DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This office action is in response to the communication(s) filed on 02/04/2024.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are currently presenting for examination.
Claim(s) 1 and 15 is/are independent claim(s).
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected.
This action has been made NON-FINAL.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 12, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US_20220381872_A1_Vassilovski.
Regarding claim 1, Vassilovski discloses a node selection method, comprising: selecting, by a first node, a second node, wherein the second node is used for performing positioning together with the first node (Vassilovski figure 3, paragraph 106, the initiator UE 315-a is corresponding to the claimed “first node”, and one of the target UEs 315-b to 315-n is corresponding to the claimed “second node”) wherein: the first node is at least one of the following: a terminal (Vassilovski figure 3, initiator UE); a base station, or a core network function; the second node is at least one of the following: a terminal (Vassilovski figure 3, target UE); a base station, or a core network function; and the second node comprises at least one of the following: a node that does not need to establish a connection to the first node; or a node that needs to establish a connection to the first node (Vassilovski figures 3, steps 320 to 330-b, paragraphs 108-109, initiator UE 315-a attempts to establish connections with the target UEs 315-b to 315-n), wherein when the second node is a node that needs to establish a connection to the first node, selecting, by the first node, the second node is performed either in a process of establishing a connection between the first node and the second node, or after the process of establishing a connection between the first node and the second node (Vassilovski figures 3, paragraph 109, “…At 330, the target UEs 315 (e.g., UE 315-b through UE 315-n) may each transmit a communication acceptance message to the initiator UE 315-a which may indicate to the initiator UE 315-a that the target UEs 315 accept the sidelink-based ranging session request…”, paragraph 110, “ At 335, the initiator UE 315-a may transmit to the target UEs 315 (e.g., UE 315-b through UE 315-n), via the at least one sidelink connection, one or more PRS requests…”. That means, the initiator UE selects those target UEs which transmitted back the communication acceptance message, and the initiator UE transmits one or more PRS requests to those target UEs).
Regarding claim 2, Vassilovski discloses the node selection method according to claim 1, wherein establishing the connection between the first node and the second node comprises one of the following: when one of the first node and the second node is a terminal and the other is a base station, establishing a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection between the first node and the second node; when both the first node and the second node are terminals (Vassilovski figures 3, initiator UE and target UE), establishing a PC5 unicast link connection between the first node and the second node (Vassilovski figures 3, PC5 unicast links between the initiator UE and the target UEs); or when both the first node and the second node are terminals, establishing a PC5-RRC connection between the first node and the second node; or when one of the first node and the second node is a terminal and the other is a core network function, establishing a Non-Access Stratum (NAS) connection between the first node and the second node.
Regarding claim 3, Vassilovski discloses the node selection method according to claim 2, wherein establishing the PC5 unicast link connection between the first node and the second node comprises at least one of the following: sending, by the first node, a request message for establishing a PC5 unicast link to the second node in a PC5 broadcast manner (Vassilovski figures 3, step 320, and paragraph 108, “At 320, the initiator UE 315-a may transmit (e.g., broadcast), via at least one sidelink connection to one or more target UEs 315…the initiator UE 315-a may broadcast the PC5-S message…”); or sending, by the first node, a request message for establishing a PC5 unicast link to the second node in a PC5 unicast manner.
Regarding claim 4, Vassilovski discloses the node selection method according to claim 3, wherein when selecting, by the first node, the second node is performed in the process of establishing the connection between the first node and the second node, first information is carried in the request message for establishing a PC5 unicast link (Vassilovski paragraph 108, “… the initiator UE 315-a may transmit a direct communication request or a PC5-S message, which may include a service identifier (e.g., sidelink ranging service identifier) initiating a sidelink-based ranging session with the target UEs 315 (e.g., UE 315-b through UE 315-n). In some cases, the service identifier may be or otherwise include a V2X service identifier. In some examples, the group sidelink communication request may be a broadcast sidelink communication request. For example, the initiator UE 315-a may broadcast the PC5-S message which includes the sidelink-based ranging session service identifier”), wherein after sending a request message for establishing a PC5 unicast link to the second node, the method further comprises: receiving, by the first node, second information sent by the second node when a first condition is met (Vassilovski paragraph 109, “…At 330, the target UEs 315 (e.g., UE 315-b through UE 315-n) may each transmit a communication acceptance message to the initiator UE 315-a which may indicate to the initiator UE 315-a that the target UEs 315 accept the sidelink-based ranging session request”. The communication acceptance message is corresponding to the claimed “second information”).
