DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
Claims 1-20, drawn to an AI device and method for recognizing wind along a projectile trajectory path to a target, wherein deep learning model comprises convolutional neural networks or wherein during training, inputs to the deep learning model comprise: i) wind speed and direction at a predetermined number of points along the projectile trajectory path, ii) data regarding the string, classified in F41G 3/06.
Claim 21, drawn to a system comprising: a) the AI device of claim 3, b) a string on a reel, c) a plurality of flexible rod, each rod having a predetermined length, a means for holding the rod base steady against the earth, classified in G01B 11/16.
The inventions are distinct, each from the other because of the following reasons:
These inventions of Groups I and II are related as a combination and a subcombination.
Inventions in this relationship are distinct if it can be shown that (1) the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed for patentability, and (2) that the subcombination has utility by itself or in other combinations (MPEP § 806.05(c)). In the instant case, the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed because the system (Group II) device does not necessarily require, among other things, convolutional neural networks or wherein during training, inputs to the deep learning model comprise: i) wind speed and direction at a predetermined number of points along the projectile trajectory path of the AI device and method (Group I). The subcombination (Group I) has utility by itself or in other combinations because the AI device and method can be used without each rod having predefined pattern of bands, wherein flex of the rod is an input, wherein the deep leaning model detects the flex of the rod of the system (Group II).
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all these inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because at least the following reason(s) apply:
(a) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification;
(b) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter;
(c) the inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries);
(d) the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention;
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be amended in compliance with 37 C.F.R. § 1.48(B) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. Any amendment of inventorship must be accompanied by a diligently-filed petition under 37 C.F.R. § 1.48(B) and by the fee required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.17(h).
During a communication with Mr. Kendyl Roman on 10/08/26, a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-20. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claim 21 is withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cardona (Seeing the Wind: Visual Wind Speed Prediction with a Coupled Convolutional and Recurrent Neural Network) in view of Leupold (LEUPOLD RX-1400I TBR/W COMPLETE OPERATING INSTRUCTIONS) and First Official Notice.
Re Claim 1: Cardona discloses an Al device for recognizing wind along a projectile trajectory path to a target, the Al device comprising:
a) a computing element (page 2: the camera recording device (a standard camera phone provides sufficient resolution).),
b) a memory connected to the computing element,
c) at least one sensor of a group of
i) an image sensor (abst: visually recorded flow-structure interactions, page 3: video frame inputs), and ii) an audio sensor,
the at least one sensor connected to the computer element,
e) a deep learning model implemented in the computing element and the memory (abst: a coupled convolutional neural network and recurrent neural network architecture),
wherein the sensor and deep learning model are configured to recognize the reaction of a flag to wind along the projectile trajectory path (abst: extracts the wind speed encoded in visually recorded flow-structure interactions of a flag),
wherein the Al device outputs wind information regarding the projectile trajectory path (page 2: a wind speed prediction in meters per second (m/s).).
However, Cardona does not disclose d) a display connected to the computing element.
Leupold however discloses d) a display connected to the computing element (page 2: bright red TOLED display).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to incorporate Leupold’s teaching in the device of Cardona. Leupold’s device requires wind data to function accurately but currently relies on fixed values on manual input. Cardona provides a method to automate that exact data acquisition.
However, Cardona modified by Leupold does not disclose that the flag is functionally equivalent to a string.
It is a matter of Official Notice that the flag is a flexible material (such as a ribbon or a string) and that the visual reaction of a flag to wind is functionally equivalent to the reaction of a string.
Therefore, the disclosure of a flag in Cardona renders obvious the use of a string in claim 1.
Re Claim 2: Cardona modified by Leupold and First Official Notice discloses the Al device of claim 1, wherein the string is the teacher (page 1: Uses flags as the ground-truth source to "train the deep learning model").
Re Claim 3: Cardona modified by Leupold and First Official Notice discloses the Al device of claim 1, wherein deep learning model comprises convolutional neural networks (page 2: uses a convolutional neural network (CNN) as a feature extractor).
Re Claim 4: Cardona modified by Leupold and First Official Notice discloses the Al device of claim 1, wherein during training, inputs to the deep learning model comprise: a) wind speed and direction at a predetermined number of points along the projectile trajectory path, b) data regarding the string (page 3: Ground truth 1-minute average wind speed labels... Videos captured the motion of a standard checkerboard flag).
Re Claim 6: Cardona modified by Leupold and First Official Notice discloses the AI device of claim 4, wherein the at least one sensor is an image sensor, wherein the data regarding the string is an image showing the string along its length, wherein the string is positioned along a segment of the projectile trajectory path, the data, comprising one of the group of: a) a photograph, b) a video image, c) a video image with audio (page 3: Videos captured the motion of a standard checkerboard flag... mounted at 3 m height).
