DETAILED ACTION
This application has been examined. Claims 1,3-8,10-15,17-20 are pending. Claims 2,9,16 are cancelled.
Making Final
Applicant's arguments filed 1/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds for rejection.
The claim amendments regarding -- ‘responsive to the connection request being received by the VPN server, receiving at the client device a data file comprising one or more connection parameters to use during a connection for a type of application, wherein the one or more connection parameters identify an optimal data rate and another VPN server used during a previous connection with the type of application’ -- clearly change the literal scope of the independent and dependent claims and/or the range of equivalents for such claims. The said amendments alter the scope of the claims but do not overcome the disclosure by the prior art as shown below.
The Examiner is presenting new grounds for rejection as necessitated by the claim amendments and is thus making this action FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds for rejection.
Abraham-Kumar-Dao disclosed (re. Claim 1) responsive to the connection request being received by the VPN server, (Abraham-Paragraph 6, while the first VPN tunnel is currently active, responsive to receiving a request to connect to a second VPN of the plurality of VPNs ) receiving at the client device a data file comprising one or more connection parameters to use during a connection (Kumar-Paragraph 15, gossiping protocol can be used by nodes in a cluster to synchronize or communicate various types of data such as configurations, notifications, events, updates, operations, Paragraph 55,Paragraph 72, Nodes 402-426 can perform peer selection to identify peers or nodes to communicate the information to with a given frequency, Abraham-Paragraph 14, wherein the updated VPN profile assigned to the user is available to be shared with at least the other client device.)
for a type of application, wherein the one or more connection parameters identify an optimal data rate (Dao-Paragraph 82,“effective bite rate” (EBR) may be added as a QoS parameter to provide “optimal service level quality as per application needs” and to “minimize energy consumption in the overall network operation” for real-time video flows. The EBR can be defined as a data rate that the system should be provisioned (and in some cases dynamically provisioned) to maintain an acceptable QoE level for end user applications.) and another VPN server used during a previous connection with the type of application (Abraham-Paragraph 6, while the first VPN tunnel is currently active, responsive to receiving a request to connect to a second VPN of the plurality of VPNs )
forwarding another connection request to another VPN server (Abraham-Paragraph 6, establishing by the client device a second VPN tunnel from the client device to the second VPN,Paragraph 55, applications 112 can interface with the VPN orchestration engine 120 to initiate establishment of the VPN tunnels 250-254 by the operating system 110 in accordance with the VPN profile 140.) based on the one or more connection parameters and the type of application which will be used by the client device during the connection; (Abraham-Paragraph 41, VPN orchestration engine 120 can synchronize the VPN profile 140 with other client devices used by the same user ) and
enabling the connection between the client device and the another VPN server, (Abraham-Paragraph 6, establishing by the client device a second VPN tunnel from the client device to the second VPN,Paragraph 55, applications 112 can interface with the VPN orchestration engine 120 to initiate establishment of the VPN tunnels 250-254 by the operating system 110 in accordance with the VPN profile 140.) wherein the connection is implemented with the optimal data rate identified in the data file (Dao-Paragraph 82,“effective bite rate” (EBR) may be added as a QoS parameter to provide “optimal service level quality as per application needs” and to “minimize energy consumption in the overall network operation” for real-time video flows. The EBR can be defined as a data rate that the system should be provisioned (and in some cases dynamically provisioned) to maintain an acceptable QoE level for end user applications.)
Priority
This application claims benefits of priority from Provisional Application 63/091352 filed October 14, 2020.
The effective date of the claims described in this application is October 14, 2020.
Non-Statutory Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11936522. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims are substantially similar and the differences in the scope of the claims would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the networking art as obvious variations of the same invention.
U.S. Patent No. 11936522 disclosed (re. Claim 1 of the instance application) a method comprising: forwarding a connection request from a client device to a virtual private network (VPN) server; receiving at the client device a data file comprising one or more connection parameters to use during a connection; forwarding another connection request to another VPN server based on the one or more connection parameters and a type of application used by the client device; and enabling a connection between the client device and the another VPN server, wherein the connection is established with a specific data rate identified in the data file and based on the type of application used by the client device.