Regarding claim 5, Vassilovski discloses the node selection method according to claim 4, wherein the request message for establishing the PC5 unicast link comprises at least one of the following: a Direct Communication Request message (Vassilovski figures 3, step 320, paragraph 108, direct communication request or PC5-S message); a newly defined request message for establishing a PC5 unicast link (Vassilovski figures 3, step 320, paragraph 108, direct communication request or PC5-S message); or a message related to establishment security of the second node (Vassilovski figures 3, step 325-a to 325-b).
Regarding claim 6, Vassilovski discloses the node selection method according to claim 3, wherein: when the request message for establishing the PC5 unicast link is a Direct Communication Request message (Vassilovski paragraph 108, “… the initiator UE 315-a may transmit a direct communication request or a PC5-S message, which may include a service identifier (e.g., sidelink ranging service identifier) initiating a sidelink-based ranging session with the target UEs 315 (e.g., UE 315-b through UE 315-n). In some cases, the service identifier may be or otherwise include a V2X service identifier. In some examples, the group sidelink communication request may be a broadcast sidelink communication request. For example, the initiator UE 315-a may broadcast the PC5-S message which includes the sidelink-based ranging session service identifier”), the second information is carried in a Direct Communication Accept message (Vassilovski paragraph 109, “…At 330, the target UEs 315 (e.g., UE 315-b through UE 315-n) may each transmit a communication acceptance message to the initiator UE 315-a which may indicate to the initiator UE 315-a that the target UEs 315 accept the sidelink-based ranging session request”); when the request message for establishing the PC5 unicast link is a newly defined request message for establishing a PC5 unicast link, the second information is carried in a newly defined request message for responding to establishment of the PC5 unicast link; or when the request message for establishing the PC5 unicast link is a message related to establishment security of the second node, the second information is carried in a message related to establishment security of the first node.
Claims 7-9 further define an alternative of claim 1 (selecting, by the first node, the second node is performed either in a process of establishing a connection between the first node and the second node, or after the process of establishing a connection between the first node and the second node). As discussed above, Vassilovski discloses “selecting, by the first node, the second node is performed either in a process of establishing a connection between the first node and the second node” and thus all the limitations of claims 7-9 have been met by addressing the alternative.
Regarding claim 12, Vassilovski discloses the node selection method according to any one of claim 1, wherein selecting, by the first node, the second node comprises: selecting, by the first node, the second node according to a first rule, wherein the first rule is agreed on in a protocol (Vassilovski figures 3, paragraphs 105, 108, PC5-S protocol) or depends on an implementation of the first node (Vassilovski figures 3, paragraph 109, “…At 330, the target UEs 315 (e.g., UE 315-b through UE 315-n) may each transmit a communication acceptance message to the initiator UE 315-a which may indicate to the initiator UE 315-a that the target UEs 315 accept the sidelink-based ranging session request…”, paragraph 110, “ At 335, the initiator UE 315-a may transmit to the target UEs 315 (e.g., UE 315-b through UE 315-n), via the at least one sidelink connection, one or more PRS requests…”. That means, the initiator UE selects those target UEs which transmitted back the communication acceptance message, and the initiator UE transmits one or more PRS requests to those target UEs), wherein after selecting, by the first node, the second node, the method further comprises: at least one of the following: sending, by the first node, the third information to a selected second node (Vassilovski figures 3, steps 3325-a to 335-b, the PRS request is corresponding to the claimed “third information”); or sending, by the first node, the third information to an unselected second node.
Regarding claim 15, Vassilovski discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 1, and a terminal, comprising a processor; a memory having a computer program or an instruction stored thereon, wherein the computer program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform operations (Vassilovski figures 8).
Regarding claim 16, Vassilovski discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, Vassilovski discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, Vassilovski discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 19, Vassilovski discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 20, Vassilovski discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-11, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US_20220381872_A1_Vassilovski in view of US_20240118370_A1_Duan.
