DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Due to Applicant’s arguments and/or amendments, filed 1/16/2026, all previous prior art rejections are hereby withdrawn (see ¶8 below).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 12-17 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 14,17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the pickup roller". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the image forming unit". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Link et al. USP 9,938,100 in view of Morikawa et al. USP 8,870,181.
Link discloses, regarding claim 12, A sheet conveying device comprising:
a conveyor (260,265) to convey a sheet in a conveyance direction (fig.2); and
a sound collector (201A,B) to collect sound generated by a conveyance of the sheet by the conveyor (C5/L53-56);
the sound collector is disposed upstream of a sheet separation portion (220) in the conveyance direction.
Link does not expressly disclose the remaining limitations of claims 12.
Morikawa teaches the sound collector (113a,113b) movable in a sheet width direction (A1) orthogonal to the conveyance direction (fig.3,5; C4/L7-9); a moving mechanism to move the sound collector in the sheet width direction (A1) (fig.3,5; C4/L7-9).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the sound collector movable in a sheet width direction orthogonal to the conveyance direction, as taught by Morikawa, in the device of Link, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of effectively detecting is a paper jam occurs (see at least C1/L49-52).
Link further discloses, regarding claim 13, further comprising:
a pickup roller (120), the pickup roller disposed upstream of the sheet separation portion in the conveyance direction (fig.2), wherein
the sound collector (200A,B) is disposed upstream of the pickup roller in the conveyance direction.
Regarding claim 14, further comprising:
a cover (180), wherein
the sound collector (200A,B) is disposed inside the cover and facing the pickup roller (fig.2) (C4/L5-10).
Regarding claim 15, An automatic document feeder comprising the sheet conveying device according to claim 13 to convey an original document sheet to an image reading unit (230,234) to read the original document sheet (fig.2).
7. Claims 16,17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Link et al. USP 9,938,100 in view of Morikawa et al. USP 8,870,181 further in view of Hara et al. USP 11,360,420.
Link, as modified above, discloses substantially all the limitations of the claims, and further discloses the automatic document feeding according to claim 15, and the sheet conveying device according to claim 13 to convey the sheet, but does not expressly disclose the remaining limitations of claims 16,17.
Hara teaches the use of An image forming apparatus (1) comprising an image forming unit (17,20) to form an image on a sheet.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide an image forming apparatus comprising an image forming unit to form an image on a sheet, as taught by Hara, in the device of Link, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing both scanning and printing in the same device thus making the apparatus more versatile.
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 1-4,6-11 are allowed.
Conclusion
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LESLIE A NICHOLSON III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653 2/2/2026