Claims 3-7 are rejected based on their dependency on Claim 1.
Claim 8 recites substantially similar limitations as Claim 1. Claim 8 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 1.
Claim 10-14 are rejected based on their dependency on Claim 8.
Claim 15 recites substantially similar limitations as Claim 1. Claim 15 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 1.
Claim 17-20 are rejected based on their dependency on Claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3-4,6-8,10-11,13-15,17-18,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abraham (USPGPUB 2017/0099159) further in view of Kumar (USPGPUB 2017/0026468) further in view of Dao (USPGPUB 2017/0317894)
In regard to Claim 1
Abraham Paragraph 12 disclosed wherein a quality of service (QoS) measured for communications exchanged between the client device and the third remote device can be monitored by the client device. Responsive to the QoS falling below a threshold level, a new connection from the client device and the third remote device that does not route through the first VPN can be automatically established. Thus, if conditions of the VPN tunnel degrade, the client device can automatically connect to the remote device without routing through the VPN in order to improve QoS.
Abraham disclosed (re. Claim 1) method comprising: forwarding a connection request from a client device to a virtual private network (VPN) server; (Abraham-Paragraph 55, applications 112 can interface with the VPN orchestration engine 120 to initiate establishment of the VPN tunnels 250-254 by the operating system 110 in accordance with the VPN profile 140. )
forwarding another connection request to another VPN server based on the one or more connection parameters (Abraham-Paragraph 12, responsive to the QoS falling below a threshold level, a new connection from the client device and the third remote device that does not route through the first VPN can be automatically established. Thus, if conditions of the VPN tunnel degrade, the client device can automatically connect to the remote device without routing through the VPN in order to improve QoS.)
and enabling a connection between the client device and the another VPN server (Abraham-Paragraph 12, responsive to the QoS falling below a threshold level, a new connection from the client device and the third remote device that does not route through the first VPN can be automatically established, Paragraph 60, If the QoS does not improve, or is worse than the QoS achieved by a previous connection, the application 112-1 can again connect to the service 210 using another connection.)
While Abraham substantially disclosed the claimed invention Abraham does not disclose (re. Claim 1) receiving at the client device a data file comprising one or more connection parameters to use during a connection;
forwarding another connection request to another VPN server based on a type of application used by the client device; and
enabling a connection between the client device and the another VPN server, wherein the connection is established with a specific data rate identified in the data file and based on the type of application used by the client device.
Kumar Figure 5,Paragraph 15 disclosed wherein gossiping protocol can be used by nodes in a cluster to synchronize or communicate various types of data or signals, such as configurations, notifications, events, updates, operations.
Kumar disclosed (re. Claim 1) receiving at the client device a data file comprising one or more connection parameters to use during a connection. (Kumar-Paragraph 15, gossiping protocol can be used by nodes in a cluster to synchronize or communicate various types of data such as configurations, notifications, events, updates, operations, Paragraph 55,Paragraph 72, Nodes 402-426 can perform peer selection to identify peers or nodes to communicate the information to with a given frequency.)
Abraham and Kumar are analogous art because they both present concepts and practices regarding establishment of VPN tunnels. Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to combine Kumar into Abraham. The motivation for the said combination would have been to implement the gossip protocol to ensure that the specific message is efficiently disseminated to all nodes.(Kumar-Paragraph 53,Paragraph 77)
While Abraham-Kumar substantially disclosed the claimed invention Abraham-Kumar does not disclose (re. Claim 1) wherein the connection is established with a specific data rate identified in the data file and based on the type of application used by the client device.
Dao Paragraph 82 disclosed wherein an “effective bite rate” (EBR) may be added as a QoS parameter to provide “optimal service level quality as per application needs” and to “minimize energy consumption in the overall network operation” for real-time video flows. The EBR can be defined as a data rate that the system should be provisioned (and in some cases dynamically provisioned) to maintain an acceptable QoE level for end user applications.
