DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to submission of application on 02/02/2024.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Priority
No claim for priority or benefit of an earlier filing date has been made. Accordingly, the effective filing date of claims 1-20 is the actual filing date of the application, 02/02/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
No information disclosure statement has been filed in this application.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 02/02/2024 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Specification
The specification filed on 02/02/2024 is acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “at least one memory device” and “a processing device, operatively coupled with the at least one memory device” in independent claims 11 and 20 (and, by dependency, claims 12-19).
Applying the three-prong test to these limitations: under Prong (A), the term “device” is a generic placeholder that is expressly listed as a nonstructural term in MPEP § 2181 (I)(A), and the modifiers “memory” and “processing” describe what the device does rather than what it is; under Prong (B), each placeholder is tied to functional language. The processing device is recited as performing the claimed operations, and the memory device is recited as holding the data and instructions on which those operations act; and under Prong (C), neither claim recites any structure, material, or acts for performing those functions. The phrase “operatively coupled with” describes only a relationship between the two placeholders, not structure of either one.
The Specification does not limit these terms to known hardware. With respect to the memory device, the Specification states that “[d]ata store 140 can include any combination of different types of memory devices” and that “[d]ata store 140 can reside on at least one persistent and/or volatile storage device” (Specification, [0028]), so that the claimed memory device is described as part of a data store rather than as a discrete physical memory. With respect to the processing device, the Specification describes the disclosed operations as performed by “processing logic that can include hardware (e.g., processing device, circuitry, dedicated logic, programmable logic, microcode, hardware of a device, integrated circuit, etc.)” together with software or a combination of hardware and software (Specification, [0093]; see also [0093] – [0105], [0108] – [0110], [0113] – [0114]). For purposes of applying the prior art, the examiner interprets “at least one memory device” as a physical computer memory and “a processing device” as a hardware processor, and equivalents thereof. See also the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) below.
The examiner further notes that the recitation in claims 1, 11, and 20 that an action option “comprises an operation that is capable of being performed for the user by the online system” is a statement of capability. A prior art element that is reasonably capable of performing the recited operation satisfies this limitation. See MPEP § 2114(II).
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 11 and 20: the claim limitations “at least one memory device” and “a processing device, operatively coupled with the at least one memory device” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f), as set forth in the Claim Interpretation section above. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure for performing the entire claimed functions and to clearly link that structure to the functions. The Specification describes the memory devices as being included in data store 140 ([0028]) and describes the processing performed by the processing device as able to be carried out by hardware, software, or a combination of both ([0093]). Because the scope of these terms is not clearly limited to hardware, and no particular structure (or, for the computer-implemented functions, no particular algorithm tied to a physical processor) is clearly linked to the claimed functions, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the boundaries of the claims. See MPEP §§ 2181(II)(B), 2185. Therefore, claims 11 and 20 are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Claims 12-19 depend on claim 11, do not cure the deficiency, and are rejected for the same reason.
Applicant may amend claims 11 and 20 to recite “at least one memory” and “a processor” in place of “at least one memory device” and “a processing device,” so that the limitations are no longer interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claims 1, 11, and 20, limitation (iv), recite “calculating a plurality of cumulative rewards for a tuple subsequence of the plurality of tuple subsequences based on rewards for the tuple subsequence of the plurality of rewards.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the plurality of rewards”; the claims previously introduce only “a reward for the action” within each individual tuple. For purposes of applying the prior art, the examiner interprets this limitation as reciting that the cumulative rewards are calculated based on the individual rewards of the tuples within the tuple subsequence.
Claims 1 and 11, limitation (v), recite “generating input data comprising the plurality of cumulative rewards, a plurality of action options, and the tuple subsequence,” but because limitation (iii) sets forth a plurality of tuple subsequences, it is unclear which tuple subsequence of that plurality is being referenced by “the tuple subsequence” in limitation (v). This limitation is ambiguous, and consequently the claim as a whole is indefinite. For purposes of applying the prior art, this limitation is interpreted as being performed for a respective tuple subsequence of the plurality of tuple subsequences. Claim 20, limitations (v) and (vi), recite the same “the tuple subsequence” and are indefinite for the same reason.
Claims 7 and 17 recite “estimating a plurality of future cumulative rewards for the tuple subsequence.” Claims 7 and 17 recite the same “the tuple subsequence” limitation without curing the deficiency, and are therefore rejected for the same reason.
Claims 5 and 15 recite “wherein extracting the plurality of tuple subsequences is based on a subsequence length,” although claims 1 and 11 already set forth “a subsequence length” in limitation (iii). The double inclusion renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the later-recited subsequence length is the same as, or different from, the earlier one. For purposes of applying the prior art, the two recitations are interpreted as referring to the same subsequence length.
Claims 2-10 are dependent on claim 1 and claims 12-19 are dependent on claim 11, thus rejected on the same grounds as rejected independent claims 1 and 11. Appropriate correction is required.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Independent Claims
Claim 1:
Step 1: Claim 1 is directed to a method, which falls within the statutory category of a process.
Step 2A, Prong One: Claim 1 recites the following limitations, which, under their broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), set forth abstract ideas:
“preprocessing digital data for input to a trained transformer system, wherein the preprocessing comprises:
“(ii) sorting the plurality of tuples based on the plurality of times to create a tuple sequence;” - arranging records in time order is an observation and evaluation that a person can practically perform in the mind or with pen and paper (e.g., listing logged interactions from earliest to latest). This is a mental process.
“(iii) extracting a plurality of tuple subsequences from the tuple sequence based on a subsequence length;” - selecting fixed-length windows from an ordered list is an evaluation and judgment that can practically be performed with pen and paper. This is a mental process.