Re Claim 7: Cardona modified by Leupold and First Official Notice discloses the AI device of claim 1, wherein wind information output by the deep learning model comprises: a) wind speed (page 1: predict wind speeds), and b) wind direction (abst & page 2: flow-structure interactions).
Re Claim 9: Cardona modified by Leupold and First Official Notice discloses a method of using the AI device of claim 4 to recognize wind along the projectile trajectory path to the target, comprising the steps of:
a) training the deep learning model (page 3: training set contained 13,365 clips),
b) placing the string on a plurality of support rods positioned along a segment of the projectile trajectory path (page 3: flag... mounted at 3 m height),
c) placing AI device at the start of the projectile trajectory path where it can sense the string (page 2: camera recording device... provides sufficient resolution),
d) enabling sensing, and
e) receiving outputs regarding the recognized wind speed and direction along the projectile trajectory path (page 2: output is a wind speed prediction in meters per second (m/s)).
Re Claim 10: Cardona modified by Leupold and First Official Notice discloses a method of claim 9, further comprising the step of: f) displaying the crosswind speed (Leupold: page 2: wind hold calculations) on the display.
Claims 8, 11-14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cardona (Seeing the Wind: Visual Wind Speed Prediction with a Coupled Convolutional and Recurrent Neural Network) in view of Leupold (LEUPOLD RX-1400I TBR/W COMPLETE OPERATING INSTRUCTIONS) and First Official Notice modified by Second Official Notice.
Re Claim 8: Cardona modified by Leupold and First Official Notice discloses the AI device of claim 1, wherein wind information output by the deep learning model comprises: a) crosswind speed along the projectile trajectory path (Leupold: page 19: WIND will provide a fixed 10 mph full wind value, meaning it assumes the wind is at 90 degrees to the muzzle.), and b) wind speed along the projectile trajectory path (Leupold: page 19-20: If the wind isn’t blowing at 90 degrees to the muzzle, the shooter needs to adjust the hold value per Diagram shown. For example, if the wind is at 45 degrees to the muzzle, adjust the wind hold value by 75%.).
However, Cardona modified by Leupold and First Official Notice does not disclose that the wind is headwind or tailwind.
It is a matter of Official Notice that any wind vector not perpendicular to a trajectory path is decomposed into a crosswind component and a longitudinal component.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to apply standard trigonometric decomposition to the wind vector predicted by Cardona to derive the specific crosswind and headwind/tailwind speeds required for the ballistic calculations disclosed by Leupold for the purpose of increasing accuracy of a projectile’s impact on a target.
Re Claim 11: Cardona modified by Leupold and First Official Notice discloses a method of claim 10, further comprising the step of: g) displaying wind speed (Leupold: page 19-20) on the display.
However, Cardona modified by Leupold and First Official Notice does not disclose that the wind is headwind or tailwind.
It is a matter of Official Notice that any wind vector not perpendicular to a trajectory path is decomposed into a crosswind component and a longitudinal component.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to apply standard trigonometric decomposition to the wind vector predicted by Cardona to derive the specific crosswind and headwind/tailwind speeds required for the ballistic calculations disclosed by Leupold for the purpose of increasing accuracy of a projectile’s impact on a target.
Re Claim 12: Cardona modified by Leupold and First Official Notice discloses the AI device of claim 1, wherein AI device further comprises a rangefinder (Leupold title: RX®-1400i TBR®/W COMPACT DIGITAL LASER RANGEFINDER), the rangefinder comprising:
i) crosshairs (Leupold figure in page 12) for positioning the rangefinder to range the target,
ii) an inclinometer (Leupold page 2: inclinometer) for sensing the angle to the target, and
iii) an range sensor for determining the line of sight range to the target (Leupold page 3: TBR/W is a marriage of laser ranging, an inclinometer, and an advanced computerized ballistics program.), wherein the display comprises a shoot-for range indicator (Leupold figures in pages 21-22: Aim as if the target is…), whereby the display indicates a shoot-for range adjusted for shooting angle and wind (Leupold page 3: TBR/W delivers the ballistic equivalent range to the target, accounting for the effects of inclines or declines on the path of your bullet or arrow. For rifle shooters, the Leupold team has added to the TBR/W functionality by adding wind hold calculations).
However, Cardona modified by Leupold and First Official Notice does not disclose that the wind is headwind or tailwind.
It is a matter of Official Notice that any wind vector not perpendicular to a trajectory path is decomposed into a crosswind component and a longitudinal component.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to apply standard trigonometric decomposition to the wind vector predicted by Cardona to derive the specific crosswind and headwind/tailwind speeds required for the ballistic calculations disclosed by Leupold for the purpose of increasing accuracy of a projectile’s impact on a target.
