Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, and 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9, and 11 of copending Application No. 18582597 in view of Hassibi US20210041562.
Claim 1 of the instant application ‘025 and claim 1 of the reference application ‘597 are directed to a drive device, a light emitting device, a first light emitting section and a second light emitting section (plurality of emitting sections), and the second light emitting section has a light emitting period in a light non-emitting period during which the first light emitting section does not emit light between a light emitting period and a next light emitting period of the first light emitting section.
Claim 1 of the reference application ‘597 does not disclose performing pulse light emission 500 times or more in the light emitting period.
Hassibi teaches performing pulse light emission 500 times or more in the light emitting period (Hassibi; [0101] a pulse sequence 180 with a time period of 500 pulse widths).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to select the emission rate as taught by Claim 1 of the instant application ‘025 to be 500 times as taught by Hassibi for the purpose of providing a faster frame rate, a denser point cloud, and/or improving resistance to noise.
Claim 5 of the instant application ‘025 and claim 9 of the reference application ‘597 are directed to a third light emitting section that is not adjacent to the first light emitting section included in the light emitting device overlaps with the light emitting period of the first light emitting section.
Claim 10 of the instant application ‘025 and claim 11 of the reference application ‘597 are directed to a light emitting apparatus, a light emitting unit, a drive device, a first light emitting section and a second light emitting section (a plurality of emitting sections), and the second light emitting section has a light emitting period in a light non-emitting period during which the first light emitting section does not emit light between a light emitting period and a next light emitting period of the first light emitting section.
Claim 11 of the reference application ‘597 does not disclose performing pulse light emission 500 times or more in the light emitting period.
Hassibi teaches performing pulse light emission 500 times or more in the light emitting period (Hassibi; [0101] a pulse sequence 180 with a time period of 500 pulse widths).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to select the emission rate as taught by Claim 10 of the instant application ‘025 to be 500 times as taught by Hassibi for the purpose of providing a faster frame rate, a denser point cloud, and/or improving resistance to noise.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner notes that the applicant is acting as its own lexicographer in the specification in [0068] which provides a special definition for the term “adjacent”. [0068] states “Being adjacent to a certain light emitting section Ai means that being arranged in any one direction of the x-direction or the y-direction with respect to the light emitting section Ai without being interposed with another light emitting section 41.”
See MPEP 2111.01(IV.); 2173.05(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rainko US20220011434.
Regarding independent claim 6, Rainko discloses, in Figures 1-7,
A distance measurement apparatus (Rainko; Fig. 1-7) comprising:
a light emitting unit (Rainko; transmitter 300) that includes a first light emitting section (Rainko; Fig. 5-2; a set of pulses for laser 310-1 for portion 500-2 of pulse train 114) and a second light emitting section (Rainko; Fig. 5-2; a set of pulses for laser 310-2 for portion 500-2 of pulse train 114);
a drive unit (Rainko; Fig. 5-1; drivers 308-1 to 308-4) that drives the light emitting unit such that each of the first light emitting section and the second light emitting section has a predetermined plurality of light emitting periods (Rainko; pulse train 114 has predetermined detection periods);
a light receiving unit (Rainko; receiver 306) that receives light emitted from the light emitting unit and reflected by a target object (Rainko; object 108); and
a calculation unit (Rainko; processor 214; [0060] “use timing data to measure a distance”) that calculates a distance to the target object based on a result of light reception by the light receiving unit,
wherein the drive unit drives the light emitting unit such that the second light emitting section has a light emitting period in a light non-emitting period during which the first light emitting section does not emit light between a light emitting period and a next light emitting period of the first light emitting section (Rainko; Fig. 5-2; a set of pulses for laser 310-2 are emitted during the non-emitting period of a set of pulses for laser 310-1 for consecutive pulses of pulse train 114).
Regarding claim 7, Rainko discloses The distance measurement apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the light emitting unit includes one light emitting section group (Rainko; Fig. 5-2; the group of lasers 310-1 and 310-2 for portion 500-2 of pulse train 114) including the first light emitting section (Rainko; Fig. 5-2; a set of pulses for laser 310-1 for portion 500-2 of pulse train 114) and the second light emitting section (Rainko; Fig. 5-2; a set of pulses for laser 310-2 for portion 500-2 of pulse train 114), and another light emitting section group (Rainko; Fig. 5-2; the group of lasers 310-3 and 310-4 for portion 500-2 of pulse train 114) including another light emitting section (Rainko; Fig. 5-2; a set of pulses for laser 310-3 for portion 500-2 of pulse train 114), and after all light emitting sections belonging to the one light emitting section group complete a light emitting period once, the calculation unit acquires a result of light reception by the light receiving unit from a start of the light emitting period of the light emitting section at a head to an end of the light emitting period of the light emitting section at a tail in the one light emitting section group (Rainko; Fig. 5-2; portion 500-2 of pulse train 114).