“(iv) calculating a plurality of cumulative rewards for a tuple subsequence of the plurality of tuple subsequences based on rewards for the tuple subsequence of the plurality of rewards; and” – summing reward values over a window is a mathematical calculation (a mathematical concept) that can also be performed mentally or with pen and paper.
“(v) generating input data comprising the plurality of cumulative rewards, a plurality of action options, and the tuple subsequence, wherein an action option of the plurality of action options comprises an operation that is capable of being performed for the user by the online system;” - assembling the calculated values, the candidate options, and the selected window into a single collection of information is an act of organizing information that a person can practically perform with pen and paper. This is a mental process.
“determining a best action option from the plurality of action options” – choosing the best of several candidate options in view of the organized information is an evaluation and judgment. This is a mental process.
Because claim 1 recites both mental processes and a mathematical concept, both groupings are identified to make the record clear; for Step 2A, Prong Two and Step 2B, these limitations are considered together as a single abstract idea of organizing a user’s interaction history and evaluating it to select an action. See MPEP § 2106.04 (II)(B). Claim 1 therefore recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong Two: The additional elements recited in claim 1, beyond the abstract idea, are:
“(i) receiving user trajectory data for a user of an online system, wherein the user trajectory data comprises a plurality of tuples for a plurality of times at which the user interacted with the online system, a tuple of the plurality of tuples comprising a state of the online system at a time of the plurality of times, an action taken by the online system at the time, and a reward for the action;” – receiving the data that the abstract idea operates on is mere data gathering, which is insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP § 2106.05(g)). The wherein clause describing the content of that data (tuples of states, actions, and rewards for times at which the user interacted with an online system) merely specifies the type of data being manipulated and therefore generally links the abstract idea to a particular field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
“by applying the trained transformer system to the input data” and “preprocessing digital data for input to a trained transformer system…” – these limitations are mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using a generic machine learning model (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). First, the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome: the transformer is used to arrive at the “best action option,” but the claim does not recite how the transformer produces that result (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(1)). Second, the trained transformer is invoked merely as a tool to perform the evaluation that the abstract idea already describes, (i.e., using a machine learning model to process data (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)).) Third, the transformer is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., the claim specifies no architecture, size, or number of attention layers, and it does not recite training the transformer; it simply applies an already-trained-model) so that the limitation amounts to adding the words “apply it” to the judicial exception (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(3)). Reciting that the data is preprocessed “for input to a trained transformer system” also does no more than generally link the abstract idea to the technological environment of machine learning (MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
“causing the best action option to be implemented for the user of the online system” – acting on the result of the abstract determination is recited at the highest level of generality: an action option is any “operation that is capable of being performed for the user by the online system,” and the claim does not specify what the operation is or how it is carried out. This limitation amounts to insignificant post-solution activity (MPEP § 2106.05(g)) and, because it recites only the outcome of carrying out the selected action, a mere instruction to apply the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(1), (3)).
“online system” – the online system is recited generically as the environment in which the data is collected and the action is performed, which generally links the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
Considered individually and in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim does not reflect an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to another technology or technical field (MPEP § 2106.05(a)); any improvement lies in the abstract data-organization and selection scheme itself. The claim does not apply the abstract idea with a particular machine (MPEP § 2106.05(b)), does not effect a transformation of a particular article (MPEP § 2106.05(c)), and does not add other meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the abstract idea to a machine learning environment (MPEP § 2106.05(e)). Claim 1 is therefore directed to the abstract idea.
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that, alone or in combination, amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The conclusions from Step 2A, Prong Two regarding the trained transformer system and the online system under MPEP § 2106.05(f) and § 2106.05(h) are carried over; mere instructions to apply an abstract idea using a generic machine learning model and generally linking the abstract idea to a field of use, cannot provide an inventive concept.
The receiving step (i) and the causing step, which were found to be insignificant extra-solution activity at Step 2A, Prong Two, are re-evaluated here and are well-understood, routine, and conventional (WURC). Receiving user trajectory data from an online system is receiving data over a network, and causing the selected action to be implemented for the user (e.g., sending a communication to the user) is transmitting data over a network; the courts have recognized both as WURC computer functions when claimed generically (MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)(i)). This conclusion is further supported, as required by MPEP § 2106.07(a)(III), by publication evidence showing that these activities were widely prevalent in the field before the effective filing date: Gauci describes Horizon as Facebook’s open source applied reinforcement learning platform that routinely ingests logged interaction data from production systems and deploys learned policies that send or drop notifications to users at scale (Gauci, Abstract, § 9.1), and Chen explains that its approach relies on “existing transformer frameworks widely used in language and vision” (Chen, § 1, p. 2).
Viewed as an ordered combination, the additional elements add nothing that is not already present when they are considered individually: gathering data, processing it with a generic trained model, and acting on the result is the conventional sequence of any data-analysis process. Claim 1 is not patent eligible.
Claim 11:
Step 1: Claim 11 is directed to a system, which falls within the statutory category of a machine.
Step 2A, Prong One: Claim 11 recites the same abstract idea identified for claim 1 (limitations (ii)-(v) and determining step), for the same reasons.
Step 2A, Prong Two: In addition to the elements analyzed for claim 1, claim 11 recites “at least one memory device” and “a processing device, operatively coupled with the at least one memory device” that performs the claimed operations. These are generic computer components used as tools to perform the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)) and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B: Generic computer components performing their ordinary functions cannot supply an inventive concept, and the WURC analysis of claim 1 applies equally here. Claim 11 is not patent eligible.
