Detailed Action
This office action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 9/17/26.
In the reply filed on 9/17/26, applicant elected without traverse the invention of Group I, claims 1-21, drawn to a method for monitoring a gaseous mixture for an analyte. Claims 22-24 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant also elected the species of formula (I) wherein M is Fe2+ and each R1 is F (hexadecafluorinated iron phthalocyanine, F16FePc). Applicant states that claims 1, 2, and 5-21 read on the elected species. The reply does not point out any error in the species requirement. So the species election is treated as made without traverse. 37 CFR 1.143.
Claims 3 and 4 are withdrawn from further consideration as being non-readable on applicant’s elected species
Claims 1-24 are pending. Claims 3, 4, and 22-24 are withdrawn. As a result, claims 1, 2, and 5-21 are being examined in this Office Action.
Paragraph numbers for applicant’s specification refer to applicant’s PGPub: US 20240309034.
Priority
The applicant claims benefit as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 21 is indefinite because the claim recites “wherein the gaseous mixture comprises an analyte.” Claim 1 already recites “an analyte.”
However, it is unclear whether the analyte of claim 21 is the same or different from the analyte of claim 1. Claim 21 then recites “the analyte.” It is unclear which analyte this term refers to.
Thus, the metes and bounds of claim 21 are unclear. For this action, claim 21 is read as referring to the analyte of claim 1. Amending “an analyte” to “the analyte” in claim 21 would overcome this rejection. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 2, and 5-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Flores et al. (“Fluorinated Iron and Cobalt Phthalocyanine Nanowire Chemiresistors for Environmental Gas Monitoring at Parts-per-Billion Levels,” ACS Appl. Nano Mater. 2022, 5, 4688-4699, pub date Feb. 14, 2022, with Supporting Information).
Flores et al. teaches a method for monitoring a gaseous mixture (air) for an analyte (NH3). (Flores et al., Abstract; page 4691, right column) Flores et al. teaches providing a sensor comprising nanowires of F16FePc grown directly on gold interdigitated electrodes. (Flores et al., page 4690, left column, last paragraph; page 4691, left column, last paragraph, to right column, second paragraph; Figure 1)
F16FePc is the complex of formula (I) wherein M is iron and each R1 is F. See Scheme 1 below. (Flores et al., page 4689, Scheme 1; page 4690, right column, “b. Synthesis of F16FePc”)
Flores et al. teaches contacting the sensor with 100 ppb of NH3 in air. (Flores et al., page 4693, right column; Figure 2) Flores et al. teaches monitoring the current of the sensor. NH3 raises the current at constant voltage and lowers the resistance of the nanowires. (Flores et al., page 4693, right column; page 4694, left column, first paragraph) So the presence of the analyte alters the electrical properties of the sensor.
With regard to claims 2 and 5, Flores et al. teaches F16FePc, in which M is Fe2+ and each R1 is F. (Flores et al., Abstract; page 4690, right column)
With regard to claim 6, Flores et al. teaches that the HRTEM image and electron diffraction pattern of an F16FePc wire “confirm the highly crystalline quality.” (Flores et al., page 4693, left column; Figure 1c-1d)
With regard to claim 7, Flores et al. teaches F16FePc nanowires with XRD peaks at 2θ = 6.31° and 28.52°. (Flores et al., page 4693, right column; Supporting Information, page S32, Figure S27) These peaks fall within set (iii) of claim 7 (6.3 and 28.5, ± 0.1). Flores et al. uses Cu Kα radiation for its powder XRD, as does the instant specification (spec). (Flores et al., Supporting Information, page S10; spec [0115])
With regard to claim 8, Flores et al. grows the nanowires by subliming about 20 mg of purified F16FePc under nitrogen. (Flores et al., page 4691, right column, first paragraph) Element maps of a nanowire support the F16FePc composition. (Flores et al., page 4693, left column) Flores et al. uses the same material and the same vapor deposition steps as the instant specification. (Compare Flores et al., page 4691, right column, with spec [0111].) So the nanowires of Flores et al. would necessarily comprise at least 90 wt% metal phthalocyanine. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, the burden shifts to applicant to show a difference. See MPEP 2112.01.