Re Claim 13: Cardona modified by Leupold First Official Notice and Second Official Notice discloses the AI device of claim 12, wherein the AI devices is a handheld rangefinder (Leupold page 2: digital laser rangefinder).
Re Claim 14: Cardona modified by Leupold First Official Notice and Second Official Notice discloses the AI device of claim 12, wherein the AI devices is a smart rifle scope (Leupold page 2: For rifle shooters... added to the TBR/W functionality).
Re Claim 17: Cardona modified by Leupold First Official Notice and Second Official Notice discloses the AI device of claim 12, wherein the display illuminates (Leupold: page 2: an incredibly bright red TOLED display) an aiming point adjusted for crosswind (Leupold: page 2, page 11, & page 22: True Ballistic Range/Wind).
Claims 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cardona (Seeing the Wind: Visual Wind Speed Prediction with a Coupled Convolutional and Recurrent Neural Network) in view of Leupold (LEUPOLD RX-1400I TBR/W COMPLETE OPERATING INSTRUCTIONS) First Official Notice and Second Official Notice modified by Admitted Prior Art.
Re Claim 15: Cardona modified by Leupold First Official Notice and Second Official Notice discloses the AI device of claim 12.
However, Cardona modified by Leupold First Official Notice and Second Official Notice does not disclose that the device is a binocular.
Admitted Prior Art however disclose that the device is a binocular (p26: U.S. Pat. No. 11,140,312, was filed by Swarovski-Optik Jul. 17, 2020 (Swarovski '312) U.S. Patent Application 2023/0283882 published Sep. 7, 2023 (Swarovski '882). Both disclose a smart binocular., p30: In January 2024, Swarovski Optik announced smart binoculars, namely, AX Visio 10×32 binoculars,).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to incorporate Admitted Prior Art in the device of Cardona modified by Leupold First Official Notice and Second Official Notice for the purpose of realizing general optical benefits such as stereoscopic vision (depth perception) and wider fields of view.
Re Claim 16: Cardona modified by Leupold First Official Notice and Second Official Notice discloses the AI device of claim 12.
However, Cardona modified by Leupold First Official Notice and Second Official Notice does not disclose that the device is a smart phone, such as an iPhone.
Admitted Prior Art however disclose that the device is a smart phone, such as an iPhone (p13: U These patents also disclose the use of a smart phone, such as an iPhone, as a display for a digital rangefinder., p24: Both Photo ID and Sound ID run on smart phones, such as the Apple iPhone. https://merlin. allaboutbirds.org).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to incorporate Admitted Prior Art in the device of Cardona modified by Leupold First Official Notice and Second Official Notice as a smart phone would likely have greater computing power over dedicated rangefinders.
Claims 18, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cardona (Seeing the Wind: Visual Wind Speed Prediction with a Coupled Convolutional and Recurrent Neural Network) modified by Leupold (LEUPOLD RX-1400I TBR/W COMPLETE OPERATING INSTRUCTIONS) and First Official Notice further in view of Third Official Notice.
Re Claim 18: Cardona modified by Leupold and First Official Notice discloses the Al device of claim 1, wherein AI device determines an optimum wind speed (Cardona) which is sustained for a repeatable period of time and display (Leupold) when that optimum wind speed is present.
However, Cardona modified by Leupold and First Official Notice does not disclose illuminating a green light.
It is a matter of Official Notice that illuminating certain lights to indicate either “go”, “get ready”, and “warning” states (such as green, yellow, or red) are predictable and conventional choices for indicators.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to apply illuminating a green light when optimum wind speed is present for the purpose of indicating to the user a favorable state for execution of the ballistic device, wherein by convention people are used to the association of the green light with a “go” state.
Re Claim 19: Cardona modified by Leupold First Official Notice and Third Official Notice disclose the Al device of claim 18, wherein AI device predicts that the optimum wind speed stable period is approaching and illuminates a yellow light (examiner: Third Official Notice: Same reasoning as in claim 18).
Re Claim 20: Cardona modified by Leupold and First Official Notice discloses the AI device of claim 1, wherein AI device determines that the wind is unstable or extreme.
However, Cardona modified by Leupold and First Official Notice does not disclose illuminating a red light.
It is a matter of Official Notice that illuminating certain lights to indicate either “go”, “get ready”, and “warning” states (such as green, yellow, or red) are predictable and conventional choices for indicators.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to apply illuminating a red light when the wind is unstable or extreme and illuminates a red light for the purpose of indicating to the user an unfavorable state for execution of the ballistic device, wherein by convention people are used to the association of the red light with a “warning” state.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 5, the prior art or record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest at least the AI device of claim 4, wherein the at least one sensor is an audio sensor, wherein the data regarding the string is a recording of the sound made by the wind passing over the string.
Conclusion
/TAE W KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2876
/THIEN M LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876