Claim 20:
Step 1: Claim 20 is directed to a system, which falls within the statutory category of a machine.
Step 2A, Prong One: Claim 20 recites the abstract idea identified for claim 1 and further recites “estimating a plurality of future cumulative rewards for the tuple subsequence for a plurality of action options using an average of reward values from training the trained transformer system,” which is a mathematical calculation (averaging) and therefore a mathematical concept, and “generating input data comprising the plurality of cumulative rewards, the plurality of future cumulative rewards, the plurality of action options, and the tuple subsequence,” which is organizing information and therefore a mental process.
Step 2A, Prong Two: The additional elements are those of claims 1 and 11. That the averaged reward values come “from training the trained transformer system” only identifies the source of the data being averaged; the claim does not recite performing the training. This generally links the abstract idea to a field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)) and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B: For the reasons given for claims 1 and 11, the additional elements, individually and in combination, do not amount to significantly more. Claim 20 is not patent eligible.
Dependent Claims
Dependent claims: Each dependent claim has been analyzed individually, together with the additional elements of the claim(s) from which it depends.
Claims 2 and 12 recite [t]he method/system of claim 1/11, wherein the user trajectory data further comprises context features for the plurality of tuples and wherein the input data further comprises the context features. Including more information in the organized collection is part of the abstract idea (Step 2A, Prong One). To the extent receiving context features is an additional element, it is further data gathering and a description of the data being manipulated (MPEP § 2106.05(g), (h)), and at Step 2B receiving such data is WURC for the reasons given for claim 1 (MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)(i)). The claims are not patent eligible.
Claims 3 and 13 recite [t]he method/system of claim 1/11, wherein the plurality of tuples includes a plurality of states of the online system and wherein the preprocessing further comprises: determining a data type for a state of the plurality of states of the online system; and transforming the state based on the data type. Determining what kind of value a state is and normalizing it accordingly is an evaluation and a mathematical calculation (Step 2A, Prong One). No further additional elements are recited. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claims 4 and 14 recite [t]he method/system of claim 1/11, wherein the plurality of tuples includes a plurality of actions taken by the online system and wherein preprocessing further comprises: determining a plurality of action embeddings based on the plurality of actions, wherein sorting the plurality of tuples comprises: creating the tuple sequence using the plurality of action embeddings. Mapping actions to numeric vectors and ordering those vectors is a mathematical concept (Step 2A, Prong One). No further additional elements are recited. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claims 5 and 15 recite [t]he method/system of claim 1/11, wherein extracting the plurality of tuple subsequences is based on a subsequence length, wherein a tuple subsequence of the plurality of tuple subsequences comprises a number of consecutive tuples from the tuple sequence and the number of consecutive tuples is equal to the subsequence length. This further defines the extracting step, which is a mental process (Step 2A, Prong One). No further additional elements are recited. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claims 6 and 16 recite [t]he method/system of claim 1/11, wherein determining the best action option from the plurality of action options comprises: determining a mean prediction, a lower bound quantile, and an upper bound quantile for the plurality of action options; and determining the best action option using at least one of the mean prediction, the lower bound quantile, and the upper bound quantile. Computing a mean and quantiles is a mathematical concept, and choosing an option based on those values is an evaluation (Step 2A, Prong One). No further additional elements are recited. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claims 7 and 17 recite [t]he method/system of claim 1/11, wherein the preprocessing further comprises: estimating a plurality of future cumulative rewards for the tuple subsequence for the plurality of action options using an average of reward values from training the trained transformer system, wherein the input data further comprises the plurality of future cumulative rewards. Averaging is a mathematical concept and including the result in the input data is organizing information (Step 2A, Prong One); the reference to training only identifies the source of the data (MPEP § 2106.05(h)), and the claims do not recite performing any training. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claims 8 and 18 recite [t]he method/system of claim 1/11, wherein the plurality of tuples are for the plurality of times at which the user interacted with the online system in response to receiving a notification, wherein the plurality of action options include at least one of sending a badge notification, sending a push notification, and dropping the notification, and wherein causing the best action option to be implemented for the user of the online system comprises at least one of sending the badge notification, sending the push notification, and not sending the notification. Limiting the data and the candidate options to notifications merely confines the abstract idea to a particular field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). Sending or withholding a notification is insignificant post-solution activity (MPEP § 2106.05(g)) and, at Step 2B, is transmitting data over a network, which is WURC (MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)(i)); this is further evidenced by Gauci’s description of deployed policies that decide whether to send or drop push notifications to users at scale (Gauci, § 9.1) and by Yuan’s notification scheduling system (Yuan, col. 5, ll. 35-40). The claims are not patent eligible.
Claims 9 and 19 recite [t]he method/system of claim 1/11, wherein generating the input data comprises: encoding the plurality of cumulative rewards, the plurality of action options, and the tuple subsequence based on a respective position of the plurality of cumulative rewards, the plurality of action options, and the tuple subsequence in the input data. Positional encoding is a mathematical transformation of the data (Step 2A, Prong One). No further additional elements are recited. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim 10 recites [t]he method of claim 1, wherein generating the input data comprises: generating a time embedding for the plurality of cumulative rewards, the plurality of action options, and the tuple subsequence based on the plurality of times. Generating a numeric representation of time is a mathematical concept (Step 2A, Prong One). No further additional elements are recited. The claim is not patent eligible.
Accordingly, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The following references are relied upon for the art rejection set forth below:
Chen et al., “Decision Transformer: Reinforcement Learning via Sequence Modeling,” 35th Conference on Neural Information Processing Systems (NeurIPS 2021) (hereinafter “Chen”).