Regarding claim 8, Rainko discloses The distance measurement apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the light receiving unit includes a first light receiving section that receives the light reflected by the target object in the light emitting period of the first light emitting section, and a second light receiving section that receives the light reflected by the target object in the light emitting period of the second light emitting section, and the calculation unit acquires a result of the light reception for each light receiving section included in the light receiving unit (Rainko; [0045] photodetector 314; [0048] photodetector 314 is an array of detectors).
Regarding claim 9, Rainko discloses The distance measurement apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the drive unit drives the light emitting unit such that the second light emitting section has the light emitting period in a period during which the calculation unit acquires a result of light reception in the first light receiving section (Rainko; Fig. 5-2; portion 500-2 has second light emitting section 310-2 emits light while portion 502-2 shows light reception at receiver 306).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rainko US20220011434 in view of Hassibi US20210041562.
Regarding independent claim 1, Rainko discloses, in Figures 1-7,
A drive device (Rainko; Fig. 1-7) that drives a light emitting device (Rainko; transmitter 300) including a first light emitting section (Rainko; Fig. 5-2; a set of pulses for laser 310-1 for portion 500-2 of pulse train 114) and a second light emitting section (Rainko; Fig. 5-2; a set of pulses for laser 310-2 for portion 500-2 of pulse train 114),
wherein each of the first light emitting section and the second light emitting section has a predetermined plurality of light emitting periods (Rainko; pulse train 114 has predetermined detection periods), and
the drive device is configured to:
cause the light emitting device to perform pulse light emission times or more in the light emitting period (Rainko; Fig. 5-2; set of pulses for each laser); and
drive the light emitting device such that the second light emitting section has a light emitting period in a light non-emitting period during which the first light emitting section does not emit light between a light emitting period and a next light emitting period of the first light emitting section (Rainko; Fig. 5-2; a set of pulses for laser 310-2 are emitted during the non-emitting period of a set of pulses for laser 310-1 for consecutive pulses of pulse train 114).
Rainko is silent regarding cause the light emitting device to perform pulse light emission 500 times or more in the light emitting period.
Hassibi teaches cause the light emitting device to perform pulse light emission 500 times or more in the light emitting period (Hassibi; [0101] a pulse sequence 180 with a time period of 500 pulse widths).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to select the emission rate as taught by Rainko to be 500 times as taught by Hassibi for the purpose of providing a faster frame rate, a denser point cloud, and/or improving resistance to noise.
Regarding claim 2, Modified Rainko teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The drive device according to claim 1, wherein the light emitting device is driven such that with respect to one light emitting section group (Rainko; Fig. 5-2; the group of lasers 310-1 and 310-2 for portion 500-2 of pulse train 114) including the first light emitting section (Rainko; Fig. 5-2; a set of pulses for laser 310-1 for portion 500-2 of pulse train 114) and the second light emitting section (Rainko; Fig. 5-2; a set of pulses for laser 310-2 for portion 500-2 of pulse train 114) included in the light emitting device, and another light emitting section group (Rainko; Fig. 5-2; the group of lasers 310-3 and 310-4 for portion 500-2 of pulse train 114) including another light emitting section (Rainko; Fig. 5-2; a set of pulses for laser 310-3 for portion 500-2 of pulse train 114), after the predetermined plurality of light emitting periods of the one light emitting section group, the other light emitting section group has a light emitting period (Rainko; Fig. 5-2; portion 500-2 of pulse train 114).
Regarding independent claim 10, Rainko discloses, in Figures 1-7,
A light emitting apparatus (Rainko; Fig. 1-7) comprising:
a light emitting unit (Rainko; transmitter 300) that includes a first light emitting section (Rainko; Fig. 5-2; a set of pulses for laser 310-1 for portion 500-2 of pulse train 114) and a second light emitting section (Rainko; Fig. 5-2; a set of pulses for laser 310-2 for portion 500-2 of pulse train 114);
a drive unit (Rainko; Fig. 5-1; drivers 308-1 to 308-4) that drives the light emitting unit such that each of the first light emitting section and the second light emitting section has a predetermined plurality of light emitting periods (Rainko; pulse train 114 has predetermined detection periods);
wherein the drive unit is configured to:
cause the light emitting unit to perform pulse light emission 500 times or more in the light emitting period (Rainko; Fig. 5-2; set of pulses for each laser); and
drive the light emitting unit such that the second light emitting section has a light emitting period in a light non-emitting period during which the first light emitting section does not emit light between a light emitting period and a next light emitting period of the first light emitting section (Rainko; Fig. 5-2; a set of pulses for laser 310-2 are emitted during the non-emitting period of a set of pulses for laser 310-1 for consecutive pulses of pulse train 114).