Regarding claim 10, Vassilovski discloses the node selection method according to claim 1, wherein when selecting, by the first node, the second node is performed in the process of establishing the connection between the first node and the second node (Vassilovski figures 3, steps 320 to 330-b, paragraphs 108-109, initiator UE 315-a attempts to establish connections with the target UEs 315-b to 315-n), or when the second node does not need to establish a connection to the first node, the method further comprises: broadcasting, by the first node, first information to the second node (Vassilovski figures 3, step 320, paragraphs 108, “…At 320, the initiator UE 315-a may transmit (e.g.,broadcast)… the initiator UE 315-a may broadcast the PC5-S message…”), wherein after broadcasting, by the first node, first information to the second node, the method further comprises: receiving, by the first node, the second information sent by the second node when a first condition is met (Vassilovski paragraph 109, “…At 330, the target UEs 315 (e.g., UE 315-b through UE 315-n) may each transmit a communication acceptance message to the initiator UE 315-a which may indicate to the initiator UE 315-a that the target UEs 315 accept the sidelink-based ranging session request”. The communication acceptance message is corresponding to the claimed “second information”), wherein: the first condition comprises at least one of the following: when the first information comprises a first requirement, the second node meets the first requirement in the first information; or when the first information comprises positioning-related information (Vassilovski paragraphs 108, sidelink ranging service identifier or sidelink-based ranging session service identifier), the second node is interested in the positioning-related information in the first information (Vassilovski paragraphs 109, “…At 330, the target UEs 315 (e.g., UE 315-b through UE 315-n) may each transmit a communication acceptance message to the initiator UE 315-a which may indicate to the initiator UE 315-a that the target UEs 315 accept the sidelink-based ranging session request…”), but does not disclose wherein content of the second information comprises at least one of the following: Zone information of the second node; a Reference Signal Receiving Power (RSRP) value measured by the second node; movement state information of the second node, wherein the movement state information comprises at least one of the following: a static state or a moving state, a movement speed value, a level of a movement speed, a movement speed is not lower than a fifth threshold or not higher than a sixth threshold, or an interval of a movement speed value; a network coverage state of the second node, wherein the network coverage state comprises at least one of the following: being located in a coverage range of a base station, or not being located in a coverage range of a base station; a PC5 unicast link state of the second node, wherein the PC5 unicast link state comprises at least one of the following: having established a PC5 unicast link to other terminals or having not established a PC5 unicast link to other terminals, when being a PC5 unicast link state of the second node, having established a PC5 unicast link to other terminals other than the first node or having not established a PC5 unicast link to other terminals other than the first node, a quantity of other terminals to which a PC5 unicast link has been established is not lower than a seventh threshold, when being a PC5 unicast link state of the second node, a quantity of other terminals other than the first node to which a PC5 unicast link has been established is not lower than an eighth threshold, a quantity of other terminals to which a PC5 unicast link has been established is not higher than a ninth threshold, when being a PC5 unicast link state of the second node, a quantity of other terminals other than the first node to which a PC5 unicast link has been established is not higher than a tenth threshold, a set of a quantity of other terminals to which a PC5 unicast link has been established; or when being a PC5 unicast link state of the second node, a set of a quantity of other terminals other than the first node to which a PC5 unicast link has been established; or positioning-related capability information of the second node, wherein the positioning-related capability information comprises at least one of the following: having an absolute positioning capability, having a relative positioning capability, having a Radio Access Technology-dependent (RAT-dependent) positioning capability, having an RAT-independent positioning capability, having a capability of performing positioning through a sidelink, positioning precision, or a capability having positioning integrity, wherein: the first requirement comprises at least one of the following: a capability requirement on the second node, wherein the capability requirement on the second node comprises at least one of the following: having an absolute positioning capability, having a relative positioning capability, having an RAT-dependent positioning capability, having an RAT-independent positioning capability, having a capability of performing positioning through a sidelink, positioning precision, or a capability having positioning integrity; an RSRP threshold value; a requirement on Zone information of the second node; a movement state requirement on the second node, wherein the movement state requirement on the second node comprises at least one of the following: being in a static state, being in a moving state, a static state is prior to a moving state, a movement speed is not higher than a first threshold, a movement speed is a value in a set, a movement speed is not lower than a second threshold, or a level of a movement speed; a network coverage state requirement on the second node, wherein the network coverage state requirement on the second node comprises at least one of the following that: the second node needs to be located in a coverage range of a base station, or the second node does not need to be located in a coverage range of a base station; or a PC5 unicast link state requirement on the second node, wherein the PC5 unicast link state requirement on the second node comprises at least one of the following: needing to have established a PC5 unicast link to other terminals other than the first node, not needing to have established a PC5 unicast link to other terminals other than the first node, a quantity of other terminals to which a PC5 unicast link has been established is not lower than a third threshold, a quantity of other terminals to which a PC5 unicast link has been established is not higher than a fourth threshold, or a set or interval of a quantity of other terminals to which a PC5 unicast link has been established, the positioning-related information comprises at least one of the following: positioning precision/accuracy; positioning integrity; a positioning type; a positioning update cycle; or a positioning technology, or the information about the first node or the information about the second node comprises at least one of the following: Zone information of the first node or the second node; movement state information; a network coverage state; a PC5 unicast link state; or positioning-related capability information.