Gauci et al., “Horizon: Facebook’s Open Source Applied Reinforcement Learning Platform,” arXiv:1811.00260v5, September 4, 2019 (hereinafter “Gauci”).
Dabney et al., “Distributional Reinforcement Learning with Quantile Regression,” The Thirty-Second AAAI Conference on Artificial Intelligence (AAAI-18), pp. 2892-2901, 2018 (hereinafter “Dabney”).
Yuan et al., US 11,556,864 B2, “User-Notification Scheduling” (hereinafter “Yuan”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Gauci.
As to claim 1, Chen teaches:
A method comprising:
preprocessing digital data for input to a trained transformer system, wherein the preprocessing comprises:
[Chen, p. 1, Figure 1, “States, actions, and returns are fed into modality-specific linear embeddings and a positional episodic timestep encoding is added. Tokens are fed into a GPT architecture which predicts actions autoregressively using a causal self-attention mask.” (examiner note: converting the trajectory data into embedded tokens for the GPT transformer is preprocessing digital data for input to a trained transformer system)]
wherein the user trajectory data comprises a plurality of tuples for a plurality of times
a tuple of the plurality of tuples
and a reward for the action;
[Chen, p. 3, Section 2.1, “We use st, at, and rt = R(st, at) to denote the state, action, and reward at timestep t, respectively.”; p. 4, Algorithm 1, “for (R, s, a, t) in dataloader:” (examiner note: this discloses the tuple structure; the (state, action, reward) triple at each timestep t is a tuple for a respective time, and the trajectories received from the data loader are a plurality of such tuples for a plurality of times)]
sorting the plurality of tuples based on the plurality of times to create a tuple sequence;
[Chen, p. 3, Section 3 (Trajectory representation), “This leads to the following trajectory representation which is amenable to autoregressive training and generation: τ = (R̂1, s1, a1, R̂2, s2, a2, . . . , R̂T, sT, aT).” (Eq. 2); p. 4, Algorithm 1, “# interleave tokens as (R_1, s_1, a_1, ..., R_K, s_K)” (examiner note: the tuples are arranged in order of their timesteps 1 through T, which is sorting the plurality of tuples based on the plurality of times to create a tuple sequence)]
extracting a plurality of tuple subsequences from the tuple sequence based on a subsequence length;
[Chen, p. 3, Section 3 (Architecture), “We feed the last K timesteps into Decision Transformer, for a total of 3K tokens (one for each modality: return-to-go, state, or action).”; p. 4, Section 3 (Training), “We sample minibatches of sequence length K from the dataset.” (examiner note: the context length K is the subsequence length, and each window of K consecutive timesteps taken from the tuple sequence is a tuple subsequence extracted based on that length)]
calculating a plurality of cumulative rewards for a tuple subsequence of the plurality of tuple subsequences based on rewards for the tuple subsequence of the plurality of rewards; and
[Chen, p. 3, Section 3 (Trajectory representation), “It is nontrivial to model rewards since we would like the model to generate actions based on future desired returns, rather than past rewards. As a result, instead of modeling the rewards directly, we model the returns-to-go” (examiner note: the tuple subsequence is the window of the last K timesteps (R̂t, st, at) fed to the model in limitation (iii); for each timestep t in that window, Chen calculates the return-to-go R̂t, defined in Section 3 as the sum of the rewards rt′ from t′ = t to T, which includes the rewards of the tuples in the window; the K returns-to-go of the window are the plurality of cumulative rewards calculated for the tuple subsequence based on the rewards for the tuple subsequence)]
generating input data comprising the plurality of cumulative rewards,
a plurality of action options,
and the tuple subsequence,
wherein an action option of the plurality of action options
[Chen, p. 3, Section 3 (Architecture), “We feed the last K timesteps into Decision Transformer, for a total of 3K tokens (one for each modality: return-to-go, state, or action).”; p. 4, Section 3 (Training), “The prediction head corresponding to the input token st is trained to predict at – either with cross-entropy loss for discrete actions or mean-squared error for continuous actions” (examiner note: the assembled 3K-token input contains the cumulative rewards (return-to-go tokens) and the tuple subsequence (state and action tokens of the window), and the model’s action head is defined over the discrete action set, i.e., the plurality of candidate operations available to be performed, satisfying the “action options” limitation under the capability interpretation noted in the Claim Interpretation section)]
determining a best action option from the plurality of action options by applying the
trained transformer system to the input data; and
[Chen, p. 4, Section 3 (Architecture), “The tokens are then processed by a GPT [12] model, which predicts future action tokens via autoregressive modeling.”; p. 4, Section 3 (Evaluation), “During evaluation rollouts, we specify a target return based on our desired performance (e.g., specify maximum possible return to generate expert behavior)” (examiner note: the action that the trained transformer generates from the input tokens when conditioned on the maximum desired return is the best action option)]
causing the best action option to be implemented
[Chen, p. 4, Section 3 (Evaluation), “After executing the generated action, we decrement the target return by the achieved reward and obtain the next state.” (examiner note: executing the generated action is causing the best action option to be implemented)]
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
However, Chen does not disclose:
receiving user trajectory data for a user of an online system,
an action taken by the online system at the time,
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Gauci, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
receiving user trajectory data for a user of an online system,
[Gauci, p. 8, Section 9.1, “The Markov Decision Process (MDP) is based on a sequence of notification candidates for a particular person.” (examiner note: the logged decision chain for a particular person (a user) of Facebook (an online system) is user trajectory data for a user of an online system)]
[Gauci, p. 2, Section 2, “Sequence Number: A number representing the location of the state in the MDP (i.e. a timestamp).”; p. 8, Section 9.1, “There are rewards for interactions and activity on Facebook”; p. 8, Section 9.2, “The training data spans multiple weeks to enable the RL model to capture page admins’ responses and interactions to the notifications with their managed pages over a long term horizon.” (examiner note: each logged, time-stamped step records the user’s interactions with the online system, so the steps are a plurality of tuples for a plurality of times at which the user interacted with the online system)]
an action taken by the online system at the time,
[Gauci, p. 2, Section 2, “Many RL models are trained on consecutive pairs of state/action tuples (DQN, DDPG, SAC etc.). However, in production systems data is often logged to join the data in a format suitable for RL. To assist in creating data in this format, Horizon includes a Spark pipeline (called the Timeline pipeline) that transforms logged data collected in the following row format:” “Sequence Number: A number representing the location of the state in the MDP (i.e., a timestamp).” “State Features: The features of the current step that are independent of the action.” and “Action: The action taken at the current step.”; p. 3, Section 2, “Metrics: A map from metric name to value. Used to construct a reward value during training”; p. 8, Section 9.1, “The actions here are sending and dropping the notification, and the state describes a set of features about the person and the notification candidate.” (examiner note: each row of logged data by Gauci’s online system is a tuple with the same structure as Chen’s (state, action, reward) tuple. The Sequence Number is the time of the tuple, the state features logged at each time-stamped step are a state of the online system at that time, the logged send or drop decision is an action taken by the online system at that time), and the Metrics supply the reward for that action. Gauci thus discloses the claimed tuples populated with data logged by an online system.)]