Dao disclosed (re. Claim 1) wherein the connection is established with a specific data rate identified in the data file (Dao-Paragraph 82,“effective bite rate” (EBR) may be added as a QoS parameter to provide “optimal service level quality as per application needs” and to “minimize energy consumption in the overall network operation” for real-time video flows. The EBR can be defined as a data rate that the system should be provisioned (and in some cases dynamically provisioned) to maintain an acceptable QoE level for end user applications.)
and based on the type of application used by the client device. (Dao-Paragraph 78, different traffic types, including real-time and none-real-time video services, Paragraph 108, QoS information may be exchanged through the QoS interfaces… the application server 230 may provide service/flow information to assist in identifying service/flows, transport protocol information,)
Abraham and Dao are analogous art because they both present concepts and practices regarding establishment of VPN tunnels. Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to combine Dao into Abraham. The motivation for the said combination would have been to enable ability to configure QoS/QoE through the network towards a UE, to entities outside of the communication network.(Dao-Paragraph 42)
Abraham-Kumar-Dao disclosed (re. Claim 1) forwarding another connection request to another VPN server (Abraham-Paragraph 12, responsive to the QoS falling below a threshold level, a new connection from the client device and the third remote device that does not route through the first VPN can be automatically established. Thus, if conditions of the VPN tunnel degrade, the client device can automatically connect to the remote device without routing through the VPN in order to improve QoS.) based on a type of application used by the client device (Dao-Paragraph 78, different traffic types, including real-time and none-real-time video services, Paragraph 108, QoS information may be exchanged through the QoS interfaces… the application server 230 may provide service/flow information to assist in identifying service/flows, transport protocol information,)
enabling a connection between the client device and the another VPN server, (Abraham-Paragraph 12, responsive to the QoS falling below a threshold level, a new connection from the client device and the third remote device that does not route through the first VPN can be automatically established. Thus, if conditions of the VPN tunnel degrade, the client device can automatically connect to the remote device without routing through the VPN in order to improve QoS.) wherein the connection is established with a specific data rate identified in the data file (Dao-Paragraph 82,“effective bite rate” (EBR) may be added as a QoS parameter to provide “optimal service level quality as per application needs” and to “minimize energy consumption in the overall network operation” for real-time video flows. The EBR can be defined as a data rate that the system should be provisioned (and in some cases dynamically provisioned) to maintain an acceptable QoE level for end user applications.) and based on the type of application used by the client device (Dao-Paragraph 78, different traffic types, including real-time and none-real-time video services, Paragraph 108, QoS information may be exchanged through the QoS interfaces… the application server 230 may provide service/flow information to assist in identifying service/flows, transport protocol information,)
Abraham-Kumar-Dao disclosed (re. Claim 1) responsive to the connection request being received by the VPN server, (Abraham-Paragraph 6, while the first VPN tunnel is currently active, responsive to receiving a request to connect to a second VPN of the plurality of VPNs ) receiving at the client device a data file comprising one or more connection parameters to use during a connection (Kumar-Paragraph 15, gossiping protocol can be used by nodes in a cluster to synchronize or communicate various types of data such as configurations, notifications, events, updates, operations, Paragraph 55,Paragraph 72, Nodes 402-426 can perform peer selection to identify peers or nodes to communicate the information to with a given frequency, Abraham-Paragraph 14, wherein the updated VPN profile assigned to the user is available to be shared with at least the other client device.)