Duan discloses wherein content of the second information comprises at least one of the following: Zone information of the second node; a Reference Signal Receiving Power (RSRP) value measured by the second node (Duan figure 11, element 1104, measurement quality metric of each of the one or more position measurements of the candidate anchor UE, paragraph 49, “…a measurement quality metric (such as a receive signal (RS) receive power (RSRP)…”); movement state information of the second node (Duan figure 11, element 1106, mobility status of the candidate anchor UE) wherein the movement state information comprises at least one of the following: a static state or a moving state, a movement speed value, a level of a movement speed, a movement speed is not lower than a fifth threshold or not higher than a sixth threshold, or an interval of a movement speed value (Duan figure 11, element 1106, paragraph 139, “At block 802, the device obtains, for one or more of a plurality of candidate anchor VEs, a mobility status of the candidate anchor UE… The movement may be a velocity, speed, acceleration, displacement, or other indication of a mobility of the candidate anchor UE...”); a network coverage state of the second node, wherein the network coverage state comprises at least one of the following: being located in a coverage range of a base station, or not being located in a coverage range of a base station; a PC5 unicast link state of the second node, wherein the PC5 unicast link state comprises at least one of the following: having established a PC5 unicast link to other terminals or having not established a PC5 unicast link to other terminals, when being a PC5 unicast link state of the second node, having established a PC5 unicast link to other terminals other than the first node or having not established a PC5 unicast link to other terminals other than the first node, a quantity of other terminals to which a PC5 unicast link has been established is not lower than a seventh threshold, when being a PC5 unicast link state of the second node, a quantity of other terminals other than the first node to which a PC5 unicast link has been established is not lower than an eighth threshold, a quantity of other terminals to which a PC5 unicast link has been established is not higher than a ninth threshold, when being a PC5 unicast link state of the second node, a quantity of other terminals other than the first node to which a PC5 unicast link has been established is not higher than a tenth threshold, a set of a quantity of other terminals to which a PC5 unicast link has been established; or when being a PC5 unicast link state of the second node, a set of a quantity of other terminals other than the first node to which a PC5 unicast link has been established; or positioning-related capability information of the second node, wherein the positioning-related capability information comprises at least one of the following: having an absolute positioning capability, having a relative positioning capability, having a Radio Access Technology-dependent (RAT-dependent) positioning capability, having an RAT-independent positioning capability, having a capability of performing positioning through a sidelink, positioning precision, or a capability having positioning integrity, wherein: the first requirement comprises at least one of the following: a capability requirement on the second node, wherein the capability requirement on the second node comprises at least one of the following: having an absolute positioning capability, having a relative positioning capability, having an RAT-dependent positioning capability, having an RAT-independent positioning capability, having a capability of performing positioning through a sidelink, positioning precision, or a capability having positioning integrity; an RSRP threshold value; a requirement on Zone information of the second node; a movement state requirement on the second node, wherein the movement state requirement on the second node comprises at least one of the following: being in a static state, being in a moving state, a static state is prior to a moving state, a movement speed is not higher than a first threshold, a movement speed is a value in a set, a movement speed is not lower than a second threshold, or a level of a movement speed; a network coverage state requirement on the second node, wherein the network coverage state requirement on the second node comprises at least one of the following that: the second node needs to be located in a coverage range of a base station, or the second node does not need to be located in a coverage range of a base station; or a PC5 unicast link state requirement on the second node, wherein the PC5 unicast link state requirement on the second node comprises at least one of the following: needing to have established a PC5 unicast link to other terminals other than the first node, not needing to have established a PC5 unicast link to other terminals other than the first node, a quantity of other terminals to which a PC5 unicast link has been established is not lower than a third threshold, a quantity of other terminals to which a PC5 unicast link has been established is not higher than a fourth threshold, or a set or interval of a quantity of other terminals to which a PC5 unicast link has been established, the positioning-related information comprises at least one of the following: positioning precision/accuracy; positioning integrity; a positioning type; a positioning update cycle; or a positioning technology, or the information about the first node or the information about the second node comprises at least one of the following: Zone information of the first node or the second node; movement state information; a network coverage state; a PC5 unicast link state; or positioning-related capability information.