DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to communications/remarks filed on 07/01/2026. Claims 1-20 remain pending in this application. Claim 1 is the sole independent claim. A complete response to applicants remarks and an Office Action on the merits follows here below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see 7-11, filed 07/01/2026, with respect to the prior art rejections have been fully considered and are mostly persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Li (US 20230245502 A1) as detailed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/26/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 3, 12, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Li (US 20230245502 A1).
Regarding Claim 1: (Previously Presented) Li discloses a method for differentiating a real object in an image from a spoof of the real object (Refer to para [002]; “…the present teaching relates to liveness detection in biometrics.”) the method comprising: obtaining an image comprising at least one object (Refer to para [012]; “The palm ROI detector is configured for receiving an image with visual information claimed to represent a palm of a person and identifying an initial region of interests (ROI) in the image that corresponds to the palm and an initial dimension associated with the initial ROI.”) wherein the at least one object comprises at least one biometric identifier (Refer to para [040]; “To facilitate the palm liveness detection, the palm ROI detector 240 identifies a region of interest of the palm in each of the variation palm images 230 and generates, at 225, ROIs of a predetermined dimension based on certain palm ROI models 250.”) wherein the at least one object includes one or more of a finger, a fingerprint, a face, or a palm (Refer to para [012]; “The system includes a palm region of interests (ROI) detector and a palm liveness detector.”) extracting information including three-dimensional information and semantic information from the image (Refer to para [056]; “In this illustrated embodiment, the training data include pairs of actual palm image and fake palm image and each pair may include concatenated actual palm image and the fake palm image. Based on each pair, both local and global features may be extracted. Local features are extracted from ROIs of palms identified from the actual and fake palm images. Global features are extracted from the concatenated pair.”) wherein the semantic information relates the at least one object in the image to the at least one biometric identifier and/or relates different objects in the image to each other (Refer to para [057]; “The ROI identifier 620 may be provided to identify more than one ROIs or at different resolution levels on each image. Local features are extracted from each of such identified ROIs and then grouped in a certain manner as will be explained below. Global features and the grouped local features are fused, and the fused features are used for classification by the detector 520-1. In the process of obtaining features (ROIs, local, global, grouping, fusion, and computing the probabilities), various model parameters stored in the detection model 530-1 are used. These model parameters constitute the detection models and are to be learned. Based on the ground truth provided by the training data, the feedback based learning unit 680 detects the discrepancies between the computed probabilities and the ground truth and adjusts the model parameters stored in 530-1 accordingly. The learning is an iterative process, and the model parameters are adjusted to minimize the discrepancies. Optionally, after the local and global features are fused, some post processing may be carried out by a fusion feature processor 670. FIG. 6B illustrates exemplary types of postprocessing for fused features, in accordance with an embodiment of the present teaching. Exemplary types of post processing may include normalization or adaptive average pooling.”) merging the extracted three-dimensional information and the extracted semantic information to a combined information (Refer to para [051]; “FIG. 5A depicts an exemplary high level system diagram of the palm liveness detector 260, in accordance with an exemplary embodiment of the present teaching. In this exemplary embodiment, the palm liveness detector 260 comprises individual fake palm detectors 510, each of which is directed to detect a specific type of fake palm, and a global fake palm detector 560, which is provided to combine the individual detection results against different types of fake palm and obtain an overall liveness detection result.”) processing the combined information by a classifier (Refer to para [057]; “Global features and the grouped local features are fused, and the fused features are used for classification by the detector 520-1. In the process of obtaining features (ROIs, local, global, grouping, fusion, and computing the probabilities), various model parameters stored in the detection model 530-1 are used. These model parameters constitute the detection models and are to be learned.”) and outputting, by the classifier, a data set which indicates whether the at least one object in the image is the real object or a spoof of the real object (Refer to para [054]; “As discussed herein, in some embodiments, the output from each of the individual detectors includes two probabilities {P.i1, P.i2},, indicating the likelihood of the input ROI 500 representing a type i fake palm (Pi1,) and that of the input ROI 500 representing a real palm image (Pi2). In some embodiments, the integrated detection result may also include two probabilities {P1, P2}, indicating the likelihood of the input ROI 500 representing a fake palm (P1i,) and that of the input ROI 500 representing a real palm image (P2). In some embodiments, the integrated detection result may be a conclusion as to whether the input ROI is from a fake palm image or not.” Alternatively at para [065]; “The first is an individual decision layer with multiple sub-networks, each of which is for making a decision on whether the input image represents an designated type of fake palm. For instance, the first sub-network (at the top) may be for detecting type 1 fake palm, e.g., generating an output indicating a probability or score on whether the input image is a live palm based on postprocessed XFeature_fusion_1 via, e.g., SoftMax with respect to type 1 fake palm image. The second sub-network (second from the top) may be for detecting type 2 fake palm, e.g., generating an output indicating a probability or score on whether the input image is a live palm based on postprocessed XFeature_fusion_2 via, e.g., SoftMax with respect to type 2 fake palm image. The ith sub-network may be for detecting type i fake palm, e.g., generating an output indicating a probability or score on whether the input image is a live palm based on postprocessed XFeature_fusion_i via, e.g., SoftMax with respect to type1 fake palm image. The Nth sub-network (last one on the bottom) may be for detecting type N fake palm, e.g., generating an output indicating a probability or score on whether the input image is a live palm based on postprocessed XFeature_fusion_N via, e.g., SoftMax with respect to type N fake palm image.”).