[Gauci, p. 3, Section 2, “Possible Actions: An array of possible actions at the current step, including the action chosen”; p. 8, Section 9.1, “The actions here are sending and dropping the notification” (examiner note: sending or dropping a notification for the person is an operation capable of being performed for the user by the online system)]
[Gauci, p. 8, Section 9.1, “Push notifications are sent to mobile devices” (examiner note: the deployed policy sends the notification when sigmoid(Q(send) − Q(drop)) is at or above a threshold and drops it otherwise, so the selected send or drop action is implemented for the particular person, i.e., for the user of the online system)]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Chen’s trajectory preprocessing and return-conditioned transformer to the user trajectory data logged by Gauci’s online system. In this combination, the tuples are for the times at which the user interacted with the online system, the states and actions are those of the online system, the action options are operations the online system can perform for the user (e.g., sending or dropping a notification), and the best action option is implemented for the user of the online system.
This combination is reasonable because Gauci’s logged data is already in the form that Chen’s method takes as input (i.e., process the same kind of data, namely time-ordered (state, action, reward) steps of a previously logged dataset: Chen operates on “some fixed limited dataset consisting of trajectories from the environment” (Chen, p. 3, Section 2.1), and each trajectory is a sequence of (state, action, reward) tuples ordered by time-step. Gauci’s Timeline pipeline produces such a dataset from an online system: production data that is “logged as it comes in” is transferrable into “state/action tuples” in “a format suitable for RL” (Gauci, p.2, Section 2). Each row carries a timestep, the state features, the action taken, and the metrics from which the reward is constructed (Gauci, p. 2, Section 2). Gauci’s notification model also “was incrementally retrained daily on data from people who exposed to the model” (Gauci, p. 8, Section 9.1). Gauci’s platform is designed “to solve industry applied RL problems where datasets are large (millions to billions of observations)” (Gauci, p. 1, Abstract). One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore have recognized Gauci’s logged user dataset as a ready input to Chen’s preprocessing.
The motivation would have been to improve the online system’s engagement with its users by selecting actions with a learned reinforcement learning policy, as suggested by Gauci, p. 8, Section 9.1: “We observed a significant improvement in activity and meaningful interactions by deploying an RL based policy for certain types of notifications, replacing the previous system based on supervised learning.”
As to claim 2, the combination of Chen and Gauci teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Chen does not disclose: wherein the user trajectory data further comprises context features for the plurality of tuples and wherein the input data further comprises the context features.
Gauci, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
wherein the user trajectory data further comprises context features for the plurality of tuples [Gauci, p. 8, Section 9.1, “the state describes a set of features about the person and the notification candidate.”; p. 2, Section 2, “State Features: The features of the current step that are independent of the action.” (examiner note: the features describing the person and the notification candidate, logged for each step, are context features for the plurality of tuples)]
and wherein the input data further comprises the context features. [Gauci, p. 3, Section 3, “At training time we create a PyTorch network that takes in the raw features and applies the normalization during the forward pass.” (examiner note: the context features are supplied as input to the network)]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Gauci’s per-person and per-candidate context features in the trajectory tuples and the input data of Chen. This combination is reasonable because Chen’s state tokens accept any state representation: “To obtain token embeddings, we learn a linear layer for each modality, which projects raw inputs to the embedding dimension” (Chen, pp. 3-4, Section 3 (Architecture)). The motivation would have been to improve the selected actions by basing them on a richer description of the user and the candidate action, as suggested by Gauci, p. 8, Section 9.2, in which a policy is learned “based on the state represented by hundreds of features,” and “[a]fter deploying the DQN model, we were able to improve daily, weekly, and monthly metrics without sacrificing notification quality.”