With regard to claims 9 and 10, Flores et al. teaches that F16MPc “shows n-type conductivity due to the electron-withdrawing effect of the fluorine substituents.” (Flores et al., page 4694, left column, first paragraph)
With regard to claims 11 and 12, Flores et al. grows the nanowires directly on gold interdigitated electrodes, with “multiple connections between contiguous electrodes.” Small nanowires make “direct contact between adjacent electrodes.” (Flores et al., page 4691, left column, last paragraph, to right column, second paragraph; page 4693, left column) An interdigitated electrode is a gapped electrode (spec ¶ [0080]). The bridging nanowires complete a circuit across the gap.
With regard to claims 13-17, Flores et al. teaches a gaseous mixture that comprises NH3. Flores et al. tests NH3 at 40 ppb, 100 ppb, 500 ppb, and 1 ppm. (Flores et al., page 4693, right column; page 4695, left and right columns; page 4696, Figure 7; Supporting Information, page S37, Table S2) Each value lies within 40 ppb to 100 ppm (claim 16) and within 40 ppb to 1 ppm (claim 17).
With regard to claim 18, Flores et al. makes the test mixture from synthetic air and a 100 ppm NH3/nitrogen test gas. For the 40 ppb test, nitrogen is also added to the carrier gas. (Flores et al., page 4691, right column; page 4695, right column) So the mixture comprises N2.
With regard to claim 19, Flores et al. sets the NH3 level in parts per billion by volume by mixing air with the 100 ppm NH3/N2 test gas. (Flores et al., page 4691, right column) For 100 ppb of NH3 in air (Flores et al., page 4693, right column), the test gas is diluted about 1,000-fold with air (calculated). So about 99.9% of the mixture by volume is air. The rest is mostly N2, whose molar mass (28) is close to that of air (about 29). So the mixture is at least 90 wt% air.
With regard to claim 20, Flores et al. measures the current through the sensor with a picoammeter/voltage source at constant voltage (about 7 nA at 5 V). The bridging nanowires complete the circuit. (Flores et al., page 4691, right column; page 4693, right column; page 4697, left column)
With regard to claim 21, Flores et al. measures the current “during exposure to an air flow with and without pollutant gas.” Flores et al. defines the response as S = |I − I0|/I0, where I0 is the current “before the exposure of the sensor to the pollutant gas.” (Flores et al., page 4691, right column, to page 4692, left column; Supporting Information, page S38) So I0 is a baseline current in air without the analyte. I is a detection current in the gaseous mixture with NH3.
Therefore these claims are fully met.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC 103
Claims 1, 2, and 5-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (“Iron Phthalocyanine Nanorods for Ethanol Sensoring,” Micro & Nano Letters 2016, 11, 348-350), in view of Klyamer et al. (“Fluorinated Metal Phthalocyanines: Interplay between Fluorination Degree, Films Orientation, and Ammonia Sensing Properties,” Sensors 2018, 18, 2141).
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Wang et al. teaches a gas sensor made of iron phthalocyanine (FePc) nanorods. Wang et al. makes the FePc from phthalonitrile and FeCl2. The nanorods are crystalline, monoclinic FePc by XRD. They are up to 100 µm long and about 700 nm in diameter. (Wang et al., Abstract; page 348, sections 2.1-2.2 and 3.1; page 349, left column; Figure 1)
Wang et al. coats the nanorods on a ceramic tube so that they connect a pair of gold electrodes. Wang et al. measures the resistance of the sensor in air (Ra) and in the test gas (Rg). The response is S = Rg/Ra. (Wang et al., page 348, right column, section 2.4)
Wang et al. exposes the sensor to ethanol vapor in air. The resistance changes in the presence of the gas. Wang et al. also tests the sensor with other gases at 100 ppm, including ammonia. (Wang et al., page 349, left column, section 3.2, and right column; page 350, Figure 5) Wang et al. teaches that the one-dimensional shape of the rods favors mass transport and diffusion of the gas, which gives the high response. (Wang et al., page 349, right column, to page 350, left column; page 350, section 4)
Wang et al.’s FePc is a complex of formula (I) wherein M is iron and each R1 is H. Applicant’s specification does not define “nanowire.” The specification describes Wang et al.’s rods as MPc nanowires tested as chemiresistors (spec [0067], citing “Wang et al., 2016”). It also describes FePc nanowires with widths up to about 1 µm (spec [0160]). So Wang et al.’s nanorods are “nanowires” under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims.