Regarding Claim 2: (Previously Presented) Li discloses the image is obtained by at least one image sensor of a computing device (As is well known in the image processing art; refer to technical background para [002]; “In this example, a person who is to be authenticated may place a palm over a palm based authentication device 120 (FIG. 1B) with imaging sensors deployed therein as shown as 100. The sensed palm image may be shown as 110 in FIG. 1A.”).
Regarding Claim 3: (Previously Presented) Li discloses the image sensor comprises a 2D image sensor and/or a 3D image sensor (Refer to para [007]; “Given that, despite the extensive training, the model acquired by treating all fake palms as one class against the real palm as the other class likely cannot achieve the desired discriminant capability. Second, to detect the liveness of a palm, a region of interest (ROI) may be identified from a palm image and the detection is performed on the ROI. A common practice is to use ROIs of a known shape such as a square ROI region. Due to variation in acquiring a palm image and/or placement of the palm relative to the sensor, the dimensions of the acquired palm regions likely vary.”).
Regarding Claim 12: (Previously Presented) Li discloses the classifier comprises a machine learning classifier (Refer to para [058]; “FIG. 6C is a flowchart of an exemplary process for the example machine learning engine 600, in accordance with an embodiment of the present teaching. At 605, a pair of actual and fake palm images is received.”).
Regarding Claim 13: (Previously Presented) Li discloses each step of the method is carried out on a mobile device (Refer to para [074]; “FIG. 8 is an illustrative diagram of an exemplary mobile device architecture that may be used to realize a specialized system implementing the present teaching in accordance with various embodiments. In this example, the user device on which the present teaching may be implemented corresponds to a mobile device 800, including, but not limited to, a smart phone, a tablet, a music player, a handled gaming console, a global positioning system (GPS) receiver, and a wearable computing device, or in any other form factor. Mobile device 800 may include one or more central processing units (“CPUs”) 840, one or more graphic processing units (“GPUs”) 830, a display 820, a memory 860, a communication platform 810, such as a wireless communication module, storage 890, and one or more input/output (I/O) devices 850.”).
Regarding Claim 14: (Previously Presented) Li discloses a computing device comprising a processor (Refer to para [077]; “Computer 900 also includes a central processing unit (CPU) 920, in the form of one or more processors, for executing program instructions.”) an image sensor (Refer to para [003]; “a palm based authentication device 120 (FIG. 1B) with imaging sensors deployed therein as shown as 100.”) and a storage device (Refer to para [077]; “Computer 900 also includes a central processing unit (CPU) 920, in the form of one or more processors, for executing program instructions. The exemplary computer platform includes an internal communication bus 910, program storage and data storage of different forms (e.g., disk 970, read only memory (ROM) 930, or random-access memory (RAM) 940), for various data files to be processed and/or communicated by computer 900, as well as possibly program instructions to be executed by CPU 920.”) wherein the storage device includes computer readable instructions that (Refer to para [078]; “Program aspects of the technology may be thought of as “products” or “articles of manufacture” typically in the form of executable code and/or associated data that is carried on or embodied in a type of machine readable medium.”) when executed by the processor, cause the computing device to perform the method of claim 1 (For the sake of brevity, refer to the rejection of claim 1 above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-11, 15-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art either singly or in combination does not teach, disclose or suggest at least the following claim limitation(s): “… extracting the semantic information comprises detecting and segmenting the at least one biometric identifier in the image and creating a probability map for each type of biometric identifier.”
Prior art reference Hua (US 20230222842 A1) discloses “… training a classifier of a face recognition system, comprising: receiving, at a processor of a face recognition system and from an image capture device associated with the face recognition system, a first plurality of time-stamped frame sequences having a live subject, and a second plurality of time-stamped frame sequences having a spoofed subject; for each of the time-stamped frame sequences in the first and second pluralities of time-stamped frame sequences: selecting a pair of frames that satisfied the time constrain for the time lapse between them; identifying corresponding pixels for each time-constrained pair in the time-stamped frame sequence; segmenting one of time-constrained pair frame in the time-stamped frame sequence into regions of interest; and calculating a motion feature for each region of interest of each time constrained pair frame in the time-stamped frame sequence; storing the calculated motion features for each time-stamped frame sequence from the first plurality of time-stamped frame sequences as positive data, and storing the calculated motion features for each time-stamped frame sequence from the second plurality of time-stamped frame sequences as negative data; and generating training rules based on the positive and negative data.”
Similarly Nikitidis (US 20210209387 A1) discloses “… an anti-spoofing system to detect if a spoofing attack has been attempted, the method comprising: training an image processing component of the anti-spoofing system to process 2D verification images according to a set of image processing parameters, in order to extract depth information from the 2D verification images; and wherein the configured anti-spoofing system comprises an anti-spoofing component which uses an output from the processing of a 2D verification image by the image processing component to determine whether an entity captured in that image corresponds to an actual human or a spoofing entity; wherein the image processing parameters are learned during the training from a training set of captured 3D training images of both actual humans and spoofing entities, each 3D training image captured using 3D image capture equipment and comprising 2D image data and corresponding depth data, by: processing the 2D image data of each 3D training image according to the image processing parameters, so as to compute an image processing output for comparison with the corresponding depth data of that 3D image, and adapting the image processing parameters in order to match the image processing outputs to the corresponding depth data, thereby training the image processing component to extract depth information from 2D verification images captured using a 2D image capture device.”
Conclusion
MIA M. THOMAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2665
/MIA M THOMAS/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2665