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Duan’s the target UE obtaining information associated with one or more of: position measurements and measurement quality metrics from one or more candidate anchor user equipments (UEs); mobility statuses for one or more candidate anchor UEs; or geometric dilution of precisions (GDOPs) associated with one or more candidate anchor UEs in Vassilovski’s system to identify the best subsets of candidate anchor VEs for positioning of the target UE (Duan paragraph 151). This method for improving the system of Vassilovski was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Duan. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Vassilovski and Duan to obtain the invention as specified in claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, Vassilovski and Duan disclose the node selection method according to claim 10, and Vassilovski further discloses wherein: when selecting, by the first node, the second node is performed in the process of establishing the connection between the first node and the second node, the second information is carried in a Direct Communication Request message (Vassilovski figures 3, step 320, paragraph 108, direct communication request or PC5-S message); when selecting, by the first node, the second node is performed in the process of establishing the connection between the first node and the second node, the second information is carried in a newly defined request message for establishing a PC5 unicast link (Vassilovski figures 3, step 320, paragraph 108, direct communication request or PC5-S message); when selecting, by the first node, the second node is performed in the process of establishing the connection between the first node and the second node, the second information is carried in a message related to establishment security of the first node; or when the second node does not need to establish the connection to the first node, the second information is carried in a broadcast message other than a request message for establishing a PC5 unicast link.
Regarding claim 13, Vassilovski discloses the node selection method according to claim 12, wherein the third information comprises at least one of the following: when the first node sends the third information to a selected second node (Vassilovski figures 3, steps 3325-a to 335-b, paragraph 110, “At 335, the initiator UE 315-a may transmit to the target UEs 315 (e.g., UE 315-b through UE 315-n), via the at least one sidelink connection, one or more PRS requests (e.g., PRSrequest) via one or more unicast sidelink sessions to initiate one or more sidelink ranging sessions…”); when the first node sends the third information to an unselected second node, information used for indicating that the second node is not selected by the first node as a node used for performing positioning; information used for indicating that the second node is not selected by the first node as a node used for performing positioning; or information used for indicating that the second node is selected by the first node as a node used for performing positioning, but does not explicitly disclose information used for indicating that the second node is selected by the first node as a node used for performing positioning.
Duan discloses information used for indicating that the second node is selected by the first node as a node used for performing positioning (Duan paragraph 135, “…the target UE may indicate the selection to each anchor UE over its respective sidelink”).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Duan’s the target UE may indicate the selection to each anchor UE over its respective sidelink in Vassilovski’s system to allow the chosen anchor UEs to know they are part of an active positioning session, facilitating resource allocation for Sidelink Positioning Reference Signals. This method for improving the system of Vassilovski was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Duan. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Vassilovski and Duan to obtain the invention as specified in claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, Vassilovski and Duan disclose the node selection method according to claim 1, and Duan further discloses wherein selecting, by the first node, the second node comprises: selecting, by the first node, the second node according to first indication information sent by a third node, wherein the third node is one of the following: a base station (Duan figure 7, and paragraph 135, “… and the base stations (e.g., gNBs) may indicate the selection to the appropriate UEs to be used as anchors. The indication may also be provided to the target UE. For UE-based positioning, the target UE may indicate the selection to each anchor UE over its respective sidelink”).; or a core network function (Duan figure 7, and paragraph 135, “… the location server 172 may indicate the selection to one or more base stations… The indication may also be provided to the target UE”).
Conclusion
/W.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471