Klyamer et al. teaches a chemiresistive method for sensing NH3 with thin films of MPc, MPcF4, and MPcF16 (M = Cu, Co, Zn). (Klyamer et al., Abstract)
Klyamer et al. teaches that fluorine substituents lower the electron density of the ring. As a result, fluorinated phthalocyanines give a higher sensor response to reducing gases, such as ammonia. (Klyamer et al., page 2, third paragraph) For each metal, the MPcF16 films gave a higher NH3 response than the unsubstituted MPc films. (Klyamer et al., pages 4-5; Figures 2-3) The calculated NH3 binding energy also rises with sixteen F substituents for each metal. (Klyamer et al., page 6, Table 2) Klyamer et al. teaches that the MPcF16 films are n-type, and that their resistance falls on exposure to NH3. (Klyamer et al., page 4; page 7, first paragraph)
Klyamer et al. makes the MPcF16 compounds from the corresponding phthalonitrile derivative and metal chloride. Klyamer et al. deposits the films onto platinum interdigitated electrodes with a 10 µm gap. (Klyamer et al., page 2, section 2.1)
Klyamer et al. holds the sensor in an air flow until the resistance is steady. Klyamer et al. then injects NH3 (0.1-50 ppm) diluted with air. Air is the dilution and carrier gas. The resistance is measured at a constant dc voltage of 8 V. (Klyamer et al., page 3, section 2.1) The response is |R − Ro|/Ro, where Ro is the resistance before the analyte is injected. (Klyamer et al., page 4) The MPcF16 films respond to NH3 at 10-50 ppm. (Klyamer et al., pages 4-5; Figures 1-3) With ZnPcF4 films, Klyamer et al. also detects NH3 down to 0.1 ppm, and in a gas mixture of 76% N2, 16% O2, 5% H2O, and 3% CO2. (Klyamer et al., Abstract; page 8, section 3.4; page 9, Figure 8) Klyamer et al. teaches that NH3 is monitored at levels from ppb to hundreds of ppm. (Klyamer et al., page 1)
Ascertainment of the Difference Between the Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
Wang et al. teaches a method of monitoring a gaseous mixture with a sensor comprising FePc nanowires (M = Fe; each R1 = H). However, Wang et al. is deficient in the sense that Wang et al. does not teach the elected species, in which each R1 is F (F16FePc). Wang et al. also does not teach n-type nanowires, an interdigitated electrode, or NH3 at 1 ppm or less.
Klyamer et al. cures these deficiencies. Klyamer et al. teaches that sixteen F substituents make the MPc an n-type sensing material with a higher response to NH3. Klyamer et al. also teaches interdigitated electrodes, NH3 in air, and fluorinated MPc films that detect NH3 down to 0.1 ppm. (Klyamer et al., Abstract; pages 2-5; page 8, section 3.4)
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the hexadecafluorinated form of Wang et al.’s FePc (F16FePc) in Wang et al.’s nanowire sensor, and to use the sensor to monitor air for NH3.
Klyamer et al. teaches that F substituents give a higher response to reducing gases such as NH3. Klyamer et al. also shows that the MPcF16 films outperform the unsubstituted films for each metal tested. So one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to perfluorinate Wang et al.’s FePc to improve its NH3 response. This is the use of a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way.
There would have been a reasonable expectation of success. Wang et al. makes FePc from phthalonitrile and FeCl2. Klyamer et al. makes MPcF16 from the fluorinated phthalonitrile and the metal chloride. So one of ordinary skill could have made F16FePc by the same route. Wang et al. also teaches that the one-dimensional shape favors gas transport and gives a high response.
Klyamer et al. reports that the MPcF4 films gave the highest response. But the MPcF16 films still gave a higher response than the unsubstituted films. A known option that is not the most preferred one is still obvious.
Furthermore, applicant’s own specification acknowledges that fluorosubstituted phthalocyanines exhibit a higher sensor response to reducing gases, such as NH3, citing Klyamer et al. (spec [0065])
With regard to claims 2 and 5, Wang et al. makes FePc from FeCl2, so M is Fe2+. (Wang et al., page 348, section 2.2) As modified by Klyamer et al., each R1 is F, as discussed above.
With regard to claim 6, Wang et al.’s nanorods are crystalline. All XRD peaks index to monoclinic FePc. (Wang et al., page 348, right column, section 3.1; Figure 1a) Klyamer et al.’s MPcF16 films are also crystalline. (Klyamer et al., page 7, section 3.3; Figure 5) So crystalline nanowires would have been obvious.