As to claim 3, the combination of Chen and Gauci teaches the method of claim 1, and Chen further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of tuples includes a plurality of states … [Chen, p. 3, Section 2.1, “We use st, at, and rt = R(st, at) to denote the state, action, and reward at timestep t, respectively.” (examiner note: each tuple includes a state st, so the plurality of tuples includes a plurality of states; that the states are of the online system is taught by Gauci as set forth for claim 1)]
However, Chen does not disclose: wherein the preprocessing further comprises: determining a data type for a state of the plurality of states of the online system; and transforming the state based on the data type. Chen notes only that “[f]or environments with visual inputs, the state is fed into a convolutional encoder instead of a linear layer” (Chen, p. 4, Section 3 (Architecture)), without determining a data type for a state as part of the preprocessing.
Gauci, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
determining a data type for a state of the plurality of states of the online system; [Gauci, p. 3, Section 3, “Horizon includes a workflow that automatically analyzes the training dataset and determines the best transformation function and corresponding normalization parameters for each feature.” and “In the workflow, features are identified to be of type binary, probability, continuous, enum, quantile, or boxcox.” (examiner note: identifying the type of each state feature is determining a data type for a state)]
and transforming the state based on the data type. [Gauci, p. 3, Section 3, “A “normalization specification” is then created which describes how the feature should be normalized during training.” and “At training time we create a PyTorch network that takes in the raw features and applies the normalization during the forward pass.” (examiner note: normalizing each feature according to its identified type is transforming the state based on the data type (i.e., data normalization based on data type refers to the scaling, formatting, or shifting of data into a standard range or structure). "State" refers to the current condition, format, or values of the data object. So, when you normalize data, you are executing a state transformation (i.e., moving the data from an unprocessed state (raw, unscaled, or inconsistent) to a normalized state (scaled, structured, and consistent))]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Gauci’s automatic type identification and type-dependent normalization to the state features that Chen embeds as tokens. This combination is reasonable because Chen projects raw state inputs through a learned linear layer (Chen, pp. 3-4, Section 3 (Architecture)), which is the type of network input that Gauci’s normalization is designed to prepare. The motivation would have been to make training faster and more stable, as suggested by Gauci, p. 3, Section 3: “Data from recommender systems is often sparse, noisy and arbitrarily distributed (Adomavicius & Tuzhilin, 2005). Literature has shown that neural networks learn faster and better when operating on batches of features that are normally distributed (Ioffe & Szegedy, 2015).”
As to claim 4, the combination of Chen and Gauci teaches the method of claim 1, and Chen further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of tuples includes a plurality of actions taken … and wherein preprocessing further comprises: determining a plurality of action embeddings based on the plurality of actions, [Chen, pp. 3-4, Section 3 (Architecture), “To obtain token embeddings, we learn a linear layer for each modality, which projects raw inputs to the embedding dimension, followed by layer normalization [18].”; p. 4, Algorithm 1, “a_embedding = embed_a(a) + pos_embedding” (examiner note: each tuple includes an action at, and the learned action-embedding layer is applied to each action to determine its action embedding; although Chen learns the per-modality linear layer during training, the claimed method applies an already trained transformer system, and when Chen’s trained model is used the learned layer determines the action embeddings before the embedded tokens are passed to the transformer; that the actions are taken by the online system is taught by Gauci as set forth for claim 1)]
wherein sorting the plurality of tuples comprises: creating the tuple sequence using the plurality of action embeddings. [Chen, p. 4, Algorithm 1, “# interleave tokens as (R_1, s_1, a_1, ..., R_K, s_K)” and “input_embeds = stack(R_embedding, s_embedding, a_embedding)” (examiner note: the time-ordered stack of embedded tokens, including the action embeddings, is the tuple sequence created using the plurality of action embeddings)]
As to claim 5, the combination of Chen and Gauci teaches the method of claim 1, and Chen further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein extracting the plurality of tuple subsequences is based on a subsequence length, wherein a tuple subsequence of the plurality of tuple subsequences comprises a number of consecutive tuples from the tuple sequence and the number of consecutive tuples is equal to the subsequence length. [Chen, p. 3, Section 3 (Architecture), “We feed the last K timesteps into Decision Transformer”; p. 4, Section 3 (Training), “We sample minibatches of sequence length K from the dataset.”; p. 4, Algorithm 1, “# only keep context length of K” (examiner note: the model consumes the last K timesteps, i.e., a number of consecutive tuples equal to the subsequence length K)]
As to claim 7, the combination of Chen and Gauci teaches the method of claim 1, and Chen further teaches:
The method of claim 1, … wherein the input data further comprises the plurality of future cumulative rewards. [Chen, p. 3, Section 3 (Trajectory representation), “we would like the model to generate actions based on future desired returns, rather than past rewards. As a result, instead of modeling the rewards directly, we model the returns-to-go” (examiner note: each return-to-go is a future cumulative reward that Chen includes in the input data)]
However, Chen does not disclose: wherein the preprocessing further comprises: estimating a plurality of future cumulative rewards for the tuple subsequence for the plurality of action options using an average of reward values from training the trained transformer system. Chen instead specifies a target return “based on our desired performance” (Chen, p. 4, Section 3 (Evaluation)).
