DETAILED ACTION
NOTE: Regarding claim 1, the Examiner has examined every single line of claim 1, however, the Examiner has interpreted lines 2-5 and 17-21 as functional language and the Examiner is not required to find a reference that discloses the above limitations. The Examiner is just required to find a reference that is capable of being used in the right and left knee joint of a patient.
See also independent claims 12 and 19 having the same issue.
Additionally, language such as, “configured to” has been identified as an intended use limitation because is typical of claim limitations which may not distinguish over prior art according to the principle. It has been held that the recitation that an element is “configured to” performing a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant, regards as the invention.
The independent claims 1, 12 and 19 disclose the following language: “the second side comprising the other of the right side and the left side,…” This statement is unclear. The Examiner does not understand what does the applicant’s representative is trying to say. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a0(1) as being anticipated by Wogoman et al US Patent Pub. 2021/0068966A1.
The following language positively claims the claimed structural limitations:
Claim 1 discloses a knee joint prosthesis system (10) comprising a tibial baseplate component (16) having an insert interface (60), a femoral component (12) having a femoral articulation surface and a tibial insert (18 or 20 or 22) comprising a baseplate interface (80) attachable to the insert interface (60) of the tibial baseplate component (16), the tibial insert (18 or 20 or 22) comprising a tibial articulation surface (106 and 108). The tibial articulation surface comprises a medial tibial compartment (106) and a lateral tibial compartment (108) that is asymmetrical to the medial tibial compartment (see paragraph 24 and 25).
Regarding claims 2, 3 and 13, the implantable system is capable of being used in both the left and right knee joints of a human patient. The first side is interpreted as the right leg and the second side has been interpreted as the left leg.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, as disclosed in paragraph 8, it is well known in the art that the tibia rotates relative to the femur, therefore, the invention discloses that the insert is free to rotate and translate (see paragraph 12), for the reasons above the reference clearly reads on the functional language of claim 4.
Regarding claims 5, 6, 15 and 16, the Wogoman et al reference is capable of increasing constraint on the LCL and decreases tension on the MCL of the knee joint.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, see Fig. 5 disclosing a lateral perimeter with a lateral high point (156) and a lateral low point (150). Regarding the medial perimeter, the medial perimeter, the high point and the low point are not shown (on the other side).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, the femoral articulating surfaces are congruent surfaces that match the surfaces of the tibial insert. Therefore, the articulating surfaces of the femoral component engages the articulating surfaces of the tibial insert. See the dwell point (120 and 150 in Figs. 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 10, see paragraph 121, the last line, disclosing that the contour of the condyles are substantially the same.
Regarding claim 11, see paragraph 11 disclosing that the implant can keep one of the cruciate ligaments, additionally, see Fig. 1 disclosing a posterior stabilizing insert (22) disclosing a post to stabilize the artificial joint.
Regarding claim 12, claim 1 (see above) discloses most of the structural limitations of the claim. However, does not mentions a right-side tibial insert and the left side tibial insert, both sides are attachable to the insert interface of the tibial baseplate. The Examiner interpreted the right side as the side opposite the medial side and the left side is the surface opposite side of the lateral surface.
Regarding claim 19, the difference between claims 1 and 12 is the method, the reference does not talks about a “condition”. The term “condition” is a very general term and can extends from a destructive accident to a tumor/cancer at the joint. Therefore, Wogoman et al reads on the term, since, is replacing a natural joint for a prosthetic joint.
Regarding claim 20, the reference does not disclose a valgus or varus condition, therefore, the condition of the patient has to have an inherent balance condition in order to replace the affected patient’s joint. For example, as disclosed in paragraphs 133, 134 discloses a procedure to rebalance balance the patient’s joint.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,911,280 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both cases disclose A knee joint prosthesis system for implantation in a first knee joint of a patient, the first knee joint comprising a femur and a tibia, the first knee joint having a condition, wherein the first knee joint is on a first side of the patient, selected from a right side and a left side, and is not on a second side of the patient, the second side comprising the other of the right side and the left side, the knee joint prosthesis system comprising a tibial baseplate component configured to be implanted on the tibia, the tibial baseplate component comprising an insert interface; a femoral component configured to be implanted on the femur, the femoral component comprising a femoral articulation surface; and a tibial insert comprising a baseplate interface attachable to the insert interface of the tibial baseplate component, the tibial insert comprising a tibial articulation surface configured to articulate with the femoral articulation surface; wherein: the tibial articulation surface comprises a medial tibial compartment and a lateral tibial compartment that is asymmetrical to the medial tibial compartment; the tibial articulation surface is shaped to cooperate with the femoral articulation surface to adapt kinematics of the first knee joint having the condition; and the tibial articulation surface is suitable for implantation in a second knee joint on the second side, the second knee joint lacking the condition.
Conclusion
/ALVIN J STEWART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799 7/17/26