With regard to claim 7, the claim recites three options for a X-ray diffraction pattern in which only two peaks are given for each set. Two peaks are not adequate to sufficiently describe a X-ray diffraction pattern for a crystalline compound. Thus the claim is interpreted as merely reading on a crystalline form of the compound.
With regard to claim 8, Wang et al. washes the product until the filtrate is clear. All of its XRD peaks index to FePc. (Wang et al., page 348, sections 2.2 and 3.1; Figure 1a) The first weight loss on heating, 1.5% at 50-100 °C, is adsorbed water. The next, 45.2% at 233-400 °C, is the decomposition of FePc. (Wang et al., page 349, left column; Figure 2) So Wang et al.’s nanowires are essentially pure FePc and would comprise at least 90 wt% metal phthalocyanine. The same purity would have been expected for F16FePc nanowires.
With regard to claims 9 and 10, Klyamer et al. teaches that MPcF16 films are n-type because of the electron-withdrawing F substituents. (Klyamer et al., page 4; page 7, first paragraph) So the F16FePc nanowires would have been an n-type semiconductor.
With regard to claim 11, Wang et al.’s nanorods connect the two gold electrodes. (Wang et al., page 348, right column, section 2.4) Two separate electrodes form a gapped electrode (spec [0080]). The nanowires that connect them complete a circuit across the gap.
With regard to claim 12, Klyamer et al. deposits the sensing layer on interdigitated electrodes. (Klyamer et al., page 2, section 2.1) It would have been obvious to use an interdigitated electrode in Wang et al.’s sensor.
With regard to claims 13-15, Wang et al. tests the sensor with 100 ppm of ammonia. (Wang et al., page 349, right column; page 350, Figure 5) Klyamer et al. teaches NH3 in air as the analyte. (Klyamer et al., Abstract; page 3, section 2.1) So the gaseous mixture comprises the analyte, NH3.
With regard to claims 16 and 17, Klyamer et al.’s test method uses NH3 at 0.1-50 ppm diluted with air. (Klyamer et al., page 3, section 2.1) Its MPcF16 films respond at 10-50 ppm. (Klyamer et al., pages 4-5; Figures 1-3)
Wang et al. tests ammonia at 100 ppm. (Wang et al., page 350, Figure 5) These values lie within or overlap the range of 40 ppb to 100 ppm (claim 16). Klyamer et al. also teaches that NH3 is monitored at levels from ppb to hundreds of ppm, and its fluorinated ZnPcF4 films detect NH3 down to 0.1 ppm. (Klyamer et al., page 1; page 8, section 3.4; page 9, Figure 8) So it would have been obvious to use the sensor to monitor NH3 at 40 ppb to 1 ppm (claim 17).
With regard to claims 18 and 19, Klyamer et al. dilutes NH3 (0.1-50 ppm) with air, and air is the carrier gas. (Klyamer et al., page 3, section 2.1) Wang et al. also tests the gas in air. (Wang et al., page 349, left column, section 3.2) So the mixture is about 99.99% air or more, which is at least 90 wt% air (claim 19). Air comprises N2. Klyamer et al. also tests NH3 in a gas mixture with 76% N2 (ZnPcF4 films). (Klyamer et al., Abstract; page 8, section 3.4; Figure 7b) So the mixture comprises N2 (claim 18).
With regard to claim 20, Wang et al.’s nanorods connect the two electrodes, and Wang et al. measures the resistance of the sensor. (Wang et al., page 348, right column, section 2.4) Klyamer et al. measures the resistance at a constant dc voltage of 8 V. (Klyamer et al., page 3, section 2.1) So both complete a circuit with the sensor and monitor its resistance.
With regard to claim 21, as read above, Wang et al. measures the resistance in air (Ra) and in the test gas (Rg). (Wang et al., page 348, right column, section 2.4) Klyamer et al. holds the sensor in air until the resistance is steady (Ro) and then injects NH3. (Klyamer et al., page 3, section 2.1; page 4) So both teach a baseline value in a control gas without the analyte, and then a detection value in the gaseous mixture.
Thus claims 1, 2, and 5-21 are obvious over Wang et al., in view of Klyamer et al.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/JENNIFER C SAWYER/Examiner, Art Unit 1691
/RENEE CLAYTOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1691