for a type of application, wherein the one or more connection parameters identify an optimal data rate (Dao-Paragraph 82,“effective bite rate” (EBR) may be added as a QoS parameter to provide “optimal service level quality as per application needs” and to “minimize energy consumption in the overall network operation” for real-time video flows. The EBR can be defined as a data rate that the system should be provisioned (and in some cases dynamically provisioned) to maintain an acceptable QoE level for end user applications.) and another VPN server used during a previous connection with the type of application (Abraham-Paragraph 6, while the first VPN tunnel is currently active, responsive to receiving a request to connect to a second VPN of the plurality of VPNs )
forwarding another connection request to another VPN server (Abraham-Paragraph 6, establishing by the client device a second VPN tunnel from the client device to the second VPN,Paragraph 55, applications 112 can interface with the VPN orchestration engine 120 to initiate establishment of the VPN tunnels 250-254 by the operating system 110 in accordance with the VPN profile 140.) based on the one or more connection parameters and the type of application which will be used by the client device during the connection; (Abraham-Paragraph 41, VPN orchestration engine 120 can synchronize the VPN profile 140 with other client devices used by the same user ) and
enabling the connection between the client device and the another VPN server, (Abraham-Paragraph 6, establishing by the client device a second VPN tunnel from the client device to the second VPN,Paragraph 55, applications 112 can interface with the VPN orchestration engine 120 to initiate establishment of the VPN tunnels 250-254 by the operating system 110 in accordance with the VPN profile 140.) wherein the connection is implemented with the optimal data rate identified in the data file (Dao-Paragraph 82,“effective bite rate” (EBR) may be added as a QoS parameter to provide “optimal service level quality as per application needs” and to “minimize energy consumption in the overall network operation” for real-time video flows. The EBR can be defined as a data rate that the system should be provisioned (and in some cases dynamically provisioned) to maintain an acceptable QoE level for end user applications.)
In regard to Claim 8
Claim 8 (re. device) recites substantially similar limitations as Claim 1. Claim 8 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 1.
In regard to Claim 15
Claim 15 (re. non-transitory computer readable storage medium) recites substantially similar limitations as Claim 1. Claim 15 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 1.
In regard to Claim 3,10,17
Abraham-Kumar-Dao disclosed (re. Claim 3,10,17) applying one or more of the modified connection parameters to the client device that sent the request, (Abraham-Paragraph 41, VPN orchestration engine 120 can synchronize the VPN profile 140 with other client devices used by the same user, Paragraph 55, VPN orchestration engine 120 can communicate a request to the traffic analyzer 122 to select the appropriate VPN routing table 124 for the VPN in which the remote device is located. The traffic analyzer 122 can select the appropriate VPN routing table 124 by identifying in the VPN routing table 124 contextual data associating the remote device with the VPN) wherein the modified connection parameters are based on an optimal connection associated with another client device. (Abraham-Paragraph 61, traffic analyzer 122/VPN orchestration engine 120 can perform machine learning to learn the best way to connect to the service 210 for given days/times, and the results from this machine learning can be implemented by any client devices which use the VPN profile 140 to establish communication links to the service 210. In this regard, the client device 100 can share the VPN profile 140 with other client devices)
In regard to Claim 4,11,18
Abraham-Kumar-Dao disclosed (re. Claim 4,11,18) providing streaming content from the one or more servers (Dao-Paragraph 88, EBR concept for real-time video can be applied to other traffics having variable bit rates) via the another VPN server to the requesting client device by applying the one or more modified connection parameters.(Abraham-Paragraph 12, responsive to the QoS falling below a threshold level, a new connection from the client device and the third remote device that does not route through the first VPN can be automatically established. Thus, if conditions of the VPN tunnel degrade, the client device can automatically connect to the remote device without routing through the VPN in order to improve QoS.)
In regard to Claim 6,13,20
Abraham-Kumar-Dao disclosed (re. Claim 6,13,20) when a decrease in performance is identified by the client device, (Abraham-Paragraph 12, responsive to the QoS falling below a threshold level, a new connection from the client device and the third remote device that does not route through the first VPN can be automatically established) storing a current connection status and modified one or more connection parameters in the data file (Abraham- Paragraph 25, user's VPN profile can be automatically stored to a network accessible data repository)
In regard to Claim 7,14
Abraham-Kumar-Dao disclosed (re. Claim 7,14) transmitting the data file to one or more other client devices; (Abraham-Paragraph 41,VPN orchestration engine 120 can synchronize the VPN profile 140 with other client devices used by the same user) and attempting to connect to a different VPN server while using the application on the client device.( Abraham-Paragraph 12, responsive to the QoS falling below a threshold level, a new connection from the client device and the third remote device that does not route through the first VPN can be automatically established. Thus, if conditions of the VPN tunnel degrade, the client device can automatically connect to the remote device without routing through the VPN in order to improve QoS.)