Gauci, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
estimating a plurality of future cumulative rewards for the tuple subsequence for the plurality of action options [Gauci, p. 8, Section 9.1, “The policy optimizes for the long term value and is able to capture incremental effects of sending the notification by comparing the Q-values of the send and drop action.” (examiner note: the Q-value computed for each available action, Q(send) and Q(drop), is an estimate of the future cumulative (discounted) reward of that action option in the current state)]
using an average of reward values from training … [Gauci, p. 6, Section 7.1, “Monte-Carlo Loss (MC-loss) compares the model’s Q-value to the logged value (the discounted sum of logged rewards).”; p. 8, Section 9.2, “The accumulated discounted rewards collected in the training allow the model to identify page admins with long term intent to stay active with the help of being notified.” (examiner note: a Q-value learned from the discounted sums of logged rewards in the training data is an expected value, i.e., an average of the reward values from training)]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to supply, in the input data that Chen assembles for each tuple subsequence, per-action future cumulative reward estimates averaged from the reward values of the data used to train Chen’s transformer, as taught by Gauci. This combination is reasonable because Chen already conditions its transformer on a future return that must be chosen (Chen, p. 4, Section 3 (Evaluation)), and Gauci provides a training-derived estimate of that future return for each available action from the same kind of state, action, and reward data. The motivation would have been to give the model an achievable, action-specific return signal rather than an arbitrary target, as suggested by Gauci, p. 8, Section 9.1: “If the difference between Q(send) and Q(drop) is large, this means there is significant value in sending the notification.”
As to claim 9, the combination of Chen and Gauci teaches the method of claim 1, and Chen further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein generating the input data comprises: encoding the plurality of cumulative rewards, the plurality of action options, and the tuple subsequence based on a respective position of the plurality of cumulative rewards, the plurality of action options, and the tuple subsequence in the input data. [Chen, p. 4, Section 3 (Architecture), “Additionally, an embedding for each timestep is learned and added to each token – note this is different than the standard positional embedding used by transformers, as one timestep corresponds to three tokens.”; p. 4, Algorithm 1, “pos_embedding = embed_t(t) # per-timestep (note: not per-token)” (examiner note: a position-dependent embedding is added to every return-to-go, state, and action token according to its timestep, so that each element of the input data is encoded based on its respective position; Chen distinguishes its embedding from the standard per-token positional embedding only because one timestep spans three tokens)]
As to claim 10, the combination of Chen and Gauci teaches the method of claim 1, and Chen further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein generating the input data comprises: generating a time embedding for the plurality of cumulative rewards, the plurality of action options, and the tuple subsequence based on the plurality of times. [Chen, p. 4, Section 3 (Architecture), “an embedding for each timestep is learned and added to each token”; p. 4, Algorithm 1, “pos_embedding = embed_t(t)” (examiner note: the per-timestep embedding, generated from the timestep t of each tuple and added to the return-to-go, state, and action embeddings, is a time embedding generated based on the plurality of times)]
As to claims 11-15, 17, and 19, claims 11-15, 17, and 19 are directed to a system comprising at least one memory device and a processing device, operatively coupled with the at least one memory device, to perform the method recited in claims 1-5, 7, and 9, respectively. Therefore, the rejections made to claims 1-5, 7, and 9 are applied to claims 11-15, 17, and 19.
In addition, Gauci, p. 2, Section 1, discloses a computer system with processors and memory: “Horizon supports CPU, GPU, multi-GPU, and multi-node training.” These are a hardware processor and memory as interpreted in the Claim Interpretation section above.
As to claim 20, claim 20 is directed to a system comprising at least one memory device and a processing device, operatively coupled with the at least one memory device, to perform limitations (i)-(iv) recited in claim 1, (v) estimating a plurality of future cumulative rewards for the tuple subsequence for a plurality of action options using an average of reward values from training the trained transformer system as recited in claim 7, and (vi) generating input data comprising the plurality of cumulative rewards, the plurality of future cumulative rewards, the plurality of action options, and the tuple subsequence, together with the determining and causing limitations of claim 1. Therefore, the rejections made to claims 1, 7, and 11 are applied to claim 20.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Gauci as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Dabney.
As to claim 6, the combination of Chen and Gauci teaches the method of claim 1, and Chen further teaches determining the best action option from the plurality of action options by applying the trained transformer system, as set forth for claim 1.
However, Chen does not disclose: wherein determining the best action option from the plurality of action options comprises: determining a mean prediction, a lower bound quantile, and an upper bound quantile for the plurality of action options; and determining the best action option using at least one of the mean prediction, the lower bound quantile, and the upper bound quantile.
Dabney, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
determining a mean prediction, a lower bound quantile, and an upper bound quantile for the plurality of action options; [Dabney, p. 2896, Section “Quantile Regression DQN,” “we use a nearly identical neural network architecture as DQN, only changing the output layer to be of size |A| × N, where N is a hyper-parameter giving the number of quantile targets.”; p. 2894, Section “Approximately Minimizing Wasserstein,” “Effectively, our new approximation aims to estimate quantiles of the target distribution.” (examiner note: for each action in the action set A, the network outputs N quantile estimates of the return; the lowest and highest of those estimates are a lower bound quantile and an upper bound quantile for each action option, and their average is a mean prediction for that action option)]
and determining the best action option using at least one of the mean prediction, the lower bound quantile, and the upper bound quantile. [Dabney, p. 2896, Section “Quantile Regression DQN,” “the action used for the next state is the greedy action with respect to the mean of the next state-action value distribution.” (examiner note: selecting the greedy action with respect to the mean is determining the best action option using the mean prediction)]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the action-selection output of the transformer of Chen and Gauci to output Dabney’s per-action quantile representation and to select the best action using at least the mean. This combination is reasonable because Chen’s model already outputs predictions over a discrete set of actions (Chen, p. 4, Section 3 (Training)), and Dabney’s change is limited to the output layer (Dabney, p. 2896). The motivation would have been to account for the randomness in the long-term return of each action rather than relying on a single averaged estimate, as suggested by Dabney, p. 2892, Abstract: “we build on recent work advocating a distributional approach to reinforcement learning in which the distribution over returns is modeled explicitly instead of only estimating the mean.”
