty, determine alternative attributes representing the file sources (fig. 3 items 332 a first color is associated with source content within the HTML page of an image representing a product, 326 removing second portion and replacing with second color 336 based upon first color 332; which is done by interface generation module 134).
As for claims 7 and 17, Haas teaches. The system of claim 1 and corresponding method of claim 11, wherein the request from the user device to access the external function on the webpage is received in response to a user of the user device selecting a share operation (par. 52 sharing user interface or creating a user interface for second user based upon shared content (product images extracted from HTML web pages).
As for claims 8 and 18, Haas teaches. The system of claim 1 and corresponding method of claim 11, Haas does not specifically teach wherein to communicate with the server providing the external function for an authentication token. the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: redirect to an application providing the external function; and in response to no active login session to the application: present a login screen to authenticate access to the application; receive and submit login credentials to authenticate access; receive an authentication token; and return to the web browser to access the authentication token; however in the same field of endeavor Mantrana-Exposito teaches (par. 102 If the user is not logged into the SCS, it is prompted to log into its SCS account. Once the window is opened and the user is logged in, the SCS user interface loads a view that shows the user a list of SCS share targets (step 406). Such view is referred as the SCS Share Targets view 604. The SCS share targets 608 shown are the user's linked applications. Subsequently, the user selects a target application to share content with (step 408); for example, the Media Player One application (120 in FIG. 1). Upon that selection, the SCS user interface loads a view, referred as the SCS Sharing Interface 606 (FIG. 66)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Mantrana-Exposito into Haas because Mantrana-Exposito suggests in paragraph 4 that a need exists to add to sharing capabilities such as a tool to easily select and share specific content from webpages, also note par. 6-7.
As for claims 9 and 19, Haas teaches. The system of claim 8 and corresponding method of claim 18; Haas does not specifically teach wherein to synchronize the authentication token of the external function to the web browser displaying the webpage, the instructions further cause the one or more processors to copy the authentication token to a private keychain accessible to the application and the external function; however Mantrana-Exposito teaches (par. 87 a Linkage Profile (e.g. synchronization) may store a set of OAuth 2.0 tokens to be used by the SCS to perform certain actions on the linked application on behalf of the linking user ; par. 335 Having at least one potential resource holder user, the SCS saves a record, referred as the negotiation record, containing: the references to the protected resources (e.g., “https://emailexample.com/attachments/attch1” and “https://emailexample.com/attachments/attch2”), the set of potential resource holder users, the identifier of the Share Source 1202, the identifier of the Resource Owner 1208, the identifier of the Share Target 1206, the hash code of the target security code and the hash code of the negotiation security code, which can serve as a lookup key for the negotiation record. The negotiation record is stored in the Content Negotiation Records store 1254 (step 1114).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Mantrana-Exposito into Haas because Mantrana-Exposito suggests in paragraph 4 that a need exists to add to sharing capabilities such as a tool to easily select and share specific content from webpages, also note par. 6-7.
As for claims 10 and 20, Haas teaches. The system of claim 1 and corresponding method of claim 11, wherein to determine the display image from the image payload to display in the external function, the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: prepare a third set of images included in an order in which they were determined from the webpage; provide a function to select an image from the third set of images; and display a first image in the third set of images (par. 39 uses one information source to present a first set of found images from products and then proceeds to move onto second to the nth information sources associated with a user and their accounts to find images of products from web pages and purchases of the user).
(Note :) It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A1. Applicant argues that Haas does note teach confirm access to the external function by: communicating with a server providing the external function for an authentication token corresponding to an active login session of the external function.
R1. Examiner does not agree, as previously mentioned the claim limitation does not narrow what an external function is and therefore is arbitrary; Haas teaches in paragraph 36 accessing a website through an application (browser) using user credentials, networks or platforms other than websites 110 may be accessed in a similar manner. In paragraph 37 the external function is that of website data 112 corresponding to purchase transactions such that data received from or retrieved from a seller website 110 may be used to determine a link, network address, or other type of location with the website 110 where a purchase history associated with a user account is accessible. Further external function relating to use of learning algorithm which describes an instance-based learning algorithm may be used to determine the location of other data that is typically proximate to data associated with purchase histories. In response to determining the presence of at least a threshold quantity of data that is expected to be proximate to data associated with a purchase history, the data associated with the purchase history may be extracted for use. Paragraphs 38-39 describes the purchase data in more detail which relates to an image and using said image to render onto the user interface so a user can view purchase history, this data gathering step is only possible through paragraph 36 by having the user actively logged into their account associated with the website while external functions pull information from the website to render to the user interface.
Newly cited art also teaches an external function. Examiner recommends clarification of the external function.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Inquires
/NICHOLAS AUGUSTINE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178 September 23, 2026