Claims 5,12,19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abraham (USPGPUB 2017/0099159) further in view of Kumar (USPGPUB 2017/0026468) further in view of Dao (USPGPUB 2017/0317894) further in view of Goldfarb (USPGPUB 2017/0366395) further in view of Matthews (US Patent 10601779)
In regard to Claim 5,12,19
Abraham-Kumar-Dao disclosed (re. Claim 5,12,19) transmitting the data file to a another VPN among a plurality of other VPN servers, (Abraham-Figure 3,Paragraph 70, VPN orchestration engine 320 can communicate an update for the VPN profile 140 to the server 340)
While Abraham-Kumar-Dao substantially disclosed the claimed invention Abraham-Kumar-Dao does not disclose (re. Claim 5,12,19) wherein when the another VPN is monitored for the period of time and performance of a connection associated with the another VPN has increased.
While Abraham-Kumar-Dao substantially disclosed the claimed invention Abraham-Kumar-Dao does not disclose (re. Claim 5,12,19) transmitting the temporary data file to all remaining VPN servers of the plurality of VPN servers.
Goldfarb Paragraph 166, Paragraph 176 disclosed constantly (or periodically, like more often than once every second) senses current network conditions (e.g., packet loss, latency, bandwidth) and optimizes (or otherwise improves) the client user experience by locating the best (or a better) set of VPN configuration options (e.g., ports, transport layer protocols, and VPN protocols) to provide the most seamless VPN tunnel experience for the end user.
Goldfarb disclosed (re. Claim 5,12,19) wherein when the another VPN is monitored for the period of time (Goldfarb-Paragraph 147, rules may have state, such as variables that accumulate values over time, like counters that count a number of units of content, such as packets, frames, bites, hypertext transport protocol request, or the like, over a trailing duration of time) and performance of a connection associated with the another VPN has increased (Goldfarb-Paragraph 166,Paragraph 172, Paragraph 176, constantly (or periodically, like more often than once every second) senses current network conditions (e.g., packet loss, latency, bandwidth) and optimizes (or otherwise improves) the client user experience by locating the best (or a better) set of VPN configuration options (e.g., ports, transport layer protocols, and VPN protocols) to provide the most seamless VPN tunnel experience for the end user.)
Abraham and Goldfarb are analogous art because they both present concepts and practices regarding establishment of VPN tunnels. Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to combine Goldfarb into Abraham. The motivation for the said combination would have been to enable assisting users by sensing network conditions and selecting settings for virtual private network connections responsive to sensed network conditions automatically.(Goldfarb-Paragraph 168)
While Abraham-Kumar-Dao-Goldfarb substantially disclosed the claimed invention Abraham-Kumar-Dao-Goldfarb does not disclose (re. Claim 5,12,19) transmitting the data file to all remaining VPN servers of the plurality of VPN servers.
Matthews Column 5 Lines 50-55 disclosed as VPN sessions should remain stable for enough time for the session data pushed to the database 117 to reach consistency with VPN session data on the corresponding VPN appliance 110. Matthews Column 5 Lines 50-55 disclosed wherein the tunnel monitor 323 may track a health state of each active VPN session (or VPN appliance).
Matthews disclosed (re. Claim 5,12,19) transmitting the data file to all remaining VPN servers of the plurality of VPN servers. (Matthews-Figure 7,Column 4 Lines 1-10, , multiple VPN appliances could cache session information for sessions on other VPN appliances in the cluster, optionally pulling new or updated VPN session information form the backend database on-demand based on unknown sessions incoming or proactively pulling session information when notified of a service failure of another VPN appliance )
Abraham and Matthews are analogous art because they both present concepts and practices regarding establishment of VPN tunnels. Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to combine Matthews into Abraham. The motivation for the said combination would have been to enable a VPN session to be migrated from a first VPN appliance to second VPN appliance using VPN session data stored in an eventually consistent database (Matthews-Column 8 Lines 1-5)
Conclusion
Examiner’s Note: In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GREG C BENGZON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444