Rainko is silent regarding cause the light emitting device to perform pulse light emission 500 times or more in the light emitting period.
Hassibi teaches cause the light emitting device to perform pulse light emission 500 times or more in the light emitting period (Hassibi; [0101] a pulse sequence 180 with a time period of 500 pulse widths).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to select the emission rate as taught by Rainko to be 500 times as taught by Hassibi for the purpose of providing a faster frame rate, a denser point cloud, and/or improving resistance to noise.
Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rainko in view of Hassibi as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Halbritter US20220349998.
Regarding claim 3, Modified Rainko teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The drive device according to claim 2, wherein the light emitting device is driven such that light emitting sections belonging to the one light emitting section group are to each other (Rainko; Fig. 5-2).
Modified Rainko is silent regarding wherein the light emitting device is driven such that light emitting sections belonging to the one light emitting section group are adjacent to each other.
Halbritter teaches wherein the light emitting device is driven such that light emitting sections belonging to the one light emitting section group are adjacent to each other (Halbritter; Fig. 1; [0101] pixels 25a and 25b are adjacent to each other and are sequentially activated/deactivated in a staggered pattern; [0102] “the illumination can be carried out differently depending on the respective solid angle, for example with regard to wavelength, pulse shape, power, etc.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the relative positions of the light emitting sections as taught by Modified Rainko to be adjacent as taught by Halbritter for the purpose of providing the desired different/adjustable illumination patterns (Halbritter; [0102] “the illumination can be carried out differently depending on the respective solid angle, for example with regard to wavelength, pulse shape, power, etc.”).
Regarding claim 5, Modified Rainko teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The drive device according to claim 1, wherein the light emitting device is driven such that a light emitting period of a third light emitting section (Rainko; Fig. 5-2; a set of pulses for laser 310-3 for portion 500-2 of pulse train 114) that is to the first light emitting section included in the light emitting device with the light emitting period of the first light emitting section.
Modified Rainko does not teach wherein the light emitting device is driven such that a light emitting period of a third light emitting section that is not adjacent to the first light emitting section included in the light emitting device overlaps with the light emitting period of the first light emitting section.
Rainko teaches wherein the light emitting device is driven such that a light emitting period of a third light emitting section overlaps with the light emitting period of the first light emitting section (Rainko; portion 500-3 has a third light emitting section 310-3 overlaps with the light emitting period of the first light emitting section 310-1; [0075] “guarantee a high temporal resolution, enabling an accurate determination of the return time and, therefore, the time delay, distance, or speed to the object 108”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the third light emitting section as taught by Modified Rainko in portion 500-2 to include an overlap with the light emitting period of the first light emitting section as taught by Rainko in portion 500-3 for the purpose of providing “a high temporal resolution, enabling an accurate determination of the return time and, therefore, the time delay, distance, or speed to the object” (Rainko; [0075] “guarantee a high temporal resolution, enabling an accurate determination of the return time and, therefore, the time delay, distance, or speed to the object 108”).
Modified Rainko does not teach wherein the light emitting device is driven such that a light emitting period of a third light emitting section that is not adjacent to the first light emitting section included in the light emitting device.
Halbritter teaches wherein the light emitting device is driven such that a light emitting period of a third light emitting section that is not adjacent to the first light emitting section (Halbritter; Fig. 10; [0127] first group of VCSELs 43a are not adjacent to second group of VCSELs 43b).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the relative positions of the light emitting sections as taught by Modified Rainko to be adjacent as taught by Halbritter for the purpose of providing the desired different/adjustable illumination patterns (Halbritter; [0102] “the illumination can be carried out differently depending on the respective solid angle, for example with regard to wavelength, pulse shape, power, etc.”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tziony US20220291359 teaches, in Figure 2F, “the transmit controller 204 will tune the pulse amplitude, the pulse width, and/or the pulse delay to compensate for the drivers' thermal dependency”.
Barnes US20230117191 teaches, in Figures 2A-2B, VCSEL temperature pulses relating to TOF emitting bursts.
Kobayashi US20250211722 teaches, in Figures 14-15, a pulse count number of 500 times.
Gerlach DE102021102870 teaches using pauses to cool down the internal temperature of a VCSEL.
/JONATHAN MALIKASIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645 5/29/26