DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “far away” in claim 8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The language of “far away” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is therefore unclear as to ascertain what distance away is considered to be “far away”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sorkin (US 10947754).
Re Clm 1: Sorkin discloses a cable wire connector (title), comprising: a cable wire (10), a cable grip (127 with 135) fixed to an end of the cable wire, a mounting member (101) sheathed on the cable wire (figs 4 and 5) and abutted against the cable grip (internally abutted), and two adjusting members (151 and 109) adjustably arranged at both ends (right and left ends, respectively) of the mounting member along an axial direction of the cable wire; wherein a first adjusting member (151) of the two adjusting members is sheathed on the cable wire (shown in fig 5) and is located on a side of the mounting member away from the cable grip (see fig 5); wherein a second adjusting member (109) of the two adjusting members is located on a second side of the mounting member abutting against the cable grip (left side), and a cavity (internal area) for accommodating the cable grip is formed between the second adjusting member and the mounting member; and wherein the second adjusting member is configured to be fixed at a position where the cable wire is to be fixed (for example, fixed at element 113).
Re Clm 2: Sorkin discloses wherein the mounting member is formed with internal or external threads on a peripheral surface of the mounting member (at 101a and 101b); the first adjusting member and the second adjusting member are formed with internal or external threads (151 and 109 have external threads); and the two adjusting members are connected to the mounting member at both ends of the mounting member via the internal or external threads of the mounting member and the internal or external threads of the two adjusting members (see fig 5).
Re Clm 3: Sorkin discloses wherein an end of the first adjusting member away from the mounting member extends radially to form a first boss (head of 151).
Re Clm 4: Sorkin discloses wherein an end of the second adjusting member away from the mounting member extends radially to form a second boss (head of 109).
Re Clm 5: Sorkin discloses wherein at least one of the mounting member or the first adjusting member is formed with a step-shaped first locking platform on a peripheral surface of the at least one of the mounting member or the first adjusting member (see bottom surface of head of 151, in step-shaped platform shape, i.e. planar L-shape, in contact with mounting member).
Re Clm 6: Sorkin discloses wherein the second boss of the second adjusting member is formed with a step-shaped second locking platform (see bottom surface of head of 109, in step-shaped platform shape, i.e. planar L-shape, in contact with element 113).
Re Clm 7: Sorkin discloses wherein the mounting member is provided with a blind hole (at either end of 101) along the axial direction for accommodating the cable grip on an end of the mounting member close to the cable grip.
Re Clm 8 (as best understood): Sorkin discloses wherein the second adjusting member is further provided with a fixing structure (end surface of head of 109) for fixing another cable wire at an end far away from the mounting member. Examiner notes that the end surface of 109 is capable to fixing to another cable wire at an end far away from the mounting member.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JONATHAN P MASINICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678