As to claim 16, claim 16 is directed to a system comprising at least one memory device and a processing device, operatively coupled with the at least one memory device, to perform the method recited in claim 6. Therefore, the rejection made to claim 6 is applied to claim 16. In addition, see the discussion of the memory device and processing device for claims 11-15, 17, and 19 above.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Gauci as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Yuan.
As to claim 8, the combination of Chen and Gauci teaches the method of claim 1, and Gauci further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of tuples are for the plurality of times at which the user interacted with the online system in response to receiving a notification, [Gauci, p. 8, Section 9.1, “The Markov Decision Process (MDP) is based on a sequence of notification candidates for a particular person.” and “There are rewards for interactions and activity on Facebook”; p. 8, Section 9.2, “The training data spans multiple weeks to enable the RL model to capture page admins’ responses and interactions to the notifications with their managed pages over a long term horizon.” (examiner note: the logged steps record the times at which the person interacted with the online system in response to receiving notifications)]
wherein the plurality of action options include at least one of …, sending a push notification, and dropping the notification, [Gauci, p. 8, Section 9.1, “Push notifications are sent to mobile devices” and “The actions here are sending and dropping the notification” (examiner note: sending a push notification and dropping the notification are action options)]
and wherein causing the best action option to be implemented for the user of the online system comprises at least one of …, sending the push notification, and not sending the notification. [Gauci, p. 8, Section 9.1 (examiner note: the deployed policy sends the notification when sigmoid(Q(send) − Q(drop)) is at or above a threshold and drops it otherwise; sending the push notification or not sending the notification is causing the best action option to be implemented)]
However, Chen and Gauci do not disclose: sending a badge notification and sending the badge notification.
Yuan, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
sending a badge notification and sending the badge notification [Yuan, col. 6, ll. 38-39, the state includes “the notification queue size, a badge count, a user engagement level”; col. 6, ll. 39-40, “The badge count is the number of notifications sent to the user.”; col. 6, ll. 55-56, “The action a is the decision to send or not send a notification.”; col. 5, ll. 35-40, the notifications in the queue are evaluated periodically to determine which to send, in what order, and at what times (examiner note: Yuan’s reinforcement-learning notification system sends notifications that are counted on a badge, i.e., badge notifications)]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to extend the send and drop action options of Chen and Gauci to include sending a badge notification, as taught by Yuan. This combination is reasonable because all three references address deciding, from a user’s logged interaction history, which notification action best serves the user’s long-term engagement, and adding one more known delivery option to a finite set of notification actions yields predictable results. The motivation would have been to give the policy a less intrusive way to reach the user while avoiding notification fatigue, as suggested by Yuan, col. 5, ll. 3-9: “simply looking at the click-through rate or short-term responses hides other problems, such as the user 136 getting bombarded with notifications … that may cause the user 136 to start ignoring notifications 212 or canceling notifications 212 altogether,” and col. 5, ll. 11-14: “Embodiments presented herein obtain a balance between short-term and long-term engagement in order to maximize the benefit for the social networking service and for the user 136.”
As to claim 18, claim 18 is directed to a system comprising at least one memory device and a processing device, operatively coupled with the at least one memory device, to perform the method recited in claim 8. Therefore, the rejection made to claim 8 is applied to claim 18. In addition, see the discussion of the memory device and processing device for claims 11-15, 17, and 19 above.
Additional Relevant Prior Art
The following references were identified by the Examiner as being relevant to the disclosed invention, but are not relied upon in any rejection:
CN 114168845 B (University of Electronic Science and Technology of China), “Sequential Recommendation Method Based on Multi-Task Learning.” Filed November 24, 2021.
Discloses concatenating user intent, context, and profile embeddings for sequential recommenders. Pertinent to claims 2, 9, 12, 19 (context/position-encoding). Requires certified translation.
JP 2024-507162 A (Salesforce, Inc.), “Systems and Methods for Safe Policy Improvement for Task-Oriented Dialogues.” Publication of PCT/US2022/014034 (WO 2022/173593, pub. August 18, 2022; earliest priority February 12, 2021).
Background on offline policy learning.
Sen, US 2020/0285936 A1, “Cognitive System.”
Discloses modeling user activity through state, action, response, reward from historical/current data to select target activity. General background on state/action/reward modeling.
Agarwal et al., “Transformers in Reinforcement Learning: A Survey,” arXiv:2307.05979v1 (July 12, 2023).
Surveys transformer architectures in RL. Cited as evidence of state of the art; its July 12, 2023 date precedes the 02/02/2024 effective filing date, so it qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
Rakocz et al., US 2024/0169267 A1 (Optum, Inc.), “Composite Training Techniques for Machine Learning Models.” Earliest EFD November 23, 2022.
Discloses training on temporal sequences of tuples for causal transformer model. Tracks independent claims closely.
U.S. Patent Application Publication of GDM Holding LLC (Bruce et al.), US 2025/0348748 A1, “System and Method for Reinforcement Learning Based on Prior Trajectories.” Earliest priority September 28, 2022.
Pertinent to reward-construction.
Anand et al., US 2024/0005146 A1 (Adobe Inc.), “Extraction of High-Value Sequential Patterns Using Reinforcement Learning Techniques.” Filed June 30, 2022.
Pertinent to trajectory-mining aspects of claims 1, 11.
Cai et al., “Category-aware Collaborative Sequential Recommendation,” Proceedings of SIGIR ’21 (July 2021).
Discloses self-attention over user's time-ordered interaction sequence augmented with item-category context. Pertinent to context-feature and position-encoding limitations of claims 2, 9, 12, 19.
Conclusion
/ABDOULAY SALAM LASHLEY/
Examiner, Art Unit 2124
/MIRANDA M HUANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2124